Customer Reviews


511 Reviews
5 star:
 (288)
4 star:
 (104)
3 star:
 (59)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


134 of 155 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The Darkest Day of Horror the World Has Ever Known"
The third--and possibly the final--entry in George Romero's DEAD series, 1985's DAY OF THE DEAD was initially panned by both critics and horror fans. Many complained that, in spite of the much improved special FX, the film did not live up to the creepiness and the literacy of the groundbreaking first film of the trilogy, NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD (1968), nor was its...
Published on March 22, 2004 by Michael R Gates

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad print of a great movie.
Sure the disc is jammed with extras, by the audio track is culled from multiple second hand sources (including a TV dub) and not the original release print. Give us the original audio PLEASE! Be warned, the dialogue changes are EASY to notice.
Published on August 1, 2003 by Chadwick H. Saxelid


‹ Previous | 140 41 4252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie, buy it now for DVD!, May 12, 2003
By 
This review is from: Day Of The Dead (DVD)
I would very much like to buy this movie on DVD someday. I have probably one of the worst copies of it on tape where in some parts run like mickey mouse. It sucks. This movie is so good I could never get sick of watching it. For a couple of reasons, a)character development b)mind-blowing story c)awesome gore effects that are literaly perfect in everyway. This movie I can see would really need to be watched on DVD, so you can get the widescreen edition, incredible sound, picture, and resolution. This movie is great because George A Romero is a great director by all means. There just isn't ever going to be story telling like this again. He truly is a genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic!, January 13, 2008
By 
Orion Christy (Flagler Beach, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great sequel and part of a great series, although it is truly a tad underrated compared to the others, this film offered the first prediction of the effect of a zombie plague would have on current society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The conclusion of the series, January 14, 2005
Here we have the last movie in George Romero's zombie trilogy. Beginning with Night of the Living Dead and followed by Dawn of the Dead, the series wraps up with Day of the Dead. I loved the original, enjoyed the second and mostly went eh to the third. This third movie sticks to same philosophy; focus on character development and interaction and include a few necessary zombie and gore moments. Unfortunately they spend all but about the last 30 minutes of the movie focusing on the characters, with little or no zombie involvement, which would be fine and was in the previous movies. However in order to tell the story and not bore the audience, the actors have to be pretty good and have some decent dialogue. This is not the case. By far I was the most disappointed by the script and acting talent than I ever was before.

Essentially the story is that the zombie epidemic apocalypse is still in full swing. One research group with the support of whatever government is left has been setup in Florida. Their job is attempting to research and study the zombies and figure what makes them tick. The story that the movie spends its time telling is of the internal character conflicts within the group, especially the civilian scientists versus the barely controllable military personnel. Suffice to say that I was generally annoyed by many of the character in this movie and barely felt that the zombies were even involved.

To top it all off, when the zombies really finally become involved is when the character development stops and the end of the movie just turns into the grisliest gore fest yet seen anywhere in the trilogy. Coppice amounts of stomach churning scenes assault you as if to make up for the rest of the movie's lack of gore scenes. Worse than that though is had you even been interested in seeing a conclusion to the plot, well you're out of luck.

Not the worst movie by any means, but the worst of George Romero's trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great., October 24, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoy this movie, but it does miss some of the magic of its predecessor, Dawn of the Dead. But, if you still consider yourself a "Dead" fan, you'll want to be sure you've at least seen it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Always a classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars URGGG!!, December 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Always Been A Fan Of Romeros..
Night Of The Living Dead, Dawn Of The Dead, Day Of The Dead,
Survival Of The Dead, Diary Of The Dead..
LOVE ALL THIS MOVIES!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By far the best zombie film ever released!, September 4, 2004
By 
This is a re-release of the Divimax version of Day of the Dead. This was originally released several months ago as a 2 disc set and is now being released along with the 4 disc set of Dawn of the Dead. George Romero's Zombie series is one of the best I have ever seen. If you have never seen Day of the Dead I suggest you simply buy it. You will not be disappointed. Those who have seen it will already be at the door waiting for the stores to open on the day of it's release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're a self proclaimed zombie fanatic, and you for some reason don't own this disc, pick it up today!, September 8, 2008
My favorite of Romero's "Dead" series, and my favorite zombie flick of all time. This is the movie I compare every zombie flick I watch to. The scene where Rhodes has his head torn off is one of the best scenes in any movie ever.

The overall atmosphere of the film is disturbing, and its alot less light hearted than "Dawn."

If you're a self proclaimed zombie fanatic, and you for some reason don't own this disc, pick it up today!

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for the zombie collection, July 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Divimax Edition of Day of the Dead is an essential piece in a zombie/horror collection. This version looks as great as ever. A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated., January 2, 2005
By 
Pretty much a very underrated film and yet i love because to be honest? I didn't like night of the living dead one bit or dawn of the dead which both in my opinion sucked... As in Geore A. romero's "Day of the dead ( divimax special edition)" was one of my favorite horror films besides evil dead 2 and nightmare in elm street the second episode. I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 140 41 4252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Day of the Dead [VHS]
$12.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.