Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous collection - but why the easter eggs?
For the record, I hate easter eggs. Why hide stuff? I've already bought the disc. That said...
Best of Bowie is a thoroughly decent collection of David Bowie videos, many of which will be unfamiliar to American audiences - especially if you tuned out after the mid-80's.
The video quality is consistently good throughout, though some of the production values of...
Published on November 20, 2002 by Kevin O'Conner

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sound Quality Poor
I was quite disappointed in the sound quality of this DVD set. The DVD is not even in dolby digital and sounds flat. Some tracks are not even in stereo. EMI, you blew it man. The sex pistols were right. If I did not receive this as a gift I would have gotten my money back.
Published on December 27, 2002


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous collection - but why the easter eggs?, November 20, 2002
This review is from: David Bowie - Best of Bowie (DVD)
For the record, I hate easter eggs. Why hide stuff? I've already bought the disc. That said...
Best of Bowie is a thoroughly decent collection of David Bowie videos, many of which will be unfamiliar to American audiences - especially if you tuned out after the mid-80's.
The video quality is consistently good throughout, though some of the production values of the videos produced during the '70s ("Space Oddity" is a good example) seems downright quaint now. The late '70s/early '80s stuff (pretty much everything from "Be My Wife" through "Fashion", and, maybe, "Wild Is The Wind"), though, is a good reminder of how much Bowie brought to the then-fledgling art of music videos.
The sound quality, unfortunately, is not as consistent. Most of this is due to the source material - much of the TV clips are in mono, for example, and the performance of "Young Americans" on the Dick Cavett Show is downright distorted in many places. Some of it, however, could have easily been corrected in the mastering - for example, "Fashion" appears to consist of one side of the stereo mix presented as a mono track.
The easter eggs are a major annoyance - especially after having spent some [money] on the collection; their inclusion as such is - in my opinion - a remnant of the geek chic that surrounded the DVD format during its first two or three years of existence. Some, like the interview and the Ziggy Stardust: The Motion Picture DVD promo on disc 1, can be easily accessed via the track listings; others (pretty much everything else - the Credits section on disc 2 lists all of the easter eggs contained within) involve more trickery and/or careful observation (or hit-and-miss searches) of title and chapter numbers. So far, I've managed to access all of them except the live performance of "Survive".
I'm a little disappointed that neither "Golden Years" nor the original version of "Fame" are included, especially given the embarrassing performance (flubbed lines all over the place suggest either lack of rehearsal or the influence of certain illicit substances) of "Young Americans" that is included.
Still, this collection is a fabulous reminder of why David Bowie remains such a vital presence. Even the less interesting songs (mostly from the late '80s) still have perfectly good videos to accompany them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than expected, November 11, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: David Bowie - Best of Bowie (DVD)
This is a Bowie DVD that is actually clear and of great quality. For those poor souls who bought the Glass Spider or Serious Moonlight DVD I'm sure you haven't noticed much difference from the VHS. This DVD is extra special because of the more recent videos that never made it to USA TV and the stunning clarity of the older material. Yes, LIFE ON MARS is supposed to look like that! We have all years represented here but we still have some of the more oscure stuff missing like DB's '80's soundtrack work with Pat Metheny or Raymond Briggs. Maybe those recordings are owned by someone else and will never see a real release. Now as far as Easter Eggs go...I won't say WHERE but I will say WHAT: full 20 minute Jazzin' For Blue Jean video promo, Russell Harty interview, MTV promo club version of Blue Jean (alternate video), Day In Day Out (extended dance mix video),Seven Years in Tibet (mandarin Version video), Survive (Live paris '99 and more to be discovered. Remember you have 2 discs here...there will be a lot!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folks here are the Easter Eggs, April 23, 2004
This review is from: David Bowie - Best of Bowie (DVD)
This Bowie DVD is very very fine...most of the videos I didnt even knew!
I was very pleased of the I'm afraid of Americans Video with Trent Reznor making a cameo performance.
And for all complaining about the easter eggs...here they are...
Disc One:
Oh! You Pretty Things take 1 (Old Grey Whistle Test, alternate take, never broadcast) - Alternates with take 2 when you select "Play all" from the main menu.
Interview with David Bowie and Russell Harty (before Drive-In Saturday)
1. Go to Tracklisting
2. Select Drive-In Saturday without clicking on it. A dash - will appear.
3. Select the dash and click "Enter" on your remote.
Jazzin' For Blue Jean (complete 20-minute short film)
1. Go to Tracklisting.
2. Highlight 25 { Blue Jean but don't click on it! You'll see a ) symbol appear to the right on the title.
3. Select it and press "Enter" on your remote. The bottom left image in the grid of small images on the right will change.
4. Select 25 { Blue Jean and click "Enter" on your remote to play the video.
Blue Jean (MTV edit recorded at The Wag Club) - While you are playing the Jazzin' For Blue Jean video, when the girl goes to the jukebox, click on enter when you see the db image appear.
Disc Two:
Day In Day Out (Extended Mix) - Alternates with the regular video when you select "Play all" from the main menu.
Miracle Goodnight (Remix) - Play the Miracle Goodnight video by choosing it from the tracklisting. Once it plays through, leave the DVD player alone! The remix will play after five minutes of inactivity.
Seven Years In Tibet (Mandarin version) - Click on the Mandarin character on the subtitle page.
Survive (Live in Paris) - Alternates with the regular video when you select "Play all" from the main menu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth every single penny!, November 30, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: David Bowie - Best of Bowie (DVD)
wow. what surprised me about this collection was how GOOD the quality of the videos were. i expected really grainy 1960's footage, but all of the music videos were SO CLEAR!!!
so will people stop complaining about the fact this dvd lacks the Changes music video? if you've ever even seen Changes, you know you're not missing out on a whole lot.
plus, that elusive 20 minute blue jean promo video is hidden as an easter egg in here. before this dvd came out, that video was so rare it was virtually nonexistent.
This is a FABULOUS collection of bowie. you're getting 47 of bowie's best music videos... plus easter eggs! it's definetely worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Bowie Video Collection!!, February 15, 2005
By 
This review is from: David Bowie - Best of Bowie (DVD)
The "Best of Bowie" double-DVD is a Bowie fan's dream come true. Magnificiantly packaged and spanning nearly every corner of his long career, "Best Of Bowie" includes classic vintage footage of David Bowie from various BBC TV programs as well as music videos dating from 1971 to 1999.

Additionally, the are a number of hidden 'easter egg' features scattered throughout the collection including a short interview with Bowie from 1973, alternate videos for "Day-In Day Out", "Blue Jean", "Miracle Goodnight" and "Survive" as well as a Mandarin version of "Seven Years in Tibet" and the full 20-minute "Jazzin' For Blue Jean" mini-movie.

This collection highlights the many changes not only in David Bowie's music but in his style. From mod-rocker to glam-rocker to new wave superstar to soul singer and beyond, it's all here on the "Best of Bowie", the only questionable ommissions being the music videos for "Changes" and the Queen/David Bowie collaboration "Under Pressure".

Hands down, this is a must for David Bowie fans. It offers an excellent chronology of Bowie's music as well as being just plain fun and entertaining. Definitely the best from one of the very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Martian, September 4, 2004
This review is from: David Bowie - Best of Bowie (DVD)
As an overview of nearly 2 decades of David Bowie's work, mostly in the form of videos, this is a remarkable 2 Disc set that shows the changes from the 25 year old with the cobalt blue guitar and rather shabby looking teeth in 1972, to the sophisticated superstar of the late '90s.
Though the first few videos are rather simple in their presentation, he quickly learned the theatrical, unique style he is famous for, with his space alien themes, outlandish costumes, and marvelous red hair.
"Boys Keep Swinging" from '79 is the first number with some uniquely Bowiesque dance moves, and there is one song with Mick Jagger from '85, "Dancing in the Streets."
My favorite piece, which is pure musical artistry, is "Wild is the Wind," with Bowie in everyday clothes and no fancy makeup. I was entranced by this track, and wish there had been more like it.

With his androgynous charm, skill as a performer, and musical/vocal/songwriting talent, Bowie is deservedly one of the longest lasting and most fascinating of all pop/rock icons. This set is a must for Bowie fans, anyone who would like to know more about this superstar who continues to be an influence in the music industry, and to view the pure magic of "Wild is the Wind."
Total playing time is 4 hours and 12 minutes.

Disc # 1:
"Oh ! You Pretty Things" (1972) / "Queen Bitch" (1972) / "Five Years" (1972) / "Starman" (1972) / "John, I'm Only Dancing" (1972) / "The Jean Genie" (1972) / "Space Oddity" (1972) / "Drive-in Saturday" (1973) / "Life on Mars ?" (1973) / "Ziggy Stardust" (1973) / "Rebel Rebel" (1974) / "Young American" (1974) / "Be My Wife" (1977) / "Heroes" (1977) / "Boys Keep Swinging" (1979) / "D.J." (1979) / "Look Back in Anger" (1979) / "Ashes to Ashes" (1980) / "Fashion" (1980) / "Wild is the Wind" (1981) / "Let's Dance" (1983) / "China Girl" (1983) / "Modern Love" (1983) / "Cat People (Putting Out Fire)" (1983) / "Blue Jean" (1984) / "Loving the Alien" (1985) / "Dancing in the Streets (with Mick Jagger) (1985) .
Disc # 2:
"Absolute Beginners" (1986) / "Underground" (1986) / "As the World goes Down" (1986) / "Day-In Day-Out" (1987) / "Time Will Crawl" (1987) / "Never Let Me Down" (1987) / "Fame" (1990) / "Jump They Say" (1993) / "Black Tie White Noise" (1993) / "Miracle Goodnight" (1993) / "Buddha of Suburbia" (1994) / "The Heart's Filthy lesson" (1995) / "Strangers When We Meet" (1995) / "Hallo Spaceboy" (1996) / "Little Wonder" (1997) / "Dead Man Walking" (1997) / "Seven Years in Tibet" (1997) / "I'm Afraid of Americans" (1997) / "Thursday's Child" (1999) / "Survive" (1999).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Of Bowie, April 6, 2004
By 
Amy Lynn (Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: David Bowie - Best of Bowie (DVD)
This is the ultimate most comprehensive collection of bowie videos. Both disks are good but the first one is my favorite and i think its his best work.
1.Oh you pretty things (1972)- a filming at the bbc television studio which was never broadcast. Good song- 4 stars
2.Queen Bit** (1972)- filmed at bbc studios in london/ 4 stars
3.Five years (1972)- filmed at bbc studios- pretty good song 3.5 stars
4.Starman (1972)- filmed for top of the pops and a great song , one of my favorites/great chemistry between mick and bowie- 5 out of 5 stars
5.John, Im only Dancing (1972)-another one of my favorites/great video/song-5 out of 5 stars
6.The jean genie(1972)-mostly live concert/catchy song 4 out of 5 stars/mick stands out- hes a great guitarist and he will be missed.
7.Space Oddity (1972)- amazing song 5 out of 5 stars
8.Drive In saturday (1973)- great performances by all- 4.5 stars out of 5
9.Life on Mars-(1973) great song and probably my favorite video- love his outfit and makeup and the whole washed out look of the video 5 out of 5 stars
10.Ziggy stardust-(1973) Bowie in concert/ another amazing performance 5 out of 5 stars
11.Rebel Rebel- performance for dutch tv program top pop (1974)- 4 out of 5 stars
12.Young americans-(1975) here you see bowies image change dramatically but hes still just as good / diff sounding music on this song/more bluesy but still a good song 4 out 5 stars
13.Be my wife-(1977)- good song 4 out of 5 stars
14.Heroes(1977)- another 4 star performance , decent video
15.Boys Keep swinging(1979)- great dancing , great performance by bowie and in this video he dresses in drag- 4.5 stars
16.d.j.(1979)- catchy song and fun video- i enjoyed this performance alot 5 out of 5 stars
17.Look back in anger(1979)-not one of my favorites- 3 stars
18.Ashes to Ashes(1980)- amazing artistic video and great song-5 out of 5 stars
19.Fashion(1980)- a bowie classic / great video and song 5 out of 5 stars
20.Wild is the wind(1981)- not one of my favorites but a nice song- 3.5 stars
21.Lets dance(1983)-classic 5 out of 5 stars
22.China girl(1983)-5 out of 5 stars
23.Modern Love- bowie in concert here 4.5 stars
24.Cat people ( putting out fire)- 4 stars
25.Blue jean- unique video and song- 5 out of 5 stars
26.Loving the alien- 4 stars
27.Dancing in the streets( with mick jagger)- 5 stars
And thats just the first disk , the second disk has many highlights like as the world falls down from The Movie Labryinth and Fame '90, buddha of suburbia and im afraid of americans with trent reznor and i found thursdays child to be a haunting video. There are 20 more hits on the second disk. Overall great collection of hits and should be in any music fans library. Well worth the money. R.i.p. Mick Ronson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watch David Bowie change before your eyes., November 24, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: David Bowie - Best of Bowie (DVD)
David Bowie is one of the pioneers of music video, so watching the first disc of this set is like watching the history of the medium from the early seventies through the eighties. It's also interesting watching Bowie transform so many times through the course of this dvd. This is a major improvement over his last vhs video collection from 1994. Sure he made more videos in the eighties when his music was becoming dull, so naturally both editions include all of those promos. But in the new Best of..DVD they compensate by including some great live television performances from the early seventies on British music shows like Top of the Pops. The live/lip synch clip for Rebel Rebel is great(a new one on this edition) with its cheap blue screen effects and Bowie's loud costume (w/eyepatch). Some of the other highlights from disc one include the classic videos Life on Mars, Boys Keep Swinging, Ashes to Ashes, Let's Dance as well as the hidden easter egg of Jazzin' for Blue Jean, a 20 minute short film he made for the song Blue Jean. However, some of the videos from this era haven't transferred as well as you'd think since the original source is probably deteriorated video tape. But oh well. I'm also a little surprised that Under Pressure wasn't included. Maybe they couldn't get the rights.
The second disc is nice because it includes a few promos for his nineties albums that weren't shown much on TV (at least not in the US). Many of these videos continue to prove that Bowie is one of the leaders in the medium even through the nineties. Standouts include Jump They Say, Hallo Spaceboy, Little Wonder, and I'm Afraid of Americans. The clips from the 'Outside' period are trite and annoying though. They look like every other "alternative video" from that time with the sepia tones, scratched cross-processed film, dirty sets, flashes of light between shots(so annoying).
In short, this is essential for Bowie fans, and fans of the music video and video art. The easter eggs are fun, but the best stuff is the easily accessible stuff. There are many classic clips along with some embarrasing and goofy moments that ultimately make this worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but could have been amazing, June 24, 2004
This review is from: David Bowie - Best of Bowie (DVD)
David Bowie has long been known as one of the greatest pioneers in the music industry, but he is one of the top innovators in the music video medium as well. What this set chronicles so well is not only his journey as a musician but also his progress in pushing the boundaries of the video format. The track selection here is quite good, with a sampling of each of David's various musical periods. The video quality of the set benefits greatly from the remastering, especially considering the age of some of these videos.
My problem with this set is with the audio. Keep in mind that if you do not own a home theater system and are listening to normal stereo sound, you will not be disappointed with the CD-quality audio. However, that PCM stereo track is the only one on the set. That means no DTS surround, not even Dolby Digital. Perhaps I've been spoiled by the excellent Queen Greatest Video Hits DVD's (where every track has been remixed in unbelievable DTS surround), but I found the lack of any sort of surround option for this set to be quite disappointing (especially since this is David Bowie we're talking about). So if you're looking for a DVD to showcase your home theater audio, you should probably look elsewhere. Otherwise, this set is a must-have for fans of both David Bowie and rock music alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, You Pretty Thing!, July 29, 2004
By 
This review is from: David Bowie - Best of Bowie (DVD)
I've been a fan of Bowie for a long time. His music and personality inspires me, beyond what I could possibly write here. In this Dvd, you get to experience his music, videos, and history. You see Bowie's career develop, change, and strengthen. I'm a huge Ziggy fan, so I was pleased to see (over and over in my player, these days) all those old Ziggy videos. Yet, I also love Bowie's newer, and even the obscure, material, also included in this collection. If you like Bowie, then get this Dvd, because you will surely like seeing all the videos, each one cooler, funkier, and prettier than the last. The easter eggs, in my opinion, aren't the best you could wish for, but that's alright. The Dvd is more than fine. I recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

David Bowie - Best of Bowie
David Bowie - Best of Bowie by David Bowie (DVD - 2002)
$31.99 $28.79
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.