Customer Reviews


268 Reviews
5 star:
 (145)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the editorial review
This is a great movie for any Nascar fan. Make sure you totally disregard the "editorial review"
"With Days of Thunder, director Tony Scott tried to do for the Indy 500 what he did for the U.S. Air Force with Top Gun."
Days of Thunder tried to do for the DAYTONA 500, what he did for the US NAVY in Top Gun, Anyone who can't get that right,...
Published on March 22, 2002

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed with DVD
I loved this movie at the cinema and rushed to get it on DVD. So why is it grainy, with bad sound, no extras to speak of and just feels very poorly done. Really really disappointed with it and have taken it back to the shop for a refund. The studio have cheated the fans on this one!
Published on February 20, 2000 by quinny-nz


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the editorial review, March 22, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Days of Thunder (DVD)
This is a great movie for any Nascar fan. Make sure you totally disregard the "editorial review"
"With Days of Thunder, director Tony Scott tried to do for the Indy 500 what he did for the U.S. Air Force with Top Gun."
Days of Thunder tried to do for the DAYTONA 500, what he did for the US NAVY in Top Gun, Anyone who can't get that right, should not be reviewing movies..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SOUND, SOUND, SOUND, SOUND!!!!!!!!!, March 9, 2001
By 
Amazon Customer "idealboi" (Florence, AL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Days of Thunder (DVD)
First of all... The movie is quite good, with great performances from Robert Duval, Tom Cruise, and Nicole Kidman. The film has great racing footage (with a few inconsistencies) and is all in all, a good movie... Now let's talk about the DVD... This is one of the best sounding DVD's that I've ever put in to my home theater! The sound in the 5.1 surround sound will absolutely have you looking around for the race car!!!!! As "Cole Trickle" first gets in the car at the vacant raceway, test driving "Rowdy Burns'" car, you will absolutely be beside yourself!! The sound is unreal! You will love this DVD just for the fact of showing off your home theater to friends! The picture has a few flaws, but nothing too noticable! (mainly aspect ratio) That's what gave it the 4 stars instead of 5. Buy this DVD for your theater... You won't be disappointed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boxed up fun, January 15, 2000
By 
Lance Castellano (University Park, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Days of Thunder [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Okay, let's talk about plausibility for a minute here. People who don't like this movie seem to talk about the fact that the plot is implausible. How many movies today have plausible plots? Are you telling me that I shouldn't like Aliens because the plot is unreal? Yes, this movie does not have Academny Award winning acting or a thick and deep plot, but it serves the purpose it was made for -- to be a thriller. It combines suspense, action, and fun, and although it's not the best in any of these, it combines them seamlessly into an extremely fun ride. Personally, I just don't want to watch an epic everyday, and if you're looking for a REAL fun ride -- this is THE movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, great cast, fast action, December 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Days of Thunder (DVD)
Nascar films are tough because by nature the sport can be boring, but the cast and storyline here certainly engage the audience. The movie has great action and Tom Cruise's performance is great even if you aren't a fan of his. There are some classic one liners from Randy Quaid and other supporting cast and this is a must own for Nascar fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I don't expect Filet Mignot when I order a hamburger, January 10, 2000
This review is from: Days of Thunder [VHS] (VHS Tape)
If you go into this movie knowing that it's a "Top Gun" action packed need for speed kinda movie, than you'll be thrilled. If you expect Oscar performance than you'll be disappointed. This is a great movie for Lead Footers - good soundtrack and camera work that gets your heart pumping, especially if you get the DVD format matched with a decent Dolby Digital surround system. Perfect compliment to my DVD collections!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Steer Clear of the Wall, November 30, 2010
By 
Lei (Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Days of Thunder (DVD)
This movie basically demystified NASCAR racing for me. Quite a challenging sport. I was surprised that I actually enjoyed the movie. The relationship between Harry and Cole changes from frustration to understanding. Basically Harry became a father figure type for Cole, in my eyes. The cop scene was hilarious. Nice comical input which carries out with the doctor (which, as Cole, I thought was the same girl). I hate how Cole(Tom Cruise) gets side swiped by Burns facing the opposite direction, and then flips back around with ease. Who does that? Then Cole got into a nightmare of a wreck with Burns. I couldn't believe he survived that. Or that any of them survived that. That car was wrecked. Totaled, especially on the driver's side. Incredible stunts. The wheelchair race scene was hilarious. Burns and Cole raced every chance they got. "Male bonding". The drag racing was quite thrilling. ...and then we take a long pause to have a look at Tom Cruise and Nicole Kidman's budding romance. The sponsor, Tim, becomes a douche bag. Cole and the replacement guy, Russ, have a spat on the track, which destroys both cars. Now Cole is faced with a decision leading to the final climax. We are invited into a touching scene where Cole convinces Harry to allow him to race the car again. Words are exchanged with a scuffle of "male bonding". This is reminiscent of my adolescence, when I would try to get the car keys, and convince my parents I was a responsible driver...minus the bonding. Everyone gets back into gear and get's ready for Daytona. Cole and Harry knew the right formula for a perfect victory. My question is: could driving like that really be pulled off in actual races? I'm not so sure. Wouldn't every race car driver strive for a perfect ending such as this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars top gun, in a race car, January 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Days of Thunder (DVD)
lets face it people tom always plays the cocky gun in every movie he has played in. this movie is good (i liked it) but its like top gun with race cars, which doesn't make the movie bad just another "same part" played by tom (=
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed with DVD, February 20, 2000
This review is from: Days of Thunder (DVD)
I loved this movie at the cinema and rushed to get it on DVD. So why is it grainy, with bad sound, no extras to speak of and just feels very poorly done. Really really disappointed with it and have taken it back to the shop for a refund. The studio have cheated the fans on this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining race car drama, which is actually good., October 31, 2002
This review is from: Days of Thunder (DVD)
When a businessman by the name of Tim Daland (Randy Quaid) needs a new driver for the chance to win the Winston Cup at the Daytona 500. Tim is recruiting his old partner-Chef Crew and Car Builder Harry Hogge (Oscar-Winner:Robert Duvall) to train, young ambitious race driver Cole Trickle (Tom Cruise)-who has the talent for and his burning need to win for his life on the race. When one race, Cole's has survived for a fiery crash, a young brillant doctor (Nicole Kidman), who saved his life. When Cole actually falls in love with the Doctor. Then he puts all his energy, heart and soul to prove himself that he's a winner.
Directed by Tony Scott (Top Gun, Enemy of the State, Spy Game) actually made a fun (If at times-slow moving) flick. From a story by Oscar-Winner:Robert Towne and Cruise. Towne wrote the screenplay, which he acutally avoid most the chichés but it's quite flawed because of Cruise's one-note performance. It's the Performances from the Supportive Cast and Action Race Sequences outshines Cruise's Role, which is actually a good thing. Duvall is Solid as Usual and also Micheal Rooker as One of Cruise's race buddies are the stand-outs in this. Cary Elwes, Fred Dalton Thompson and a young John C. Reilly are in small roles in this one. This was a Box-Office Hit in the Summer of 1990. This is not, one of Cruise's Best films but is one of the few Stand-Out films from Scott. Watch for the late:Don Simpson (which he also produced this film in a cameo). Panavision. Grade:B+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Tom Cruise's better action films, December 29, 2000
By 
This review is from: Days of Thunder (DVD)
For this longtime Nascar Fan, many parts of the Days of Thunder movie was ridiculous. There were many things that happened in this film that just doenst happen in the true sport of stock car racing.
Aside from these inaccuracies, Days of Thunder is a pretty entertaining film, with a likeable cast and just enough drama, action and humor to round it out nicely.
The DVD is far more enjoyable than the VHS version. The video is crisp, and the sound is phenomenal. If you want to show off your new DVD player, play this movie for your friends, they will be amazed at how great it sounds. When the engines are first fired up, your living room will explode with loud rumbling engines. This is what DVD is meant for.
The DVD is lacking on extras. It has scene selections and the movie trailer and thats about it, but the video and sound really make this DVD worth buying without needing all of those extras.
Bottomline, Days of Thunder is a good movie, and a better DVD!! Its well worth buying!
Recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Days Of Thunder [Blu-ray]
Days Of Thunder [Blu-ray] by Tony Scott (Blu-ray - 2008)
$14.97 $8.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.