Customer Reviews


269 Reviews
5 star:
 (165)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ~~Bulgaria/Berlin/Brazil~~
The clandestine operations of the Task Force are up to their mission (s) in this latest scamper. Starting out in Plovdiv, Bulgaria, the plot quickly thickens. A Nigerian named Usman Akimbo and a member of the Boko Haran, is recruited by the Russians to assist in a sinister plot. A portion of the team will go to Berlin and eventually on to Brazil in search of a lethal...
Published 5 months ago by A Navy Vet...VT town

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Usually Pike Logan Plays a real tough guy with a ...
Usually Pike Logan Plays a real tough guy with a lot of action. In this book there is not a lot of action,, and Pike Logan is a wuse..
Published 18 days ago by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ~~Bulgaria/Berlin/Brazil~~, July 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The clandestine operations of the Task Force are up to their mission (s) in this latest scamper. Starting out in Plovdiv, Bulgaria, the plot quickly thickens. A Nigerian named Usman Akimbo and a member of the Boko Haran, is recruited by the Russians to assist in a sinister plot. A portion of the team will go to Berlin and eventually on to Brazil in search of a lethal weapon of mass destruction.

The members of the Oversight Council for the Task Force once again have doubts about the Task Force. A special vote is needed to keep a "green light" on their current ops. Action will intensify with the added inclusion of the Israelis and a mole from long ago.

The high tech gadgetry that the team utilized is impressive. And, the skills of the members using improvisation when none is available shows the talent of this Task Force. Jennifer comes to my mind and more than once....

Russia's motive for getting the US involved in this fray rings so true - especially with the events in today's world.

Personally, I found it to be a fascinating read that was full of high octane energy! The entire novel was action packed on many fronts and the plot was outstanding. I loved the characters on my team and I despised the ones on the other side. The end of the mission in Brazil was a leap of "faith" and I loved that, as well.

Most highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent addition to the series, November 3, 2014
By 
J. Thompson "1758" (Kure Beach, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you like Vince Flynn or Brad Thor, they you will enjoy Brad Taylor's series. This sixth book in the Pike Logan series begins with the murder of the Israeli athletes at the 1972 Munich Olympics then shifts to present day Bulgaria where an Israeli Mossad agent is being passed information by a Russian defector and the taskforce team has surveillance on a Boko Haram terrorist. The main character in the story, Pike Logan, is unrelenting with his enemies while always pushing the envelope when it comes to 'doing the right thing' even when this brings him into conflict with his commander. This may seem dubious given that Pike is a long time soldier and a retired sergeant major but it goes to the heart of senior operators within tier 1 units. These individuals are looked upon to not only think for themselves but make critical decisions based on their knowledge of the 'ground truth.' Pike epitomizes that characteristic and given his success in the field gets away with it from his commander. Brad Taylor brings not only historical context into this thriller but technological innovations into the 'spy craft' game while maintaining his usual fast pace with plenty of action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shaking up the series (4.5 stars), July 16, 2014
By 
This review is from: Days of Rage: A Pike Logan Thriller (Hardcover)
Just when I thought Brad Taylor was running out of gas, telling a story that was too similar to other Taskforce novels, he decided to shake up the series. I won't say what happens, but it triggers the dark rage that Pike Logan thought his team member and lover Jennifer had tamed. The last half of the novel is intense.

Two storylines weave together. One involves Russia's FSB, which wants to send a Nigerian terrorist to execute a plan that is intended to damage the United States. The plan is farfetched but I guess I can accept that the FSB might believe it would work. When the FSB creates problems for the Taskforce, Pike Logan and his usual team members travel to Bulgaria to learn what the Nigerian is planning.

The other storyline involves Russian intelligence secrets that Mossad is trying to buy. A flash drive holding those secrets contains information that might be embarrassing to the United States government. Pike's team is redirected to recover the flash drive before Mossad can get it. As usual, Pike has his own agenda.

Pike pursuing an unauthorized mission of his own is beginning to feel like a formula but, so far, it is a successful formula. And as noted above, Taylor shakes up the formula with a surprising plot twist that forces Pike to realize how much he depends on Jennifer for a sense of balance while forcing Jennifer to realize how living a violent life is changing her in ways she fears.

As always, Taylor has a realistic and nuanced view of his heroes and villains. Taylor understands that the Taskforce would be called the "secret police" in other nations. Days of Rage illustrates our "confusing new world" in which allies and enemies are often difficult to distinguish. The tension between the interests of Mossad and those of the United States, as well as a debate about whether endless cycles of killing actually keep people safe, provide some of the novel's most interesting moments. Taylor's point of view is a refreshing break from the simplistic worldviews offered by too many thriller writers. I also appreciate the moral center that Jennifer brings to the story. Of course, the high tech gadgetry, fistfights, and chases are fun too. If I could, I would give Days of Rage 4 1/2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting better with age..., September 24, 2014
By 
David T. (Huntersville, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Days of Rage: A Pike Logan Thriller (Hardcover)
The Pike Logan series is one that I look forward to each year. The topics are relevant to the current day, and the characters are engaging. I especially liked the Israeli counterparts that were introduced in this book. It provided for a nice change of pace and gave some new working dynamics to the relationships.

This was well written, and the action flowed throughout the book as the plot unfolded.

The other aspect that I really enjoyed was that the threat was not of Afghani or Middle Eastern Islamic Jihad origins. Brad Taylor did a good job reminding the world that there are other real threats to our safety and security.

This was easily one of the top ten books I have read this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LIKE PIKE, September 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love Pike Logan and just finished all the full length Pike Logan books. Now, I am waiting for the next one. After Vince Flynn passed away last year I was in search of a new author in this genre. One of the authors I found was Brad Taylor. I love his style of writing and am very satisfied with his character and plot development. The action is very vividly described to the reader and draws one into the scene. As I said, I am waiting for the next installment. Thanks for being a quick writer...wish I wasn't such a quick reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Task Force Mission Complete, October 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Another excellent book from Mr Taylor. I very much enjoyed the storyline and the sub plots. I also enjoyed the weaving of the new characters, their development into the Task Force group. I fully expect to hear more from them in the future. Once again, the book flowed from one country to another seamlessly...and it was hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Brad Taylor Task Force Thriller, November 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great read even if a little complicated to follow at times with a variety of near east and Brazilian locations and near eastern, Russian, and Nigerian names and personalities to keep track of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good story, December 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First Brad Taylor book I have read story was pretty good but the timeline at the end was a little unreal. Overall a good story and enough to entice me to try another of his books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, December 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this series. I can't wait to get back to read each book since I discovered Brad Taylor. I hope he keeps writing many more Pike Logan books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Days of Rage is another full read. highly recommend this book to any thriller reader., December 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Recommend read, enjoyed every chapter to the parachuting end. Can only imagine what our special forces really deal with to keep us safe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Days of Rage: A Pike Logan Thriller
Days of Rage: A Pike Logan Thriller by Brad Taylor (Hardcover - July 15, 2014)
$26.95 $19.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.