Automotive Deals HPCC Shop Women's Clothing Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 13, 2001
This book deals with two stories that sort of intertwine with each other and could also stand apart from each other as well. But the way it is written the two stories intertwine very well.
The main bad 'guy' is a energy being that wakes up every 50 years or so and causes a little havoc before returning to sleep again. The problem this time is the creature has woken up in a small town. The 'creature' causes trouble with the sheriff with little pranks with the police radio at first but as the story progresses the creature becomes even more mean spirited and stronger.
The second story deals with a person named Sand and how his friends, wife, unborn son and his hybrid wolf/dog was killed by the upper class college boys from a neighboring town and how the then sheriff sided with the 'good old boys' against Sand after he gained some payback against the college boys.
Sand with his friends try and help the remaining residents battle the energy creature while at the same time trying to help them escape before the goverment drops "the big one" on the town in a attempt to destroy the creature.
If you haven't already read this book I will recommend that you try and get a copy of it because the ending is strange and deserves a sequel written about it.
There is some funny moments in it and if you have read his "Ashes" series then you will already know what to expect when a 5 star general responds to several news reporters' questions. The energy creature also has some funny one liners as well to sort of break the tension but Mr. Johnstone quickly draws you back in to the tension filled story.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2000
I am a long time fan of Mr. Johnstone's horror titles. This book is one of my favorites. I couldn't put the book down once I read it and have read probably another four times. Makes you want to go out and buy all of the others he has written; I did!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2015
This is a very exciting book - hard to put down. There is a huge force that takes over a small town & holds it hostage to the being's sick sense of humor, monstrous ego & it's overwhelming power. The characters are well developed & the action is practically non-stop. One thing was missing compared to most of the author's other books. There is very little political rhetoric & that surprised me. I love Mr. Johnstone's books but there is usually a lot of raving against the governments liberal policies & while I won't agree or disagree with his feelings on the subject, it was ok to not have that take up a lot of the book. I do agree with the author that many people today don't look past their desires for high end toys & money & position. This book makes you think more about that issue in our civilization. I think he is an excellent writer in that he can grab you on the first page & it just gets better. Just this year I found this author & I have read a lot of his books & will read as many more as I can find. I am not into the westerns but all the rest I will definitely look at. This book is worth the time to read it if you like stories about the supernatural.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2016
Boy oh boy, what to say about the horror novels of William Johnstone? Dark horror, deep religion, bursts of really stunning and unusual creepiness mixed with occasionally truly amateurish writing. Darkly the Thunder- really, anything by Johnstone in the horror genre- is practically the definition of so-bad-it's-good cheesy 80's horror.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2014
If you have only read anything by William W. Johnstone written after the early 2000s, you should know something. Most after that were not written by him. Especially in recent years, there has been a growing distinct difference in style between his original stuff and now. I say this because Darkly the Thunder is a true Johnstone original. Loads of dark humor, a villain that isnt human but controls most of the local population, and a very surreal cast of characters including the ghost of a guy who wasnt really a bad guy until the murder of his wife and child sent him on a rampage, and the still alive cop who killed him. If you want to see Johnstone at his original best, this is definitely a good place to start.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2015
i read it a long time a go and it was great to find it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2015
no comment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2015
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2015
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2016
I would give zero stars if I could. This has to be the worst book ever written by Mr. johnstone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.