Dark Star and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$13.86
Qty:1
  • List Price: $17.99
  • Save: $4.13 (23%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Dark Star Hardcover – October 23, 2012


See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$13.86
$5.40 $0.01

100%20Children%27s%20Books%20to%20Read%20in%20a%20Lifetime



Frequently Bought Together

Dark Star + Burn Bright (Dark Star)
Price for both: $27.28

Buy the selected items together
  • Burn Bright (Dark Star) $13.42

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Children's Halloween Books
Visit the Children's Halloween Bookstore to find everything from pumpkin picture books to spooky chapter books.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 12 and up
  • Grade Level: 7 - 12
  • Series: Dark Star
  • Hardcover: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Hyperion Book CH (October 23, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1423146654
  • ISBN-13: 978-1423146650
  • Product Dimensions: 8.6 x 6 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (34 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,125,295 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 7-11-Eleventh-grader Audrey Whitticomb always assumed that her mother, Morning Star, was a typical vigilante. But after a terrifying encounter outside a local nightclub while investigating a mysterious attack on her best friend, Audrey learns the truth. She and her mother are Kin, members of a powerful ancient race that long ago adapted to life among humans. Morning Star battles Harrowers, bloodthirsty, demonic beings who covet the Kins' abilities. A war between these races is brewing, and Audrey knows her psychic powers could help turn the tables. First, though, she must shake her mother's handsome, but annoyingly overprotective sidekick. Leon follows Audrey everywhere, and she soon learns the reason for this. She alone possesses the power to save-or destroy-life as she knows it. Frenette's debut novel pairs paranormal elements with strong female characters to put a delightfully refreshing spin on the conventional superhero saga. Audrey is smart, funny, and self-sufficient, although her impulsiveness tends to get her into trouble, and even secondary characters come to life. Fans of Cassandra Clare and Karsten Knight will devour this action-packed book.-Alissa J. Bach, Oxford Public Library, MIα(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

From Booklist

Audrey has a gift of “knowing”: gathering impressions of people and what may happen in the near future, a talent nurtured by her late grandmother. But Audrey is not the only special one in her family. Her mother is a superhero (though she prefers the term guardian) by the name of Morning Star, complete with a teleporting sidekick named Leon. Soon Audrey comes to learn that her mother is fighting more than just crime on the streets of Minneapolis, and guardian is a far more apt description than she ever realized. For those who like a healthy dose of the supernatural in their superhero origin story, this exciting, suspenseful debut is a smart choice. Frenette’s thoughtful character building convincingly sells a myth-heavy story, and yet there’s still time for a slow-building romance between Audrey and Leon. Though in some places the narrative plods, and tertiary characters tend to detract from the action, there’s plenty for readers to enjoy here. Grades 9-12. --Courtney Jones

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
11
3 star
5
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 34 customer reviews
Overall, the plot is unpredictable.
Nawanda Files Book Reviews
Continuing the theme of strong characters and their interactions, Audrey's relationship with her two best friends is just as well-written.
Laura
I am looking forward to the next book and hope it comes out soon.
the gorm

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful By Leah on October 23, 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Dark Star isn't your typical superhero story--and that's a good thing. This is a new spin on urban fantasy with a rich, fascinating mythology, very scary baddies, a goofy sense of humor, and moments of lyrical beauty.

Audrey's mom is a superhero. Well, kind of. The superhero thing may or may not be a disguise to hide her real job from people who ask too many questions. People like the cops--and her daughter. But Audrey's mom is a superhero in other ways--holding their little family together when her father leaves, trying to keep Audrey safe from the nasty things that roam the streets of Minneapolis at night. And we're not talking unsavory boys, here.

Speaking of unsavory boys, there's one boy in Audrey's life who's almost a bit TOO savory. Leon, her mom's so-called sidekick, is just the right blend of gorgeous and bossy to drive Audrey insane. It's even more annoying when Leon turns out to be right about the dangers Audrey faces because of her mysterious origin.

What I loved most about Dark Star is the humor. This isn't the mean-spirited, ultra-snarky stuff you see in a lot of urban fantasy--it's genuine, goofy, and fun. The characters feel like real people, not jerkish Joss Whedon wannabes. Their dialogue is snappy but affectionate. The relationship between Audrey and her mom, in particular, is beautifully drawn--they drive each other crazy, but they love each other like crazy, too. It's refreshing to read YA where the MC has a healthy and close relationship with their parent, rather than the typical Absent Parent Syndrome.

Another high point is that Frenette's prose sings. It's fluid and often poetic, especially when she's describing the creepy, creepy world of the Beneath.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By MaryAnn on October 27, 2012
Format: Hardcover
If you're anything like me (and by that I mean addicted to the superhero worlds that reside within Marvel and DC) then just reading the synopsis of Bethany Frenette's novel Dark Star was enough to spark your interest and give you goosies. The exact same thing happened to me. In my mind, when I finished reading the synopsis, the first thing that came to mind was: "So you're meaning to tell me that this novel is about a girl with a Superhero mother who fights demons, has an attractive sidekick, and that the main character has enough power within herself to save the city? You had me at Superhero." Hopefully, you're thinking that too and if you aren't you can pretend that the above was your own thought. But I, personally, was begging to start Dark Star because I wanted to read all this superhero goodness since the YA world needs more superhero genre novels, which I am dying for.

The novel itself is about main character Audrey Whitticomb who has grown up without a father, and has a mother who is the superhero Morning Star who defends Minneapolis. To make the story cooler, there is a superhot sidekick named Leon who has lately taken it to himself to constantly protect Audrey due to a series of deaths in teenage girls that are connected to Demons who are plotting something that is seriously not good. Dark Star had high expectations from me and not only did it meet them, it took a raygun, pointed it at my head and *boom* blew my freaking mind!

If you read a lot of stuff from DC comics, then hopefully you know who Zatanna Zatara is? If you do then great! If you don't, you're on the internet right now so go ahead and Google her! Now that you are aware who Zatanna is, you know that she is full of power and that she is a part of a secret variety of people called the homo-magi.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Christina (A Reader of Fictions) TOP 1000 REVIEWER on October 23, 2012
Format: Hardcover
Even though I love this cover, my expectations going into this were pretty low. I haven't seen any reviews for it, but I've heard from people who read reviews that they've seen less than encouraging ones. As such, I adjusted my hopes down a bit and set off. Actually, I ended up really enjoying Dark Star. Is it perfect? No. Is it a fun? Heck yes!

The very best part of Dark Star is the characterization. Recently, though I've been on a really good reading streak, I feel like most of my star deductions have been for characters that didn't feel real to me or that I simply could not connect with, so I really needed this character-driven read. Audrey has a huge personality, funny and clever and a little bit rebellious. I loved her voice so much that the writing style, which leans a bit more to the choppy fragments style than I generally care for, didn't bother me much.

Not only is Audrey awesome, her friends are great too. She has two best friends, Gabriel and Tink. Gabriel is the only one who has been trusted with her mother's secret (that she's the superhero Morning Star, though she prefers to be called a Guardian, and fights bad guys with her younger partner Leon). Audrey trusts Gabriel implicitly, the only secrets she keeps from him being ones she's not allowed to tell. Tink, who I totally pictured as the character of the same name from The Guild, is outgoing and tiny and a little bit terrifying. They have a real bond and I love to see that in novels.

Perhaps even more rare, Audrey has a loving, protective, approachable, attentive mother. Can such a thing truly exist in YA? Apparently so! Audrey's mother, Lucy, does go out all night to fight crime, but she's in no way an absentee mom. She manages to spend a lot of time with her daughter.
Read more ›
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?