Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic; adds dimension to the film
This is only the second soundtrack I've ever bought, and the first album I've ever had the desire to write a review for on Amazon. If you've seen (500) Days of Summer, you will likely have loved it and the dimension that music adds to the events that transpire on screen. In a nutshell, this soundtrack lets you relive the film on every listen while giving you the full...
Published on July 22, 2009 by Dima Spivak

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
The main movie song is not on this CD.
Published 2 months ago by Bruno


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic; adds dimension to the film, July 22, 2009
By 
Dima Spivak (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is only the second soundtrack I've ever bought, and the first album I've ever had the desire to write a review for on Amazon. If you've seen (500) Days of Summer, you will likely have loved it and the dimension that music adds to the events that transpire on screen. In a nutshell, this soundtrack lets you relive the film on every listen while giving you the full treatment of what the movie could only briefly sample (like The Temper Trap's brilliant "Sweet Disposition"). Like the film, this album effectively takes its audience on a rollercoaster ride from the highs of happiness (Hall & Oates) to the lows of blindsiding sadness (Regina Spektor on "Hero"). And yes, both songs by The Smiths from the movie are on this soundtrack, too (along with a cover of "Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want" by Zooey Deschanel's She & Him). Like the film, this is an album that is a pleasure to take in more than once, and will only further enhance your appreciation of the former.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far, this is my favorite movie soundtrack released in 2009, July 27, 2009
This review is from: (500) Days Of Summer-Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
The romantic comedy "(500) Days of Summer" starring Zooey Deschanel and Joseph-Gordon Levitt is a film that has garnered quite a bit of attention due to its music featuring many classic hits from The Smiths, Hall & Oates, Simon & Garfunkel but also contemporary hits from artists such as Regina Spektor, Meaghan Smith and even a track by Deschanel's band She & Him.

The music encompasses the rollercoaster emotions of Tom (Gordon-Levitt) as the hopeless romantic who falls in love with Summer (Deschanel) who doesn't believe in true love. Through the music of the film, you are taken through a journey through happiness and sadness courtesy of its diverse musical soundtrack.

The "(500) Days of Summer" soundtrack kicks off with a short instrumental track by Mychael Danna and Rob Simons titled "A Story of Boy Meets Girl" and transitions to Regina Spektor's whimsical piano/violin driven-track "Us". The soundtrack also features Spektor's all-piano based track "Hero".

The soundtrack features a good diversity of musical tracks which include the mesmerizing, depressing but yet one of my favorite songs from The Smiths - "There is a Light That Never Goes Out" by the Smiths and "Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I want" (which was featured on the 80's soundtrack "Pretty in Pink").

The fourth track "Bad Kids" is courtesy of flower-punk band Black Lips which has a musical flair and humor in its lyrics which for me, the track was reminiscent of The Ramones. While the sixth track "There Goes the Fear" features an alternative mid-tempo rock track which features dreamy guitars.

The seventh" track is the classic Hall & Oates hit "You Make My Dreams", an awesome song but an 80's track that offsets the musical consistency of the soundtrack. The eighth track "Sweet Disposition" comes from the popular Australian band, The Temper Trap (which was featured on the abc Family finale of "Greek" (Season 2) and Australian TV show "Underbelly: A Tale of Two Cities".

The ninth track "Quelqu'un M'a Dit" comes from popular singer/model and First Lady of France Carla Bruni (wife of French President Nicolas Sarkozy). The acoustic guitar track lends its romantic imprint on the soundtrack.

The tenth track "Mushaboom" is an earlier but still enjoyable hit song by the popular Canadian singer-songwriter, Feist and comes from her 2004 album "Let It Die".

The 12th track is a short song titled "Bookends" by music legends Simon & Garfunkel (from the duo's 1968 chart topping album "Bookends").

The 13th track "Vagabonds" comes from Australian rock band, Wolfmother and sports a little of their 60's psychedelic rock and 90's rock influence. While the 14th track "She's Got You High" brings a catchy UK rock feel by the defunct band Mumm-ra. The song was one of the band's hits from 2007 from their popular album "These Things Move in Threes" (their first and final full-length album).

The 15th track "Here Comes Your Man" by Meaghan Smith which gives her angelic vocal and musical spin to the 1989 hit song originally by The Pixies.

The soundtrack ends with She & Him's (which is an Indie folk and featuring actress Zooey Deschanel and musician M. Ward) version of The Smiths "Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want".

"(500) Days of Summer" is a wonderful soundtrack that features a good balance of upbeat and romantic classics to upbeat rock tracks. For those who found the musical experience of the film to be quite enchanting, the soundtrack features a very good collection of tracks.

The downside is that this is not a soundtrack that showcases a lot of new music and a lot of the tracks featured on this soundtrack are from previously released albums in the past by the artists and the bands featured.

But one of the positives about this soundtrack is that for those who felt close to the characters and perhaps identified with the film's storyline can definitely find themselves and literally be exposed to new music or artists/bands they have never been familiar with before. Personally, a soundtrack featuring the Smiths and Regina Spektor is a win-win for me and certain tracks on this album definitely opened to other artists that I have never heard of.

Definitely one of the most enjoyable soundtracks that I have listened to all year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreak that feels so good..., August 10, 2009
This review is from: (500) Days Of Summer-Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Quite possibly the best movie soundtrack since Garden State. The film is gorgeous but would not be the same without this amazing soundtrack. It will break your heart in the most beautiful way without the triteness of "emo."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great compilation for fans and others alike, January 19, 2010
This review is from: (500) Days Of Summer-Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
This soundtrack is great for two reasons:
#1: It's filled with great music! I would not only recommend this soundtrack to those who are fans of the film. So much talent ranging from the 80's English Indie rock group The Smiths, to more modern groups like Wolfmother, Carla Bruni, and Regina Spektor. Even if you are not familiar with these musicians, the talent is so evident through the music and lyrics of each track. This soundtrack is very well balanced with heartbreaking (seriously) tunes to more upbeat rock (not too heavy though).

#2: If you are a fan of the film, this compilation is for you. It's so hard to find good soundtracks these days, especially those that are consistent and keep you hooked. Although most of the music present on the soundtrack have been previously released on other albums, the theme of this film is still beautifully told through each track (whoever put this soundtrack together did a great job). The Smiths tell their side as "See the luck I've had, can turn a good man bad" to Wolfmother's intro as "This is a song of innocence lost".

Aside from the scenes running through your mind as you browse through the music, it's difficult to put aside one's own experiences and we ourselves are immersed. This could be the soundtrack to your own life.

Great music...great storyline...bottom line. Hope everyone enjoys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars (500) Days of Summer soundtrack, September 29, 2010
By 
Brianna Soloski (Las Vegas, NV United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: (500) Days Of Summer-Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
(500) Days of Summer was the feel good movie of 2009. Bringing together Zooey Deschanel and Joseph Gordon-Levitt as the requisite couple, this film tackles the ever-present issue of boy meets girl, with a twist in which the boy falls in love but the girl doesn't.

The soundtrack was just like the movie - light and airy. It is perfect for driving around with the top down on a warm summer night. The soundtrack provided a good mix of oldies (from the always popular Hall and Oates) and new music (from the ever talented Regina Spektor). The mix also includes a track from She & Him, the She being Ms. Deschanel, star of the film.

Opening with "A Story of Boy Meets Girl", we meet Tom and Summer. We find out when they meet and goes on to explain that it is a story of a boy meeting a girl, but it is not a love story. We move into Regina Spektor's "Us", about making a statue of lovers and how the tourists come to gawk at it. It also tells how they will name a city after the lovers. From there, the soundtrack flows right along with the rest of movie, taking us through the meeting and eventual romance of Tom and Summer.

Overall, the album provides a good backing track to the film, keeping it simple. There is nothing overdone here - no rising crescendos, nothing that sticks out from the premise of the film. Everything flows nicely and keeps things moving, but not so quickly that you can't enjoy the music for what it is. There is even a foreign language track from Carla Bruni to give the music a little international flair.

This is one album that will be on repeat all summer long - the songs are catchy and easy to sing along to.

Full Track Listing:

1. A Story of Boy Meets Girl - Mychael Danna and Rob Simenson
2. Us - Regina Spektor
3. There Is A Light That Never Goes Out - The Smiths
4. Bad Kids - Black Lips
5. Please, Please, Please, Let Me Get What I Want - The Smiths
6. There Goes the Fear - Doves
7. You Make My Dreams - Hall and Oates
8. Sweet Disposition - The Temper Trap
9. Quelqu'un m'a dit - Carla Bruni
10. Mushaboom - Feist
11. Hero - Regina Spektor
12. Bookends - Simon and Garfunkel
13. Vagabond - Wolfmother
14. She's Got You High - Mumm-Ra
15. Here Comes Your Man - Meaghan Smith
16. Please, Please, Please, Let Me Get What I Want - She & Him
17. Here Comes Your Man (Bonus Track) - Joseph Gordon-Levitt
18. Sugar Town (Bonus Track) - Zooey Deschanel
19. At Last (Bonus Track) - Kevin Michael
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Joyful Journey through Summer, August 11, 2010
By 
Travis Fish (Atlanta, Ga USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: (500) Days Of Summer-Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Not only was the movie "(500) Days of Summer" fantastic, so is the soundtrack. It is always enjoyable to listen through, whether to remind yourself of the whimsical story or to enjoy while trying to survive through another hour of traffic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it love it LOVE IT!, July 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: (500) Days Of Summer-Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
One of the best soundtracks EVER. Completely thrilled with it, as I was with the movie. Trust me, you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Subtle but effective, January 21, 2010
By 
This review is from: (500) Days Of Summer-Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
This soundtrack isn't really overpowering, but fits the movie well. The songs about love really fit the mood. Check out the movie first, and then see if you like the soundtrack enough to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great soundtrack and combo of music, December 29, 2009
By 
This review is from: (500) Days Of Summer-Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
i bought it a few weeks ago, i listen to it a lot in my car. i am probably close to wearing it out. whoever picked these songs was a genuis, they go so well with the movie, which is unique in it's own way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great soundtrack, December 22, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When watching the movie, you couldn't help but notice how the music went prefectly with the film. Everyone is great and price was more affordable than I-TUNES... This is a great soundtrack to listening to completely through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

(500) Days Of Summer-Music From The Motion Picture
(500) Days Of Summer-Music From The Motion Picture by Various Artist (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.