Customer Reviews


164 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


121 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely hides cables to wall mounted TV
I bought a pair of these 2 gang plates to hide the cables that would otherwise be visible dropping from my wall mounted TV to the cabinet beneath it. Mount the top plate behind your TV with the opening facing down, and the bottom plate behind your cabinet with the opening facing up.

I was initially wondering if a 1, 2, or 3 gang was the correct size. I'm glad...
Published on February 26, 2009 by klin

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars needed more info
THIS ITEM IS AWESOME. RECOMEND TO EVERYONE GOING TO HIDE WIRES IN THEIR WALLS FOR THEIR TV. BUT YOU NEED TO ORDER 2. I THOUGHT IT CAME WITH 2 OF THESE DUE TO THE PICTURE. BUT IT ONLY CAME WITH ONE.

OTHER THAN THAT, IT IS AWESOME.DataComm 45-0001-WH 1-Gang Recessed Low Voltage Cable Plate (White)
Published on January 6, 2011 by 49erman87


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

121 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely hides cables to wall mounted TV, February 26, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DataComm 45-0002-WH 2-Gang Recessed Low Voltage Cable Plate (White) (Electronics)
I bought a pair of these 2 gang plates to hide the cables that would otherwise be visible dropping from my wall mounted TV to the cabinet beneath it. Mount the top plate behind your TV with the opening facing down, and the bottom plate behind your cabinet with the opening facing up.

I was initially wondering if a 1, 2, or 3 gang was the correct size. I'm glad I chose the 2 gang as it comfortably fits 2 HDMI cables, 1 optical cable, 1 analog audio cable, 1 component video cable, and VGA/audio cable. I can drop cables from the top plate and not fuss too much pulling them out the bottom plate.

Don't mistakenly think you could probably squeeze the cables in a 1 gang version. While the combined width of the cables might fit, getting all the connectors through would be near impossible I would think. I measure the widest point of the opening at 2-7/8" for this 2 gang.

7/28/10 Update - Product still performs well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Product - Be Careful with Fire Code!, May 25, 2011
This review is from: DataComm 45-0002-WH 2-Gang Recessed Low Voltage Cable Plate (White) (Electronics)
This is a convenient way to hide low voltage wiring behind your drywall. However, be aware that there are all kinds of laws (construction code and fire code) on what you can and cannot run behind your drywall (which is a kind of fire retardant material). I've seen notes here of how people are running extension cords behind their drywall through these gangways for access and some have even posted pictures. Perhaps unknowingly those people might be breaking construction and fire code and in the process endangering themselves and their families. Also, your insurance might not cover you if you break code and have illegal in wall wiring.

If you need an electrical receptacle moved don't endanger yourself by running a cheap extension cord through these gangways, contact a licensed electrician and have the work done professionally. Also be aware that you can't just run any wire behind your drywall (even low voltage wire), there are ratings for wires that can be run behind drywall. Most in-wall work requires a CL2 rating on the wire.

Regarding this product. I bought it and almost used it but decided to go with the cleaner look of professional finished wallplates and formal in-wall electrical boxes, CL2 rated wiring, and professional installation just to be extra careful (and there are details - like you can't run your electrical and your speaker wire through the same 2x4 access holes). No, I'm not a professional electrician and don't mean to scare people away from home improvement projects - just raising awareness based on what I learned doing these things.

This product is clearly labeled LOW VOLTAGE but that doesn't mean you can run any wire behind your drywall. For your safety, don't breach your drywall fire-rating.

Also be aware that gandways like this provide access for cockroaches, insects and other pests to your drywall interior as hiding and nesting spots so take the appropriate precautions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice product, resonable priced., December 15, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DataComm 45-0002-WH 2-Gang Recessed Low Voltage Cable Plate (White) (Electronics)
Nice product, durable good construction. Used it to run my tv wires behind the wall. Does what you want it to do. Would like this packaged with the backing brackets instead of having to oder them seperatly but I guess if you already have a gang box in the wall you wouldn't need them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for flat screens, October 23, 2009
By 
J. Beane (Sherrills Ford, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DataComm 45-0002-WH 2-Gang Recessed Low Voltage Cable Plate (White) (Electronics)
These wall plates are perfect for wires exiting the wall in a bundle. I ran 3 HDMI and two composite wires and the double gang plate worked ideally. I can push the wires back into the wall to where they barely show and it makes the entire installation look very neat overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, February 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DataComm 45-0002-WH 2-Gang Recessed Low Voltage Cable Plate (White) (Electronics)
Good build quality, easy to install with a Dual Gang Low Voltage Mounting Bracket. I'm definitely glad I went with the 2-gang plate as I have about 7 cables going through the wall. Would purchase again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid connstruction, great value to hide wires for wall mount, June 20, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DataComm 45-0002-WH 2-Gang Recessed Low Voltage Cable Plate (White) (Electronics)
The construction on this product feels solid and the finish is good. A pair of these is an ideal solution to hide wires for a flat screen TV wall mount.

One tip: use a dual gang wall mount bracket to mark cutout area on drywall, mount the bracket onto drywall and then this wall plate onto the bracket.

Second tip: You can not run a high voltage power cable directly behind the drywall via a plate such as this. This would be a building code violation in most places. You can only use this to run low voltage wires such as your hdmi and audio cables. To hide the TV's power wire, provide an electrical outlet directly behind the TV or use a product such as the following: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002KF438I/ref=oss_product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, January 18, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DataComm 45-0002-WH 2-Gang Recessed Low Voltage Cable Plate (White) (Electronics)
We used this along with the base Arlington LV2-1 2-Gang Low Voltage Mounting Bracket, 1-Pack to hide the cables behind our TV. You will need one base and one white plate for the top, and again for the bottom. It was very easy to install, halfway between the studs. This is a very good and large opening, will hold at least 5 sets of cords and then some. Be sure you have cords long enough for hanging your TV up higher; I suggest these: AmazonBasics High-Speed HDMI Cable (9.8 Feet/3.0 Meters) - Supports Ethernet, 3D, and Audio Return [Newest Standard] and Coleman Cable 3531 14/3 General-Use Appliance Extension Cord, 3-Foot .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use and clean looking, December 10, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DataComm 45-0002-WH 2-Gang Recessed Low Voltage Cable Plate (White) (Electronics)
This was easy to install if you buy a double gang low voltage bracket like this: Dual Gang Low Voltage Mounting Bracket. Love the way it turned out in my install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IT works and is recessed behind the wall, April 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DataComm 45-0002-WH 2-Gang Recessed Low Voltage Cable Plate (White) (Electronics)
I bought '2' of these and will by 4 more.. They are great for low voltage. I just wish they came with the metal bracket.. ended up going to HD and got some for a 2 dollars, but would ahve been nicer to get in one package..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does the job., June 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DataComm 45-0002-WH 2-Gang Recessed Low Voltage Cable Plate (White) (Electronics)
I used this plate near the floor to run power and speaker cables up to my media center. I used the Datacomm 45-0041-WH Recessed Low Voltage Media Plate with Duplex Surge Protector (on Amazon) up behind the big screen. My AV equipment is in the wall under the TV. The opening on this plate allowed a couple of power cables and Bose's wide/flat speaker cable coming from the Subwoofer, but it was a little tight. It did the job and the opening wasn't too wide so as to see into the wall space. I mounted it as it is pictured online. Don't forget to buy the mounting bracket for this plate! Arlington LV1-1CS Single Gang Low Voltage Mounting Bracket Device on Amazon. I do recommend this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xd9a01d18)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.