Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope in the Darkness
Bravery, courage, and selflessness, characteristic of the Danish resistance during WWII, are bright glimpses of hope during a dark period of world history. The history of the Danish resistance is recorded chronologically, with individual rescue stories woven throughout. This beautifully rendered acount, including photographs, is printed on thick, rich paper,...
Published on August 8, 2000 by Marilyn Jaquith

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dougv
As a former 4th grade teacher, my opinion is that this book is not for children.
To a child, this book would be dull and tiresome to read. It has far too much historical
detail, even for adults, unless they really enjoy many small facts. Possibly some 7th
graders and above would enjoy the book.
The action picks up after page 83, but I don't think...
Published on January 7, 2013 by douglas van antwerp


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope in the Darkness, August 8, 2000
By 
Bravery, courage, and selflessness, characteristic of the Danish resistance during WWII, are bright glimpses of hope during a dark period of world history. The history of the Danish resistance is recorded chronologically, with individual rescue stories woven throughout. This beautifully rendered acount, including photographs, is printed on thick, rich paper, underscoring the beauty of what was accomplished by the Danish people. Recommended for young adults and adults interested in the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended eye-witness history for young readers., July 14, 2000
By A Customer
The Danish resistance and rescue of the Jews receives in-depth treatment for grades 5-7, with vintage black and white photos accompanying the story of the resistance and rescue of the Jews of Denmark. Levine interviewed dozens of Danes from rescuers and survivors to those captured for this inviting probe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courage of the Danes, November 9, 2002
By 
"princesse17" (United States of America) - See all my reviews
The courage of the Danes in World War II just blew me away when I read this book. I first read it because Lois Lowry's book Number The Stars struck my intrest. When I read the stories of the Resistance and the Jews, I can admit I cried. The author tells their stories perfectly. She conveys the courage these people had and how brave all those young Resistance leaders were but does not leave the hardships endured by these people. It is certainly a wonderful reference book for anyone doing a project on the Holocaust. There was only one thing that disappointed me. There wasn't a reference to the permeated handkerchief that fishing boat captains used after the Nazis started using dogs to search the boats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Denmark - A whole Nation of Holocaust Heroes, October 15, 2011
This review is from: Darkness Over Denmark: The Danish Resistance and the Rescue of the Jews (Paperback)
By Darrell Stoddard, darrellstoddard@gmail.com

My Neighbor, Sven Svendsen now dead, was a member of the Danish Underground. These were Danes that risked their lives daily through the entire Nazi occupation to save the lives of Jewish people. I have actually held in my hand an object made sacred - the blue, yellow, and red armband worn by my neighbor Sven and by the members of the Danish Underground.

Our hearts are moved by Oscar Shindler, by Roal Wallenberg, and by Irena Sendler, who at the risk of their lives, saved numberless Jews, and by the noble Dutch people that hid Anne Frank and Corrie Ten boom. (See my review of the motion picture "Boy in the Stripped Pajamas.")

In the book "Darkness Over Denmark," we learn of an ENTIRE NATION that strove to hide and save thousands of Jewish people. My admiration for the Danish people swelled as I read and saw photographs of their heroism in this beautiful landmark book. It will lift you to heaven to make this book a part of your life. The book concludes with something so wonderful it is hard to believe: For the Danish Jews (not saved by the underground) that were deported to the death camps, the Danish people still saved for those Jews their apartments, their homes and their belongings (even knowing that they would probably never return)! God should save a special place in heaven for such noble people.

See all of my Reviews. I write only about books, events, or motion pictures that have changed the course of history or unforgettable books or motion pictures that will totally change peoples lives.

Darrell Stoddard, Founder - Pain Research Institute and saveusa.biz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When a nation stands up against an evil regime, March 10, 2007
Through all my reading on the topic of the Holocaust, I was always deeply struck by the courage of the Danish people, who refused to give up their Jewish citizens to the Nazis. This book does an above average job of chronicling the Danish resistance and how they rescued the Jews from certain annihilation. The author Ellen Levine has done an admirable job of compiling exhaustive interviews with fighters, rescuers, the Jews who were rescued and those less lucky. There are pictures scattered throughout that add to the narrative, and it feels more like a story being told than of an event being chronicled. Highly recommended for students of the subject, and everyone interested in the Holocaust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, insightful book, September 13, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darkness Over Denmark: The Danish Resistance and the Rescue of the Jews (Paperback)
This is a well-written account of the remarkable thing that happened in Denmark during WWII, when a small country refused to separate a group of its people and send them on to certain death. There are many terrific individual stories in the book (many are told first-hand), among them the description of how, during the height of the war, a man in Denmark was arrested and convicted of vandalizing a synagogue in Copenhagen - right under the noses of the Nazis.
It is not a fawning work; the book deals with the Danish Nazi collaborators. But above all it is a tale of a people who did not look at their neighbors and see Jews, but looked at their neighbors and saw Danes like themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Darkness Over Denmark, June 2, 2008
By 
K. Nilsson (Park City, Utah USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Darkness Over Denmark: The Danish Resistance and the Rescue of the Jews (Paperback)
A very thorough and comprehensive look at the heroic efforts of the Danish people during the Nazi occupation of Denmark during WWII. A great resource for parents reading Lois Lowry's Number the Stars. Moving and inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only country that saved almost their entire Jewish population from the holocaust in WW II ., January 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darkness Over Denmark: The Danish Resistance and the Rescue of the Jews (Paperback)
I lived through the German Occupation of Denmark From April 9,1940 to May 5,1945( when General Montgomery freed the
Danes from the Germans) ending the occupation. I know several of the stories from the book to be very much accurate and brought
many memories to me from personal experiences . The book is very readable and well written, I was very impressed with
the fact that ordinary Danes took the chance of hiding fellow Danish jews risking being shot if caught and together helped save
approximately 8000 jews from concentration camps,and certain extermination, called by Hitler ; " The Final Solution.". About 400
Jews were caught by the Gestapo because they could not believe they were going to be rounded up and like cattle shipped to concentration camps in countries under german control.

The Editor for Good Housekeeping for a good number of years researched this book by interviewing people who lived through it all and could add to these stories the changes in Denmark and in their own lives to the present day and most of them are still alive today and living in Denmark. They will never forget their experiences , nor will I.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hope from History, October 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I know this book was designed for ages 10 and up but I believe it was well done and thoughtful enough for many adults as well. Providing many photos of the people involved and at the end giving descriptions of where they are now was very helpful. And it was good to know that the author had shared her writings with them for review and editing before the final draft. Many times people are interviewed and later find their words were misrepresented somehow.
It was a great read because it is important for people to see that although Hitler was an evil psychopath with a lot of power and charisma, even he would not be able to plow through a place like Denmark where the common people thought of Jews as fellow Danes. Well done, Ellen Levine. And thanks to all those who contributed their stories. We will never forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bravo to the Danes!, January 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darkness Over Denmark: The Danish Resistance and the Rescue of the Jews (Paperback)
My Father was blocked from returning to Denmark during WWII by the Nazis. It was nice to read what his friends and family in Denmark did to resist the Nazis. An easy read that helps students understand the will and power of the Danish Resistance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Darkness Over Denmark: The Danish Resistance and the Rescue of the Jews
Used & New from: $4.52
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.