Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Solid Textbook
I used this book for a database class, and in spite of paying very little attention in the lectures, I got an A, primarily because this book is thorough and exactly dense enough: it doesn't drown you with detail but certainly makes you work to get concepts. This book taught me everything I know about databases, and several other people since then.
Published 22 months ago by Alex

versus
22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive in topics but not coverage
This book has plenty of topics. It just covers them too lightly. I used this book for a graduate course in Database Systems as one of the primary texts and found it to be lacking a number of details. This is not my first database class and luckily I still had other texts from those previous classes. If not for that I'd have been toast. If you have to use this book,...
Published on November 26, 2010 by Jacob Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive in topics but not coverage, November 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Database Systems: The Complete Book (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
This book has plenty of topics. It just covers them too lightly. I used this book for a graduate course in Database Systems as one of the primary texts and found it to be lacking a number of details. This is not my first database class and luckily I still had other texts from those previous classes. If not for that I'd have been toast. If you have to use this book, plan on buying/borrowing secondary references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars single license only, September 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is not a review of this book content. I just would like to warn other potential buyers that Kindle edition is a single license. I got used to having all other books available across my computers, a tablet, a kindle and a iphone (very handy while waiting in car, doctors office etc.). Being spoiled this way this restriction feels like a significant nuisance. I wish there was some indication of this limitation in a product description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Content is excellent, but presentation could use an update; be more visual., November 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Database Systems: The Complete Book (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
An excellent book on database systems, keyed for the beginner/novice. Some familiarity with databases and files is nice to have, but could be used as a first course book. The authors are all noted in their area, and the content is great...better than great, excellent. However, the overall presentation of the material -- the graphics and visuals -- are not nearly as well done as is possible (and standard) for today's top text books. More and better use of color, more case studies, and just in general better graphics/visuals would make this a much more effective (and fun) book. And that's the reason for the average rating...it's just average in its presentation and therefore its effectiveness as a text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Solid Textbook, February 5, 2013
By 
Alex (ALBUQUERQUE, NEW MEXICO, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Database Systems: The Complete Book (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
I used this book for a database class, and in spite of paying very little attention in the lectures, I got an A, primarily because this book is thorough and exactly dense enough: it doesn't drown you with detail but certainly makes you work to get concepts. This book taught me everything I know about databases, and several other people since then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Depends on your mind., September 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I personally liked this book and could sit down and read it. My friends found it horrible to read and used it just for reference. If you are used to reading technical papers, scientific papers, or reading proofs you will enjoy it. It has a moderate amount of depth to it, but presents the material in an understandable way. I chose this book over the Introductory book because it had more information, and I plan to keep it after my class as a reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, December 5, 2013
By 
Bruce G Greenblatt "Bruce G" (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Database Systems: The Complete Book (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
If you want to learn Relational Database Theory, try to locate a copy of David Maier's book, The Theory of Relational Databases. His explanations are perfect and perfectly simple. Dr. Widom seems to go to great lengths to avoid using Codd's original terminology, i.e. first normal form, second normal form, and third normal form. She also seems to go to great lengths to make it more complicated than it is. Why? Not all tables can be put in BCNF. Frankly, I never encountered a situation where I needed to. Third normal form is adequate for the majority of circumstances and is always achievable. Dr. Widom ignores first, second, and third normal forms and proceeds to a tedious algorithm for BCNF leaving most students scratching their heads. The material is disorganized and piecemeal and does not do justice to Codd's work. The relational algebra and sql sections are reasonable. Regarding the later chapters on programming languages for XML, you are better off buying books that are limited to these topics. There are some errors in the text in the few examples provided which was frustrating. To be fair, Dr. Widom's video lecture series is outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly explained and badly written, October 24, 2010
This review is from: Database Systems: The Complete Book (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
This book was assigned for a class I am taking. It is poorly written. The algorithms are not explained clearly and have important details missing. To be fair, I am not sure how this book reads to someone who is already familiar with databases, but as learning material it is absolutely terrible. I do not recommend it at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars lots of theory , less explanation, March 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Database Systems: The Complete Book (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
typical college textbook used to confuse rather than teach. The theory is quite complete, meaning the authors did not leave out any DB theory to date but lack of supporting examples and no solution to exercises wants to make you flush this book down the toilet for the ridiculous amounts of money you pay for it. Thank God for Google or I would fail!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe not worth the investment, July 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Database Systems: The Complete Book (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
While this book has its uses, it also has some of the standard flaws of academic computer science books, notably being overly pedantic and verbose at times, not to mention exorbitantly priced for the relatively little practical info you will get from it. There is some good -- albeit somewhat elementary -- coverage of a number of useful topics such as the relational algebra, relational design theory, index construction and data structures, and data mining. However, at five years old, the selection of topics can feel pretty dated for a text claiming to be "The Complete Book" on database systems. Nary a mention of NoSQL or JSON, this text is focused entirely on relational databases and XML.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid book, February 24, 2012
By 
Samuel C. (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Database Systems: The Complete Book (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
Very comprehensive book. Cover everything from SQL, relational algebra, ER-diagram, UML, to relational database design. I especially like the second half of the book where it goes into implementation of database system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Database Systems: The Complete Book (2nd Edition)
Database Systems: The Complete Book (2nd Edition) by Jennifer Widom (Hardcover - June 15, 2008)
$202.00 $152.84
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.