Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Just Want My Thoity-Five Cents!
Okay... "Dark and Stormy Night" is my new favorite movie. It's written and directed by Larry Blamire ("Lost Skeleton of Cadavra", "Trail of the Screaming Forehead") and it's a satire of Old Dark House horror movies. This movie is ten times funnier than "Murder By Death". I loved the movie version of "Clue" (sue me). This is better. I can't even begin to count the...
Published on August 30, 2010 by Craig Gustafson

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's no Lost Skeleton
I was a huge fan of Lost Skeleton of Cadavra Cave (probably a top 10 favorite of mine) but Dark and Stormy night did not work for me. Whereas Lost Skeleton kept me laughing from start to finish, Dark and Stormy Night only ever solicited a few brief snickers. The characters were, for the most part, over done, unconvincing and annoying. It also seemed like the pacing of the...
Published on November 13, 2010 by Josh


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Just Want My Thoity-Five Cents!, August 30, 2010
By 
This review is from: Dark And Stormy Night (DVD)
Okay... "Dark and Stormy Night" is my new favorite movie. It's written and directed by Larry Blamire ("Lost Skeleton of Cadavra", "Trail of the Screaming Forehead") and it's a satire of Old Dark House horror movies. This movie is ten times funnier than "Murder By Death". I loved the movie version of "Clue" (sue me). This is better. I can't even begin to count the strange quotes you're going to be getting from me. The dialogue is rapid-fire and brilliantly off-the-wall. There is a love of and dexterity with language and a dearth of fart jokes.

It has the goddess Jennifer Blaire (Animala in "Lost Skeleton") as wise-cracking reporter Billy Tuesday. As far as I'm concerned, she's right up there with the goddess Jane Lynch.

This also has the goddess Fay Masterson (Betty in "Lost Skeleton") as a British ingénue so helpless she can't sit in a chair on her own and the amazing goddess Susan McConnell (Lattis in "Lost Skeleton") as a mad Scotswoman with the greatest heavily-accented vituperation this side of John Cleese as the French guard in "Monty Python and the Holy Grail".

If you like the Christopher Guest style of ensemble casting, you're going to love this movie. Andrew Parks (Kro-Bar in "Lost Skeleton") is the standard issue tuxedoed British fop. His mom, Betty Garrett (from "Laverne & Shirley") pops in and out of the story with her gorilla (Bob Burns. If you've ever seen a gorilla in a 1960s sitcom, it was Bob Burns.) Jim Beaver (Ellsworth on "Deadwood") is great as the deceased millionaire's safari guide ("Some of the toughest four days I've ever spent.") Actually, there isn't anybody in this movie who couldn't be singled out - which of course is what you're shooting for with an ensemble.

I completely love Larry Blamire. In a Non-Threatening, Manly American sort of way, I mean. I watched the film again with the commentary track on. His frame of reference is so like mine, it's frightening. Who else bases a character on William Demarest in "All Through the Night" (a Bogart comedy that flopped because it was marketed as an action film)?

This is a movie for anyone who ever wished the "Carol Burnett Show" had hired the writers from "Your Show of Shows".

Quotes:

"I'd LIKE a ducky."

"Hi everybody my name's Ray Vestinhaus - a stranger - and my car just happened to break down just outside, can I stay for the reading of the will? (BEAT) Oop."

"I am Dr. von Vandervon. Dr. Van von Vandervon."

"Let the puppy go!" - "Come to Nana!" "Let the puppy GO!" - "Come to NANA!" "LET THE PUPPY GO!" - "COME TO NANA!"

"Let us leave this room of death and mounted heads who once were friends."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really fun film, August 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dark And Stormy Night (DVD)
Being a huge fan of movies such as, "The Old Dark House" from 1932, with Charles Laughton and Boris Karloff, and "One Body Too Many" from 1944 with Bela Lugosi, I was anxious to see how the Director would pay homage to those films and others in it's genre. I found the movie entertaining, with lots of quick witted dialogue, great atmosphere and a respectful spoof of the great classic murder mysteries from the 30's, 40's and 50's. If you are a fan of more recent murder mystery movies with a comedic dark side, such as "Clue", "Murder by Death" or "The Cheap Detective", then you will enjoy this film. The DVD offers the film in both black and white and in color, however, in my opinion, much of the allure and chemistry of the film is lost in the color version. A good film overall and one that I would recommend for anyone looking for a fun little night of murder in an old dark house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious Satire!!!, August 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dark And Stormy Night (DVD)
What a pleasure this film is! We laughed from the opening scene all the way through the last moments. Larry Blamire's gift for ridiculous dialogue and spot on satire shines through in this wonderful send up of "people stuck in the house with a murderer(s) on the loose" genre. The acting is very strong and the comedic moments (which are numerous) are played "straight" - which is the only way to do it! My hat's off to Blamire & Crew for bringing yet another fine comedy together. I can't wait for the next movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Surprise, October 10, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dark And Stormy Night (DVD)
Honestly, this movie was a complete surprise. I thought it might be worth a look based upon the reviews I read. I am glad I ordered it. I know this is one of those movies I'll watch again. The tone is perfect for this style of movie. It has perfect pitch for what it is trying to accomplish. The lines are funny, the acting is good and the plot is entertaining. The poor cabbie will wind up being one of your favorites. He just wants his thirty five cents. Poor guy. He gets trapped into a bad situation where he winds up in a house with a killer. This is a perfect spoof and hits the tone of the genre right on. I'm surprised more people don't know about this movie and I think it would be worthy of a show on something like public television to reach a wider audience. As one reviewer mentioned, you will come away with lines you won't forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun spoof of 30's/40's type murder mystery films, August 30, 2010
By 
Kevin H. Dudley (Roanoke, VA (USA)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dark And Stormy Night (DVD)
Dark & Stormy Night is a spoof of those great murder mystery type movies from the 30's & 40's in which a group of characters gather at a creepy old house/mansion of some sort, in this case to hear a will reading of a recently deceased individual. Unbeknownst to them at first is that there is a murderer in their midst and one by one people start getting picked off while the rest try to figure out who the killer is.

Writer/director/actor/producer Larry Blamire really nails the look of these type of classic old movies. Even though this movie was filmed on sound stages, the feel of the house that this takes place in is great and very authentic to that era. Big, expansive with all kinds of rooms, nooks & crannies and secret compartments for the characters to discover.

The cast is thoroughly excellent and as with Larry Blamire's 2 Lost Skeleton films are obviously having a blast. There is also some appropriately cheesy model work near the beginning involving a car going over an old decrepit wooden bridge. The musical score is also surprisingly very authentic to this type of movie.

If there is one slight criticism that I have with the film, it's that the fact that movie starts to drag in a few places in terms of the pacing. The movie is 90 minutes along and maybe could have been slightly more effective with a little more judicious editing to maybe around 75 minutes.

But that is a slight complaint. The movie is funny, immensely quotable and very well done in all respects. It might not have the immediate wide appeal that the Lost Skeleton films have, but it manages to execute its humor in a more sly manner that makes it a very satisfying viewing experience. And don't forget the willsnacks when you watch this with friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spooooky dark house... EEEEEKKKK, August 21, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dark And Stormy Night (DVD)
I'm a big Larry Blamire fan and ordered this as soon as it was available. My kids and I waited with bated breath until it came. Then we watched and laughed and mocked this genre of film that was so popular back in the 1930. All the characters that you love in old dark house movies are portrayed, and brilliantly by Larry's cast from The Lost Skeleton series.

The only point I have against this film, and my kids agree with me, is that one of the characters really "pushes the envelope" if you will, past the point of acceptable ridiculousness. Larry and the producers have always struggled with where the line is when making fun of a genre film. I'd say they got it 97%. The 4 stars are because I can't give 4.5 stars.

For those of you that haven't' seen them.... watch The Lost Skeleton of Cadavera and The Lost Skeleton Returns Again. Both brilliant and wonderfully funny, also by Larry Blamire and company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gather friends & family, and don't forget to serve the will snacks!, August 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dark And Stormy Night (DVD)
The mad geniuses who cooked up The Lost Skeleton of Cadavra can apparently do no wrong. If you know Larry Blamire's other work, you know the tone of this piece, and if you don't, you're in for a treat. Comedy fans who were unmoved by the hokey sci-fi cliches of Lost Skeleton might be more enamored with this spooky old house murder-mystery. Like Clue, Murder By Death, and other wacky takes on the genre, the laughs don't come at the expense of the mystery, which is a well kept secret until the final set piece. Unlike those others, this one has more delightful nonsense and dementedly witless wordplay than Through the Looking Glass. Classic film enthusiasts will giggle at every turn of 30s slang and chuckle at each plot device, from the creak of each secret door to the glimmer of eyeholes in the family portraits. Those less initiated (and they are few-- for example, children who have somehow never seen Scooby-Doo) will still find it funny on a more absurd level. This is a movie to be enjoyed with an audience, so gather a group together and enjoy. Don't forget to serve the "will snacks."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous Old Dark House Picture!, August 20, 2010
By 
Matt Preston (College Park, GA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dark And Stormy Night (DVD)
Homage or Spoof? Both! This is a brilliant low-budget effort by the team who brought you The Lost Skeleton of Cadavra, Trail of the Screaming Forehead and The Lost Skeleton Returns Again. The miniatures look wonderfully cheesy, the sets lovingly crafted. Costumes, lighting, effects, music - period 1930's and pitch-perfect. The acting is totally over the top ham by some very talented actors. The director is bringing you a love-letter to the genre "old dark house." This is a great movie to watch with friends on bad movie night. Delightful from start to ridiculous finish! There is a commentary track that only makes you laugh and appreciate this movie even more. Also included is a full-length colorized version! Fun - all of it, great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny parody, but..., September 18, 2010
By 
Cranky Reviewer (SEYMOUR, WI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dark And Stormy Night (DVD)
I enjoyed this spoof of spooky house horror movies very much, though the two main characters got on my nerves with their (intentionally) hackneyed bickering. Having recently watched the old version of The Legend of Hell House made it all the more entertaining.

But I have to say, though clever, it is not nearly as laugh-out-loud funny as Larry Blamire's other movies, The Lost Skeleton of Kedavra, and the new sequel, The Lost Skeleton Returns Again.

Got to ding you down to 4 stars for that. Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ... typed Snoopy, November 16, 2010
This review is from: Dark And Stormy Night (DVD)
A bunch of random people come to a remote mansion. There's a thunderstorm. The bridge is washed out. Curses are due to hit. A serial killer is on the loose. There's a gorilla... wait, what?

Yes, "Dark and Stormy Night" is a spoof of those... um, movies where people end up in a remote mansion, die horribly one by one, and must figure out who is the killer. Director Larry Blamire and his usual gang of skilled actors are hilarious as they pirouette through a maze of genre cliches, although some of the gags wear a bit thin.

Several people come to the remote mansion of Sinas Cavinder to hear his last will and testament, which leaves everything to his ward Sabasha (Fay Masterson). Among them: a loopy medium, a sad-sack nephew and his adulterous wife, a safari guide, a pair of reporters, a little league waterboy, a psychotic cook, a cabby trying to collect thirty-five cents, and a gorilla. Wait, why is the gorilla here?

But there is an addendum to the will... which unexpectedly goes missing when the lawyer is killed. Also, there's a witch's curse, and old Sinas' curse, and two killers who are somewhere in the house.

Of course, a sinister masked figure starts stalking through the mansion, killing people one by one -- and every time someone is about to either reveal the killer or read the letter, the light goes out and they're stabbed. It's up to two bickering reporters to flush out the killers before they become the next victims of MURDER MOST FOUL!

Okay, "Dark and Stormy Night" is not quite as good as The Lost Skeleton of Cadavra, which was pure gold from start to finish. Some of the gags are a little overmilked, such as the running joke where somebody is just about to reveal the killer/read the letter... only to have the lights go out and the person gets stabbed.

But it's still hilarious, especially since there are a lot of familiar faces here -- Blamire himself, Jennifer Blaire, Dan Conroy, Trish Geiger, Susan McConnell, Alison Martin, James Karen, and Brian Howe. All of them give earnest, straight-faced performances, saying the most ridiculous lines without cracking a smile ("The frog of uncertainty danced in my head too, as they say!").

The plot is ridiculously over-complex, with deliberately clumsy lumps of exposition and a dramatic style. And as you'd expect from a Blamire movie, the dialogue is cheesy ("You mean spend the night? In this awful house of pain and death?"), nonsensical ("How can I run a house when a man has something sticking from his back that makes him DEAD?!") and.... just plain goofy ("I'll lance your imaginary boils!").

"Dark and Stormy Night" isn't quite as good as some of Blamire's other cult spoofs, but it's still... what's that word... something like funniness, but more.... HILARIOUS.

And what's with the gorilla?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dark And Stormy Night
Dark And Stormy Night by Larry Blamire (DVD - 2010)
$14.98 $9.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.