Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


252 of 263 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buchanan for President!
Pat Buchanan's latest book ("Day of Reckoning") cuts through the irrelevancy of today's politics and political correctness and clearly identifies the major threats to continuing our standard of living and world leadership. Mincing no words, he states that "America is coming apart . . . we are on a path to national suicide." Going on, he points out that we are being taken...
Published on November 26, 2007 by Loyd E. Eskildson

versus
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caution if you're already depressed!!
The title of Pat Buchanan's DAY OF RECKONING could just as well be DOOM AND GLOOM - it's a real downer! I should note to start off that I'm a liberal, yet I agreed with Buchanan a lot more often than I expected. This is probably due to the fact that, although he may be quite conservative, he is not a NEO-conservative like George W. Bush and company. As, I much enjoyed the...
Published on March 3, 2008 by Anton Karidian


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

252 of 263 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buchanan for President!, November 26, 2007
Pat Buchanan's latest book ("Day of Reckoning") cuts through the irrelevancy of today's politics and political correctness and clearly identifies the major threats to continuing our standard of living and world leadership. Mincing no words, he states that "America is coming apart . . . we are on a path to national suicide." Going on, he points out that we are being taken over by the greatest invasion in history (from Mexico) that is adding to the existing fragmentation of our culture and unity. European-Americans comprised 89% of the U.S. when JFK became President - now it is down to 66% and sinking further.

Buchanan sees our invasion from Mexico as a bigger threat than anything happening in Afghanistan and Iraq! Between 10 and 20 percent of all Mexicans, Central Americans and Caribbean people have already moved into the United States, about one in twelve here illegally has a criminal record (95% of the 1,200-1,500 warrants for homicide in L.A. target illegal aliens, and diseases once stamped out America such as drug-resistant TB, syphilis, and leprosy are surfacing in city after city.

Meanwhile, we act as though Social Security and Medicare are on sound footing, convince each other that free trade and the loss of millions of jobs through outsourcing to Asia is good, and ignore the hollowing out of American manufacturing that won WWII. As corporate CEOs rake in millions in pay and stock options, workers' pay stagnates and declines, and worker pensions and health care benefits also deteriorate. At the same time, the dollar sinks to new lows and may be abandoned by OPEC and Asian nations (creating financial chaos and high inflation in the U.S.), our enormous trade ($6 trillion; negative for 31 straight years) and federal ($9 trillion)deficits continue to rise - along with unfunded Medicare, Medicaid, and Social Security liabilities ($59 trillion), our infrastructure deteriorates for lack of repair funds, and foreign nations buy up assets strategic to our national security. And if that isn't bad enough, Bush's speeches (eg. "Axis of Evil," "we'll not tolerate any challenge to our military might") and actions (eg. ending the ABM treaty with Russia, enlisting 6 former Warsaw Pact nations and 3 former Soviet republics into NATO - despite promises not to do so, planning ABMs in some of these Soviet-sphere nations) alienates Russia and many others.

While this "perfect storm" wrought by hubris and cult-thinking continues to weaken America, China and Russia are steadily becoming stronger. Fortunately, Buchanan is equally clear and on-target in his recommendations. Let's close most of our 1,000-some foreign bases and bring the troops home, stop meddling in other nations' affairs - eg. constantly telling Russia what to do and encouraging internal dissidents, secure our borders and culture (an effective double-line border fence, no-longer granting citizenship to the babies of illegals, crack down on employers continually hiring illegals, an Eisenhower-type deportation program beginning with all aliens convicted of felonies and every gang member who is not a citizen of the United States, mandate English as our official language, and a "timeout" on legal immigration), levy a 20% tax on imports and use the proceeds to lift taxes on our own manufacturers, and purge the neo-cons and "cake-walk" crowd from government. Finally, to help tamp down the culture wars Buchanan suggests a return to federalism and Congressionally mandated restrictions on the jurisdiction of the Supreme Court.

"Day of Reckoning" shows Buchanan as very knowledgeable and insightful. If only he were president! These problems would definitely be less pressing, and Americans would have a more positive sense of direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Logical, Knowledgeable, & Insightful., January 13, 2008
First, I suggest that readers read chapter 8-"Day Of Reckoning" first than the book in its entirety. Mr. Buchanan knows his history well & is eloquent throughout. He ignores political correctness to deliver a truth many want to ignore. He states "America is coming apart... we are on a path to national suicide."

The intro is a superb synopsis of modern history. I hope Strobe Talbott's dire prediction on pages 3-6 & Niall Ferguson's on page 16 do not come true? The Walter Cronkite's of the world be damned! The world does not need a "one world government!" I ask all the readers of this book to ask their older relatives about the validity of the author's statements on page 7? I think the answer is yes?

Ch-1 "The End Of The Pax Americana," pages 24-5 are the most poignant.
Ch-2 "The End Of A Unipolar World," the title is self explanitory with pages 34-9 & 45-6 detailing the growth of our government's hubris, as in the neo-cons imperialistictic tendencies.
Ch-3 "The Gospel Of George Bush," He gives plenty of historical examples of flawed ideologies from many societies. Including covering the mistakes from Presidents Jefferson to Wilson to Bush. The most informative were pages 69-FDR's blunders, 76-8 just how opposite the west & Islam are. On page 103, was John Adam's right?
Ch-4 "Imperial Overstretch," Mr. Lippmann was correct about our nations foreign policy often being bankrupt. Which means our liabilities outweigh our assets, pages 116-20 show huge waste of these liabilities.
Ch-5 "Who Shall Inherit The Earth?" The crucial question is, if the USA's best days are behind us? Who will become the most influential twentyfirst century society? Was Oswald Spengler right that the west has declined for good? Will it be the European Union, an Islamic Caliphate, China, a united asia, a world government, the north American union, or a second American century? Good god, let it be the latter.
Ch-6 "Deconstructing America," where we came from & who we became pages 169-79. Why the PC cult of diversity is disuniting the USA pages 179-89. Ch-7 "Colony Of The World," how the ideology of free trade is not fair trade pages 191-205. The results are detailed from pages 206-33.
Ch-8 "Day Of Reckoning," here Mr. Buchanan is logical in his proposed solutions. Although, I am not sure if our society would actually favor them?

First, we should close most of our 1,000 foreign bases & bring the troops home. Second, avoid other nations affairs that do not affect our country. Third, secure our borders & culture. By no longer granting citizenship to babies of illegals, cracking down hard on those who employ them, have an Eisenhower type of deportation program, mandate English as our official language, have a moratorium on legal immigration, levy a 20% tax on imports while using the proceeds to remove taxes on our own manufacturers.

Lastly, to help cool down the culture wars{traditionalists vs. secularists} he suggests a return to federalism & congressionally mandated restrictions on the powers of the Supreme Court. Whether the reader will agree or not with the authors thesis & recommendations does not matter. You will ultimately find this a fascinating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is no greater sorrow on Earth, then the loss of ones native land, December 4, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is Pat Buchanan's best attempt yet to articulate how America is headed for the edge of the abyss and must turn aside if it wants to survive.

He casts America's problems into a clearer light by using the lessons of history as background and perspective. (The quote from Euripides, I used as a title is found on page 238).

He explains the Utopian visions of idealoges from Milton to Wilson as the basis for much of the Bush administrations flawed foreign policy. In fact he spends almost half the book in a detailed analysis of the Bush Doctrine and his critique of why they are both unobtainable and not in America's best interest to even pursue.

This, sadly, will alienate a large part of his natural audience - those of conservative views - who are steadfast Bush supporters.

That is truly unfortunate, because the problems he describes in the other parts of the book are far more important then the eight year tenure of one particular president.

He presents a lot of unpalatable truths - for example, in a very real and literal sense, Europe is dying. The birthrate has fallen well below replacement levels and the French and Germans and Italians will one day be gone. Vanished into the footnotes of history.

To those of a globalist perspective, this does not matter. We are all citizens of the world - nationalities are irrelevant.

But it really does matter. A homogenized world, with everyone the same, doing the same things, eating the same food, wearing the same clothes would be devoid of savor. A song with only one note. A menu with only one item - Spam.

He explains, once again, with not only unassailable statistics but deep and logical analysis why outsourcing jobs to China and other low cost countries does irredeemable harm to both the United States as a nation and to 99% of it's people. How support for "Free Trade" has become like religious dogma and any criticism is rank heresy!

Domestic Manufacturing is important! It is the source of real wealth and productivity. It is the strength of a nation, the sinews that can be turned from consumer goods to military production in times of emergency.

It is the well spring the encourages (and pays for) the majority of innovation and R & D. It is the engine that lifts multitudes up the ladder of economic success into the middle class.

He also once again reminds us that the current wave of illegal immigration from South of the border is unprecedented both in scope and in the unnaturally passive response from our Federal government. No other nation in history has voluntarily committed cultural suicide.

The most inspiring part of the book is also in a way the most disappointing. He describes the "Great Divide" that has developed in America. Where the two sides can not agree on what the nation is or should be. They can't even agree on the basics of right and wrong, or what constitutes good and evil. He offers no hope for compromise.

Here was a chance, in this chapter, to reach out to the other side. To say - this is too important for any partisan discussion, the very life of the nation is in danger. There is nothing like a real emergency to bring people together. The problems is the two sides are not even talking. Pat's hard work and careful analysis wont even be read by the liberals.

They will dismiss him out of hand as that right wing crackpot and go back to their comfort zone.

How many of them, when push comes to shove, would actually sacrifice their children's future on the alter of political correctness? Could they, if given a free choice, make a reluctant alliance with their philosophical enemies for the sake of the nation?

One would certainly hope so. But the lack of communication - of making even a frank discussion about things like the true impact of illegal immigration beyond the pale - does not bode well for the future of this country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caution if you're already depressed!!, March 3, 2008
The title of Pat Buchanan's DAY OF RECKONING could just as well be DOOM AND GLOOM - it's a real downer! I should note to start off that I'm a liberal, yet I agreed with Buchanan a lot more often than I expected. This is probably due to the fact that, although he may be quite conservative, he is not a NEO-conservative like George W. Bush and company. As, I much enjoyed the first half of the book, which is a vehement condemnation of Bush's decision to invade Iraq, and I agree when Buchanan describes that as senseless from many standpoints - militarily, culturally, in dealing with terrorism, and so on. Strangely, he then characterizes the desire of many Americans to get out quickly as evidence of "an empire in terminal decline" (p. 236), yet does not explain that. He helpfully details all the defense commitments we have gotten ourselves into all over the world since WW II, and I agree with his assertion that we are in "imperial overstretch." Also, I admire Buchanan's historical perspective on things, and he throws in many good quotes as part of that.

Other issues - I sympathize with his fear that we are allowing too many immigrants into the U.S., that we need to slow that down and give those here time to assimilate. Also, I agree with the general outline of his assertion that the U.S. economy is in deep trouble, and that free trade is much of the reason. I'm glad to hear him denounce conservative economist Milton Freedman's gospel on that. After all, what good are lower prices due to free trade if the cost of that is a gutted American economy and many consumers here either out of work or forced to take much lower paying jobs?

I won't attempt to summarize the entire book, so I'll just mention two issues that I strongly DISAGREE with Buchanan on. One is the oddity that in a book detailing all the worries that we face, he says virtually nothing about the environment, and what little he says does not deal with protecting it, namely, promoting nuclear power plants and more drilling for oil off American coastlines. There is no mention of global warming at all. Secondly, he says very little about our health care crisis, I suspect because as a conservative he does not want to admit the possible need for government intervention in the health care system. He talks about Medicare and Social Security problems for a couple of pages (p.239-240), but deals with them only from the standpoint of government finances. Also, in the chapter "Deconstructing America" he launches into a screed against the Sixties counterculture, which I think is grossly oversimplified. As a born-again hippie, I've GOT to deduct some points from his book for these transgressions! Nevertheless, despite these shortcomings, I believe that DAY OF RECKONING is very thought-provoking and worthwhile reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I cut my conservative teeth on Buchanan's writings., December 10, 2007
By 
JanSobieski (United States of America) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
And when he became a protectionist I parted ways with him thinking the wheels had come off. They didn't. He was correct. I was wrong.

This book is a short one but nearly every sentence is profound in its implications. He draws his larger points from Kirk and Burke (don't all conservatives?). Those points being a criticism of all ideologies as the nidus of evil in the modern world come home to roost in the 20th and 21st centuries.

Buchanan begins with a harsh criticism of the Iraq war. Not the Bush lied people died drivel from the left (although in this, his weakest part of the book he comes awfully close thereby undercutting his larger point), but rather from a solid conservative anti-ideological perspective. He calls democratism the great utopian ideology that has animated Bush's folly.

And he makes this point persuasively. Many conservatives will be put off by his criticism of Bush's messianic desire to "spread the gospel of democracy," but our founding fathers never intended for America to get entangled in foreign affairs beyond that point where our own national interests were clearly and unmistakably at stake.

Washington laid down the first commandment of US foreign policy: "The great rule of conduct for us in regard to foreign nations, is in extending our commercial relations to have with them as little political connection as possible. . . . Tis our true policy tosteer clear of permanent Alliances, with any portion of the foreign world. So far as we are now at liberty to do it." Buchanan then goes on to explain how our current policies deviate from the founding principles laid down by Washington, Madison and Adams.

Buchanan then picks the low hanging fruit of heedless and reckless immigration policies and expands his criticism to include NAFTA and the ultimate objective: the North American Union as envisioned by the utopian Bush whose callow disregard for our NATIONAL interests offends Mr. Buchanan greatly. Mr. Bush is willing to sacrifice our sovereignty on the altar of his father and his new world order.

One of Buchanan's best chapters is his criticism of the pernicious multicultural diversity cult that has stripped our nation of its national identity. "Realizing we are divided on the things that constitute a true nation - blood and soil, tradition and faith, history and heroes - intellectuals have sought to construct, in lieu of the real nation, the nation of the heart that is passing away, an artificial nation, a nation of the mind, and ideological nation, a creedal nation, united by a belief in the new trinity: diversity, democracy and equality."

He then goes on to play to his own strength, that which has animated Buchanan for over ten years: his apostasy on free trade. What Buchanan calls a pernicious Utopian ideology that has gained a cult like grip on the minds and hearts of the intellectual class as well as the population at large. And in this chapter, for those who approach it with an open mind, he does the most heavy lifting. He fails however to offer an alternative to free trade that does not violate one of the bedrock principles of Conservatism - small limited federal government. He identifies the problems associated with free trade (and they are legion) but does not offer a coherent Conservative based solution.

This is a profound and significant book that, unfortunately, may be too little too late. There is no America any longer of people united by language, history, ethnicity, common ideas of good and evil and even what is worth fighting for. All that has been destroyed by irresponsible immigration policies and a slavish belief in the unholy trinity of diversity, multiculturalism and relativism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Both sad and angry..!, December 11, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read a lot of books based around physics and mathmatics. This is possibly the first book I have read from cover to cover on politics. I learned so much history and truth from this book, I am amazed. I am 57 years old now and I have become very concerned with what I see going on in the world today and I wanted to read something that would give me some answers to questions I have. Questions like, what world are my children's children going to have to endure and why am I loosing my job in less than seven days so that one of the corporations mentioned in Pat's book can build a 3 billion dollar fab in China? I have some answers now, and it makes me both sad and angry. But as usual more questions have been raised. Like why are we not taught historic truth in school so that we don't become "sheep", manipulated by the likes of loser George Bush? So as I do with some physics books, I will probably read this book again. It is that good..! Please buy and read this book and vote for someone that can begin to lead America back based upon Pat Buchanan's insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't care if this review is helpful, January 4, 2008
Yes, I am in agreement with everything Buchanan has written here, and yes I am sure of its veracity because of the prophetic qualities of his previous speeches and writings, the comments of many others now reflecting his views and my own life experiences. And yes, it is good that his policy recommendations are more detailed than in 'State of Emergency'. But while this was an articulate and insightful read, I can't say it was an enjoyable one because what the book describes boils down to a national suicide note as our "leaders" again and again demonstrate that they consider it much more important to curry favor with Chinese and Mexican politicians than to ensure the well-being of the American people. Perhaps a more apt term might be "national murder" because I'm sure as soon as the Bushes, the Clintons, Teddy Kennedy, John McCain, Kay Bailey Hutchison, the Council on Foreign Relations, the Cato Institute, Pinchy Sulzberger, the Wall Street Journal and the Wal-Mart board of directors finish turning the US into a Third World monstrosity, they will head off to a no-income-tax Caribbean hideaway leaving us peons to deal with the mess they created.

However, the thing that makes me most pessimistically angry is to see the cute little "Buchanan should be President" blurbs in the other reviews on this page. Well, dummies, Buchanan did run for President but wasn't elected because the voting populace of this country is made up of MORONS - the truck driver in South Carolina who voted for Dole instead of Buchanan because a Baptist minister told him to, or the computer science major in California who voted for Gore instead of Buchanan because she's more concerned about whether homosexuals can be "married" than whether she can find a job secure enough to even have a prayer of paying off her $100,000 in student loans. This country is going to hell, AND IT DESERVES TO GO TO HELL!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book from Pat Buchanan, June 3, 2008
By 
Bill Hensler (Holt, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I will admit I'm highly biased in favor of Pat Buchanan. I had the pleasure of meeting him during the 1992 campaign at Central Michigan University. I actually saw the extreme bias of the new media because they personally organized a few groups of protestors into something larger than it actually was. Shame You-Tube didn't exist then and we could have shown the media creating alternative news.

That being said I agree with Pat's latest book. Honestly, I have seen every thing he ever said come true. Pat is a little like a old fashioned country doctor who would tell his patient to stop smoking, cut down on the drinking, eat right, and exercise. So the patient bad mouths the doctor and blames him for all of their health problems. Pat Buchanan is the new messenger and people brand his as "intolerant", the modern analog of shooting the messenger.

Pat gives the most scary example in America's future by the absolute lack of an immigration policy. Lets be honest, most of the past immigrants to the USA wanted to move out of their war torn or poverty stricken nations. Most Germans, Italians, and Irish were happy to get into a land of jobs and an honest (relatively) government. But the new immigrants from Mexico love their old land and blame America mostly for the economic problems in that nation. We are in the process of seeing end game in this matter. The future President Obama will give citizenship to millions of Mexicans. To return the favor these people will push for the eventual ceding of three or four state back to Mexico. Pat has warns in his book that the unlimited immigration in the USA will eventually lead problems for this nation. You're now going to see end game and Pat Buchanan told us it would happen.

Every week you hear a story about some American factory going to Mexico or China. It is insanity that American businesses are treated like criminals in the media and by our government. Pat Buchanan gives examples of policies and biases by our leaders and politicians. We voters do nothing. And while President Bush is responsible for much of what has gone to export jobs the fact of the matter is Pat Buchanan lays much of the blame on our self serving politicians in Washington DC.

The only real trouble I see with Pat's book is he is tell us, the old believers in America, what we all have long suspected but just are absolutely powerless to stop. Pat does a great job of pointing out the problems. However, how do we stop America's decline when politicians are more interested in saving polar bears or sending mosquito nets to Africa than promoting job growth, energy independence, a sane immigration policy, and proper fiscal management of the government? Pat Buchanan identifies all of these problems. I just don't know how you get politicians to follow Pat's advise. That's the rub of this book. Pat is just like that old country doctor. He tells you what is wrong with the country. He tells you what must be done to fix the problems. And you know that there is no way that the majority of this nation will listen to what he says no matter regarding the wisdom of his advise.

Still, for "ye olde American" this is a highly enjoyable and thought provolking book. Who knows? Perhaps a political party will follow this advise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not His Best, December 1, 2007
I'm a great admirer of Pat Buchanan, agreeing with him about 99% of the time, and I always look forward to reading the latest addition to the Buchanan Canon. In "Day of Reckoning", Mr. Buchanan is, as always, well worth heeding. He addresses important topics; is erudite; persuasive; employs irrefutable facts; is a cogent reasoner; and writes extremely well. In addition, I'm impressed by his realism. Despite his prescriptions, he realizes and recognizes how dire is the situation; indeed, in all likelihood, how hopeless it probably is. But, despite that, he fights the good fight -- and that's what matters.

Still, "Day of Reckoning" isn't my favorite Buchanan book. It focuses on economic and financial issues -- not boring, but a bit dry. But is it worth reading? Oh, yes, it most definitely is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of A Handful of "Must Reads" for Christmas, December 13, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Amazon ate my earlier review, probably because they did not like all the links I included to make the point that while Patrick Buchanan is dead on target as an individual minds, there is a *huge* convergence of public opinion from left to right that boils down to this: government is broken, from war criminals in the White House to doormats in Congress abdicating their Article 1 responsibility to balance the power of the Executive.

This book is a perfect complement to that by Lou Dobbs. This may well be one of the most important books at the dawn of the 21st Century, along with Independents Day: Awakening the American Spirit' The Battle for the Soul of Capitalism, and A Power Governments Cannot Suppress.

I regret the loss of my detailed review, here are just a few of the notes from the flyleaf:

+ Insufficient focus on Cheney, but does correctly evaluate Wolfowitz as a madman.

+ Tars Bush's ideology as a "false God"as "modernity's Golden Calf."

+ Respect Gore Vidal in citing "perpectual war for perpetual peace."

+ Opens book with excellent discussion of the cost of lost wars and the mismantling of artificial nations (there are 177 failed states today,up from 148 in 2006 and 75 is 2005.

+ This may be the most credible and thoughtful author on the subject of treason in modern times. He explicitly accuses corporate chiefs who favor globalization and "transnationalism" with being traitors to the Republic.

+ He states that Islamic militarism is not a threat to America. I agree.

+ Pages 153-154 provide a brilliant articulation of seven reasons why China is not a threat to the US.

+ I note: "This is the epitaph for the village idiot."

A few other books supporting his thesis that 2008 is a tipping point year:
Vice: Dick Cheney and the Hijacking of the American Presidency
The Broken Branch: How Congress Is Failing America and How to Get It Back on Track (Institutions of American Democracy)
Breach of Trust: How Washington Turns Outsiders Into Insiders
Running on Empty: How the Democratic and Republican Parties Are Bankrupting Our Future and What Americans Can Do About It
Weapons of Mass Deception: The Uses of Propaganda in Bush's War on Iraq
9/11 Synthetic Terror: Made in USA, Fourth Edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Day of Reckoning: How Hubris, Ideology, and Greed Are Tearing America Apart
Day of Reckoning: How Hubris, Ideology, and Greed Are Tearing America Apart by Patrick J. Buchanan (Paperback - January 6, 2009)
Used & New from: $1.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.