Customer Reviews


489 Reviews
5 star:
 (271)
4 star:
 (104)
3 star:
 (58)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


132 of 152 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The Darkest Day of Horror the World Has Ever Known"
The third--and possibly the final--entry in George Romero's DEAD series, 1985's DAY OF THE DEAD was initially panned by both critics and horror fans. Many complained that, in spite of the much improved special FX, the film did not live up to the creepiness and the literacy of the groundbreaking first film of the trilogy, NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD (1968), nor was its...
Published on March 22, 2004 by Michael R Gates

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad print of a great movie.
Sure the disc is jammed with extras, by the audio track is culled from multiple second hand sources (including a TV dub) and not the original release print. Give us the original audio PLEASE! Be warned, the dialogue changes are EASY to notice.
Published on August 1, 2003 by Chadwick H. Saxelid


‹ Previous | 140 41 4249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars George A. Romero's Second Darkest Hour..., February 6, 2006
The darkest hour being Land of the Dead. Don't get me wrong, I have seen all of Romero's "Dead" movies and I love 'em. However, this movie seemed to be an utterly forgettable part of his apocalyptic tale. As a previous reviewer said, the characters are unlikable and utterly forgettable. Also, I am not one with a weak stomache, but I think the gore effects were a little over the top on this one. Some say this is the best of the Dead series, others say it is the worst. I would say that they rank in order of the making. Night of the Living Dead is a timeless classic that never ceases to amaze. Dawn of the Dead is almost as good, and Romero's genius shines through. Day of the Dead is where I believe the series started to take a turn for the worse. Land of the Dead, while containing amazing effects and a fairly likable cast, suffers from what I consider to be a very limited scope. Not in so much as the film, but in the subtext that Romero includes as the underlying message/theme of his movie. His ideas on class distinction are not entirely unfounded to be sure, but his whole movie seems to be a jab at the Bush administration. Something which will be forgotten after so many years. His assaults on racism and consumerism, in Night and Dawn respectively, are timeless and powerful. All this to say that this movie is not entirely without merit, as we get to see the next step in the undead's conquering of our planet. In conclusion, this movie is not a total loss, but I don't think it is up to the standard that Romero established with his first two films. Here's hoping we don't have to wait another 10 to 20 years for his next masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT VERRY GOOD, July 17, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Day of the Dead [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Not verry good says alot. The acting was bad the story not that great, and he made the military a bunch of Jerk-offs. And what was with the profanity. I mean i'm all for it if it goes for the movie but it was pointless and seemend to have been put there just for shock value. The special effects are the only saving point otherwise I would have given it a one. Watch Dawn of the Dead To see how good Romero realy is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For "Dead" collectors only., March 2, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Day of the Dead isn't a great movie. I like it as a chapter in the "Living Dead" movie genre, but, honestly, it's not a great film. If you're a "Living Dead" fan, give it a spin. If you find the DVD version cheaper than the Blu-Ray, go for the DVD. I own both and don't find the picture quality noticeably different given the quality of the original film negative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plot, December 9, 2013
Ultimate scariest metaphoric of era's ends .All of the movies of romero was a message this included the order cycle time as corrupt and illegal political pretext that its continuance in user land of the dead where denounce communism and friends is that no political party is good.Zombies pretext like the power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend... DARY!, April 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This has always been one of my favorite movies. This edition is definitely worth holding out for. I don't know, it just feels better having this one in your collection as opposed to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have for Zombie Fans, March 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In my opinion, the scariest movie in the original Dead series. Fans of The Walking Dead will appreciate early work from Greg Nicotero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damage?, March 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The description said the case had little damage. I have newer movies with more damage than this one. I'm very happy with the purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ending to a great movie series, March 5, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a great movie. Maybe not acting-wise. But, then again, before "Walking Dead" zombie flicks weren't taken too seriously. The content, however, is what will get you here. I can't tell you much more than many others have already posted here. And honestly, those people have probably watched this movie 100x over and noticed every little goof, wire, and mirror shot as well as political statements and social commentary. I didn't watch it for all that, but caught a bit here and there. Mainly, this was just a good, gory, intelligent movie. It's the end here, folks! The world is in the crapper and the military is working with the last remaining scientists on earth. People are losing their cool (like they didn't lose it a WHILE ago?) and you can see what's coming in the end. But it was a fun ride, Mr. Romero!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Okay, so this is about my favorite movie ever made, especially in the horror/zombie genre, so I obviously had to purchase it. The quality is just phenominal. The gore is super amazing, with none of the new school boring CG effects, the classics are THE BEST. The audio is really good, original to the movie, I was nervous about the audio because some people had written reviews saying it isnt good, but it is very good. It is the original audio that was for the movie, and since it is an oldie its not crisp ect because of age, which can be mistaken. The features are super cool, and the cover for this is just astounding. I loved everything about it! c: Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, February 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love the old zombie flicks. Can't even say for sure why but this one always stood out to me as a kid. So now on BluRay the picture is way better and it's as entertaining as any zombie flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 140 41 4249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Day of the Dead [VHS]
$14.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.