Customer Reviews


518 Reviews
5 star:
 (371)
4 star:
 (99)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


99 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect - exactly what I needed
I mounted a TV on the wall of my kitchen and was looking for an inexpensive way to hide the wires. This is ideal.

It's simple to install. You just need two of these and two low voltage brackets like this: Arlington LV1-1CS Single Gang Low Voltage Mounting Bracket Device You use a stud finder to make sure you're not looking to put this in a stud, and then use...
Published on May 9, 2010 by Silver Phantom

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tidy Product
After I cut the fairly large hole in the wall to accommodate the recessed part of the unit and had drilled the holes for the screws (did not use supplied screws as I was attaching the plate to drywall), I found that there was insufficient drywall left to attach anchors. Unless I am missing something, I suggest that the holes for attaching the plate to a (dry)wall be...
Published 16 months ago by Jimmy


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

99 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect - exactly what I needed, May 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DataComm 45-0001-WH 1-Gang Recessed Low Voltage Cable Plate (White) (Electronics)
I mounted a TV on the wall of my kitchen and was looking for an inexpensive way to hide the wires. This is ideal.

It's simple to install. You just need two of these and two low voltage brackets like this: Arlington LV1-1CS Single Gang Low Voltage Mounting Bracket Device You use a stud finder to make sure you're not looking to put this in a stud, and then use a drywall saw to cut the hole. Repeat to put the one down below. (Use a level to ensure they're straight.) Insert the low voltage mounting bracket in both the upper and lower and then put the plate on the upper one. Start fishing cables through the wall. (It's easier to leave the plate off the lower one until you fish all the wires out of the wall first.)

Through a one-gang plate, I have an HDMI cable, a VGA cable, a set of composite cables with sound, a 1/8" headphone jack cable, and a network cable. It's tight, but everything fits.

Order these plates. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product!, December 10, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DataComm 45-0001-WH 1-Gang Recessed Low Voltage Cable Plate (White) (Electronics)
This is a great product! But if you are running a lot of wires, like I did, then I recommend you buy the double gang plate. I ran my surround sound(12 gauge), 3 HDMI cables, 1 TOS link, 1 coax, and 1 Cat 6 cable and barely had enough room.

Someone mentioned that you cannot do this without having back access or a new build. That is false. Just need to take your time when cutting the wall and boring through the studs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick, functional entry or exit for in-wall cabling, October 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DataComm 45-0001-WH 1-Gang Recessed Low Voltage Cable Plate (White) (Electronics)
This is a simple cover plate for a wall hole that provides a neat, orderly way to feed cables from your Home Theater system into the wall, or out of the wall at the TV Monitor location. It lets you buy one, long set of cables, rather than one set for inside the wall and two patch sets for home theater receiver to the wall, and wall to TV monitor. If you have more than one type of connection, this will make your install much less expensive!
Things to know:
1. You will need TWO, if you are going to use a single set of cables!
2. You will need a old-work, low-power wall box for each one purchased. You can get these for $1-3 each (depending on style) at your local "Big-Box" hardware store. (Check both the electrical area and the home networking areas to find both styles.)
3. When planning your installation, recognize that the clump of wires coming out of the wall will not make many wives happy! Plan to have both boxes hidden by the TV or Home theater cabinet.
4. If moving connections horzintally from one wall location to another, you are likely to run into one or more studs. If you do not have experience with blind drilling large holes, you will be much happier taking the cables into the attic or crawl space in one stud space, and back into the wall at the new stud space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy and clean installation, October 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DataComm 45-0001-WH 1-Gang Recessed Low Voltage Cable Plate (White) (Electronics)
I purchased these plates to hide the cabling behind wall-mounted flat screen TVs, as I suspect 99% of the people considering these plates.

Installation is a snap. Just make sure that you get a proper mounting bracket such as the Carlon SC1000RR which is the ones I used. You simply cut the holes in the drywall, pass the cables, install the brackets and place the face plates. It took me literally 20 minutes to do this with one TV.

Make sure to use a stud finder to make sure there are no obstructions in the cable route before cutting the wall.

This is one of those things that are simple and perfectly adapted to the mission. It even include the screws that it needs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works and Looks Great!!, December 8, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DataComm 45-0001-WH 1-Gang Recessed Low Voltage Cable Plate (White) (Electronics)
This product was not available at Home Depot or Lowe's so it was nice to find it on Amazon's website! Works and looks great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hides in Plain Sight, February 25, 2011
By 
K. G. Holt (Sacramento, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DataComm 45-0001-WH 1-Gang Recessed Low Voltage Cable Plate (White) (Electronics)
I've used these plates in two different locations in my house, and in both cases they've worked great. Now, granted it's only a face plate, but the wrong anything will draw unwanted attention. This face plate blends seamlessly along side the others on my wall. Friends have looked at them and not known what they were, but in a good way. They commented on how even though the cables are visible entering the wall, the face plate hides them and doesn't draw your attention.

I've used both the single and double gang versions. In both cases I've run my cables in the wall first then added the face plate to close the openings. This works better for me than attempting to run cables through the face plates and possibly damaging or marring them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall Satisfied, December 11, 2011
By 
R. House (National Capital Region) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DataComm 45-0001-WH 1-Gang Recessed Low Voltage Cable Plate (White) (Electronics)
I bought two of these when running HDMI cables from one point in my living room to an over the mantle TV hook-up I was installing. The only problem I had with them is that the plate seems to be a little skinnier than a normal wall plate. both the junction boxes I used were already installed and had blank covers over them. I ran the wires and installed these covers and they barely cover the opening in the wall. In fact, on one of them I couldn't totally conceal the hole but it's in a position that won't be seen. Other than that, they did exactly what they're designed to do and they are made of very thick and durable plastic. They're made sturdy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best wall mount TV cable solution, February 6, 2011
This review is from: DataComm 45-0001-WH 1-Gang Recessed Low Voltage Cable Plate (White) (Electronics)
Great solution for wall mounted TV.
Most solutions require connecting wires to the back of a face plate, then connecting the wires from the faceplate to your TV. This solution is better because it doesn't introduce another connection point and signal quality stays at a premium.
Since it is behind the TV, looks are not really important.

In addition, some cables...like the Wii sensor bar need to run straight to the back of the Wii box...can't cut the cable and create a junction point. It also allows you to run way more cables through a single sheetrock opening. I have 5 cables running through mine with room to spare.

Finally, it saves time when running the cables as you don't have to mess with creating a bunch of connection points then testing them. I just ran a new cable last week after having this in my wall for over a year. It was super easy because there were no existing junction point to have to wrestle with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As described, but not complete assembly., January 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DataComm 45-0001-WH 1-Gang Recessed Low Voltage Cable Plate (White) (Electronics)
The product is as shown. It's bright white, sleek, with a nice sized, deep opening to send many wires through. I have 5-14 gauge wires and an HDMI cord running through mine with plenty of room to spare. (Uses about 1/2 the space available.)

The down side: it is only the face plate with no mounting bracket. so to mount it to stay on the wall, you either need an outlet box, or buy the metal low voltage mounting brackets at Home Depot for about $1/ea. However, it is still cheaper than buying the whole assembly at Home Depot for 3x the price.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect fit, August 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DataComm 45-0001-WH 1-Gang Recessed Low Voltage Cable Plate (White) (Electronics)
Love these things, no need for keystones or huge plates with jacks. Can fit component video, 2ch audio, hdmi, usb, and Ethernet cables in the single size plate. Great for low profile wall mounts. Recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.