Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just clearing something up.
First of all, this is great! I would reccomend it for anyone who wants to learn who to make 'real' games(not using generators). If you are wanting to go pro though, save your money for DarkBasic Pro version.

Anyways, I wanted to clear up about the thing someboby said that you have to mold levels in DarkBasic 'Classic'(not Professional) tile by tile. That is...
Published on February 5, 2006

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good concept, but Darkbasic pro is a better choice
I own both this and darkbasic pro,
I would like to say that they are both great products, but not for those with no programing mentality. Writting a game requires good understanding in maths and generaly thinking in a clear logical way. So it is not as easy as it says on the packaging. The tutorial on the manual is very good, and will get you started writting first...
Published on June 30, 2004 by Hilmi S Alkindy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just clearing something up., February 5, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: DarkBASIC 3D Games Creator [Old Version] (CD-ROM)
First of all, this is great! I would reccomend it for anyone who wants to learn who to make 'real' games(not using generators). If you are wanting to go pro though, save your money for DarkBasic Pro version.

Anyways, I wanted to clear up about the thing someboby said that you have to mold levels in DarkBasic 'Classic'(not Professional) tile by tile. That is true if you do it strictly through programming, but if you download one of the matrix editors made with DarkBasic you can make levels much easier. Just go to the DarkBasic site([...] find the DarkBasic area, click on Showcase, on the left hand side of the screen, then click on Applications. Now, mixed with a few other things, you will see 5 or 6 level editors for you too download and use free of charge.

I will again say, DarkBasic is great! This is by far the easiest and cheapest(even DarkBasic Professional) 'real' game making language. Even if you have no idea how to program, the useful tutorials and online forum/codebase will explain everything to you, and in a few days you will have a good, but basic, game too enjoy!

Oh, and one more thing. If you are new to programming get the regular, or classic, version of DarkBasic before you get the Pro version, it has alot better tutorials and such for the beginner. See for yourself and download the 30 day trial versions at [...]

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great intro into game developing..., July 21, 2003
By 
This review is from: DarkBASIC 3D Games Creator [Old Version] (CD-ROM)
A very good start for anyone wanting to get into game developing. I've had great success with this version of DarkBASIC, the pro version still seems extremely buggy at least for me, so I went back to this version. The DarkBASIC forum is very helpful but like other forums you're better off reading through some of the threads before you post a question or risk getting flamed... Unlike general purpose languages like C/C++, DarkBASIC is specifically designed for game developing, meaning that a lot of the house work required to initially set up before actually displaying graphics is done for you... You can very easily display graphics/models/etc in a few lines and begin your game developing adventure right away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dude that uses DrakBASIC, February 3, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: DarkBASIC 3D Games Creator [Old Version] (CD-ROM)
DarkBASIC is a great product. I use it as my primary language for the game I am creating. I find it to be an increadably easy to use language. The code is simple, it comes with a manual that explains everything, and some tutorials that explain it further. I find these things really helpful. It has a great interface and uses DirectX to its full extent. It includes sample games that show you how to do certain things, models and art for game creation, and its own editor/compiler. On thier website, they tell news, downlads for other games, support, additional artowrk and examples, links, and other things. A great recommendation, if you use DarkBASIC, is downloading a windows editor that is if not as much, easier to use than the one supplied by Enteractive. Also, due to DarkBASIC being written in C++, it can go as fast, or sometimes even faster, than C++. If you want to make a game, but don't want to spend a lot of time learning C++ and the money for a comiler, DarkBASIC should definently be your choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disambiguity, January 10, 2008
This review is from: DarkBASIC 3D Games Creator [Old Version] (CD-ROM)
The four stars are for what the product is. The one missing is for what the product isn't.

DarkBASIC is a BASIC dialect designed to facilitate video game making. The language is very English-like, which makes it easy to understand. From my experience, DarkBASIC is fast, powerful, and easy.

However, it is VERY important to note that, in this product, you are paying for an editor, not a compiler. This means that the programs you will write will be saved in .DBA format and will be useless outside the editor. You cannot save to executable files.

Also, current buyers might want to note that this program uses DirectX 8.1, a thoroughly outdated version of Microsoft's DirectX line. Thus, the graphics and sound quality you produce will not be as pristine as those from, say, DirectX 9.0 or 10.0.

One particular that nearly tricked me was the name that Amazon has given this product. For those of you who don't know, The Game Makers (the company which makes DarkBASIC) manufacture another software product called The 3D Gamemaker. This is a drag-and-drop game creation environment that requires little to no programming. However, this product is not The 3D Gamemaker and will make you write code.

Fundamentally, this is an educational tool. If you want a simple and fun way to learn to program, this product is an excellent choice. However, if you are interested in creating standalone games, you need to either pay a bit more for a compiler or find a different language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great game dev app, June 25, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: DarkBASIC 3D Games Creator [Old Version] (CD-ROM)
This program is great for anyone who really wants to make games but doesnt have the time to pour over thousands of lines of obscure code.
Anyone can learn the basic syntax and have something neat on the screen in under 10 lines.
Ive enjoyed this product for over 2 years now and always find something new to explore or create on a daily basis.
:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet software. Easy to use., August 8, 2005
This review is from: DarkBASIC 3D Games Creator [Old Version] (CD-ROM)
With this software you can create a 2-D or 3-D game.
Follow the tutorial you can download from [...] (producers of the software) and you will create a real game in about 2 weeks of nights.
[...]
This box is the FULL package [...] The software is not as fully supported as the professional version, but for a hobbiest, it is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, July 5, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: DarkBASIC 3D Games Creator [Old Version] (CD-ROM)
DarkBASIC is one of the best game development and rapid prototyping tools you could buy. The most valuable aspect of DarkBASIC is its community. The DarkBASIC community is an active closely-knit group of game developers, 3d modelers, and musicians. The community always welcomes new members and is a superb source for help and ideas. Although the GUI isn't the best Darkbasic Is packaged with another editor called Dark Edit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good concept, but Darkbasic pro is a better choice, June 30, 2004
By 
This review is from: DarkBASIC 3D Games Creator [Old Version] (CD-ROM)
I own both this and darkbasic pro,
I would like to say that they are both great products, but not for those with no programing mentality. Writting a game requires good understanding in maths and generaly thinking in a clear logical way. So it is not as easy as it says on the packaging. The tutorial on the manual is very good, and will get you started writting first person shooter games in no time. Otherwise, the manual is very poor when it comes to describing what the commands do. Only the syntax is explained properly. The actual function of the commands is not very clear unless you already know what you are doing, or the command is a very basic one.
This programing language needs a good book to accompany it before it gains any value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for the cost, December 25, 2008
By 
Rachel Yeargin (Detroit, MI, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DarkBASIC 3D Games Creator [Old Version] (CD-ROM)
for only $50 this is AMAZING!!! ive been into programming for about 2 months a know a little C++ but DarkBASIC is waaaay better these are the reasons why:
-Simple and Easy to use
-Can make a program in less than 10 minutes
-You can still make awesome gamestill
-Its made JUST for people new to programming games
i dont think there is anything else i can cover except for the fact that their is very few bugs..but they halt you from learning and the community is great and the websites has plenty of downloadable stuff on it for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for programmers with any level of experience, July 17, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: DarkBASIC 3D Games Creator [Old Version] (CD-ROM)
DarkBASIC is a programming language based on the easy-to-use BASIC language and compiled in C++, giving you the ability to create great games in a short amount of time, without knowing a pinch of the extremely complicated C++. A truly remarkable product. Also make sure to look at DarkBASIC Professional, which will be released in Summer of 2002...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

DarkBASIC 3D Games Creator [Old Version]
DarkBASIC 3D Games Creator [Old Version] by Enteractive Inc. (Windows 2000 / 95 / 98 / Me / NT)
Used & New from: $28.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.