Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great price and quality
Pre labeled on front plate. Speaker wires can be attached without the use of banana plugs. Just unscrew clamps, feed the wire through holes on the side and clamp down.
Published on April 15, 2012 by Rich

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good plate, but not as described
There appears to be two versions of this wall plate on Amazon. One is made by Datacomm Electronics and the other is generic. The main difference appears to be that the connector for the subwoofer on the Datacomm 45-0060 has a Female "F" connector on the back of plate while the generic has a Female RCA. I ordered a Datacomm 45-0060 because I wanted the "F" connector on the...
Published on July 29, 2012 by Daniel Z


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great price and quality, April 15, 2012
By 
Rich (East Bay, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Datacomm 45-0060 5.1 Surround Sound 2-Gang Plate (White) (Electronics)
Pre labeled on front plate. Speaker wires can be attached without the use of banana plugs. Just unscrew clamps, feed the wire through holes on the side and clamp down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good plate, but not as described, July 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Datacomm 45-0060 5.1 Surround Sound 2-Gang Plate (White) (Electronics)
There appears to be two versions of this wall plate on Amazon. One is made by Datacomm Electronics and the other is generic. The main difference appears to be that the connector for the subwoofer on the Datacomm 45-0060 has a Female "F" connector on the back of plate while the generic has a Female RCA. I ordered a Datacomm 45-0060 because I wanted the "F" connector on the back so I could screw the coax cable in the wall directly to the wall plate. The seller sent a plate that had an RCA to RCA jack for the subwoofer even though the label on the outside of the package said Datacomm 45-0060. The Datacomm name does not appear anywhere on the product itself, so there's no way to tell what I actually got. Datacomm's web site and the description of the item that I bought on Amazon says "Includes 1 RCA jack with F connector for a subwoofer".

I bought an "F" female to RCA female bulkhead adapter and replaced the RCA to RCA adapter in the plate. Luckily the connectors are installed with standard 3/8 inch hex bolts. It was just a nuisance to find the "F" to RCA adapter in bulkhead form. I could have used an "F" to RCA adapter (not bulkhead type) but that would have added another connector that might cause quality issues with the sound, plus it is better to screw the coax cable onto the F connector inside the wall instead of plugging in an RCA jack.

My only other beef is that the screws that hold the wall plate on are soft and low quality. They stripped easily and got tapered at the ends like wood screws once installed. I threw them away and used screws that I had previously bought at Home Depot. One other minor nit is that the subwoofer connector is not labeled. It isn't a big deal, but the speaker connectors are labeled, so why don't they label the subwoofer? The wall plate is excellent quality otherwise and about half the cost as similar items in local stores. The back and front of the plate accomodate either bare speaker wire or banana plugs. If the plate had come as described (F to RCA subwoofer connector), and the screws were better quality, I would have rated the wall plate 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice for what it is but possible quality flaws, October 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Datacomm 45-0060 5.1 Surround Sound 2-Gang Plate (White) (Electronics)
Everything was great on this with one caveat. The wires inside the wall can be retained with a threaded band that locks them into the stem. On mine, one of the sets of threads was thin and the threaded band would jump thread to thread like it was stripped so it wouldn't grasp the wire firmly. It took a few tries to get the wire in place where it would cock the threaded band but I was able to get it to finally grab on the threads and not slip loose. It's tenuous though. Once everything is tucked away in the wall, and if the wiring stays well tight, you should be fine. But it took a bit to get the one terminal to work properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Or you could go to Lowes and pay 4X as much!, May 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Datacomm 45-0060 5.1 Surround Sound 2-Gang Plate (White) (Electronics)
Well built and functions as advertised. A great value...saw the same thing at Lowes priced four times more than what I paid here..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, November 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Datacomm 45-0060 5.1 Surround Sound 2-Gang Plate (White) (Electronics)
The item was not as described. It states that it has one RCA to F jack for sub woofer. This has a RCA to RCA and would not be able to use coaxial cable for in wall installation. I had to order the correct coupler from another web site increasing my over all price. I recommend looking elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clean and professional look for wires into the wall, July 11, 2014
By 
CMarz19 (Castle Rock, CO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Datacomm 45-0060 5.1 Surround Sound 2-Gang Plate (White) (Electronics)
Our house came built pre-wired for a 5.1 surround system but the builder just left a blank 2-gang plate on the wall. This plate was exactly what I was looking for. I have banana plugs coming in from the front and the wire fastened right to the plugs on the back side. Such a clean look for the wires going into the wall. Since my receiver (as I assume most do) has the subwoofer RCA jack colored purple. What I did was buy the "OnQ / Legrand WP3466WH Keystone PurpleRCA to FConnector, White" (http://amzn.com/B0034XRLNE) for a couple bucks and swapped out the white subwoofer RCA to the Purple one to make it seamless. If I ever need to buy something like this again, I am coming right back to this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product! Poor delivery, December 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Datacomm 45-0060 5.1 Surround Sound 2-Gang Plate (White) (Electronics)
Product had competitive price at one third the market price. it was easy to install and provided a neat and orderly connections between the amplifier and the speakers. Performance was as clear and dynamic as the original direct connections. The delivery left a lot to be desired, It was sent first class mail and it took 14 days to make it from the west coast to the east coast. No tracking was available. The $5 shipping charge based on weight should have provided superior service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Met my expectation, April 17, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Datacomm 45-0060 5.1 Surround Sound 2-Gang Plate (White) (Electronics)
After reading some of the negative reviews I was not sure if I should go ahead and order the product. I went ahead with the order anyway and am very satisfied with the product. It met all of my expectation in terms quality, delivery time. The price was of course the best that could find anywhere for the same product. If you don't mind waiting a few days to get the product you will save money compared to local stores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, April 12, 2013
By 
E. Sokul (Holbrook, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Datacomm 45-0060 5.1 Surround Sound 2-Gang Plate (White) (Electronics)
This Master plate works great. Does everything it should. Installed well, what you might not be able to tell is that they are two inner plates that attach to the wall first then the cover plate goes over it. This made installation very easy. I love the fact that its pre labeled. I used banana jacks and they have a very tight connect. This is perfect for anyone installing an in wall 5.1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best value!, April 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Datacomm 45-0060 5.1 Surround Sound 2-Gang Plate (White) (Electronics)
As an installer of custom A/v systems I need the best parts at the best price. this is the real deal at half the price of the local retailers I can do a professional install and get repeat business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Datacomm 45-0060 5.1 Surround Sound 2-Gang Plate (White)
$33.60 $13.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.