Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive
This a beautiful book on several levels. Ashley Hicks has provided an unsentimental and insightful overview of his father's career and masterfully edited a lifetime of designing and jetsetting into one gloriously rich weighty tome.
The book is layered with personal fragments of Hick's life...family phtographs, cherished heirlooms and notes from his sketchbooks. It...
Published on August 4, 2010 by Kate Rees

versus
24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars biographical
This book is more about Hick's life than about his work or style. I am glad I bought it, but expected more: better glossier pictures, bigger pictures instead of so many small ones....I guess it's a book a son would write about the father he admires, but as a reader, I am not interested in his marriage, his private life, etc. For that I could buy a biography. I expected...
Published on October 29, 2009 by Carlos Raffo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars biographical, October 29, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: David Hicks: A Life of Design (Hardcover)
This book is more about Hick's life than about his work or style. I am glad I bought it, but expected more: better glossier pictures, bigger pictures instead of so many small ones....I guess it's a book a son would write about the father he admires, but as a reader, I am not interested in his marriage, his private life, etc. For that I could buy a biography. I expected more about his work, better pictures, less about his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, August 4, 2010
By 
Kate Rees (Adelaide, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: David Hicks: A Life of Design (Hardcover)
This a beautiful book on several levels. Ashley Hicks has provided an unsentimental and insightful overview of his father's career and masterfully edited a lifetime of designing and jetsetting into one gloriously rich weighty tome.
The book is layered with personal fragments of Hick's life...family phtographs, cherished heirlooms and notes from his sketchbooks. It really is an intensely readable combination of biography/design history.
Predictably, there are several previously published examples of his work (notably, from "Living with Design"), but this in no way diminishes the relevance of what is on offer here. For anyone interested in this great designer, this book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars david hicks a life of design, November 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: David Hicks: A Life of Design (Hardcover)
many thanks to his wonderful son for writing this book. so much information. just about the best book in a long time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, May 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: David Hicks: A Life of Design (Hardcover)
A friend and contemporary of Mark Hampton; it seems they were able to compromise and still follow their ambitions for the project in which they were involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hicks is a genius!, March 30, 2012
This review is from: David Hicks: A Life of Design (Hardcover)
Good photographs and a good balance of writting/illustrations. The Hicks bible. Amazing how his interiors still look modern. A visionary whose work is wonderful to see. Amazing use of colour and beautiful examples of "tablescapes" from the man who invented the word. Many ideas which may be copied, such as the black trimming on an orange hallway (yes, it sounds daring, but it looks great!) and the "fake" canopied beds made by putting curtain railings on the ceiling. If you must buy one decoration book, do buy this one, you will not be dissappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Hicks, Artist, April 12, 2010
By 
This review is from: David Hicks: A Life of Design (Hardcover)
David Hicks (1929 - 1998) may be one of the most celebrated British designers of the last century. Indeed at the time of his death the press described his 'relentlessly organized, color-clashing home interiors as the acme of jet-set chic in the 1960's, known for his love of graphic color combinations as well as for a temperament that veered between disarming charm and apoplectic rage. Mr. Hicks was the most famous decorator of his day. Late in life he became celebrated for designing geometrically precise gardens.' All of this is documented in this rather hefty book written by his son Ashley Hicks and the history of Hicks' life and career are supplemented with countless full color photographs of his best rooms and homes and gardens.

What is immediately appealing about the design of David Hicks is his intensely creative placement of objets d'art in perfect alignment with the chosen colors of his walls and the configuration of his rooms. There is a wild assortment of bits of stone statues, geometric forms of all types, works of art in the form of paintings or drawings, and substantial reliquaries for the placement of either bits of found work or branches or flowers. He juxtaposed colors form all the wrong portions of the color wheel to an effect that is at first jarring and then with repeated viewing perfectly balanced with the space he designed. His eye discovered art in a new way and he elected to share art by focusing his interiors (and exterior gardens) with contrasting elements that made each work seem even more important. David Hicks managed to walk that tightrope between art and design and did so with aplomb. Another fascinating book from Rizzoli. Grady Harp, April 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, October 2, 2014
By 
ROSEMARY GRUBB (ARLINGTON, VA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: David Hicks: A Life of Design (Hardcover)
Exactly what I needed as a special gift for a friend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bio, but LOTS of pictures!, August 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: David Hicks: A Life of Design (Hardcover)
This is a BIG beautifully illustrated book, with lots of text making a good read. The story is amazing. Although I was very familiar with the main points of David Hicks life (interested in both design and the Mountbattens) it was like reading a good analytical biography. The hubris, humiliation, triumph and trial are all here- and unvarnished, give or take some romantic escapades.
It also has LOTS of pictures and descriptions of interiors, gardens, designs. When compared to the recent Mark Hampton book, which is very good, this one had just as many pictures, and just as much analysis of design, but with a much fuller story.
There are some small illustrations right through, but in every one of the eight sections there are several glossy mag full pages of illustration.
I was going to give it four stars, because the type font makes the text a bit difficult to read, and the captions even more so. When I was griping about this, my non-design spouse pointed out that the choice might have been between size of picture and the size and quantity of text. So five stars.
(Slight warning: if you have several of Hicks design books, you'll find some replication of photographs.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: David Hicks: A Life of Design (Hardcover)
i love color!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars David Hicks, February 14, 2010
By 
Jan Berry "Book Woman" (Berrima NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: David Hicks: A Life of Design (Hardcover)
I found this book interesting, however, one would need to know a little about
this famous english decorator before purchasing.
I would have liked more photographs of his work but apart from that I did enjoyed reading about this man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

David Hicks: A Life of Design
David Hicks: A Life of Design by Ashley Hicks (Hardcover - October 20, 2009)
$65.00 $44.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.