Dateworthy: Get the Relationship You Want and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$4.00
Condition: Used: Good
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Dateworthy Paperback – October 21, 2004

15 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$2.01 $0.01

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.
Available from these sellers.

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Backed by a massive publicity push, USA Weekend relationship columnist Hughes is out to fill what she claims is everyone’s goal: "to be part of a couple, to be loved and be in love." Her book on becoming "dateworthy" is aimed at women who have a history of dating losers. She advises them to figure out their dating type (Time Bomb, Drama Queen, Shadow, etc.), change their dating style and master a few skills to deal with the ways of men before embarking on their next date. Hughes’s style is not for those in a hurry. She’s big on paperwork, encouraging readers to "make a list of ten visual qualities that you love in order of preference" and to "write down every relationship that you feel violated your faith in love or undermined your confidence." Yet the book manages to belittle women ("you are the common denominator in all of your failed relationships") and stereotype men ("Men are visual. Dress prettily, not provocatively") without saying much of anything new. Fans of Cosmo and Glamour will like Hughes’s familiar style, which is heavy on lists, quizzes and Q&As. Hughes also shares dozens of stories that she says are based on her own dating past. Less empowering than The Rules and more than a little repetitive, this volume will sell well, nevertheless, since Hughes’s column reaches millions of people and many of them may want to check it out.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Review

Hughes, "RelationTips" columnist for USA Weekend, has written a comprehensive dating advice book appropriate for young women. It is the antithesis of Ellen Fein and Sherrie Schneider's The Rules, offering straightforward advice for creating an honest and healthy relationship. Using a hip and humorous approach, Hughes includes suggestions for rethinking unhealthy mindsets, improving one's dateworthiness, and evaluating potential partners' dateworthiness; she also cautions women about sex on the first date and putting friendship second. She features a wide variety of her personal dating stories and concludes with a Q&A section of actual "RelationTips" reader problems. Although the use of stereotypes, cliches, and author-coined terminology such as "boy-o-logy" may be off-putting to more worldly readers, the young and young-at-heart will enjoy the upbeat and practical message. An optional purchase for public libraries. (Wendy Lee, Brainerd P.L., MN Library Journal)
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Rodale Books (November 3, 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1594860750
  • ISBN-13: 978-1594860751
  • Product Dimensions: 5.2 x 0.8 x 8.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 12.8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,250,203 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Important Information

Ingredients
Example Ingredients

Directions
Example Directions

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By The therapist on December 13, 2004
Format: Paperback
As a happily married woman, I chose this book not for myself but for my sister who has re-entered the dating arena...I like Dennie's style in her weekly column so I figured my sister would feel comfortable with Dateworthy. I ended up reading the book before I saw my sister and to say I was impressed is an understatement.

As a professional with degrees (BA, M.Ed., Ed.S.) in various fields of human relations and education, it is refreshing to see an author that doesn't bash either sex, try to manipulate men (remember The Rules?), advocates NOT jumping into the sack in the beginning of a relationship, and (the most refreshing part of all)leads the reader to realize that while no person is meant to be a partner with all people, if there is a consistant problem with relationships in a woman's life, perhaps she should look within herself and honestly evaluate what she is about. Dennie does a beautiful and gentle job of leading the reader through a series of thought provoking questions and quizes which, when answered thoughtfully and honestly, can open a new chapter of self-realization for the reader. It is at this point the reader can determine what she is truly looking for in a date/mate and unlike some popular books, (like He's Just Not That Into You) Dennie gives over 300 pages of good, solid, safe advice for any dater on what to do while in the dating arena during the 21st century.

Dating can be fun and very funny...just read some of Dennie's personal anecdotes which are liberally scattered throughout the book. But Dennie also offers a solid dose of reality with the unstated message of
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Kara on February 24, 2005
Format: Paperback
I loved this book and I loved that Ms. Hughes didn't just write about this from an analyst side-line point of view. She was really in those dating trenches and all the advice works from a real life perspective. The quizzes make you think. The relationtips alone are worth the price of the book. And the dating stories were must-see-TV worthy. With all the post-it notes I have stuck in it, it has literally become my constant dating reference book. Buy this book and be prepared to share it with your friends.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By C. Law on November 9, 2004
Format: Paperback
I know this book is geared toward girls more but there are even many points in this book that can be for guys as well. For example, some of us can be classified as "The Rescuers", finding relationship with a girl who's like a lost puppy or "The First Sighter" where some of us guys think we can't be attracted to a girl if we can't feel the chemistry instantly. Just as girls can be "Dateworthy", guys can be too. What better way to have success with girls than to understand how girls think.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Alan Shurafa on March 28, 2005
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Dateworthy (datwûr'the): adj. Fit to be dated; An individual who is worth your time and attention.

Every single person as well as everyone who is currently in a relationship should read this book. Dennie expertly guides you through the process understanding that if you want to meet someone dateworthy you have to be dateworthy yourself. Then by examining past tendencies as well as understanding what you should be looking for you can find someone who is truly dateworthy.

Bottom Line: This is the book you want to read if you are ready to find the "right" person aka someone who is "Dateworthy".
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Ann Delaware on February 1, 2005
Format: Paperback
It's a new me for the new year, and Dennie Hughes is the reason why. I'm a freelance stylist, so I travel for work, and I seem to have an endless amount of gay guy friends (who I love) but no boyfriend. After reading Dateworthy, I realized I might be just a touch of a Diva.(Yes, I admit it!) I'm going to take Dennie's advice, take February off from serial dating, and in March take a fresh look at things... This book is perfect for girls willing to take an honest look at themselves and the men they are attracted to!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Patricia J. on November 4, 2004
Format: Paperback
I'm a regular reader of Dennie Hughes chats and a huge fan of her very down to earth and caring advice so I couldn't wait to read Dateworthy,especially because He's Just Not That Into You didn't help me at all when it came to getting advice about dating better. It was a fun book - but not nearly as helpfull as Dateworthy.  I find Dateworthy pretty constructive with sound advice.  I love the dating stories and was able to relate to a

few of Dennies relationship mishaps. 

Dateworthy to me is a fun learning experience that has nothing to do with playing games like in The Rules and makes you think before you go for that next bad boy.  My co-workers and myself are reading her dating stories during our lunch break and it helps to know that no matter how wrong you have dated before, you still can get something from it to make it right next time.  The little tips all through the book are really smart and right

to the point and I'm using some of them as screen savers.

I enjoyed this book and recommend it to any woman who wants to feel like she's just as in control as the guy is in the dating process so as to leave him asking the question "is she just not that into ME?"

Two of my co-workers are buying it for Christmas gifts for their teenage daughters, especially because the first dating commandment, never ever have sex on a first date, isn't judgmental, but is instead is all about making a choice that is powerful and as Dennie says, selfworth-full. It's nice to have someone who has actually dated (not a person who learned about dating from textbooks) tell you like it is.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: relationships