Daughter of the God-King and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $14.99
  • Save: $3.02 (20%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Daughter of the God-King Paperback – November 5, 2013


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$11.97
$5.94 $1.04
Best%20Books%20of%202014

Frequently Bought Together

Daughter of the God-King + Tainted Angel + Murder in Retribution (A New Scotland Yard Mystery)
Price for all three: $39.36

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark (November 5, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 140227985X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1402279850
  • Product Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.5 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 12 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (39 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #285,373 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Fans of Elizabeth Peters and Tracy Grant will fine Cleeland's espionage thriller their cup of tea. " - RT Book Reviews

"Fans of classic Agatha Christie, historical fiction, and light romance will all find something to enjoy in Cleeland's latest outing." - Library Journal

"All the elements are present to make it much more than just a love story. It becomes a murder mystery, a drama, a 'what-if'- fantasy par excellence. It is a feel-good masterpiece." - Something Wordy

"If you are a fan of The Mummy films or the works of Gail Carringer or Elizabeth Peters I would recommend giving this one a try." - All About Romance

"Here is a real writer and one to watch." - Book Babe

"A historical romance mystery set in 19th century Egypt – what's not to love?! " - Notes on Novels

"Daughter of the God-King is another great Regency spy story. I look forward to more." - Linda Banche and Her Historical Hilarity

"Cleeland does a great job of flawlessly meshing all of these genres together to produce a very well rounded and entertaining novel." - Debbie's Book Bag

"If you like historical romance set in an exotic place with espionage, intrigue and adventure then this one is sure to please." - Library of Clean Reads

"I'm honestly loving this series. First Tainted Angel and now this wonderful book!" - Nocturnal Book Reviews

About the Author

Anne Cleeland holds a degree in English from UCLA as well as a law degree from Pepperdine University and is a member of the California State Bar. She writes historical fiction set in the Regency period and contemporary romantic suspense. A member of the Historical Novel Society, she lives on Balboa Island, California and has four children. Her first novel was Tainted Angel.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

It was a fun read, enjoy.
Elaine
Witty dialogue, in depth character development, and a lush and vibrant setting combine to make this a book that is a feast for the senses as well as the mind!
Deb@Debbie's Book Bag
At first the book seemed to be light reading but it became more complex as I got into it.
Missy

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Deb@Debbie's Book Bag on November 5, 2013
Format: Paperback
Anne Cleeland's Daughter of the God-King is a Regency novel with an Egyptian twist. Napoleon is in exile and Europe is quite a mess during the time period of this book, which makes the atmosphere ripe for a political intrigue and mystery. Cleeland's book is a mix of genres. Romance, mystery and history collide to provide the reader with a reading experience they won't soon forget. Witty dialogue, in depth character development, and a lush and vibrant setting combine to make this a book that is a feast for the senses as well as the mind!

Anne Cleeland's first book, Tainted Angel was also set in the Regency period and saw much praise for it's fast paced historical mystery theme. Her second book, Daughter of the God-King in comparison has many of the same qualities but also introduces some vast differences as well. Cleeland writes historical fiction with a touch of light romance and leans heavily on a thriller/mystery angle. This novel is no exception. Daughter of the God-King is very fast paced and moves with lightening speed toward the conclusion, but there is so much happening a long the way readers will be both stumped and curious as to the outcome.

There are tons of characters to keep track of in this novel. That's the easy part. There is the main character, her parents who are missing, her companion, a love interest, the French, the British, the Egyptian's and many other secondary people, who have an interest in the outcome of the story. They each play an integral part in the bi-play and fabric of the story and Cleeland is a master at development. The characters are easy. But keeping up with all of the different motivations and reasons each of these characters has for flocking around English heiress, Hathor Blackhouse, can be quite confusing.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Elizabeth S on January 8, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
I was excited when I first found this book because the plot sounded interesting and it looked similar to the book The Anatomist's Wife, one of my new favorite books. The first couple chapters were promising but I quickly became confused with both the plot and the characters and I don't generally have that problem. It would have been handy to have a character list in the back of the book since there are a lot of characters and I found it hard to keep them all straight. Several times I wished I had highlighted names so I could go back and remind myself who exactly they were, and that's one of the reasons I couldn't lose myself in the story. Another problem was that I couldn't figure out just what the characters were doing and more importantly WHY they were doing it. It got to the point where I thought maybe I just put the book down because I couldn't follow the plot. However, I think the most confusing thing about the story was the romantic aspect. I don't want to spoil anything but I didn't get Hattie's love interest, mainly because it was a love-on-first sight situation with no foundation so the relationship didn't make sense. Many people gave the book 4 or 5 stars so maybe it was just me, but I can't say that I recommend the story.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Laura Fabiani on November 20, 2013
Format: Paperback
Hattie Blackhouse is a young woman who lives in Cornwall while her famous archaeologist parents are in Egypt most of the time exploring newly discovered tombs. She decides she's had enough of her monotonous life in Cornwall and travels to Paris, to her parents' townhouse in search of her childhood friend Robbie. Once there, she discovers that her parents have disappeared, and that her own life may be in danger. Something is afoot and Hattie wants to find out. She embarks on a trip to Egypt where her introduction to espionage, adventure and romance begin.

Author Anne Cleeland knows how to mix witty dialogue, strong characters, an espionage plot and romance together. Hattie Blackhouse may be small in stature, but she is intelligent and feisty. I like that she was also naive and vulnerable at times as it made her more real. Berry, the spy who is somehow embroiled in her parents' disappearance kept me guessing whose side he was on. I liked Miss Bing, Hattie's companion who was extremely knowledgeable, astute and could deal with shocking situations with a poker face. She was a great secondary character.

The story takes place during the Napoleonic era just after the emperor was exiled and this adds to the intrigue. Most of the novel takes place in Egypt and I learned a few things about its history, the British craze to own artifacts excavated from the Valley of the Kings, and how war can make traitors out of anyone. There are some heavy themes in this novel, but the author keeps them light and the romance overshadows them. Hattie, who's led a sheltered and uneventful life, seems to deal with certain situations a little too well, and sometimes with little emotion, like when a man is killed in front of her and there is no mention of how this made her feel.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By eyes.2c on November 5, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
Hattie Blackhouse arrives with her companion Miss Bing at her lodgings in Paris. In short order she pushes an intruder down the back stairs, finds out her childhood friend, Robbie Tremaine is unaccountably to be married in two days to the widow of a work acquaintance her parents, is approached at a soirée by an aging french roué, Baron du Pays, is introduced to the intruder, sought out by the enigmatic Monsieur Berry, and interviewed by an un-named official of the English government. Of course there is also a mysterious Comte. All seeking information about her parents strongbox. Oh, and Miss Bing's dead brother and Robbie's widowed fiancé dead husband worked with or for her parents in Egypt.
Long neglected by her parents during her childhood whilst they spent their time pursuing their passion, Hattie does find it disturbing that though her parents neglected to provide emotionally for her, in their death have provided materially for her.
Hattie's famous Egyptologist parents appear to have disappeared without a trace from their Theban dig and are presumed dead. Hattie sets forth to Cairo with Bing to discover the truth. Bodies litter the stage as Hattie forges forward in her quest to locate at the very least her parents bodies. Politics and intrigue jostle each other for prominence. Mysterious references to Napoleon lurk in the background, although he is supposedly confined to Elba. Powerful sources certainly seem to be at play as Bing warns.
Monsieur Berry turns up and Hattie becomes more and more fascinated by him. He-who-was-not-Daniel, as Hattie meditatively refers to him.
Secrets run deep and swift and I certainly did not see a major deception coming. Romance blooms in unexpected ways. The surprises just keep coming!
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?