Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A camera this good deserves a guidebook this good!
"David Busch's Canon EOS 7D Guide to Digital SLR Photography" has at least twice as much useful information as any of the compact guidebooks, as befits this advanced camera -- Canon's most affordable "pro/semi-pro" model. The two full chapters on lighting, which includes one chapter dedicated just to this camera's new built-in wireless flash capabilities, are worth the...
Published on August 4, 2010 by Image Print Reviews

versus
64 of 73 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing....
The book is usefull for entry-level DSLR users. Having a 3-year experience with XTi, I learned very little compared to what I picked up from the manual. One third of the book is not 7D-related (chapters 9, 10, 12, 13), and is applicable to any DSLR (which is not bad if this is your first camera). I found very dissapointing the author copied some text from his other DSLR...
Published on January 18, 2011 by Anatoli Krychev


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A camera this good deserves a guidebook this good!, August 4, 2010
This review is from: David Busch's Canon EOS 7D Guide to Digital SLR Photography (David Busch's Digital Photography Guides) (Paperback)
"David Busch's Canon EOS 7D Guide to Digital SLR Photography" has at least twice as much useful information as any of the compact guidebooks, as befits this advanced camera -- Canon's most affordable "pro/semi-pro" model. The two full chapters on lighting, which includes one chapter dedicated just to this camera's new built-in wireless flash capabilities, are worth the cost of the book alone.

Quite simply, this book, like his other guides, doesn't fit in the cookie-cutter mold of the other books on the shelves. Those typically re-hash the material you find in the booklet stuffed in the box with the camera, providing slightly longer and easier-to-understand explanations of the basic controls and menu settings, plus add some generic photography advice. That's a viable approach, but not particularly satisfying for someone who really wants to master a new camera like the Canon 7D.

Busch recognizes that each camera is unique, and although the explanations of basic concepts like exposure, shutter speeds, and apertures are similar across all models in all his books, the Canon 7D deserves detailed coverage. In this book, he manages to do that while still tailoring his explanations to suit beginners who have purchased a Canon 7D as their first D-SLR, intermediate photographers looking to improve their skills, and advanced shooters who want a fast way to learn the camera and gain some tips. You can't do that with a cookie-cutter book.

Including the introductory material, I counted more than 500 pages, all well-organized so that any photographer of any level can quickly locate what they need to know. For example, there's a "Getting Started" chapter, which, the author acknowledges, will likely be read only after the reader has already taken a few hundred photos. It provides the kind of pre-flight checklist you wish you had when you bought your first digital SLR. Next comes a Quick Start chapter that leads you through the essential features of the camera, with just the basics and none of the mind-numbing detail, allowing you to immediately go out and shoot your best pictures, ever. The third chapter is a "roadmap" guide that carefully explains each of the controls on the camera, with many photos and the right amount of information. The thick, but small-format book that comes with the 7D has many cross-references that send you darting around. Busch gives you the nitty gritty here.

Then, in a welcome departure from the organization of other guidebooks, Busch leaves the discussion of detailed menus and setup options for later in the book. Instead, he gives you three "Beyond the Basics" chapters devoted to Understanding Exposure, Mastering the Mysteries of Autofocus, and Advanced Shooting,Live View, and Movie-Making. Each of these are detailed tutorials on using the 7D's sophisticated features. Even Canon veterans may be mystified by the 7D's new autofocus options, which allow you to set up, for example, different autofocus zones for vertical and horizontal shooting orientations. Busch explains all these options, as well as the underlying technology behind autofocus, clearly and completely. The lengthy, tip-filled movie-making section was excellent, too, and appropriate given the 7D's full HD capabilities.

The author does devote several long chapters to explaining every menu option and, more importantly, why you should use each setting. Most other guides just list the menu item choices, and don't give you detailed examples of when to use a particular setting. The other books simply don't have room for this kind of depth. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, well-written, and easy to understand, September 6, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Simply put: if you are going to get one book on the Canon 7D, this one should be it.

I ended up trying almost every 7D book out there and this is by far the best. Other books either come off as being a very generic source of info that could have been written for any camera or, on the other extreme, simply a rehash of the user manual. David Busch's book is right where you want a book like this to be. It does a great job of teaching you how to use the advanced functions you find on the 7D to better your pictures. Where other books get stuck on teaching you about aperture and shutter speed, this book assumes you know the basics and teaches you about the sophisticated new auto-focusing system present in the 7D. Finally, a book that is written specifically for the 7D, but goes beyond what you find in the user manual.

The book starts with several basic chapters to get you acquainted with the camera, including a quick start guide. It then moves into "beyond the basics" chapters to teach you about the metering modes and how to attain a good exposure from your 7D, mastering the autofocus modes, and shooting movies. The book then goes into customizing your camera so that you are ready to shoot exactly how you want to shoot, a good chapter on lenses, and how to work with light (continuous vs flash, and using the new wireless flash controller). It then ends on a couple of "Enhancing your experience" chapters that go into downloading, editing, and printing and then a chapter on troubleshooting and preventing problems that might arise with your 7D.

Overall, it's very good and well-worth the read for anyone who has a 7D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 73 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing...., January 18, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: David Busch's Canon EOS 7D Guide to Digital SLR Photography (David Busch's Digital Photography Guides) (Paperback)
The book is usefull for entry-level DSLR users. Having a 3-year experience with XTi, I learned very little compared to what I picked up from the manual. One third of the book is not 7D-related (chapters 9, 10, 12, 13), and is applicable to any DSLR (which is not bad if this is your first camera). I found very dissapointing the author copied some text from his other DSLR books which is wrong (in some cases misleading) for 7D, examples on pages 102 ("ISO 3200 is disabled by default", while actually it is ISO 12800), 142, 144 (had to use the manual for "Quick mode" in LiveView as the description of step 3 on this page is wrong), 204 (wrong RAW modes), 259 (again wrong value for disabled ISO), 342 (mentions 9 focus points while the camera prides itself on 19 points), etc....Didn't find specific information I was looking for, e.g., advise on choosing correct frame rate for movies, specific tips for using "hidden" 7D capabilities, like the one described at [...].
Bottom line: the book is less informative than the manual; web is a better source on 7D features (do not miss YouTube presentations on 7D).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Book for a Superb Camera, August 28, 2010
This review is from: David Busch's Canon EOS 7D Guide to Digital SLR Photography (David Busch's Digital Photography Guides) (Paperback)
Synopsis
I've owned this book for a little over two weeks now and I have to say that it's nothing short of excellent!

Overview
I replaced my trusty 20D with the EOS 7D about four months ago. I'm an electrical engineer who's been a pretty serious photographer for about 45 years and have been using fairly complex cameras for about that long; so I'm no stranger to photography or technology. I've read the Canon EOS 7D Operator's Guide through a couple of times while I've waited to see what third-party books would be published that would supplement and flesh-out Canon's pocket compendium on this camera.

If you really want to get to know the 7D and become familiar with it's many capabilities, you won't do better than David Busch's book! This guide to the 7D is complete and well organized. It will help you to quickly get an overview of this camera and then to drill-down into the features that are most important to you. This knowledge will help turn your passion for photography into much better photographs.

Pro
The book is well-written and illustrated. It's both pleasing to the eye and easy on the eyes with it's larger print (for those of us who wear bi-focals). If you're only going to buy one book to supplement the Canon Operator's Guide, this should be it.

Con
If you're looking for a field-guide to take with your camera on a photographic safari, this is not the best book for that role. Although the size format is fairly reasonable, it's still too big (especially too thick) and heavy to take into the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Add your pencil marks!, October 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: David Busch's Canon EOS 7D Guide to Digital SLR Photography (David Busch's Digital Photography Guides) (Paperback)
You definitely need as book that goes beyond Canon's little guide, and this books seems the best. Not perfect.
Throughout there's button this or selection wheel that. Certainly if you haven't the camera in front of you, you wonder where that button is - top, rear?. A fold-out page that you can keep open, showing and naming all these buttons and dials would be handy. Now you have to leaf through the book to find it on various pages.

On page 92 we are told to press the Quick Control button. There is a quick control DIAL, whown on page 58, but no such button. It has a button in the middle, but that's called the SET button. Is that what you mean?

Cross-references cannot be avoided in a book like this. We are referred to a chapter, not to a certain page. So the book now has many pencil marks added, showing what page.
On page 91 we are referred to table 4.1 - which is not the same as figure 4.1 - what we're looking for is actually on page 76. Now is that so hard to mention?

Some things still puzzle me. Why and when should be use the Program mode, for instance, rather than the creative auto mode? This gets relatively little attention on page 28, again on page 76 and 91. More pencil marks!
I could go on: selecting a focal point is discussed on page 33, also on page 121.
You will not be surprised that there are now pencil marks on both pages, referring to the other - since "go to chapter 8" still means leafing through lots of pages.

Concluding: the book helps you along auite well, but you need an extra roadmap to find it all. Or a pencil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded my expectations, September 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: David Busch's Canon EOS 7D Guide to Digital SLR Photography (David Busch's Digital Photography Guides) (Paperback)
While awaiting my pre-order to be published I ordered the Magic Lantern book on the 7D, which I found to be disappointing. Not so with David Busch's new book which is loaded with detailed and thorough explainations and clearly annotated with well defined charts, graphics and photos. As a DSLR amature I needed a book that explained things in layman's terms and this book filled the bill nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 7D Camera Guide, September 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: David Busch's Canon EOS 7D Guide to Digital SLR Photography (David Busch's Digital Photography Guides) (Paperback)
For Canon 7D users, this is the reference book to have. The 7D is the industry's first pro quality APS-C size sensor DSLR camera. I upgraded from a Canon 20D 5 months ago and couldn't get the information I needed to maximize the capabilities of this camera from the owners manual. Dave Busch's book gives me the information I needed. Whether you're upgrading within the Canon line or using the 7D camera after using other manufacturer's cameras, this book gives you the information you will need in an easy to read, very understandable style with extensive use of full color information. The 7D takes amazingly beautiful pictures if you understand and use its extensive capabilities correctly. The 7D's new professional quality focus system is thoroughly described along with live view. The book covers taking HD movies and the extensive menue options built into the camera. I rated this book a 5 star because of it's easy to understand style and it's the best camera operating book I've ever used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for DSLR beginners, not so great for those who already own one, February 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm a little familiar with DSLR's - upgraded from a point-and-shoot to a Digital Rebel in late 2007, moved up to a 40D a couple years later and now just purchased the 7D. I've been 'self taught' along the way and thought this would be a good way to pick up anything I've been missing. I debated for weeks on whether or not to buy it - would it show me enough new stuff to justify it? would it just be telling me what I already know?

With the 7D being advertised as having all sorts of "new" functions not found in previous DSLR's, I took a chance. And I'm disappointed.

I wasn't expecting it to be geared entirely to those who know their way around a DSLR, but I also didn't think it would be so basic. At about 500 pages, everything seems WAY too dragged out. At times, it seems like the author is getting paid by the page as things are worded to fill as much space as possible - I mean, we've got an entire page dedicated to how to set the date on the camera, 3-4 paragraphs to say "The camera only shows a max of 999 shots available, even if your card can handle more" and 2 1/2 pages on how to download from your memory card.

On the other hand, the information I WANTED to read about was all too brief- not much more than what is written in the manual. Some stuff is brought up at different points throughout the book - rather than just telling you up front what you want to know, it will give you a brief overview of it and then have you search through the other 500 pages to find more information.

If you're just getting into photography, this is a great book. It will tell you a lot of what you need to know, and save you the time digging around online for information. If you've used a DSLR before (particularly a 10/20/30/40/50/60D), you won't find too much in here. I was hoping the information on wireless flash control and the new focusing system would be enough to justify the book, but I found out more information just looking online for free than what was contained in here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed but useful information, January 17, 2011
By 
R. Wesolowski "Wes" (Peachtree City, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: David Busch's Canon EOS 7D Guide to Digital SLR Photography (David Busch's Digital Photography Guides) (Paperback)
I have bought several books on the Canon EOS 7d. This book is by far the most useful.
Great organization. Starts with good overview to get you going quickly with the camera. Then follows up with detailed chapters, which you will reference time and again as you get more comfortable with the advanced features of this camera.
This book gives details on the workings of the EOS 7d. But these details are explained in useable terms and examples. And therefore his detailed explanations don't confuse the subject, but rather build a great foundation to become a extremely capable EOS 7d user!
Thanks for the great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Book for 7D Owners, November 12, 2010
By 
Parmaboy (Farmington Hills, MI United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: David Busch's Canon EOS 7D Guide to Digital SLR Photography (David Busch's Digital Photography Guides) (Paperback)
The 7D is my 3rd Canon DSLR. Despite 5 years experience with a 20D and 40D, this book is helping me get the most out of the 7D, just like the David Busch Canon EOS 40D guide did earlier. Clear "how-to" instructions with excellent illustrations. Highly recommended. Amazon's price is fair and shipping was fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

David Busch's Canon EOS 7D Guide to Digital SLR Photography (David Busch's Digital Photography Guides)
$29.99 $20.49
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.