Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Game. Finally, a game that actually is difficult and rewarding.
I got this game this weekend, and have already put in 40 hours of gameplay. Most of the online "reviews" from consumers bitch about the controls. While I can say Bandai (creators) could have done a better job with the PC controls, this game is made to be played with a controller, and anyone following the series should know that by now. If if the pc controls were...
Published 8 months ago by Drew Gorman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was well... Meh...
I'd rather play the first game without GFWL but this is alright I suppose. Nowhere near the attention to detail and story telling as the first game though.
Published 5 months ago by Sky


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Game. Finally, a game that actually is difficult and rewarding., April 28, 2014
This review is from: Dark Souls 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I got this game this weekend, and have already put in 40 hours of gameplay. Most of the online "reviews" from consumers bitch about the controls. While I can say Bandai (creators) could have done a better job with the PC controls, this game is made to be played with a controller, and anyone following the series should know that by now. If if the pc controls were top notch/max customization, there is no way you could do this as effectively without having a controller in hand. All you need to do is plug in a WIRED xbox 360 (or third party) controller and you'll be set.The game shouldn't be voted on based on some of the issues it has using a mouse and keyboard. That's just ridiculous.

This game continued to live up to the souls series and provided a plethora of new [brutal] bosses, hidden areas, and tons of completely open world exploration.

The game is exactly how I thought it would be. I'm sick of the carebear gaming genre catering to whiny casuals who complain if a certain puzzle/boss fight takes more than two attempts. Games like this (cough WoW), makes it feel unrewarding and you always walk away feeling like the game was too short or you didn't get your monies worth.Furthermore, I despise having a linear path progression through a game; you just feel like you are being spoonfed and handheld the entire time. Having the ability to explore different areas, and have multiple "boss fight options" open to you any any given point keeps the game interesting.

You will die, period. The sooner you accept this the sooner you will start to enjoy this game. Sometimes bosses will take 30+ attempts to down in order to get the mechanics right. Sometimes you'll be invaded while fighting other NPCs. Sometimes you'll fall victim to a trap and plunge to your death. All these parts are what make up a great game.

Overall, this is easily one of the top 10 games I've ever played in my life. If you want a challenge and want to actual feel that a sense of accomplishment after beating a boss, get this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PC version is the way to go, April 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dark Souls 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I bought the 360 version when it came out, and had a blast playing it. Although the graphics were fairly boring, I was willing to let that slide because the souls games are all about the awesome gameplay. That being said, having to play at 30fps is completely asinine and makes the whole experience feel a whole lot less smooth that it should. Still fun don't get me wrong, but for a game that relies on precise timing for rolls and parrys it really puts a damper on things.

Good news everyone! Game will play at 60fps right out of the box, no modding required. This makes a huge difference, and for me at least makes this repurchase totally worth it. Of course we also get the ability to render above 720p, AA, AO, and a few other graphical options. Nothing to fancy, but still enough to make it look quite a bit prettier than the console versions. Durante (guy responsible for DSfix) has already released a modding tool which is optimized to work with DSII (google "GeDoSaTo"). Not at all necessary like DSfix was, but adds some nice features like better AO, easy downsampeling, and better DoF. If you have a bit of a beefier gfx card might wanna look into it.

If you bought the console version of DSII and are wondering if the PC version is worth your hard earned$ the answer is yes, especially if you sell your console version to help cover the costs. If you don't have DSII yet get the PC version. I'm betting even some laptops could render this game at 720p with close to 60fps. The better texture resolution on the PC version, along with the higher frame rate would easily make it a better choice than the console versions.

Gavlan wheel, Gavlan deal!

[Edit] Forgot to mention, load times are rediclously fast (I have it on a SSD). You can use a cracked red eye orb and be in somebody's world in under 5 seconds!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who says they dont make them like they used to?, May 1, 2014
This review is from: Dark Souls 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I don't normally buy video games on release, but I just could not refrain from getting this sequel to the amazing Dark Souls. Yes, the game suffers from consolitis, but keep the game's roots in mind.

The developers have little experience with PC games, and in spite of this they have managed to release an extremely well optimized game that could run on the weakest of laptops while still looking beautiful and retaining a smooth frame-rate.

The atmosphere is still there, the difficulty and sense of accomplishment surpasses its predecessors, and the new multiplayer and combat features are welcome upgrades. I do think the level design is slightly inferior and less memorable compared to Dark Souls' Lordran, but this could be due to the implementation of fast travel.

And please, make your first play through a special one by avoiding internet spoilers and guides.

Discover! Speculate about the lore! and Cooperate with random 'spirits'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best RPG's Ever!, May 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dark Souls 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Just finished it last night after 60+ hours of game play. I not only enjoyed every minute of it, I am still enjoying it today as I begin my new quest a second time around on New Game Plus (much harder the second time around).

What a masterpiece of a game. Everything about it screams death and frustration lol, but that's what makes it so good. I often found my self screaming "NOOOOOOO" at the screen when ever I died lol, only to get right back into it until I succeeded. Online Player VS Player (PVP) is lots of fun, and grinding for souls to put points and stats into your characters attributes to make him or her stronger and better is lots of fun too. I started out as a Sorcerer and eventually ended up with a intelligence/strength character build that just kicks ass.

Graphics run beautifully and without a hiccup at 1080p and 60fps on my GTX 770 graphics card. Played it using a PlayStation 4 controller with "DS4 Tool" which works like a charm. This game is definitely better played using a controller as opposed to a mouse and keyboard.

Highly recommended if you are into Role Playing Games. Truly epic. Can't wait until they make and release a Dark Souls 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy sequel, April 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dark Souls 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
If you played Dark Souls: you will enjoy this game. End of story. They tweaked the mechanics a little bit, but for the most part it's the same game with a different story. The online finally works right. No more "Summoning Failed" messages after 30 seconds, now you will know as soon as you touch the summon sign whether or not somebody is coming to help. The online is extremely active during launch week, the community should be around for a good long time.

If you never played Dark Souls: it's a good game and it stands on its own merits. The Souls series of games are infamous for their difficulty. The games are not hard to play, but they will punish mistakes and hastiness harshly. The on-line aspects add a great deal, and they finally work right in the PC version. Pick this game up if you're looking for a slow paced action RPG with fun combat mechanics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Game, Bad Souls Game, August 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dark Souls 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
As a fan of the souls games, this was one of my favorites, but also one of the worst souls games out there. Allow me to ellaborate: This game is fun and has many options for character design and playstyle (also I would like to mention that the horrible system of ip pool multiplayer is gone), this being probably the only reason I would call it one of my favorites. However, the level of difficulty, level design, enemy diversity and the lack of lore compared to demon's souls and dark souls makes this game not feel like a souls game. Let's start with difficulty. This is mostly referring to bosses. These bosses are a joke compared to dark souls. With even a little cognotive motor function and very very basic understanding of game mechanics, you can almost 1 try every single boss in the game. And if you can't, you just summon some experienced player and he or she will tackle the boss for you. Very disappointing and unsatisfactory to fans of the souls games. Now the level design. Very poor compared to dark souls. There's little to no interconnectivity between areas as there was in dark souls, and also some of the areas don't make logical sense. Example: You are in an area with poisonous pools and lakes, and you find a castle to explore! You make your way through the castle, up an elevator, and you find yourself in a seemingly whole new continent with a lava ocean pouring down all over the floor. (If you don't get why this doesnt make sense, it's because realistically, the lava castle in the sky would poor lava down all over the poison castle below.) The game feels as if each area was created seperately and then all shoved together before release. And about the lore, its just not as pronounced as its predecessors (though in those games it wasn't very pronounced either) and some of it conflicts with itself.

Pros
-Fixed multiplayer
-Many new magics to choose from
-Increased character design
-60fps instead of being locked to 30
-1080p resolution available

Cons
-Little difficulty
-Area design is sub par
-No interconnectivity
-Fromsoft nerfs every other week, ruining a lot of builds and fun in the game (most magic is unusable now because From defines it as over powered)
-Less realistic weapon models than Dark Souls

Overall this game is still a fun game, it just is more than a bit off for a souls game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably my all time favorite game., May 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dark Souls 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
My only two gripes about it are, it's way easier to level, and there are way more bonfires than in Dark souls 1. But it is still a challenging game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I didn't expect to play it with a mouse and keyboard, and I like it a lot overall, May 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dark Souls 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I'm a huge fan of DS1 (port issues aside) and the new game is just as good if not a little better. Graphics are dramatically improved for me (i5 4430 and Radeon 7870 2gb), the worlds look amazing and the characters as well. The new feature that you lose max hp per death is absolutely brutal, and I would say the new game is significantly harder than DS1 (for good or bad, ha). I play with a 360 controller and have no controller issues at all. My only complaint would be that the hit boxes are not as accurate. Occasionally a monster will swing his sword near you but not visibly strike you and still do damage etc. It isn't super frequent and generally isn't an issue of being 10 feet away, but 1/2 foot away, but it is still a bit annoying. Other than that it is a 5 star game for me. I wouldn't hesitate to buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best version of the game, April 29, 2014
This review is from: Dark Souls 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
The PC version of DS2 is the best version of the game. Textures and lighting are upgraded with lots of other features.

Seems to be a lot of people giving negative reviews because they don't have a proper set up to play this, i.e. a controller, as opposed to actually judging this game on the merits.

Have a controller in hand and be ready for a challenging, consumming, and rewarding game that builds upon everything Demon's and DS 1 started.

Great game, great port, and a definite must buy. Cannot emphasize enough how good of a port this is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was well... Meh..., July 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dark Souls 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I'd rather play the first game without GFWL but this is alright I suppose. Nowhere near the attention to detail and story telling as the first game though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dark Souls 2 [Online Game Code]
$39.99 $19.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.