Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


134 of 137 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes a nice change
Ok, I've seen the low reviews for this movie. And if I could give it 31/2 stars I would. But what a nice change of pace it makes! It's a warm, intimate movie with a truly wonderful ensemble cast, a cute dog and a gorgeous setting. What's not to like? There are some subplots, but the gist of the movie is that Diane Keaton (Beth) and Kevin Kline (Joseph) are in an empty...
Published on June 28, 2012 by L. Miller

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eh...okay.
Honestly love all the players here, but the movie itself(unless it should somehow grow on me in my sleep) was tedious, and drawn out. Colorado looks nice, but trite best describes this film. Please, just find the dog already. Sorry folks. I shoulda read Rotten Tomatoes on this flick before dropping $5.
Published on August 31, 2012 by Richard


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

134 of 137 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes a nice change, June 28, 2012
By 
L. Miller (Minnetonka, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darling Companion [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ok, I've seen the low reviews for this movie. And if I could give it 31/2 stars I would. But what a nice change of pace it makes! It's a warm, intimate movie with a truly wonderful ensemble cast, a cute dog and a gorgeous setting. What's not to like? There are some subplots, but the gist of the movie is that Diane Keaton (Beth) and Kevin Kline (Joseph) are in an empty marriage. She rescues a wounded dog near the freeway, and he loses it on a walk while he's on his cell phone as usual, which brings their tension to a head. Diane Weist and Richard Jenkins, lovers whose relationship worries the others, help in the search, along with her son. The part gypsy housekeeper keeps pairing them up in certain ways and telling them her visions of what they are to search for, but what they are really seeking is to understand each other. And that is the heart of the movie. It is obviously geared for boomers (is that its great sin?), and has some humorous references to growing older which are easily relatable. If you're tired of comic book heroes, vampires, and grossout comedies, and want to see a gentle, feel-good little charmer, give it a chance. And thank you Lawrence Kasdan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars KASDAN STILL HAS THE TOUCH, August 28, 2012
This review is from: Darling Companion (DVD)
It's been 9 years since director Lawrence Kasdan put out a film, the last being DREAMCATCHER. More than that if you can remember the type of film he is best known for, an ensemble piece that captures the essence of what being human is all about. His classic THE BIG CHILL is but a forgotten memory to some and unknown to a new generation of movie goers. But Kasdan has always excelled at these ensemble pieces and it's nice to see him in true form with DARLING COMPANION.

Many will look at the box for this release and think it is nothing more than another animal picture. That does set the stage for this tale but it isn't the main ingredient. Diane Keaton plays Beth, the mother of one daughter Ellie (Lindsay Sloane) who's moved her family to New York and another Grace (Elisabeth Moss) who's in school. After dropping Ellie off at the airport while driving home, Beth tells Grace to stop the car on the freeway. There, they find a wounded and lost dog that they take home. While Beth's husband Joseph (Kevin Kline) insists the dog isn't staying time passes and it's a year later.

While the family has grown accustomed to the dog, now named Freeway, a new change is about to kick in. Grace is about to marry the veterinarian they took the dog to when they first found him. The wedding is in the family vacation home on Colorado and goes smoothly. New characters are introduced including Joseph's sister Penny (Dianne Wiest) and her new boyfriend Russell (Richard Jenkins) and housekeeper Carmen (Ayelet Zurer). They are the last remaining guests for the night after the wedding as well as Penny's son and Joseph's fellow back surgeon Bryan (Mark Duplas).

With the intent of staying just a few days it all changes when during Joseph loses Freeway while taking him for a walk. Having not taken along the dog's whistle and losing him while talking on his cell phone (something he does constantly), Beth blames him for the loss of the dog which has taken on an extreme amount of importance to her over the past year. Joseph thinks she's over reacting to the dog's loss and that he will come home. Beth thinks Joseph is unfeeling and just wants to ignore his personal responsibilities.

All hands join in in the search for Freeway. Things get a bit more interesting when Carmen reveals she is of gypsy descent and has the ability to "see things". Following the clues she offers them, each member of the group is paired off and the search goes forward. Along the way each of these characters gets to know the other a little better. Bryan gets to know Russell a bit more as he tries to decide if the man is just after his mother's pension in hopes of building a pub. Bryan and Carmen get close as well. Penny and Russell show that theirs is perhaps the closest relationship in the group. And Beth and Joseph are forced to look back at the choices they've made through the years and to discover that love that they once shared long ago. Has it died or was it simply misplaced over the years?

Kasdan has always done a great job with ensemble pieces like this. Both THE BIG CHILL and GRAND CANYON are works that bring together a cast of characters and have them intertwine throughout the story being told, coming together and moving apart, discovering who they really are and who the others around them are and finally realizing the things that are truly important to each of them.

Kids of the MTV generation that want answers and want them in five minutes will have a difficult time with this movie. There are no neat and tidy summations in the first 5 minutes or within the first hour of the film. Instead we watch the characters mingle back and forth until the end of the film when the search for Freeway ends either in his loss or discovery. But then to tell you what happens would be to create the worst spoiler ever.

Well made and well thought out, this film entertains from start to finish. And above all is some of the best acting around. Keaton remains a fantastic actress and looks amazing. Kline in his sixth film with Kasdan turns in an effortless performance. And the rest of the cast falls in line with these two leads to offer totally believable characters.

This is not an action film, a horror film or a teen comedy. This is a movie about real people with real problems who find themselves after having tucked away emotions and ideas for some period of time. As the characters reveal themselves so does the story. It's nice to see a film take the time to speak rather than rush everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "CHARMING, HEARTWARMING, INTIMATE!", August 18, 2012
This review is from: Darling Companion (DVD)
Beth and Joseph are in an empty marriage, along with an empty nest. Beth rescues a wounded dog near the highway, and develops a special bond with the dog. Her husband loses the dog, and Beth becomes distraught and upset as she forms a frantic search. In the process and unexpected,different people meet and various couples are in desperate need of healing. The intriguing story portrays relationships, love,and loss. Some are on the verge of divorce, others feel empty, and some are looking for soul-mates. Acting Performance of entire cast is Excellent, the story is heartfelt, and the movie entertains from start to finish. The adorable dog is an added attraction, and the setting is perfect. An enjoyable summer movie. Refreshing, and Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baby Boomers in Crisis, December 15, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darling Companion (DVD)
My husband I just watched this movie and loved it! We are the same age as the characters in the movie and we kept saying to one another, "We would say that" or "We would do that"! We both loved the low key story and the characters played out around a lost dog. It was life on the screen. For those that criticize this film, they must be much younger than we are! This is a great date night movie for adults!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darling Companion, October 6, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darling Companion (DVD)
LOVED this movie!! There was no sex or violence, or even vulger language! Just a nice story about a sweet dog & the people who loved him! If you love animals, watch this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, October 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this movie is so true to life. everyone goes through problems in there life and is true to life. and one dog brings every one together again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darling Companion, October 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Anyone who loves dogs or who have family craziness (and who doesn't) will LOVE this flick....I did! I knew it would be wonderful as soon as I saw the actors in it and also who had wrritten it. Lawrence Kasdan, who had written THE BIG CHILL so many years ago, seems to know how to portray real relationships in life and to make you care about the characters. Diane Keaton, Kevin Kline, Dianne Wiest, Richard Jenkins were all wonderfully connected to each other. It is a very enjoyable movie right from the start and I hope you love it as much as I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "In This Circumstance We Are Authorized To Put The Animal Down" - (I-70) Police Officer, June 23, 2013
By 
Sheryl Fechter (Northern Illinois, United States) - See all my reviews
This highly appealing ensemble cast, all interacting with each other, brings me back to writer-director Lawrence Kasdan's "The Big Chill". It was while viewing that film that I first fell in love with this type of movie, along with the personal stamp he adds to it. Bring out the 'baby boomers' ...

Beth Winter (Diane Keaton) and her daughter Grace discover a wounded dog along the freeway and quickly stop getting it help. After learning that the Animal Control Dept. would only "put him down", the two women are upset and take him on to the vet. Of course, Beth does end up taking the 7 yr old dog home and naming him "Freeway" immediately ... At first, her husband, Joseph (Kevin Kline), balks at the idea then slowly complies realizing his wife's obvious attachment.

"The Thing Called Love" (Bonnie Raitt) plays out from the soundtrack as the family starts to fall in love with Freeway and meshes with their new pet. The movie quickly skips ahead one year to the couple's vacation home in Colorado. Their daughter marries the vet that got Freeway back into shape and a whole cast of interesting characters enters the scene. The scenery in Colorado is gorgeous, lush, and colorful. Photography (Michael McDonough) of this beautiful area could not be better represented. Everything to the slightest detail comes alive and breathes life into the couples that stay behind at their home after the wedding day.

Joseph's sister, Penny (Dianne Wiest), brings along her new love interest, Russell (Richard Jenkins). Along with them is her son Bryan (Mark Duplass), a fellow surgeon along with Joseph. A very intuitive person added to the cast is the insightful caretaker of the vacation home, Carmen (Ayelet Zurer - "Hide Away"). Shortly after everyone is there, Joseph unintentionally loses Freeway while taking him out on a walk. The entire group gets together, in many ways, and outsources to find the dog. The sheriff (Sam Shepard) of the town is also sought out to help and adds his own regional flavor to the search party.

This is a simple set up for this plot, as the movie does stay relatively uncomplicated and that is exactly why I liked it so well. There are several other interests like the couple's now 'empty-nest' marriage which has become too ordinary for them. It is obvious that Beth and Joseph love each other very much after all these years and need a new connection for themselves as a couple. Some focus is unto the subplots if you will, although the major portion of the movie is concentrated on finding this dog and a soul seeking quest to return him home. Beth is so emotionally tied to Freeway and is heartbroken by him being lost. Their relationship represents so many things about her life in a much fuller sense.

The people all taking stake in getting Freeway returned are also taking their own personal journeys at this time in their lives. Full of self-reflection, this is a highly emotional story in parts. One that doesn't beg its own attention and also any animal lover would appreciate this lovely story. Done with nothing offensive; I think that this would make an age-appropriate 'family movie' ... Personally, I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eh...okay., August 31, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darling Companion [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Honestly love all the players here, but the movie itself(unless it should somehow grow on me in my sleep) was tedious, and drawn out. Colorado looks nice, but trite best describes this film. Please, just find the dog already. Sorry folks. I shoulda read Rotten Tomatoes on this flick before dropping $5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, June 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darling Companion (DVD)
The cast is wonderful, and everyone is good in their role. Yet I found the story lame, and the end disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Darling Companion [Blu-ray]
Darling Companion [Blu-ray] by Lawrence Kasdan (Blu-ray - 2012)
$14.99 $9.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.