Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!
Day Break was a terrific show, I never understood why it didn't catch on. It's kind of a blend between "24" and "Groundhog Day", and felt as fresh and fun to watch as those both did in the beginning. While the show was cancelled, all the episodes were completed, and the series feels complete. In a way maybe it's better the show didn't last, as it never had time to grow...
Published on January 24, 2008 by Michael N. Edmonson

versus
89 of 97 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Budget version of a great show.
I really liked this show when I watched the original broadcast in HD, but this is a review of the actual product (which I received today), not the series itself.

It comes in a thick plastic case which might be used for four discs, but there are only two discs. How do they fit 13 episodes on only two single-sided discs? First, they replace the 5.1 channel high...
Published on October 1, 2009 by K. Driscoll


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 97 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Budget version of a great show., October 1, 2009
By 
K. Driscoll (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Day Break: The Complete Series (DVD)
I really liked this show when I watched the original broadcast in HD, but this is a review of the actual product (which I received today), not the series itself.

It comes in a thick plastic case which might be used for four discs, but there are only two discs. How do they fit 13 episodes on only two single-sided discs? First, they replace the 5.1 channel high fidelity soundtrack with two-channel stereo. Then they compress the video a lot more, and it shows, more or less. It actually looks better than I thought it would, but compression artifacts are obvious in the details, such as the weave of his shirt, or the color banding in the sky of a rising sun. All the commentaries seem to be here, however, sometimes two per episode, and there are three video features as well, probably from the original DVD release.

For reasons unknown, the discs are in two loose paper sleeves. It may be that the distributor intends to save money by using the same thick plastic box for all their releases requiring more or less discs (and sleeves).

The ideal Daybreak on DVD would be on Blu-ray, so that I could see a version that looks at least as good as the original broadcast. Second best would be the previous four-disc release. Last of all is this two-disc set, though it's still worth watching if you haven't seen the show yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, January 24, 2008
By 
Day Break was a terrific show, I never understood why it didn't catch on. It's kind of a blend between "24" and "Groundhog Day", and felt as fresh and fun to watch as those both did in the beginning. While the show was cancelled, all the episodes were completed, and the series feels complete. In a way maybe it's better the show didn't last, as it never had time to grow stale. Don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great show, horrible DVD set, October 20, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Day Break: The Complete Series (DVD)
I watched this show online when it was on the air. The show was great.

This DVD set, however, is the worst DVD set I have ever had the displeasure of trying to watch. The sound is awful. It's very hard to hear what the characters are saying over the background noise and music. The video is very grainy and it looks like someone filmed it with a cheapo home video camera. The lights are too bright, and the darks are muddy and hard to distinguish.

I know this show looks and sounds better then what is represented on this set. Someone decided to re-release this to make a quick dollar and screw over consumers. Do not buy this set. You will be sorry. I am. This show deserves a much better release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Show but bad DVD, October 23, 2009
This review is from: Day Break: The Complete Series (DVD)
I really enjoyed the show but the quality of this particular DVD release is lacking. As described in other reviews it comes in a thick DVD case which should be able to accommodate the four or five Disc that you would expect with 13 episodes plus the extras. When you open the case there are 2 Discs in paper sleeves that sit in a pocket of the case. Very odd. After reading the small print on the DVD packages I did find that it states there are 2 Discs while the DVD packaging gives the impression that it would contain more. What a shame since it potentially had a chance to be a very nice set with the commentary extras.
The good news is that this set was found at Target for $5. At that price it might be worth buying since the show was entertaining and did have some closure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Day Break on DVD! THIS is great news!, January 9, 2008
By 
Glenn M. Schoditsch (Richmond, Virginia USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Day Break was one of the finest contemporary series ever. Cerebral in nature, a real thought provoking series that really inspires one to elucidate the flow of the story every minute. Most were only able to view 6 full-framed broad-casted episodes with commercials along with those fortunate enough to have caught the remaining seven widescreen episodes on a computer monitor over the Internet.

One of the many unique aspects of this fascinating show is the brilliance in its casting. The cast consists of a broad spectrum of ethnicity that delightfully, does NOT have anything to do with the storyline. Just fine actors playing their parts to perfection.

I never imagined I would ever see this series again. It will be a pure delight to view the entire series commercial free & in an aspect ratio of 1.78:1. I think everyone will have varying opinions interpreting each episode all the way to the very last scene! Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a marvelous series that was perhaps just too clever, Day Break never had a chance..., February 11, 2012
This review is from: Day Break: The Complete Series (DVD)
Day Break (2006) is an extremely complicated crime drama that was cancelled after only six of the thirteen episodes in the series had aired. The whacky central premise is that Brett Hopper (Taye Diggs), a police detective accused of murder, is continually reliving the same day. Using information that he learns from his past experiences, Hopper attempts to solve the murder, and discover the secret to what seems to be an ever expanding mystery.

The entire series, including the seven unaired episodes are in this set. Due to its non-linear constantly evolving plotline, and focus on the time element, Day Break lends itself extremely well to DVD, where the episodes can be viewed one after another, and the characters and plot elements are perhaps easier to remember and keep track of.

The story begins on what is called "Day 2" with Brett Hopper waking up at 6:18am in the apartment of his girlfriend Rita Shelten (Moon Bloodgood). Hopper soon discovers that he is wanted for the murder of district attorney Alberto Garza, a man he has never met. While trying to avoid capture by the police, Hopper turns to various people for help, including his current partner Andrea Battle (Victoria Pratt), his sister Jennifer Mathis (Meta Golding), Damien Ortiz (Ramon Rodriguez) a criminal informant, and Chad Shelten (Adam Baldwin) his ex-partner, and Rita's ex-husband.

A detailed plot synopsis would be a challenge and take too long, as numerous events, even the death of various characters, are frequently negated when Hopper's day "resets" to "Day 2". One long continuous nonlinear adventure, Day Break has to be seen in chronological order, to be truly understood and appreciated for the amazing experience that it is. The writing is absolutely first class, continually keeping you off balance, until finally the numerous overlapping events and conspiracies, evolve and meld into one coherent event. Several times, the story seems to be resolved, only to restart again. At one point Brett and Rita are relaxing on a beach in Mexico, but even while there Hopper's day is repeating, compelling him to resume the search for the truth.

From beginning to end, Taye Diggs is simply outstanding in what is an extremely challenging role. Much like 24's Jack Bauer, Hopper is put into all kinds of unlikely situations, but he has the advantage of remembering what has happened in the past, which helps him to prevent disaster and death, and also helps him to make progress faster. Has the story proceeds, Hopper learns to expect the day to reset, and he becomes more methodical, and less emotional about the events that happen.

Moon Bloodgood is also excellent, as her character Rita goes through almost as many permutations as Hopper. The terrific supporting cast includes Jonathan Banks, Mitch Pileggi, Ian Anthony Dale, Jim Beaver, Joe Nieves, Michael McGrady, Marlene Forte, Don Franklin, and Bahar Soomekh. As the story continues, many of the supporting or peripheral characters are thrust into the spotlight, or become a key piece in what seems to be an ever changing puzzle. None of the acting performances disappoint.

ABC deserves some credit for greenlighting Day Break, however with its overly complicated plot, it was perhaps too much to expect that the series could sustain an audience though 13 episodes. People may not have been able to figure out what the series was really about, and they were perhaps looking for something with a more obvious direction. The ratings for Day Break steadily declined until cancellation, but fortunately it is still possible to see the entire series.

It you enjoy a convoluted crime drama that requires that you pay close attention, and features great writing and acting, give Day Break a chance. The series is available in a four disc version, and a lower cost two disc version. Either one is fine, and the total runtime is about ten hours. The episodes are subtitled, and each has some kind of commentary track that provides tons of information about the backstory of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No closed-captioning or subtitles., November 9, 2010
This review is from: Day Break: The Complete Series (DVD)
Please have it closed-captioned (CC)--or better yet, subtitled for the deaf and hearing-impaired (SDH) for the next time you re-release this movie! As I'm deaf, I'm unable to enjoy the current movie release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special Features, January 28, 2008
Yes, there are features.

Commentaries on all 13 episodes featuring: Stars Taye Diggs, Moon Bloodgood, Adam Baldwin, Victoria Pratt, Mitch Pileggi, Meta Golding, Ian Dale Anthony and Ramon Rodriguez, Creator/Writer/Producer Paul Zbyszewski, Showrunner/Writer/Producer Jeffrey Bell, Director/Producer Rob Bowman, Producer Matthew Gross, Writers/Producers Steven Maeda and Henry Alonso Myers, and Film Editor/Producer Marta Evry. (15 total commentaries)

Interviews with Cast and Crew

Behind the scenes footage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible ride, January 25, 2008
By 
JOHN (Cambridge, MA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am baffled as to why this show didn't catch on, it was amazing. The writing, cinematography and (perhaps most of all) the performances were all top-notch. Taye Diggs, Jonathan Banks and Adam Baldwin are particular standouts among an engaging cast. The camera work was stunning, especially in HD, with L.A. in a palette of rich reds and oranges. The story was beautifully intricate -- if cut off too soon.

I don't see any bonus features listed here. If true, that's a real disappointment. I would be very interested in hearing about the show's influences and (like many others) I'd like to hear about what plans the writers had to tie up loose ends.

A final note: One of the last scenes in Day Break had its music replaced at the last minute due to cost issues. It was a terrible change and I very much hope it's been rectified for the DVD. [...]

UPDATE: As far as the last scene, the broadcast music is also on the DVD, unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That was unexpected, December 12, 2011
By 
baylor (Minneapolis, MN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Day Break: The Complete Series (DVD)
On a shopping binge i picked up the first season of a lot of shows - Mad Men, White Collar, Dexter, Six Feet Under, Veronica Mars, Numb3rs and a few other whose names i'd heard and were highly hyped. i found this cheap and it sounded like a detective Groundhog Day so figured i wasn't risking a lot of money. Boy was i surprised - this was BY FAR the best TV series i picked up. Had a friend over and we watched episode after episode wanting it to not end (although my friend liked that it ended before it got old).

Here's the basic idea - a cop is framed for murder, his day goes poorly, he wakes up the next morning and it all starts over again. His hope is that if he finds out who framed him (or more appropriately, who heads the shadowy organization that framed him), the day will end and life will go on. A detective Groundhog Day. Within a few episodes you learn one thing is different - any damage (or gunshot wounds) he receives are still there the next day. Not the bandages that kept him alive, just the wounds. So, unlike Bill Murray, he can't just do anything, he has to try to stay alive.

A few more episodes go by and you learn that the day CAN change. There are several people who are important to him, each with a problem, a problem that ultimately causes him problems. If he solve that person's problem, the next day that person "feels" different and does something to make his day easier. For example, his partner has an issue that causes a death every night. Once he solves her problem, from every day forward, she solves her own problem and he has one less death to worry about. Solving other people's problems helps solve his problems, little by little.

A few more episodes go by and you learn that he isn't the only person who can tell when the day repeats. This part could have been developed better and perhaps would have been had the show not been cut short.

So it's not exactly Groundhog Day. It's also not a comedy and he's not stuck in place - every day he researches a clue and tries to remember it so that the next day he can learn a little more, eventually working his way to the bad guy. You watch him make progress little by little, and it's interesting to see.

i buy a lot of cheap stuff and i'm almost always disappointed but this month has been good - i picked up Fast Forward (another canceled show) that is fantastic and this one, which is better than fantastic. Since i also liked FireFly (another show canceled in its first season), maybe i just like shows everyone else hates. But to me, this show was worth all the previous bad investments i've made in bargain shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Day Break: The Complete Series
Day Break: The Complete Series by Bryan Spicer (DVD - 2009)
$14.98 $7.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.