Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
Mikaela Jones has no idea why and how she was brought to New Orleans after the storm, she just is. Despite not knowing anything about her history the character is wonderfully developed and interesting. You can see Mikaela and you want to share her experiences with her. Her innocence draws you in and her passion to experience thing holds you attention. Alexander Broussard...
Published on August 9, 2009 by Heather Nestorick

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy This Book
This book has absolutely no story line. It should be rated XXX since most of the book involves sex between various people - again no story line. I was VERY disappointed with it.
Published on April 7, 2010 by Lori


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, August 9, 2009
This review is from: Darkness Burning (Paperback)
Mikaela Jones has no idea why and how she was brought to New Orleans after the storm, she just is. Despite not knowing anything about her history the character is wonderfully developed and interesting. You can see Mikaela and you want to share her experiences with her. Her innocence draws you in and her passion to experience thing holds you attention. Alexander Broussard knows exactly why he is in New Orleans; what he doesn't know if why their paths have crossed. Alex is delicious; he is definitely an Alpha male who knows what he wants and is not afraid to take it. His personality is not off putting and when he cares for someone he cares and he is fiercely protective. Alex has no idea who Mikaela is when he first meets her but once he meets her, she is his and even though the both fight it, it becomes obvious that they were made for each other. Darkness Burning is the third book in the Dark Realm Series and it's not necessary have read the first two book to enjoy this book, but it will definitely help you get a full understanding of the plot and characters if you read the previous two books. I read book one, but not book two and enjoyed this book completely. The plot of the story is so much fun and has a lot of different elements that keep you guessing and wondering until the last chapter but when the book closes you feel satisfied. The sex in this book is varied and there is lots of it from a little bit of public group sex to anal. There is also a sexy flirtation between Alex and another male character in the book that will make you quiver in anticipation! I would definitely recommended reading this one with the air on high because you are going to be up late into the night! Darkness Burning is a tale of innocent, love, loss and passion that you will not want to put down!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darkness Burning, October 26, 2009
This review is from: Darkness Burning (Paperback)
A journalist in a cesspool of terror and disorder, i.e. New Orleans, Mikaela Jones is a woman with the desire to share the story of the city post the storm that nearly destroyed it. She knows there are monsters roaming the night, not all of them human and she's intent on finding all she can about what is happening during the wee hours of the night when most people have locked themselves away from the evil that roams the streets.

Only her nightmares prepared Miki for the entrance of Alex Broussard, a Born male vampire in a world ruled by a matriarchal regime. What most consider an abomination, Alex is set to finally bring the council of Born female vampires to their knees but his plans didn't include the female human whose innocence beckons him as their shared desires threaten to burn them alive.

In true form, Darkness Burning highlights yet again why Delilah Devlin is known for her ardent vampire tales of lust, love and sinister delights. Telling the story of Alex Broussard, a male Born vampire cloaked for centuries from those who would see him obliterated and his quest to put an end to those who threaten him, his family and his unborn child. Miakaela "Miki" Jones was an enigma with some clarity about her past coming out towards the end even though I have some underlying questions that needed answering.

I will admit to being a newcomer of the Dark Realm series, which I admit affected my ability to really enjoy the story to the fullest. There were a lot of background issues, past relationships, connections and just overall esthetics to this world of vampires, were and demons I feel I may have lost not having read the previous two books. Sometimes I felt puzzled while reading, as if I really needed to know what lead up to the culmination where Alex was finally ready to shut down the leader of the vampire society that had ruined many lives in the past.

With that said, what I loved about this story, is the sexual chemistry between Alex and Miki. These two had me drooling and grinning each and every time they came together. Throw in the other ardent trysts shared by the two and other partners and you have a story that will definitely leave you panting with excitement. Darkness Burning provided lots of intrigue, suspense and edge of violence that helped make it a good story to read. I just really recommend you read the others books if you want to come away with true satisfaction.

Indy
Reviewed for Joyfully Reviewed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I read ALL Devlin books, April 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darkness Burning (Paperback)
This is just one of the her books, very good and will buy all the new books out. Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensual fantasy in epic tradition, August 11, 2009
By 
This review is from: Darkness Burning (Paperback)
Every book by Delilah is worth reading. Every one of her stories is a wonderful, sensual celebration of life and love, amazing storytelling, great plotting, powerful worldbuilding, and delightful writing. Try her! If you're not afraid of feeling every word you read, go ahead, get her books!

Darkness Burning is a fantasy set in post-storm New Orleans, filled with vampires, demons, and other supernatural creatures. Don't expect any Hollywood monsters in Delilah's books, though. Her worlds are full of well-researched mythology, of legends based on ancient archetypes and myths that are the very foundation of our imagination.

Her characters are powerful and complex. No cardboard villains here, or white-hat heroes. Good deeds may have unintended repercussions, and sometimes, you must rely on your very enemy at a moment of need. In the best tradition of swashbuckling intrigues, Delilah Devlin creates a larger-than-life cast of characters with motivations that peel away like onion skins. And once you reach the core...

You'll just have to read it. Because Delilah only promises more at each turn of the road.

And you will want more, because you will fall in love with her characters from the first page, and in lust at the second. Love, lust, need, irresistible attraction, and unstoppable fate mix and weave together to form the lifeblood of Darkness Burning. You can never fully trust your allies, and you must never close your ears to your enemy.

Only love is a certain beacon in darkness.

Or so you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super urban fantasy, June 25, 2009
This review is from: Darkness Burning (Paperback)
The storm of the century devastated New Orleans leaving the city vulnerable to murders, looters, and other deadly predators. In that environs, one killer should not stick out, but to reporter Mikaelaan evil is walking the streets.

Daywalker Alex Broussard has patiently waited seven centuries for his time to occur. He believes it is now. So he prepares to fight to the death the malevolent demon and the invincible female vampire that head the Undead. The only thing distracting him from his date with death is Miki, who he wants but fears allowing her into his dangerous life at a time he hopes to insure a future for his species; yet knows he can no longer allow her to roam The Crescent City alone.

The third erotic Dark Realm urban fantasy (see INTO THE DARKNESS and SEDUCED BY THE DARKNESS) is a super thriller that fans of the saga will devour faster than an Undead can drink blood. The story line is fast-paced and filled with plenty of action including soft BDSM. Although newcomers will be better suited reading the previous two novels first than diving into an already wrecked New Orleans, sub-genre fans will believe the trip into Delilah Devilin's devilishly delightful Darkness is worth the time.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, October 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darkness Burning (Paperback)
if u read this you will need the other three books so you will no what is going on in the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sexy, July 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darkness Burning (Paperback)
Great book especially if u really like a lot of detail. I couldn't put the book down. I am buying more like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darkness Burning, July 13, 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Darkness Burning (Paperback)
This is a great book and a great series. If you love sexy vampire, paranormal stories then look no further. I know there are a lot of books out there addressing the same subject but this book pops out. Its super sexy, fast and furious and a simple delight to read. I cannot wait for book 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy This Book, April 7, 2010
By 
Lori (Minnesota) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darkness Burning (Paperback)
This book has absolutely no story line. It should be rated XXX since most of the book involves sex between various people - again no story line. I was VERY disappointed with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Darkness Burning
Darkness Burning by Delilah Devlin (Paperback - June 23, 2009)
$13.99 $5.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.