Customer Reviews


384 Reviews
5 star:
 (298)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


121 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gilmour Enjoying His Freedom
Literally worth five times the price and an equal in it's own way to PULSE, with intimacy and a freer feel offsetting the more minimal lighting (although enormously impressive in its own right.)

As the other reviewers have given an accurate overview I'll just mention one cut, that being "Comfortably Numb," which you and I know every second of by heart, it's in...
Published on October 23, 2007 by David S. Jenkins

versus
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grainy, pixelated BluRay Disappointment
I love David Gilmour and all that he brought to Pink Floyd. His solo work is stellar. The fact that this great performance and line up of guests is thwarted by a poor video source/capture/transfer is a real disappointment on BluRay. The grainy look on the distant camera angles is distracting when run through PS3>HDMI>Sony XBR4 LCDtv(true 1080p/120hz). Even the 'on stage'...
Published on February 4, 2008 by S. Yockus


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

121 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gilmour Enjoying His Freedom, October 23, 2007
Literally worth five times the price and an equal in it's own way to PULSE, with intimacy and a freer feel offsetting the more minimal lighting (although enormously impressive in its own right.)

As the other reviewers have given an accurate overview I'll just mention one cut, that being "Comfortably Numb," which you and I know every second of by heart, it's in our blood.

This performance features David Bowie sharing lead vocals. Now the idea of anyone but Mr. Gilmour taking over vocals on this song is enough to make my hair catch on fire, but THIS WORKS. It actually becomes a Bowie song while remaining a Floyd epoch. It's thrilling, it's almost dreamlike to watch a singer of equal caliber and credibility to Mr. Gilmour share this song and to take it's inherent drama and mystery to another level entirely.

The DVD also points out what a superb disc "On An Island" is, sadly overlooked by too many Floyd fans for not being heavy enough (man.)

And it's in high def - you can almost reach out and shake Rick Wright's hand.

Extras are top flight, set is an incredible bargain and you'll have trouble turning it off and going to bed. Mr. Gilmour once again proves that he's in a class all by himself, a category of artist of which there is only one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50% of Floyd is 100% great!, September 19, 2007
By 
David Parker (burlington, vermont United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Another reviewer mentioned that having Echoes here was worth the price of the DVD alone. I would agree, and add that having Wots..Uh the Deal also makes this worth the bucks. Too many of these songs he has done before ad infinitum (do we really need another take on Coming Back to Life or High Hopes??), but having this great track from my favorite Floyd album "Obscured By Clouds", is just great! Since that album is probably their least known (and certainly most underrated, in my book), it may serve to convince people to go back and see where this beautiful song came from. Other than that, great picture and sound, and a ton of extras (not to mention what must be 3 1/2 hours of music), makes this one a must-have! And I only paid $11.99!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Words..., September 19, 2007
By 
S. Kurtz (Almost Asbury Park) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
...AbsolutelyPositively Stunning!

Try not to sit there in complete awe as Gilmour and his band (and a few guests) flawlessly execute the entire ON AN ISLAND album, as well as a goodly portion of PF material that will have you scratching your head and saying to yourself...Hmmm...Waters / Gilmour...Gilmour / Waters...

I was a bit skeptical of this offering initially, and having seen Roger Waters and HIS band back in June, I was prepared to accept Gilmour's show as "another" in their little back and forth.

But I realize, and happily, that there's more than enough room for the two of them, and you can never get enough great music, no matter who's interpreting it.

The full-length ECHOES alone is worth the cost of this package.

What does that tell ya?

And when rock royalty (Gilmour) invites Rock Royalty (David Bowie) in to participate...you feel a bit privileged just to be a part of the action.

A stunning package and a must-have for any David Gilmour or PF fan.

One thing that does puzzle me tho' is this...why does he virtually ignore the first two solo records...DAVID GILMOUR and ABOUT FACE?

I'd love to hear anything from either of those two albums.

BUT.........I ain't complaining...jessaskin'...

...is all.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remember That Night - The Basics, September 23, 2007
By 
Marcus Hawkes (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
Any way you look at it, this DVD package is a great value for the money - the sticker on the outside says it all - "Over 5 hours of footage plus bonus content, including additional tracks, music videos, documentaries and photo gallery." Given the wide variety of songs, it's difficult to characterize this DVD. I guess you could say this is a combination of the heartfelt On An Island songs, with Pink Floyd classics. A considerable amount of work went into it - there is something here for everybody.

Director David Mallet (who also did the highly acclaimed Pink Floyd Pulse DVD) has put together a great mix of shots from the many cameras in the Royal Albert Hall, and which combines a selection of clear shots of the band with the artsy/abstract ones (I especially liked the closeups of Gilmour's fingers working the guitar). This is not Pulse (an arena extravaganza show), but rather a rendering of the On An Island tour show which was geared for theaters (many lights all around the stage, lots of smoke, and some lasers during the later Floyd songs). This show is more moody and personal, with more feeling, than an in-your-face arena show. More about the people and the music - more genuine or intimate in a way (I do love arena shows too). It was filmed at the end of the tour, so the band had the songs down to perfection (and this is the best from the 3 nights of Albert Hall shows). They obviously enjoyed doing it. Amazon provides a good example of the video with their excerpt from Breathe.

David's band includes Richard Wright from Pink Floyd, Phil Manzanera from Roxy Music (an excellent addition, who also co-produced and played in the OAI CD), Jon Carin, Guy Pratt, and Steve DiStanislao. Guests include David Crosby and Graham Nash, David Bowie, and Robert Wyatt.

Disk One is all concert, and is a full 2 ˝ hours long (no filler breaks between songs, like on some DVDs - Sir Paul are you listening?!). Songs are: Speak To Me, Breathe, Time, Breathe, Castellorizon, On An Island, The Blue, Red Sky at Night, This Heaven, Then I Close My Eyes, Smile, Take A Breath, A Pocketful of Stones, Where We Start, Shine On You Crazy Diamond, Fat Old Sun, Coming Back To Life, High Hopes, Echoes, Wish You Were Here, Find The Cost Of Freedom, Arnold Layne (w/Bowie) and Comfortably Numb (w/Bowie). The performance of Echoes (23 minutes) is worth getting the DVD alone. The fast moving band silhouettes during the strobe sequence of Take A Breath are brilliant. Bowie makes Comfortably Numb his own.

Disk Two has lots of extras: 30 minutes of Albert Hall extras (Wot's Uh The Deal, Dominoes, Wearing The Inside out, Arnold Layne (w/Richard Wright) and Comfortably Numb (w/Richard Wright)); Europe tour documentary; Dark Globe performance from the tour; acoustic studio Echoes (not listed); Astronomy Domine (Abbey Road); This Heaven (AOL sessions); BBC Mermaid Theatre concert (Castellorizon, On An Island, The Blue, Take A Breath, High Hopes); Making of OAI documentary; West Coast tour documentary; music videos (On An Island & Smile), Island Jam 2007; a photo gallery.

There has been talk of Easter Eggs. The "hidden" material I'm aware of are a 7-minute fun acoustical studio version of Echoes that runs right after Dark Globe on Disk Two, and that you can click Enter when the wire-man appears during the documentary for extra material (love to know if there's anything else - comments?).

The package is a tri-fold digipak, containing two DVDs and a 20-page booklet. The booklet is a cool collection of photo collages, including lots of band pics, news clippings, and tour paraphernalia. Audio options are Dolby Digital 5.1 and Dolby Digital Stereo. Amazon also shows a Blu-ray version of the DVD coming out later this year (the concert was filmed in high definition).

Overall, this is a generous package by one of rock's greatest guitar masters - excellent music, audio and video - highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grainy, pixelated BluRay Disappointment, February 4, 2008
By 
S. Yockus (South Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: David Gilmour: Remember That Night - Live At The Royal Albert Hall [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love David Gilmour and all that he brought to Pink Floyd. His solo work is stellar. The fact that this great performance and line up of guests is thwarted by a poor video source/capture/transfer is a real disappointment on BluRay. The grainy look on the distant camera angles is distracting when run through PS3>HDMI>Sony XBR4 LCDtv(true 1080p/120hz). Even the 'on stage' close ups lack the vivid feel you expect with high definition. If you have seen the Cream 2005 HD DVD shot at the Royal Albert Hall, you know a true high definition concert experience. The video is pristine. This Gilmour compilation has stupendous audio quality, but it just does not make up for the non-hi def looking vid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT IS NOT GILMOUR VS WATERS, August 31, 2007
By 
milo mccowan (LYDIA'S CANYON, UTAH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Why in the hell do so many feel compelled to rip on one or the other? I saw Pink Floyd in Phoenix on their Division Bell Tour and then Waters in Vegas on his In the Flesh tour. Both of them are geniuses. Pure and simple.
Gilmour was recently voted "Best Guitarist of all time" by Guitar magazine, UK and desrves it. No one has a feel for lead guitar melody like him.
Waters is superb on lyrics and really knows how to put music together [listen to him and Jeff Beck on Amused to Death]. It just doesn't get any better. The fact that these two are no longer together does not mean one is a loser, or one is better, or any damn thing. It just means we now have two different sources of listening pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Thumbs Up!!!, September 15, 2007
I saw the DVD release premier in Arlington, VA. WOW!!! David is as great as ever!! It was wonderful watching it on the theater screen. The whole showing was about two and a half hours long, but somehow the concert portion seemed kind of short. Or, maybe it was my perception - time flies when you are having a good time.

In the beginning, the band plays several songs from David's solo works with Crosby and Nash (I am not a big fan of david's solo music, so I don't know the titles... but they sounded great!). Then comes "Arnold Lane" featuring David Bowie, "High Hopes", "Shine On....", "Wish You Were Here", "Time", "Breath (reprise)", and then, the band ends the concert with amazing rendition of the masterpiece "Echoes". I got emotional from the beginning, but "Echoes" really did it - Wow! I don't know how to describe it... it is amazing! Richard Wright seems to have great fun with this piece incorporating more interesting variations on his keyboard. The pyrotechnique on stage is at it's peak during this piece, too.

Those of you who missed the concert like myself, get this DVD - it's a 'must' for any Pink Floyd/David Gilmour fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does it get better than this?, September 27, 2007
I knew this DVD would be great, but I had no idea it would be brilliant! As much as I liked Pulse, I like this show much better. I think I may have watched Echoes 20 times since I bought it. I couldn't believe it was only $12 bucks (Best Buy Version). I think David Gilmour is timeless. He sounds amazing after all these years. I don't think there is any doubt that he is one of the best Guitar players of our generation. I think almost every review I read said that Echoes alone makes the DVD worth buying and of course they are right. Rick Wright and David still harmonize beautifully together and Dave's guitar and Ricks Keyboards were amazing. I enjoyed all of the Documentary as well. Another highlight of the DVD was David's performance of "Dark Globe". I believe that it was Dave's tribute to Syd after he heard the news that Syd passed away. It was very emotional, you can see Syd Barrett meant a lot to Dave and it showed on that song. All in all, this DVD is spectacular and it is highly reccomended for all Floyd fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars David comes home., December 29, 2007
David comes home.

David has finally come home and even invited us in to take tea in a sense. For arguably the first time in his solo career it feels to me as if I can connect with a complete artist, free of the baggage of that history we all know about. Minus a few issues the critical side of me can't totally block out, there are moments here where DG breaks through the veneer like never before. Neither he nor Roger has ever reached the heights separately that they did together, something no Floyd fan would argue. But here David isn't shooting for that and because of that actually succeeds beautifully with this show. While there are the obligatory PF songs to placate the many there to see them, this DVD is not a "must for every Floyd fan" that many proclaim, it is a must for every DG fan and for any fan of progressive rock traditional. Some of the finest moments here do not occur on the most predictable classics, but in the less obvious spaces that David is working hardest to sell. What comes through are moments of incredible poignancy and passion, of sides of DG and even Wright that have long been either hidden or simply not pronounced. Moments where everything is shed and Cambridge shines through, boyhood is felt, confusion is revealed but so is relief and wisdom. Grief for a recently lost friend is shared. Emotions that may once have been kept hidden are let go. Glances of every color of his art seem to be touched on, and the fact that he stands there so emotionally open and so able to (finally) connect with many of us who have in the past questioned his post-Waters work (sometimes with good reason) is not just impressive but is really heartwarming to witness. That is what really makes this release so impressive to me. There is a moment in "A Pocketful of Stones" where David is delivering the most amazing vocal with his head way back and only Wright's keys behind him; the level of intimacy and effectiveness in that moment is right up there with something from Joni Mitchell's finest hour. I've never quite felt such a moment from solo Gilmour and on this emotional level you realize that this is really "progressive" for them. They are showing a side beyond past regurgitations of their glory days (as fun as they may be) that are spectacular and that more than legitimize this release as something beyond "another quasi-Floyd concert." I think he has taken serious care to make each song nearly the definitive version of his life, only he could say that, but it sure seemed that way to me.

The presentation could not be more perfect. The atmosphere was draped in a darkness which I really like, but with clean, sharp lights alternately breaking through sharply or bathing the band and audience is cloudy dreaminess; in both cases perfectly attuned to the music. And the colors and clarity of the lights are the best I've ever witnessed: rather than the sometimes cheesy flashing lights you might find at the corner strip club, these lights have the most amazing colors I can only describe with words like calming and pure. Everything looks great, and the editing is slow but crisp, assuring you never miss anything but not flashing all over like a movie car chase. Everything is captured in the best sound and visual imaginable. The near nuclear level lighting explosions during the climax of Echoes were really just unbelievable; I can't imagine the assault to the senses from the main floor.

Just a few minor criticisms I'll offer. The initial Dark Side material came off as clearly the low point to me. I think that the choice to perform this material was wrong and that given the direction of the show there could have been much more effective openers, something more obscure, less obvious, less safe. And performing a piecemeal, lower profile DSoTM is pointless after doing it correctly on Pulse. And while the valiant attempt to pull off Arnold Layne was certainly daring, I relish the thought that even the most professional musicians with all of their expensive equipment will never capture the pure essence of a young man named Syd, will never capture the wonder of that moment in time.

But set aside my criticisms and those of others and try this DVD. Dave's playing is jubilant; the leads on the majority of tracks are absolutely breathtaking. His voice has held up remarkably well over these years, something many of his contemporaries (not just Waters) sadly cannot say. Beyond just hitting notes his voice has that velvety, comforting warmth it had in his youth, just seasoned a bit more with time. The band's performance was very professional though clearly acting as backdrop for the Big Dog. Crosby and Nash offered some decent harmonies and Robert Wyatt's heartfelt solo was a very touching moment. As I mentioned, the material from his new album, performed in full, is quite strong. I haven't heard the studio version but here it was mostly very pleasing, emotionally engaging, and delivered with passion from everyone on the stage. And while delivering the concert-ending finale of his screaming Comfortably Numb guitar solo at a deafening roar, he allows a bit of humor to come through by showing something funny in the audience....I won't give it away but it was a message perhaps that he doesn't take himself too seriously!

This review is entirely a flash impression without many facts about the specifics of the songs or the boatload of extras on disc 2. Others will cover those in greater detail. Mainly I wanted to let other DG skeptics/cynics (like myself) that this is one you shouldn't skip, this is....different...in a good way. While I will always harbor some ill-will towards artistic decisions DG has made regarding the Floyd I have to acknowledge his resilience and the success of this fine moment. I can understand why some have given it 5 stars, though I will need repeated viewings over a few years to decide if I could proclaim it that. But it is not another piece of unnecessary middle-aged affluent-rock product that we should ignore. While it may be too mellow and long-winded in places for those seeking a real rock-show kick in the pants or cutting-edge wild prog, that's not what this one is intended for-let's face it, he's well into his 60s now. While we may never get to experience the excitement of the true PF together again you'll realize watching this that we don't need to. This was likely as good as it gets for the David fan, so hopefully we won't have to watch the Floyd legacy degraded by a half-hearted catty reunion and the hype it would bring. With this show Gilmour has left history a fine document to his past, which I appreciate. And hopefully David and Roger will sign off on the DVD release of a classic Floyd concert from the WYWH, Animals, or Wall tours. There must be a high quality video recording somewhere. I wish the two of them could finally get it to the fans who have waited long enough.

....oh yeah, one more thing. Shine On. Watching David deliver this vocal about his old friend Roger Barrett, I thought of what he said in an interview after Syd passed: "I now have this lasting regret that I was so obedient to the family's wishes not to disturb his peace. A few years ago my wife Polly said to me `how would you feel if he dies?' I said, Regretful, probably. And I am. I should have gone down there, knocked on his door and said, Hey, let's go for a pint. Because we were friends. I can't see that seeing an old friend would have done any damage." Wow. All of us probably have someone we could say that about-under different circumstances of course. Perhaps that's what makes the sentiments of the song so powerful to the listener.

Nice to meet you David.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could be the ultimate Floyd related DVD, September 27, 2007
Well, initially I had a similar problem with this DVD that other reviewers were having since High Hopes and Coming Back To Life were skipping. However, I exchanged it and so far there aren't any problems. There must be a few defective DVDs out there. I still watched the rest of the defective DVD of course. Putting all that aside, this DVD is just incredible. I agree with some of the other reviewers that it is better than Pulse (which I also love). I feel in this DVD, you get a much clearer picture of what a brilliant guitarist and musician Gilmour is. He is one of the best guitar players ever and you get plenty of close ups of him playing the guitar. The focus is on Gilmour and the band playing the music instead of the visualization that exhibits Pulse. Yes, there are many lighting effects but I feel that they don't distract the viewer from the brilliance of the performance. The music is outstanding. Great performances of Time, Breathe, Echoes, Shine On You Crazy Diamond, Wish You Were Here, Comfortably Numb, High Hopes, Coming Back To Life, Fat Old Sun, Arnold Layne, and On An Island in its entirety. This DVD even has alternate versions of most of the songs plus a great version of "Wots..Uh the Deal." While the album On An Island isn't as good as the best albums by Floyd, it is still a fantastic album and it is even better when Gilmour performs it live. A definite plus for this DVD is the fact that Gilmour had Wright with him so you get half of Pink Floyd performing. Those two have always been the best MUSICIANS in Pink Floyd anyway. Waters is a very gifted songwriter but I wouldn't call him an outstanding bassist since Gilmour played many of the complicated bass parts for many Floyd songs. Other highlights of this DVD include the tour documentary and the documentary of the making of On An Island. You even get to witness Gilmour and Waters talking to each other and shaking hands although they both looked a little uncomfortable. Mason even has a cameo apperance. I also must add that you get to see the band play the intro to Time (instead of having to watch the clock video), you get to see the musicians play High Hopes (instead of having to watch that video like on the Pulse performance), and you get to see much more of Gilmour's second solo on Comfortably Numb. I can't say enough about the brilliance of this DVD. It has turned into one of my favorite DVDs in a matter of only a few days. If your a fan of David Gilmour and Pink Floyd, you will love this DVD. Also, for those of you who support Waters over Gilmour, remember that even though Waters was responsible for many of the Floyd's compositions, Gilmour (and Wright) was the best musician in the band and also the best singer. He's the one who played all those brilliant guitar parts and he's the one who sang classics like Time (with Wright), Money, Breathe, Welcome to the Machine, Us and Them, Wish You Were Here, Echoes (with Wright), and many more. Buy this DVD. It is absolutely incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

David Gilmour: Remember That Night - Live At The Royal Albert Hall [Blu-ray]
$34.98 $25.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.