Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews(4 star). Show all reviews
on March 23, 2006
I saw the author speak in Houston and I was impressed with her. By that time I had been trading forex for about a year and a half. That first year was a very expensive tuition.

When I saw the book, I was provoked to buy it simply because of my high regard for the author and to further glean tools and techniques to enhance my trading.

It was a good read, though very much a primer for the novice. This book should be viewed as a beginning to the reading and research a currency trader needs in order to be successful. One will come away from reading this book not with the specfic knowledge one needs to trade successfully, but instead with a direction one needs to take to advance one's skills.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2006
There are only a few books on FX trading in Amazon, none are quite in depth, this would be a better or the best one available already.

At least it has 2 chapters covering some strategies and chart readings unique to FX, it also has a little coverage on how stop huntings are used by market makers; but the rest of the books are on fundamentals, for first timers.

I believe FX is more than Technical & Fundamental, how those FX market makers manipulate the rates is the key, and things that most of us don't understand. This and other books just don't cover.

It is overpriced, comparing with other more classic investment books that cost only half. Sure sometimes you cannot value a book like this, if one or two points in the book ring a bell to you, it worths a thousands times more.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2012
This book enlightened me on many fronts of Forex Trading. It gave me ideas for a trading plan and a daily action sheet. It also helped me a lot in the area of fundamental analysis, like what to consider with a list of items and web pages I can use.

I would definitely recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2008
I found that this book was great for somebody getting into Forex Trading from day trading with equities. However, I would not suggest this book for beginners. I loved the history of Forex, and the book was great in terms of advice although she does often use terminology with no explanation of what it is e.g. nonfarm payrolls. If you want a book that moves slowly, this is also not a good choice. Do read this book with a good forex dictionary or access to the internet as you will need to look stuff up. Overall I liked this book alot as it was my first Forex book but I have read tons of books on stock and options trading. Best part is, that with the bear market now Forex trading is a much better option.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2012
Kathy Lien is a known name in the Forex trading market. I would say that reading this book makes a perfect sense for any beginner. Not only the concepts are explained in easy way but she has covered a very wide territory and concepts which may look not so important at the first glance but are very important for day today trading. Whether it is the psychology of whole numbers or currency correlation of the importance of various market hours and volatility relationship. I would say that it prepares you to go to the next step i.e. the practice with a demo trading account. May be after a few days practice you may like to read it again to see what concepts you missed during your first demo run.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2006
Great book. the only thing i thought could of made it better, was more strategies to implement. kathy includes a couple to wet the taste buds, though i wanted a few more to try out straight away. other than that, it's the perfect introduction to the foundations of the forex market and what makes it tick, which everyone looking into trading this market needs to know.

you can't go wrong getting this book. highly recommend.

- Jay v. Australia
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2009
The majority of information an individual or small-time investor needs to begin trading in any market can be found (albeit less conveniently agglomerated) online. What makes great traders is their track record and as a rule each successful trader's secret is a trade secret. As with many book in the genre of "Trading for Non-Traders", this book glosses over the economics that apply to any market and those of specific interest to those who trade the FX. Furthermore, its explanations of both technical and fundamental trading strategies is superficial at best. The saving grace of this book is its emphasis on a trading diary wherein the trader explicitly sets the amount of pips the trader is willing to lose or gain on an individual trade. The author's presentation of this is excellent, complete with a starter template. Especially in day trading, a timescale during which the primary driver is market psychology, money management is by far the most important. Resign yourself to the fact that there is no perfect trading strategy, however unlike true gambling you can tip the odds in your favor. The beginning of that is setting your own odds (your own win/lose ratio in pips) and this book presents that beginning nicely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2006
A good book but I would have liked to see more on longer-term currency trading techniques involving methods that forecast currency rates based upon global economic trends.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse