Customer Reviews


192 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death never felt so right!
I will start this review by saying that I did indeed play the first Darksiders, but will not make this a comparison between the 2 in any way.

Story: The story for the game is more of a backdrop for the great level design and combat to playout in a meaningful way than it is a driving force for the game. Essentially, Death has to clear the name of his brother War...
Published on August 17, 2012 by R. Ondik

versus
20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, but Defective with no Help to Come
After having worked directly with the customer service folks at THQ and having posted asking for help on their forums, and now having waited more than two weeks, I feel I should share a comment with the Amazon review community.

First off, this game is amazing. The graphics, gameplay, sound, acting...all of it...It's just awesome.

Unfortunately,...
Published on September 18, 2012 by Sleboda


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death never felt so right!, August 17, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Darksiders II (Video Game)
I will start this review by saying that I did indeed play the first Darksiders, but will not make this a comparison between the 2 in any way.

Story: The story for the game is more of a backdrop for the great level design and combat to playout in a meaningful way than it is a driving force for the game. Essentially, Death has to clear the name of his brother War (from DS1) and sets off to do so but before long is wrapped up in a larger story involving the Makers. Suffice it to say the story is there but nothing too great, though Death has some funny quips (like telling a crow to be quiet..) as he has a sarcastic tone throughout the game, and the game does allow you some dialogue choices as you interact with NPCs. These NPCs serve as trainers for your new combos, weapon and item dealers, and obviously they provide you your quests and sidequests that propel the game forward.

Graphics: The graphics in this game have a wide range. From beautiful to meh depending on your location. You will notice bland textures, and muddied walls in certain areas but will also see great dungeons and large bosses that push the consoles, but never quite to the edge. The game in motion is spectatcular though. Death has great animations, and every combo you unlock looks a little different as Death has realistic movements that keep you glued to your screen amidst the fighting chaos. I have heard of some slowdown in the game but truthfully have noticed hardly any, so don't let that dissuade you from picking up this gem.

Gameplay: OKAY, this is where Darksiders brings the metaphorical hammer down. Talk about infusing so many elements together in one game! Darksiders "borrows" ideas from many different games, including: Zelda (the dungeons, horse exploration, Z targeting), God of War (frantic combat based on combos and timing), Prince of Persia (smooth platforming that becomes second nature after a few hours), Diablo (tons of loot to collect and equip) and even a little Assasin's Creed (verticality) and Shadow of the Collossus (larger than life bosses). This game is like the ultimate dutch oven of video game ideas blended in a way that never feels like it rips any one game off, but rather pays homage to the brilliant ideas that have come before it. Like "Z" targeting from Zelda where you can lock on to one enemy and easily flick the right stick to shift your focus from one enemy to the next. Or wall-running from PoP that gives Death a fleet of foot feel versus his bulkier brother. But the game makes its milk in the combat. Thrashing multiple enemies just plain feels right on as a bringer of the Apocalypse. The combo timing takes a little bit to get used to, but once you do you can pull off so many different moves (on ground and in air) that you will be stomping through hordes of enemies in no time. And the BOSSES! Wow, the developers really love huge bosses, and won't hesitate to throw back to back mini bosses at you where most games have one, a cutscene, and then right on to the main boss. The main bosses are a marvel, and will rival the colossi from SotC in size and scope. Defeating them feels very "Zelda" like as you utilize a new item you gained to defeat them. No spoilers here, so sorry no examples are being given of these great battles, you should expereince them for yourself. Death also has branching skill trees which start with a few core skills (a teleport slash, summoning minions to help you fight, etc.) and expands into a very customizeable spectrum that begs experimentation (you can re-spec Death at any time to try out new skills you may not have originally chosen). The combat is so satisfying you will find yourself just itching for the next fight to show off that new combo or weapon. Speaking of weapons...

Customization: I believe this belongs in its own category as adding a true loot-based rpg system to the franchise was a genious move. Death is a totally Bada$$ character, and a beast of that magnitude deserves some bada$$ equipment. Not 5 minutes will go by in this game without you finding a new piece of armor, weapon, secondary weapon, or amulet to deck out Death how you see fit depending on the character you'd like to play. Want a Death built with pure speed? Equip a pair of lightning fast gauntlets as your second weapon to throw more punches in a second than Pacquiao throws in an entire fight. Want to do brutal amounts of damage in one swing? Equip a giant axe or hammer to demolish your foes while sacrificing some of that speed. The level of customization is great, and adds to the gameplay. An example: I picked up an "Axe of Rending," which restores your health partially but only when you execute enemies with it, so I immediately found myslef considering the situation before using it: Is my health low? Better beat those enemies close to death then bust out the axe to get that health boost before moving on. What's better is that every piece of equipment looks different and immediately affects the look of Death. Even better still is that THQ instituted a great system that allows you to pick up equipment, or even equip it immediately right in the field. The intensity of the battles is great, so in the midst of a battle I can be fighting 5 enemies, one drops a new weapon (that can immediately be compared to what I have equipped on screen), I roll over to it, hold select to equip it in game, then BAM right back into the battle with my new scythes equipped without missing a beat. More games need this type of system.

The Negatives: I'm not going to sit here and say DS2 is a "perfect" game, it has some hiccups, but they are diminutive in nature. Sometimes when scaling a wall, in order to climb up, you have to be in the middle of the rail, if you are off a little to the right or left, Death will jump straight up instead of climbing, basically the game thinks there is nothing above him to grab, even though there is. You move right a centimeter and then it kicks in and recognizes the ledge. It will happen a few times to everyone that plays, but again it's minor. For it being an "open-world" game, there isn't a ton do in said open-world. You will ride around on your horse to get from one location to the other, but aside from a few "hidden" chests (they show up on the map) or a random scalable building, the open world mostly serves as your mechanism for travel and little else. Also, they did not do a great job of showing what Death can and can't climb, meaning he can scurry 15ft up a wall, but can't jump up onto a 5 foot ledge. Once you realize this it does not affect you in anyway, but it's funny to see him wall run and acrobatically swing from post to post, but can't jump up a 5 foot block. Again, all these issues are minor and in no way detract from the overall experience, which is an absolute blast.

Closing: By now you probably want the "should I buy it or not" answer, and I will say YES absolutely everyone should experience this game. If you like adventure, puzzle solving, great dungeons and finely tuned combat wrapped in a replayable package, this game is for you. It even tracks tons of statistics for you (best combo, most damage, a TON of things) that get posted to leaderboards so you can compare against your friends. You can even gift items to your friends! I will say, please avoid the IGN review of this game as the clear bias of it baffles me. As of now, they are the only reviewer to give this game less than an 80, and as an avid gamer and review reader will openly say they got it wrong. Read or watch any other review and you will see nothing but admiration for this title. It was a long time coming, but THQ finally has a game that fits the hardcore mold, and Darksiders 2 is the perfect game to pick up now and dive into before the fall / year end bonanza of games come out. Go get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia at its finest..., August 15, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Darksiders II (Video Game)
Let me begin by saying I've never written a review for a game regardless of how strong I feel abou it. I would of written one for Batman Arkham City, but enough fans and critics gave the game the credit it deserved--- Reviews are to help potential buyers make a choice after all. With the lack of user reviews so far about this game, I felt I should include one. I've only been playing now for about 3 hours, and I will say without a doubt, it is the best game of 2012....If Batman hadn't come out last year, I would say for the last 2 years! Most reviews are saying if you liked the first one, give this one a try--This obviously being true, even if you couldn't get into the first one, or didn't play it, this game will change your mind about the franchise. Its is much more fluid and responsive than its predecessor.

The "look and feel" of the game is taken straight from The Legend Of Zelda....Dare, I even say improves on it, as the combat is taken from God of War (which is a lot more exciting than Link's combat styles). That combined with the fact that the visuals are as though were taken from Lord of the RIngs coupled with the amazing score....'EPIC' is all I can take out of this game. One of the finest action/adventures I've played....and I'm just beginning.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Completionist Review: For Better and Worse - But Mostly Better, August 27, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Darksiders II (Video Game)
FOR BETTER:
---------------
Darksiders 2 is an impressive follow up to THQ and Vigil's apocaplyptic journey. Even if you never played the original, don't have any reservations about picking up the sequel. Death is an extraordinary character: well-acted, well-animated, enigmatic and engaging.

In this installment we take on the guise of War's brother Death, one of the four horsemen, who has undertaken a quest to absolve his brother from the punishment of the Charred Council for destroying humanity. Realizing that his brother had been framed, Death vows to do whatever is necessary to restore the balance between angels and demons.
Like its predecessor, Darksiders 2 does an EXTRAORDINARY job of pulling concepts from other licenses and making them feel original within a common theme (the battle between Heaven and Hell at the End of Days). This time around the primary draw is Ubisoft's 2008 Prince of Persia. Death will perform wall runs, extended climbs and other free-running tactics that are visually identical to the unnamed Prince. Yet despite references to other genres and titles (Portal, Shadows of the Damned, Legend of Zelda, God of War, Devil May Cry, etc.) Darksiders 2 manages to move beyond the driving concepts to deliver a wholly unique experience. From background art, puzzle implementation and narrative framework - Darksiders 2 manages to mold its own identity by successfully working RPG elements into a visually striking hack-and-slash world.

This time around Death can choose between his primary weapon (scythes) set to the [] button, and a secondary weapon (armblades, gauntlets, hammers, axes, glaives, and claws) which is set to the /\ button. Attack combinations can be purchased by trainers, and are easy to execute during battle. Although most sequences are little more than a mix of both buttons with pauses between inputs, the simple commands belie Death's flashy and intense moveset. There are an extraordinary number of different weapons to find, each with their own perks (damage types, stat bonuses, exp. increases etc.) that can radically change your playing style. In addition, these weapons are found based upon your character's current level and come in increasing rarity: white - common, green - uncommon, blue - rare, purple - unique, and gold - legendary. The most interesting addition are "possessed weapons" which can be upgraded by "feeding" other items to them. These weapons can be enhanced a set number of times before reaching their maximum potential by taking on the attributes of the weapons and armor that are fed to them. With each new progression you have the option to choose a perk that will subsequently improve with further item leveling. In most cases a fully upgraded possessed weapon will be better than a similar level unique or rare one. In all cases combat is visceral, fast paced and exciting.

Armor is likewise found in differing rarities, although there are no legendary or possessed pieces of armor. Based upon the attributes you use with your playing style, your version of Death may greatly vary from your friend's. Both weapons and armor can also drastically improve the effectiveness of skills chosen from the Harbinger and Necromancer skill trees. Although the diversity is not as great as in a game like Dragon Age - it is still enough to keep your character evolving throughout the duration of your playthrough. The best part is that the demon merchant Vulgrim can respec your character for a very low fee, so you can try any other skill combinations at your leisure.

FOR WORSE:
--------------
Despite all of my praises, Darksiders 2 is not without faults. It pains me to list them, because I TRULY LOVE the direction of the game. The real problem that keeps it from becoming a masterpiece is overambition and not enough time to see it through. Darksiders 2 makes multiple trade-offs from the original and unfortunately not always for the better.

Graphically the sequel takes a hit in texturing and even character modeling. Things are not quite as smooth as the first time around, and you will notice some "near-polygonal" edges on some of the characters. When swimming or in confined areas walls look bland and occasionally dip to PS2 quality. Fortunately this is not the norm, and most vistas are gorgeous and stunning. Despite some pixellation when viewing further draw distances, the artistic design and bold coloration of the sequel TRULY save the day.

When I first started playing Darksiders 2 I was blown away by the sweeping orchestral movement and striking vista of a foreboding icy fortress. In retrospect, I feel this cathartic moment at the game's onset might have set the bar a little "too" high for the rest of the game. After 35 hours, I can safely say that both the narrative and bosses take a back-seat to those in Darksiders 1. All too often the story is revealed via comic book style cutscenes, rather than full out CGI. There are also not very many moments that ramp up emotionally or deliver sweeping orchestral keynotes like the first game. Although there is an attempt to tie in to War's tale, Death's episodic journey also seems to be much more flash and less substance. He has relatively clear motivations for why he is going somewhere, but the enemies and challenges he faces are more often typical RPG fare than the "ultimate battles" faced by his brother. Prepare for a lot of fetch quests set between largely open areas (Unlimited quick travel saves the day!). There are also more dungeons, but less differentiation between areas in a similar zone. Dungeons are also MUCH smaller, and require less coordination or logic when choosing between various tools. In addition, because of the revamped combat system the enemies and bosses are more like those found in God of War/Devil May Cry than Legend of Zelda. These are no longer "puzzle bosses," but more hack-and-slash.

Yet most of these issues are a matter of creative opinion, if not the results of time constraints. The real commonplace issues are the small bugs and technical flaws you will find along the way. I had to hard restart my PS3 8 times while playing Darksiders 2. Several of these were due to complete freezes during combat or platforming, but even worse were the several "almost" game-breaking glitches. Thank God the developers had the intelligence to insert fail-safes when a save was reloaded from initial start-up.

1.)I had a NPC who was supposed to carry a heartstone for me get stuck on a door, and I could not get him to pick it up until I restarted the system. Thankfully it reset the heartstone to a point where I only had to complete a small portion of the dungeon, and the character did not get stuck again.

2.)I had the audio completely cut out when speaking to the Lord of Bone. I had to do a hard restart and erase my dungeon waypoints to get it to trigger properly.

3.)I completed several Forge Land dungeons later in the game and was not able to recover a special item required for an earlier quest.

4.)A contextual button that was supposed to appear and allow me to place a lantern on a statue would not trigger. This was the first time said puzzle was used. Thankfully, I understood the level design and realized that something was supposed to happen here. The button prompt allowing me to progress through the dungeon only appeared after shutting down and restarting the PS3.

5.)One of the primary bosses known as "the Wailing Host" froze mid-strike for about 20 seconds with its health bar half depleted. During this time Death was still able to circle around the battle arena and attack as normal (further reducing the boss's health bar). However, the boss became invincible after the temporary freeze and would not die when its health reached zero. This is because the battle is actually punctuated by several button prompt actions that were not triggered after the glitch. This was the only major glitch that inexplicably resolved itself without having to fully restart the PS3, BUT I had to restart the boss battle from a checkpoint three times before it was fixed.

NO GAME MANUAL:
----------------------
THQ also decided to cut down on cost by NOT including a physical game manual. They didn't even include an in-game manual like the one in Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning. Instead, they give you a web address for finding the contents online. This wouldn't be a terrible problem, but many of the finer details regarding collectables, locating/setting quests, and the HUD are not directly explained. Be prepared to do a few internet searches before fully understanding the game.

TIL DEATH DO US PART (Summary):
------------------------------------
I wish Darksiders 2 had more CGI, better music, a more focused narrative and more/bigger boss battles. Yet when all is said and done it is still an EXCELLENT addition to the franchise. I feel that the pressure to release the game by mid-August after an initial delay hampered the artistic and technical design of the game. THQ's president even released a statement saying two things:
1.)The game had to release this summer because he felt it could not compete with games like Assassin's Creed 3 and Call of Duty. Obviously this drove the decision to cut out the more difficult to develop aspects like full CGI.
2.)If Darksiders 2 fails to perform up to sales expectations, he will reallocate all of Vigil's staff to other games, effectively ending the series before it really had a chance to take off.

So, Death's journey may not be a perfect one. It might not even be quite as good as his brother's before him. HOWEVER, it is still a journey worth taking in every sense. Breathtaking landscapes, multitudes of loot, New Game +, hundreds of collectables, memorable characters and stellar voice acting await.

If you have any interest whatsoever in the material or genres that Darksiders 2 represents - do yourself a favor and purchase both Darksiders 1 and 2. Keep the series alive and give Vigil the chance to craft a truly epic game in Darksiders 3. I spent 35 hours trying to find out what happens next, and I feel Vigil deserves the chance to tell me.
THQ, Let's see this war through to the end!
(8.5/10)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great throughout, August 17, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Darksiders II (Video Game)
This here is a quality videogame. I would take this over the last decade of Zelda games easily. If you like the first game or rpg elements and diablo style loot and crafting in a fun and awesome to watch combat system I think you will like this game a lot. Do yourself a favor and play this. If you think Audrey drake of ign is smart or you play only Pokemon a ton, don't like M games or are a hardcore Nintendo fan this is going to make to you feel ashamed for unabashedly loving Nintendo games. There is a reason this has 5 stars and the latest Zelda has 4. User scores on metacritic some of the highest I have ever seen. This destroys diablo 3 in just how much I enjoyed my time with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, but Defective with no Help to Come, September 18, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darksiders II (Video Game)
After having worked directly with the customer service folks at THQ and having posted asking for help on their forums, and now having waited more than two weeks, I feel I should share a comment with the Amazon review community.

First off, this game is amazing. The graphics, gameplay, sound, acting...all of it...It's just awesome.

Unfortunately, there is a bug that causes some players (others have reported the same issue) to not receive a mission critical item (the Soul Splitter) and prevent the game from progressing.

THQ's response has been to restart and try again. Since they have opted for a save system that does not allow you to go back a short time in your progress, you are left with no option other than to simply start over and ___hope___ you don't get the same error. No fix, no help...just cross your fingers.

Well, after 25+ hours invested and no way to know if the exact same thing would happen again, I am now going to have to just eat the $60 I spent on the game. It's not like you can get your money back.

The truth is, I don't really want my money back. I want a solution so that I can pick up the action from where I got stuck and keep playing.

Anyway, if you are willing to roll the dice, then go ahead and play this otherwise amazing game. If, however you are like me and think that a company should not profit from selling _known defective goods and refusing to fix them_ then stay away from this and all THQ games (I was looking at Saints Row next...not anymore).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expectations: Exceeded, August 15, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darksiders II (Video Game)
I played through the original Darksiders and it was pretty good. That being said, I didn't think they'd make the second one much differently, but the amount of effort poured into this game is quite apparent. I recently had the pleasure of playing Darksiders 2, and... this game is worth purchasing.

Pros: Tight/responsive gameplay, respectable looting system, strong RPG elements, skill tree, engaging story, excellent/expressive voice acting.

Cons: Sluggish menus, locked auto-save file and cannot back it up on USB, main character's personality is the similar to War's: fight at first sight of opposition (no diplomacy).

Similar games: Kingdoms of Amalur, God of War III

Final thoughts: The sluggish menus aren't as bad as they sound. It's definitely noticeable, but basically excusable. The locked auto-save file isn't a serious hindrance, I do not plan on transferring this save data. It's just the lack of the option which is worth mentioning. Anyways, I recommend purchasing this game if you have interest in action/adventure games, RPGs, looting games, or story driven games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The time for War is over, now prepare for Death, September 15, 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Darksiders II (Video Game)
This is a game I was eagerly waiting on for quite some time after beating the first game. Now that I've beaten it, I can definitely say it was almost everything I had hoped it would be. This sequel actually takes place during the 100 year "intermission" of the first Darksiders where War is imprisoned by the Charred Council after he (allegedly) kick-started the Apocalypse too early, which caused all hell to literally break loose on Earth, completely obliterating the human race and turning the world into a demonic paradise. War's elder brother, Death, rightly believes his younger brother to be innocent. The game opens with Death journeying to the lair of the mysterious being known as the Crowfather, with the hopes of finding out from him how to restore the human race and effectively erase War's (alleged) crime. This opening mission serves as a tutorial, where we immediately see some of the game's improvements over its predecessor. First off, Death already has full access to his own trusted steed, Despair, while War didn't get his horse back until just past the first game's halfway point. Death also has his guiding crow, Dust, flying nearby him at all times to show him where he needs to go. When fighting enemies, Death moves and dodges much more fluidly than his younger brother before him, and although he can't block enemy attacks, he doesn't really need to. After facing off against several standard grunts and a rather large sub-boss, Death meets up with the Crowfather and things kind of go south for the Horseman. An interesting battle ensues (the details of which I won't spoil) and the Crowfather ends up dead, while Death is injured and accidentally transported to the heavily Lord of the Rings-inspired domain of the Forge Lands, the homeworld of the Makers (the race that Ulthane is part of).

Death is then told where he must go to continue his journey to exonerate his brother by an old and wise Maker, so he sets off on his adventure. He will visit 4 different worlds of varying size ranging from decaying dead kingdoms, bright and shining heavenly cities, and hellish realms of fire and brimstone, each with their own collections of dungeons, enemies, missions, etc. The gameplay is very much like the kind experienced in the first game, with the combat being very similar to that in God of War, as well as the dungeon exploration and large environments of the Legend of Zelda series. A new addition to the formula is improved platforming and environmental traversal reminiscent of the more recent Prince of Persia games. Death can wall run, climb on posts and wooden beams, and jump back and forth between adjacent walls to get to normally out of reach areas. Even the deadly substance known as Corruption is practically yanked out of the 2008 Prince of Persia game and given a somewhat different role and purpose in the story for Darksiders II. As if that wasn't enough of an homage, Death can save himself from falls by transforming into his Reaper Form and dashing himself back to the nearest stable ground (although these falls still count as "environmental deaths").

One big improvement this game has over its predecessor are its much more in-depth RPG elements. Death has access to hundreds of different weapons to carve up his enemies with. His primary weapons are, of course, scythes, which he uses to great effect. His secondary weapons fall into two main categories: larger, two-handed weapons (hammers, maces, and glaives) and gloved weapons (gauntlets, bucklers, and claws). There are hundreds of variations to these weapons, with many of them offering certain advantages like elemental damage, draining health and wrath (magic) from enemies, and increased chances of landing critical strikes. Certain "possessed" weapons can be upgraded by feeding/sacrificing other unneeded weapons and armor to them to further increase their effectiveness. Many different types of armor and talismans can be equipped by Death with their own advantages in increasing his strength, defense, health, wrath, resistance to magic, etc. All these things can be found as loot drops from defeated enemies, in chests littering the environment, or purchased from several different merchants using the form of currency called gilt. More advanced combat moves tied to Death's many weapons can also be purchased from certain merchants. In addition, Death gains newer abilities and sub-weapons as the game progresses: the powerful Redemption revolver, the Deathgrip, which allows him to grab distant grapple points and enemies, his own version of the Voidwalker (which later on gets an upgrade that involves time manipulation), and Soul Splitter, which basically allows Death to be in two places at once. Many of the game's more challenging and interesting puzzles revolve around using these new abilities to advance or find hidden items.

But wait, there's more. As Death levels up, he can distribute a point towards a multitude of additional abilities that are accessible in a new skill tree. The Harbinger portion of the skill tree is dedicated to special abilities tied to Death's scythe attacks, such as performing a teleport slash on distant enemies or temporarily increasing his physical attack power. The Necromancer portion of the skill tree focuses on Death's magic attacks, which include the ability to summon ghouls or a flock of crows to attack his enemies for him, or surrounding himself with a magic shield to temporarily increase his defense. More abilities can be unlocked or upgraded as Death continues to level up. Then there's Death's Reaper Form, which more closely resembles his more familiar Grim Reaper incarnation where he is decked out in a cloak and hood and wields an extra large scythe. Functioning very much like War's Chaos Form in the first game, Death can temporarily transform into this state after filling up his Reaper meter and devastate any nearby enemies. All these different abilities and sub-weapons can be accessed through a weapon wheel which pauses the action or mapped to specific button combinations for immediate use.

Unlike the first game, Darksiders II boasts a hefty number of side missions which can be completed at your leisure alongside the main mission. These include hunting down specific enemies and hidden collectibles, as well as visiting optional dungeons and normally encountering optional boss battles in the process. Due to the much less linear design of this game, it's very possible to get to one of these optional dungeons a little too early, only to encounter an obstacle that can only be bypassed after acquiring a specific ability (such as the Voidwalker or Soul Splitter) or even run into enemies and bosses who are at higher levels than Death. I once found myself nearly getting killed by unusually strong regular enemies in a particular optional dungeon, so I left the dungeon for the time being. When I returned after leveling up a couple of times, I was able to slaughter those same tough enemies more easily, as well as the boss who awaited at the end of the dungeon. I liked this new non-linear approach to gameplay, it gave the game a more organic and adventurous feel to it. However, with regards to the many hidden collectibles to be found in this game, some of them were quite the chore to locate. Most can easily be found just with a little effort, but a fair number are VERY well hidden, to the point where a couple of them are literally invisible. I had an easier time finding Riddler trophies in the Batman games, let's just leave it at that. The ability to fast travel between discovered locations greatly helps to minimize the already time consuming process of finding collectibles and completing other missions.

The many different enemies Death faces include Corrupted constructs, undead warriors, Corrupted angels, demons, and other freaks of nature. A fair number of them offer greater challenges than the noticeably easier enemies in the first game, although almost none of them reach the level of incredibly frustrating (except one particular optional boss). On the flip side, most of the enemies and bosses in this game are typically beaten simply by dodging their attacks and then striking back when they're exposed. The more puzzle-based types of bosses from the first game are noticeably lacking in Darksiders II, with only a few notable exceptions. So, while Darksiders II is an improvement over the first Darksiders in most areas, it is lacking in other aspects, aside from the less puzzle-based enemies. The optional arena battle known as the Crucible has Death face wave after wave of increasingly tough enemies. Most gamers will find themselves more than sufficiently challenged by this addition to the Darksiders games. I myself found it to be a lot of fun, as well as occasionally super difficult. Unfortunately, the final rounds of the Crucible can only be accessed after Death has reached a high enough level, which in turn can only be done by starting the game a second time in New Game +. As much as I love videogames, I've never really been one to go the New Game + route and play a game twice in a row. Simply too redundant. I know this isn't an issue with most gamers, but I for one was a little disappointed that I couldn't complete the Crucible in just one playthrough of this game. Forcing someone to play the game twice in order to complete everything it has to offer was not the right way to go in my opinion. I'm just glad these optional arena battles don't affect the game's story.

Speaking of which, the story for this game is simply not as interesting or cinematically grasping as the one that came before it, although it's certainly not bad either. For one thing, Death himself is not all that different from his younger brother War, aside from being somewhat more humorous in a snide way. The two of them share a very similar sense of honor and duty, although that's not really a bad thing. They're both cool characters by their own rights. Also, while the cast of characters in this game is much larger compared to that of the first, most of the characters Death speaks to normally just provide him with a list of chores and favors for him to do in exchange for them helping him complete his journey. Amusingly, Death himself makes a comment early in the game about how he seems to be doing all the work while everyone else just stands around. The pacing of the missions is also rather drawn out. Between the many fetch quests and favors Death undertakes in both the main and side missions, I actually forgot once or twice exactly what the purpose of Death's journey was. Still, a fair number of the missions Death goes on provide some genuinely fun and addicting gameplay moments. One particular mission where Death uses an angelic cannon to shoot his way through swarms of undead creatures and demons in the destroyed, rain soaked streets of Earth is definitely one of this game's high points. Unfortunately, the story simply never reaches the same level of epic satisfaction achieved towards the later moments of the first game. Even the ending for this game was disappointingly abrupt and rather unsatisfying in how it ties in with the first game's ending. This is further compounded by the fact that the final boss battle was one of the easiest battles in the entire game. However, the extra scene after the end credits hints at a possibly (and hopefully) more epic true sequel that shows what will happen further down the line with the Horsemen of the Apocalypse. Despite the somewhat weaker story, Darksiders II is a great improvement over the first game in terms of providing larger environments, more challenging enemies and puzzles, and just more addicting and fun gameplay overall. Don't miss out on this game, especially if you enjoyed the first one.

**Update**
This next part is dedicated to the 3 DLCs for Darksiders II: Argul's Tomb, The Abyssal Forge, and The Demon Lord Belial. I'll get right to the point here: those hoping for something new or different in these DLCs will be sorely disappointed since all three DLCs have the same exact type of gameplay present in the main game of Darksiders II with regards to combat and puzzles. There are some new weapons and armor for Death to use, but that's it; everything else remains the same. However, this may not be such a bad thing for those gamers who greatly enjoyed playing the main game since the DLCs all offer the same addicting combat and a fair number of challenging puzzles. Having said that, I must warn those of you who have still not played these DLCs: freezing issues are a SERIOUS PROBLEM. Argul's Tomb runs fine, but The Abyssal Forge and The Demon Lord Belial are basically broken. Apparently, the games freeze at certain moments when performing autosaves or even if you do a manual save. After checking for more info online on how to fix this problem, I was able to bypass these freezing issues (to a certain degree) by emptying Death's inventory of weapons and armor to the point where he only has one set of scythes, one secondary weapon, and one full set of armor left. Having to get rid of so many cool weapons just to progress in these games was truly annoying, to say the least.

However, despite dwindling Death's collection of weapons down to almost nothing, The Demon Lord Belial still freezes on me and I was unable to complete it, so now I am forced to see the ending on Youtube. The best word to describe this nonsense: "infuriating." We gamers should not have to put up with these kinds of issues in games that we paid good money for. THQ and Vigil really dropped the ball on this one. So, in short, these 3 DLCs aren't what most of us would consider as "must owns", but they're still fun for fans of the series. However, due to the freezing issues, I strongly suggest that all gamers stay clear of The Abyssal Forge and The Demon Lord Belial until a patch is released.......IF a patch is ever released. If you're one of those fans who live and breathe for Darksiders and simply MUST play these DLCs, then stick to playing Argul's Tomb, which is the only DLC that is free of freezing issues, plus it's also noticeably longer than the other two broken games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it !, September 7, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darksiders II (Video Game)
I have liked this game a lot!

It's similar to Darksiders 1 in terms of the history, characters, dungeons and enemies. But, it differs a lot to Darksiders 1 in:
* This game is a lot more RPG, there are other characters that give you missions, you collect gear like boots, gauntlets, and weapons, and you choose which to use to boost your abilities (magic, strength, health, wrath, etc).
* It's far less linear than DarkSiders 1, with a lot of optional dungeons that you choose to do only if you want to complete a side-quest, there are also optional-bosses that give you rewards for beating them but are not essential to the game history.
* The bosses are a lot harder (Apocalyptic mode), very much like Silitha in the first game
* You can create your own weapons by getting something called a "Possessed Weapon" and feeding it with lower-level weapons, those "sacrifices" make the possessed weapon stronger. You can choose to certain degree which qualities of the sacrificed weapons are inherited by the possessed, thus tailoring the weapon to your needs.

If you liked the first game I recommend playing this one, and if you like RPG that would be one more reason.

In total you'll need some 30-40 hours to finish this game, and 50 to platinum (it's not a difficult platinum but it's time consuming). If you buy the Limited Edition it comes with the "Crucible Pass" which is needed for 2 of the trophies, if you don't have it you can buy it from PSN Store.

The game features a DLC called "Argul's Tomb" that adds 2 more dungeons to the game, the dungeons are not difficult and the DLC can be beaten in 1 hour. This DLC is visually appealing and the final boss is ... great :) and hard even when you are at level 25.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darkaiders II, September 14, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darksiders II (Video Game)
Darkaiders 2 is a big improvement from darksiders 1. The world is bigger, much more missions and side missions and you will be finding yourself getting destructed by the urge to journey around the world and find new areas that you thought never existed. Darksiders 2 in all is a very good game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun game, amamzing art style, cool story., September 13, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darksiders II (Video Game)
Darksiders 2 is a great amalgamation of other games. Zelda for its open world and gated sections. God of war for combat. Prince of Persa for traversal and Diabo 3 for loot drops. It rips from all of these games and dose a great job combining them. Great but not amazing. Camera issues are prevalent and the inability to save without relying on the auto save kinda sucks but those 2 things dont mar the great experience that is Darksiders 2.

The art work and style in Darksiders 2 is fantastic! Absolutely love it. Hope more people pick up the game and give it a whirl, 20+ hours if your down for doing all the side quests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Darksiders II
Darksiders II by THQ (PlayStation 3)
$49.99 $17.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.