Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good read
I am not a sports fanatic in any way shape or form, but even I truly enjoyed reading this account of Hanford's experiences on and off the football field. At times it was funny and others emotional; it was always engaing and well-thought out.
Published on October 29, 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tales from the Browns glory years....
Hanford Dixon provides a firsthand account of the Cleveland Browns during the 1980s. Reading this book brought back of memories of watching the team during the 80s, especially those playoff games which Top Dawg identified as some of his favorite of all time. I enjoyed the candid nature in which Hanford told his stories. However, there were grammatical errors in this book,...
Published 21 months ago by Chuck Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tales from the Browns glory years...., February 17, 2013
By 
Chuck Thomas (Cleveland, OH USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Day of the Dawg: A Football Memoir (Paperback)
Hanford Dixon provides a firsthand account of the Cleveland Browns during the 1980s. Reading this book brought back of memories of watching the team during the 80s, especially those playoff games which Top Dawg identified as some of his favorite of all time. I enjoyed the candid nature in which Hanford told his stories. However, there were grammatical errors in this book, to the point that I was surprised at how many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good read, October 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am not a sports fanatic in any way shape or form, but even I truly enjoyed reading this account of Hanford's experiences on and off the football field. At times it was funny and others emotional; it was always engaing and well-thought out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, November 7, 2012
This review is from: Day of the Dawg: A Football Memoir (Paperback)
This book was very well written. The writer kept Hanford's tone very well. Full of juicy details about the 80s bounty scandal. And I can't believe that Hanford took responsibility for Donnie Rogers death! Just so many controversies and drama... exactly what I'd expect from Cleveland's original Dawg!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Day of the Dawg: A Football Memoir (Paperback)
Nice Bio and interesting inside info in the life and times of a great pro. Lots of stuff we never heard while Big Dawg was playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Day of the Dawg, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Awesome book if you are a Browns fan you will want to read this book. A wonderful inside view of those tough Browns teams I had the privilege to watch while growing up. Great book Mr. Dixon, thanks for the memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Read, January 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Day of the Dawg: A Football Memoir (Paperback)
Bought this as a x-mas gift for my father who said he enjoyed reading the book. He stated that you could tell it was not written by Dixon alone but still a good read for any Browns fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet flashback to the Browns of the '80s, January 8, 2013
By 
Lulu Le'shae (San Antonio, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really enjoyed reading this book! Hanford wrote it like he speaks and it brought back sweet memories of the Browns. I lived in downtown Cleveland during many of those years and remember opening my window and hearing the crowd from my apartment. Really wonderful memories. Thanks for sharing Hanford! By the way, I named my first dog after you, Dixon Hanford. He even had a Top Dog food bowl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Top Dawg, November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you have spent your life as a Browns fan, as I have, This book is a great read. It takes you back to the times when the Browns were a lock ot go to the playoffs every year, and the rivalry with the goddamn Steelers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Hanford!, November 20, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great memories of my hometown team. I have recommended it to all the Twin Cities Browns Backers as a "must read."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars top dawg is top read, November 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
must read for any Browns fan.Top Dawg tells some great stories.really found the don rogers story interesting.buy this and enjoy the flashback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Day of the Dawg: A Football Memoir
Day of the Dawg: A Football Memoir by Hanford Dixon (Paperback - October 15, 2012)
$14.95 $13.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.