Listen for $0.00 with
Join Amazon Prime now
Get unlimited, ad-free access to over a million songs and hundreds of playlists, free with Amazon Prime.

Days Go By [Explicit]

June 26, 2012 | Format: MP3

Join Amazon Prime to add this album to your library for FREE
$10.99 to buy
Song Title
Popularity Prime  

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: June 22, 2012
  • Release Date: June 22, 2012
  • Label: Columbia
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 42:42
  • Genres:
  • Format: Explicit Lyrics
  • ASIN: B008BIZ06M
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (116 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #13,556 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

I liked their last album (RFRG) better but this one's still pretty good.
Major Shake
I have been a long time Offspring fan and this is one of the best albums they have put out for years.
I was really surprised by this album, after a couple of listens It's really good!

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
The Offspring's been a band known for a long time to bring surprises and unexpected left turns to every CD they release. Even Splinter, one of their shortest and most bare-bones albums, featured the 1930s style track "When You're In Prison" and the ska jam "Worst Hangover Ever." Ixnay on the Hombre had more than its fair share of joke tracks and genre-exploring too, so I'm not sure why certain fans seem so up in arms by Days Go By branching out at times. Especially when *no* songs on here are as throwaway as the likes of When You're in Prison or Don't Pick It Up, and when Days Go By otherwise has some very consistently fast stuff reminiscent of CDs like Smash.

This one takes off like a rocket with The Future is Now and Secrets From the Underground, songs that have a real sense of energy and lyrics that embody the punk rock spirit of rebellion and change. Things slow down a little for the title track, Days Go By, a fun and nostalgic single that I think fades so well into the next song, Turning Into You, which once again cranks things up. Reminds me a bit of the band Rise Against while at the same time feeling like Trust in You off the last album, this is another cool one with an awesome bridge. The CDs first act ends with Hurting As One, which sounds like a Smash song, no questions asked.

And then we reach the mid-point, a place where there will probably be a lot of controversy among some. Cruisn' California (Bumpin in my Trunk) is clearly intended as a joke song, the Offspring likely enjoying the opportunity to spoof the zillions of California-themed party songs and it's actually pretty catchy.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on July 9, 2012
Format: Audio CD
I own all Offspring albums, and love them all. But all albums back to and including Conspiracy of One have been a little more hit or miss. The latest, "Days Go By" is no different. But for me, the highs are higher and more plentiful than every other post "classic era" album.

1. The Future Is Now: It bothers me a little how similar this sounds to Rise Against - Savior. But I enjoy it more than that song, and it is a solid, high-powered opener for the album. (8.5/10)
2. Secrets From the Underground: Nothing spectacular, but good lyrics, and another solid effort. (8.5/10)
3. Days Go By: Mid-tempo rock song that can sound a little generic at times (much like Can't Repeat from their greatest hits album). Okay choice as a first single, but not as good as Hammerhead or You're Gonna Go Far, Kid from Rise and Fall, Rage and Grace. (7.5/10)
4. Turning Into You: We finally get something a little closer to the classic punk sound, complete with the double-time drum beat. Reminds me of Conspiracy of One album sound. (9/10)
5. Hurting As One: Now we're talking. As others have said this could've been on Smash/Ixnay/Americana and not sounded out of place at all. Classic driving punk. (10/10)
6. Cruisin' California: As has been noted in other review, this is a very divisive song. The first time I heard it, I was thinking "WTF is this ****? This isn't an Offspring song!" But understand that this is a joke song, and in my opinion it actually manages to be more fun and upbeat than the songs it is mocking. Not my favorite here, but a catchy tune. That said, it probably shouldn't be a single. (7.5/10)
7. All I Have Left Is You: Power ballads are not The Offspring's strong suit.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
19 of 24 people found the following review helpful By T. A. Daniel TOP 1000 REVIEWER on June 26, 2012
Format: Audio CD
With RISE AND FALL, RAGE AND GRACE, the Offspring attempted to harken back to their musical roots. By trying to abandon their alternative-rock trappings (CONSPIRACY OF ONE, SPLINTER) for a more punk-rock focus, fans received mixed results. Unfortunately, DAYS GO BY is another release with mixed results. The good news: it contains some of the best punk-rock that the band has released in over a decade. The bad news: the bad songs here are stupendously bad.

The Good:
There's an immediacy present here that's been missing from the past several Offspring albums (probably since SMASH). Perhaps it's the songs like "Secrets From The Underground" or "Slim Pickens Does The Right Thing And Rides the Bomb to Hell," with lyrics that deal with the current state of culture in America. Perhaps it's the opening guitar riffs of "The Future Is Now" that hit the ground running. Whatever the reason, this sounds like an earnest, honest album, with the exception of a handful of tracks. The first two tracks, ("The Future Is Now," "Secrets From The Underground,") wouldn't sound out of place on SMASH or IXNAY ON THE HOMBRE. Lead single and title track "Days Gone By," is less angry or energetic but a bit more introspective.

With 2012 being the 20th anniversary of IGNITION, the band decided to rerecord fan favorite "Dirty Magic." It seems strange that the band would cover one of their own songs; luckily, the song is given justice thanks to updates sound/mastering equipment. "Divide By Zero" harkens back to the band's earlier material once again. Clocking in at a little over 2 minutes, it's fast, and packed with melody. The final track, "Slim Pickens...", provides a grim outlook on pop culture. Influenced by the pilot of Kubrik's DR.
Read more ›
5 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category