Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
on November 10, 2004
I'd been a fan of Dawson's Creek since the very beginning, and the series finale did not disappoint. It tied up the six friends' relationships perfectly. Surprisingly, the most poignant and meaningful scenes belonged to Jack and Jen-- who were never "in" love, but true soulmates in every sense that mattered.

In terms of acting, all the major players turned in amazing performances. Most notably, Michelle Williams had me in tears when Jen was giving a final message to her baby girl. Not only was this scene a moving one, but tied into Joey's ongoing storyline of growing up without a mother. As Jen told Amy: "I want you to love to the tips of your fingers. And when you find that love, wherever you find it, whoever you choose, don't run away from it.." it mirrored exactly the decision Joey always struggled to make.

Onto that topic, the closure of the Dawson-Joey-Pacey love triangle was tastefully resolved: having Joey realize who she really belonged with, knowing and appreciating the difference between her childhood and romantic love, and where they both fit in her life. For a long time, cherishing one meant having to diminish the other, and it was great to have Joey realize she was definitely NOT off the hook, and she didn't have to run from the truth anymore. In terms of "Great Loves" Joey had two-- a best friend/soulmate (Dawson) and partner/true love (Pacey). She ended up with the best of BOTH worlds, and this couldn't have been more perfectly illustrated. We should all be so lucky.

[Still debating the infamous PJ/DJ couple war? Look no further than the hilarious dialogue of the Dawson/Joey "dream wedding," which revealed the painful truth of why these two would never, ever survive in an adult relationship. ]

Longtime viewers will appreciate the familiar musical chioces (Edwin McCain, Chantal Kreviazuk, Jewel) and the built-in meta humor of the Sam/Colby production scenes. The inclusion of the Season One alternate ending and "new" Leery dad were puzzling, but the easter egg and commentary from Kevin Williamson and Paul Stupin made up for it. And the final montage of favorite clips was a wonderful tribute to six great seasons.

All in all this is a great package for the fans-- there's laughter, tears, angst, romance-- all the things we've come to know and love about DC through the years. "Say goodnight, not goodbye," indeed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
on March 15, 2004
This DVD ending is superior to the TV ending. The extra scenes complete the story and the commentaries from Kevin Williamson truly explain the reasons behind the ending. Also, the reason behind Pacey not ending up with Andie was not because the actress playing her was not available. Having them end up together would have been ridiculous considering they hadn't seen each other in years and were not the kids they used to be. It would've seemed like a consolation prize for Pacey, which he certainly did not deserve.

Having watched the re-runs on TBS, there's no question in my mind that the true romantic and hero of the series was not Dawson but Pacey. Pacey was longing for love, Dawson was longing for a "Hollywood" love. Thinking back and comparing Dawson vs. Pacey and what they did to demonstrate how much they cared for Joey, Pacey wins hands down. There's a particular episode when Pacey and Joey get locked up in a K-Mart for a night that perfectly exemplifies the kind of chemistry the two characters had (also, it's pretty obvious Katie Holmes smiles more in scenes with Jashua Jackson than with James Van Der Beek). If that episode had been Joey and Dawson stuck together, we would have expected no reminiscing of happier times (because there are so few!) and a stupid fight that would end in separate sleeping bags.
Dawson was so insecure about Joey, the only way they could end up together was in his series "The Creek" as part of his own imagination.
Who fought a school bully for Joey and then bought her a wall to paint on? Who took Joey sailing down the coast? Who waited patiently for Joey to open up sexually? The reason it wasn't Dawson was because he would not dare change anything. He got the ending he deserved: Joey and Dawson, forever friends.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
57 of 65 people found the following review helpful
on November 13, 2003
This is the series finale, the two-part episode that served to wrap up the six year run of this once popular television show.
It certainly makes up in quality for the disappointing last two seasons of the show, and puts the characters all back in that place we found them, the fictional seaside town of Capeside, MA.
Although I personally could have done without the tragic melodrama, I thought this was a perfect series ender because of one important reason: they finally got it right.
I don't think anyone who has watched these characters over the years and has become invested in their stories can help but feel cheated in how they were treated in the show's final two seasons. But all wrongs seem to be righted here and we are treated to wonderful moments between the core group of Jack, Jen, Dawson, Pacey and Joey.
The issue of the Dawson-Pacey-Joey triangle is also wrapped up perfectly, as the Dawson and Joey saga had been played out to a tired, gasping death over the years. All that we really ever saw of these two was how wrong they were for each other and how miserable they made each other. All in the name of soap operatic drama, I know...but they definitely crossed the line into relationship purgatory with this story and it actually would have been depressing should they have chosen to go with that ending.
Pacey and Joey, on the other hand, had an actual romantic love story that we got to see unfold on screen over the span of a couple of seasons, a nice slow burn from from the first spark of secret feelings tentatively explored to falling head-over-heels in love and literally sailing off into the sunset (another reason why the Dawson and Joey ending would have fell flat in comparison). These two characters were simply a delight to watch when they were together and their undeniable chemistry is also highlighted here (and even discussed at length by the show's creator in the commentary, which, by the way, is worth the price of the DVD alone for any fan of the show from the beginning).
There are deleted scenes included that don't really do a lot to add to the plot, but are fun to watch: a nice scene between Pacey and his brother Doug and the return of Andie for a decent good-bye her fans never got. There is also a great montage at the end that didn't air on television that is a wonderful added bonus.
This is a must-buy DVD for any true fan of the show. If you can get past that notion that Joey for some sad and inexplicable reason was supposed to end up romantically with her best friend Dawson, then you will be able to sit back and appreciate it for what it is: a truly, wonderful good-bye present to its fans.
Again, the commentary by Kevin Williamson and Paul Stupin is just terrific and so fun to listen to.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
on February 14, 2004
This is the series ending two-hour finale of Dawson's Creek, which turns out to be surprisingly good in relation to the declining quality of the program in its last two seasons.
It jumps five years into the future, humorously enough bringing the actors who played these teens for so long a little bit closer to their actual ages. We get to see how everybody turned out, where life took them after high school and college.
The emphasis on Dawson, of course, is in his Hollywood career, and, of course, he is a big success in the industry. This was always his story, since the first episode of the series, so it was nice to see it come full circle for him.
Joey Potter's story, however, always seemed to be with her romantic love life as it related to her childhood insecurities, and she also ends up in a great place. Finally secure with who she is and grown up enough to get what she wants, which turns out, happily enough, to be that charming romantic hero Pacey that made us all swoon (and also made us wonder what was wrong with that girl for so long not to see it).
The show may have started about her purely innocent childhood crush on her best friend and neighbor Dawson, but thankfully - in this show that was supposed to be about growing up - they actually let the character grow up and change. There are many diehard Dawson and Joey fans out there who may feel slighted, but the truth of the matter is that more time was devoted to the romance of Pacey and Joey on this show than it ever was with her and Dawson. Season three was completely about them falling in love in a wonderfully romantic way, and almost the entire season four was devoted to their relationship. Even in season six the sparks were temporarily rekindled between Pacey and Joey, and both admitted the other had always been still in the back of their minds somewhere. But Joey expressed a lot of fears and trepidation about getting involved with Pacey again, and all those same fears were adddressed in the finale.
What Kevin Williamson's commentary will explain is that, since these characters had grown and experienced so much over the years, a Dawson and Joey ending did not make sense if you looked at the series AS A WHOLE, not just the first two seasons. There were FOUR seasons that followed, and the finale takes those seasons, as well as the Pacey and Joey relationship into consideration, as well it should. Even Williamson and the show's producer Paul Stupin agree in the DVD commentary that the true great romance of the show AS A WHOLE was Pacey and Joey. (And Williamson also carefully explains that the second hour of the show was rewritten for Pacey and Joey to end up together, so Joey's dialogue in their last scene was written for Pacey, not someone else.)
It is a very interesting commentary, to see how the creative process works, to see how a writer can let the story naturally take him where it should, rather than where he thought it was supposed to go when he sat down to write it. Williamson seems delighted with how it ended up, as did the actors who played the roles, which is nice to know. In Joey's last words: "PERFECT"
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
on November 21, 2003
I'd recommend this DVD to any fan of the series. It was sad and bittersweet in many ways, but a very fitting end to the show.
There are some added scenes that didn't make it to our television screen, most notably the return of the character of Andie for a very sweet good-bye that some might have felt was lacking in her original departure from the show.
There is also a amazing and fun montage at the end that we didn't get to see on the TV airing that spans all the seasons. Very nice.
As for the finale itself, I think it was a PERFECT ending in many ways, although the sad parts tended to overwhelm the happy ones. The character of Joey Potter was always my favorite and Katie Holmes does a wonderful job here, and her character is given the best ending I could imagine, so I have no complaints there.
Michelle Williams blew me away in all her scenes - she is an amazingly talented actress - as did Josh Jackson, who has consistently risen above the material he was given for his character and brought a warmth and humanity to Pacey that endeared him to all the fans. He also is wonderful in his scenes, conveying so many different emtions so effortlessly. I would say the performances of these two actors alone would make it worth owning.
There is also commentary provided by the show's creator, Kevin Williamson, and the producer, Paul Stupin, which really added a lot to the story and was interesting to listen to.
You will not be disappointed if you were ever a true fan of the show, because true love always wins in the end.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
on September 7, 2003
I caught the series finale on the original air date on the WB. It was both fantastic and heart breaking. It brings the 6 friends back for a wedding. But soon the heart warming reunion turns sour with the news of a friend harboring a heart breaking secret. When the secret is revealed it makes the friends look at themselves.
When Jen tells her daughter to believe in God, is the most powerful scene in the whole show. This coming from a girl who would avoid churches and any mention of God. Jen has difinitely changed throughout the six season on the WB.
Joey resides in NY with her current boyfriend. But when she makes an unexpected return to The Creek, old feelings rise up again. But in the end she gets what she wants without feeling guilty about hurting anyone else.
Although this show is called Dawson's Creek, I don't believe that means Dawson should get the girl. Although he doesn't get the girl, he gets a highly sucesessful show and gets to meet is all-time favorite film maker.
Pacey still gets in trouble with older women, and owns the new Ice House. Pacey is another example of a character that has changed throught the airing of this show. He goes from a troubled-slacker, to someone who has things figured out, for the most part.
Jack finally gets his man! But in the end loses the most important person in his life, Jen. They were, in my eyes, soulmates. Not as lovers, but as life long friends. He is also in a relationship with a secretly gay man (Who knew is would be Deputy Doug. Didn't he claim to be a straight man all these years?)
In the end, they all get what they wanted. And figured some things out along the way. Joey made the right choice. Pacey was the right man for her. He made her happy, and they both had strong feelings torward eachother. Dawson was her soulmate, as a friend. He got what he wanted either way.
We left these 6 friends on TV, but we now can have them on DVD!! GET THIS DVD!! This will be a great UNCUT version of what was aired. Andie should have been apart of the airing of the show, but we still get to see what she turned out like on the DVD. I wish they could have brought all the rest of the characters through out the years back, like Audrey, Drue, and Gretchen. But either way, it is a great ending to a GREAT show!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on August 22, 2003
In my opinion and many others, the series finale episode of Dawson's Creek was one of the best episodes of the show ever, if not THE best. Katie Holmes, James Van Der Beek, Joshua Jackson & Michelle Williams give one of their best performances throughout their entire careers. This episode is definetly worth owning on DVD. I won't give away the story or summarize it like so many others have done already, I'll just say that this DVD is going to be full of great special features including commentary on both parts of this 2 hour long episode. Not only do we get to see the episode uncut, we get to see an alternate ending & more scenes from the pilot episode. Make sure you don't miss out on this! Even if you don't own the first season or plan to buy any of the seasons, this is great to watch! Also, for all the DC fans out there, look out for season two, because it will be on DVD November 25th, 2003!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon November 15, 2005
Though I didn't get hooked on this series till season four, I have to say I didn't miss an episode after that. This finale was one of the best series finales on television, and I've managed to see them all, from Friends, Seinfeld, Millennium, X-Files, and some far too old for many young readers and viewers to remember -- MASH, All in the Family, One Day at a Time...etc. Dawson's Creek was one of those wonderful shows that allowed the viewer to care about the characters and about what happens to them. Though many young people across the country cannot relate to the New England lives of these teens, their stories are human enough to cross the barriers that separate the various cultures in the U.S. Let's face it, not many kids can jump on a boat and go sailing all summer instead of finding gainful employment.

But most will relate to the on and off romances between Joey and Dawson, Pacey and Andie and Joey {and just about every other cute babe who crossed his path}, Jack's struggle with his homosexualtiy, Joey's determination to succeed in school and be happy in life, Dawson's never-ending angst, and Jen's 180 degree turnabout from being the town floozy with drug and alcohol issues, to the dedicated single mom in the finale. We laugh, cry, and cheer for these characters, and as they close the book on this series, we aren't left with any unanswered questions. One by one all the ends are tied up, some not as neatly as we'd like, but in the end we know they'll all be okay. The music chosen, as always with this show, is just perfect. You will need a box of tissues for this one, take my word. It is very memorable and worthwhile viewing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on August 4, 2003
Indeed, all good things must come to an end. Being in true "Dawson's Creek" style, the series finale wasn't everyone walking off into the sunset. I was both very happy with the ending & also very sad.
It is shown 5 years into the future. The characters Audrey & Andie weren't around, but I know the scenes of Andie were cut for time restraints. Dawson has been focused on his career, but feels he's lost touch with everyone. Joey is of course a great success & living with her boyfriend. Pacey is successful, but still getting into trouble with those older women. Jack is a teacher at the high school & unsure about his current relationship. Jen returns with a baby girl. I would've liked more information on what had been happening with her though.
The episode starts off light with some entertaining scenes. Things somber up quickly though when Jen collapses at Gail's wedding. The severity of Jen's condition leads each to look at themselves.
Ultimately, everything comes full circle. The inner struggles of each character is finally dealt with & decisions are made. Joey finally chooses- is it Dawson or Pacey? The episode is filled with heart warming & heart tugging moments. However, I was disappointed that we don't get to see Jen coming to a kind of terms. I would've liked to have seen a different ending for her, but otherwise I absolutely loved the series ending. The best is always saved for the last & it's definitely true here.
I loved this episode because it's sweet & funny, but it's also powerful & heartbreaking. It shows the depth of these characters & of their relationships with eachother. Everyone is amazing, epecially Michelle Williams. You won't make it through without crying! It'd be nice to see an alternate ending to the series finale, but it'll be cool to see the one for the pilot episode. If you love to watch an amazing cast in an amazing show, get this DVD!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on September 23, 2003
I remember the first Dawson's Creek episode. I was in my late teens and I loved the new genre aspect of the entire story and in some ways it gave me a chance to re-live my high school days and teenage loves and heartache over again. I was caught up with the character's so much, they were so well written it was hard not to get involved.
So...after six years I watched the finale and was a bit surprised by the way they ended it....To say the very least....I cried my eyes out. It was hard to watch Jen and have to say goodbye....but I really very much apreciated the "grown up" way they decided to end the love triangle between Joey, Pacey, and Dawson! It fit...and although I am a little disappointment that it all had to end...but it's definately a series that will be well love from generation to generation...it's one that will keep everyone talking....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Dawson's Creek: The Complete Series
Dawson's Creek: The Complete Series by Dawson's Creek (DVD - 2011)
$34.49

Dawson's Creek: Season 6
Dawson's Creek: Season 6 by James Van Der Beek (DVD - 2006)

Dawson's Creek - The Complete Fourth Season
Dawson's Creek - The Complete Fourth Season by James Van Der Beek (DVD - 2004)
$13.00
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.