Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A THOUGHTFUL CRITIQUE OF THE "PURPOSE-DRIVEN"-TYPE MEGACHURCH
Saddleback Church pastor Rick Warren---sometimes called "America's Pastor"---has written vastly popular and influential books such as The Purpose-Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message & Mission and The Purpose Driven® Life: What on Earth Am I Here For?; Warren and similar "megachurches" are the intended target of Noah Hutchins' book.

Hutchins...
Published on November 29, 2010 by Steven H Propp

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs down
I purchased this to get an idea of why some Christians are anti-Rick Warren. This book is a hate-filled diatribe. Miniscule item are taken out of context from Warren's writings to build a case against him - a case which doesn't stand up under close examination If you read this, make sure you also read Warren's books, especially The Purpose Driven Church yourself - don't...
Published 21 months ago by Frank Austin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A THOUGHTFUL CRITIQUE OF THE "PURPOSE-DRIVEN"-TYPE MEGACHURCH, November 29, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Side of the Purpose Driven Church: Expanded Edtion (Paperback)
Saddleback Church pastor Rick Warren---sometimes called "America's Pastor"---has written vastly popular and influential books such as The Purpose-Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message & Mission and The Purpose Driven® Life: What on Earth Am I Here For?; Warren and similar "megachurches" are the intended target of Noah Hutchins' book.

Hutchins "was a member of the second largest Baptist church in Oklahoma, where he had served for fifteen years. Then suddenly, his church converted to a Purpose Driven format... he has counseled with hundreds who have been disenfranchised from Purpose Driven churches by conscience or invitation."

Here are some quotations from the book:

(Letter from David Wilkerson) "Dear Dr. Hutchins: Your article concerning Rick Warren's ministry is one of the most balanced exposes of what I see as a very dangerous movement. I find no animosity in what you have said and I believe it is a message that every pastor around the world needs to hear." (Pg. 40)
"One aspect of that lifestyle that Dr. Warren evidently did not change was his love for rock music. Rock music is a vital part of the purpose driven church movement." (Pg. 98)
"For example, 'purpose-driven' sounds better than 'market-driven' but it is basically the same thing." (Pg. 110)
"Dr. Warren has stated repeatedly that there is no such thing as Christian music, there are only Christian lyrics. Dr. Warren was once a rock musician in his college days, so he knows he is not telling the truth. You do not hear 'Amazing Grace' in a casino." (Pg. 153)
"Dr. Warren has encouraged changing to the new versions of the Bible. In 'The Purpose-Driven Life,' 99.5 percent of the scriptures are from the newer versions, most based on the Westcott and Hort Greek New Testament from the Catholic Alexandrian texts." (Pg. 172)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Read!, February 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Side of the Purpose Driven Church: Expanded Edtion (Paperback)
Thank you, Rev. Hutchings, for exposing this destructive movement!! If a reader sees any of these things happening in his church, he should do whatever it takes to rid the church of this infection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT READ!! A MUST READ FOR ALL CHRISTIANS, September 1, 2011
This review is from: The Dark Side of the Purpose Driven Church: Expanded Edtion (Paperback)
This is a powerful book that tells the truth and nothing but he truth. I like how the author doesn't try to "sugar-coat" things. He does name names and gives the reasons for naming certain names in his book. Rick Warren is a very troubling man and his message is being heared by those who are being tricked. Many ministers have listen to the lies of Rick Warren and sadly have turned their church to cater to the devil. He has built his church around lies and deception and sadly many followers are being lied too. If you want to know the truth about the churches of today, please get this book. Also read another book titled, Who's Driving the Purpose Driven Church? by James Sundquist. For goodness sakes do your research. Pastor Jack Van Impe has spoken on this subject and TBN tried to censor his program for naming names. Even TBN is covering up a scandal like this one. Again I say, if you want to know the truth and if you want to see if your church is part of Rick Warren, then get this book today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read., December 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Side of the Purpose Driven Church: Expanded Edtion (Paperback)
Noah Hutchings raises some valid concerns regarding the Purpose Driven Movement, and backs up his arguments with solid doctrine taken directly from scripture. My mother was marginalized and alienated from her church after 53 years of faithfully serving and supporting it. I interpret "Purpose Driven" as "driving the seniors out of the church on purpose". Thanks to God she found a new church where they practice "unity in the Body".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A warning to Christians, December 13, 2012
By 
G or K B (McGill, Nevada United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Side of the Purpose Driven Church: Expanded Edtion (Paperback)
This is information warning Christians about the New Age Movement within our ranks. This is hard hitting factual information what your Church should be on guard for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars he has been there to know the truth, January 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Side of the Purpose Driven Church: Expanded Edtion (Paperback)
I am so glad people are speaking out on the evils of the Purpose Driven Church and Rev. Hutchings has firs hand experience on the heartache of being forced out of his home church. The older people are just thrown out like the garbage. I went to a charismatic church and we left because of the praise and worship was so loud it hurt my ears. They also sold the Purpose Driven Life in their bookstore. One lady told me the music was for the younger people to get them there and to stay but a person could go to the early morning service because it wasn't so loud but no hymns were played there either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative, December 7, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Side of the Purpose Driven Church: Expanded Edtion (Paperback)
Over the last year, I've become increasing disenchanted with Rick Warren when I find out more and more about him. I'm sorry I wasted my time on his book. Dr. Hutchings has written a very real 'wake-up call' for those being taken in by this charletan (Warren).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs down, March 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Side of the Purpose Driven Church: Expanded Edtion (Paperback)
I purchased this to get an idea of why some Christians are anti-Rick Warren. This book is a hate-filled diatribe. Miniscule item are taken out of context from Warren's writings to build a case against him - a case which doesn't stand up under close examination If you read this, make sure you also read Warren's books, especially The Purpose Driven Church yourself - don't just take this author's word for what Warren says and stands for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It was in fair condition, June 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Side of the Purpose Driven Church: Expanded Edtion (Paperback)
This book had some pages that had been folded down, so I knew it wasn't new. But otherwise it was in pretty good condition. It was very interesting reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Dark Side of the Purpose Driven Church: Expanded Edtion
The Dark Side of the Purpose Driven Church: Expanded Edtion by Rev. N. W. Hutchings (Paperback - August 1, 2007)
Used & New from: $4.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.