Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Look Park Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$26.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon July 16, 2014
Just when I thought Brad Taylor was running out of gas, telling a story that was too similar to other Taskforce novels, he decided to shake up the series. I won't say what happens, but it triggers the dark rage that Pike Logan thought his team member and lover Jennifer had tamed. The last half of the novel is intense.

Two storylines weave together. One involves Russia's FSB, which wants to send a Nigerian terrorist to execute a plan that is intended to damage the United States. The plan is farfetched but I guess I can accept that the FSB might believe it would work. When the FSB creates problems for the Taskforce, Pike Logan and his usual team members travel to Bulgaria to learn what the Nigerian is planning.

The other storyline involves Russian intelligence secrets that Mossad is trying to buy. A flash drive holding those secrets contains information that might be embarrassing to the United States government. Pike's team is redirected to recover the flash drive before Mossad can get it. As usual, Pike has his own agenda.

Pike pursuing an unauthorized mission of his own is beginning to feel like a formula but, so far, it is a successful formula. And as noted above, Taylor shakes up the formula with a surprising plot twist that forces Pike to realize how much he depends on Jennifer for a sense of balance while forcing Jennifer to realize how living a violent life is changing her in ways she fears.

As always, Taylor has a realistic and nuanced view of his heroes and villains. Taylor understands that the Taskforce would be called the "secret police" in other nations. Days of Rage illustrates our "confusing new world" in which allies and enemies are often difficult to distinguish. The tension between the interests of Mossad and those of the United States, as well as a debate about whether endless cycles of killing actually keep people safe, provide some of the novel's most interesting moments. Taylor's point of view is a refreshing break from the simplistic worldviews offered by too many thriller writers. I also appreciate the moral center that Jennifer brings to the story. Of course, the high tech gadgetry, fistfights, and chases are fun too. If I could, I would give Days of Rage 4 1/2 stars.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2014
If you like Vince Flynn or Brad Thor, they you will enjoy Brad Taylor's series. This sixth book in the Pike Logan series begins with the murder of the Israeli athletes at the 1972 Munich Olympics then shifts to present day Bulgaria where an Israeli Mossad agent is being passed information by a Russian defector and the taskforce team has surveillance on a Boko Haram terrorist. The main character in the story, Pike Logan, is unrelenting with his enemies while always pushing the envelope when it comes to 'doing the right thing' even when this brings him into conflict with his commander. This may seem dubious given that Pike is a long time soldier and a retired sergeant major but it goes to the heart of senior operators within tier 1 units. These individuals are looked upon to not only think for themselves but make critical decisions based on their knowledge of the 'ground truth.' Pike epitomizes that characteristic and given his success in the field gets away with it from his commander. Brad Taylor brings not only historical context into this thriller but technological innovations into the 'spy craft' game while maintaining his usual fast pace with plenty of action.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2014
The Pike Logan series is one that I look forward to each year. The topics are relevant to the current day, and the characters are engaging. I especially liked the Israeli counterparts that were introduced in this book. It provided for a nice change of pace and gave some new working dynamics to the relationships.

This was well written, and the action flowed throughout the book as the plot unfolded.

The other aspect that I really enjoyed was that the threat was not of Afghani or Middle Eastern Islamic Jihad origins. Brad Taylor did a good job reminding the world that there are other real threats to our safety and security.

This was easily one of the top ten books I have read this year.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2016
There are terrorist in the world for sure. And not all of them emanate from from the middle east. In the case of this book, they come from Nigeria (Boko Haram) and from our old Cold War adversaries Russia. We do some major globe trotting with Pike, Jennifer and members of the Taskforce. The book even starts off by going back in time to the Munich Olympic Games in 1972. That just adds a touch of reality to this story.

It's a battle of wits told from two (or was it three?) different perspectives. Pike, Jennifer and the Taskforce, Russian former KGB operatives, and a member of Boko Haram. Another faction of middle east operatives get into the mix and that just take this book to another level of intrigue. I enjoyed the book quite a bit. It had a few surprises, twists and turns. Even some humor. Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2015
The first two-hundred pages or so made this a one star. Not much reason for all the running around until the real plot was, finally, revealed. I enjoyed the first five Pike Logan books and didn't hesitate to buy the two newer books.
This story was pretty boring in the beginning and I was thinking I might not even read "No Fortunate Son" which is next on my bookshelf.
But after struggling to get past the middle of this story, the good stuff came out and I couldn't stop until the end. Great characters and a cliff-hanger ending! Just the way I like 'em. And taking care of the traitor was how it should be done!
Norm
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2015
Having read a number of B. Taylors books I quite enjoyed this one as well. The loss of some of the characters was a disappointment, But it keeps you on your toes as to what will happen next. This book is as good as Tom Clancy in his prime, the real one not someone writing under his name. I could only wish we had politicians with the balls like the ones portrayed in the book. Can't wait for the next book to come out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2015
Taylor at his best, this book with Pike and Jennifer, takes you back in time to the period before the Munich Olympics and the loss of Israel's athletes. From there to modern day, you'll follow Russian, Israeli, American, and other characters who are involved in the plot, not the least are Pike and Jennifer and Grollier Recovery assets, who are key players in this work. Thanks for another great read and writing. You'll be turning pages to the end. Can't wait till I have the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2016
Both my wife and I always like the books in the Pike Logan series. We have read all of them through Days of Rage and will certainly buy the next two in the series in the near future. Yes, they are somewhat predictable but they always have any number of twists and if you read for entertainment, as we do, they are very enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2015
Once again difficult decisions have to be made in order to keep our world safe. Governments working outside political correctness fight for freedom against ideological terrorist. Strong characters make split second decisions struggling with evil from within as well as external.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2015
Great story, by a great author who's imagination never fails to involve stories that could be real, almost real or are likely to occur in today's world. Thank you, to all you "real life" Pike Logan's, who are out there keeping us safe! And thank you Brad Taylor for your writings! If there is any good to come from terrorism today, it's the books we get to read about America's success in this war! Whether there real or fiction! And yes, the book was delivered on time, in great shape and for a good price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.