Customer Reviews


1,625 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,382)
4 star:
 (193)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


873 of 909 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A step above the run of the mill games
This is an excellent game for 2-5 players, and especially for kids. I was initially put off by the theme and the mentioning of winning the $1 million dollar prize on the advertisement. I immediately thought there would be paper money involved and it would be like Monopoly where I would have to be a banker,,,and yech. But no, I was WRONG. There is no fake money...
Published on March 10, 2005 by Jadecat

versus
52 of 61 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad.. but I've played better.
PROS: Easy game to learn, Educational for US. Geography, Moderate luck factor.
CONS: Not recommended for avid game players. Only moderate strategy.

Ticket to ride is fun, it's got some strategy to it, but I've played better. In fact, the European version adds a few more variants that greatly improve on the game. I would recommend this game for beginners...
Published on July 5, 2011 by Thos003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Monopoly, December 12, 2004
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This deserves its Game of the Year award at this year's Spiele. I think it's the best intro to the "European" or "Family Strategy" board game category since Settlers of Catan. It's less complex than Monopoly, takes less than an hour to play generally, and teaches a little geography to boot. Like most games in the category it does not suffer from the 'behind the eight ball' syndrome and become boring if you're losing. Players usually are running neck and neck up until the final moves.

If you're a gamer and haven't checked out some of the great new board games that have appeared over the last decade, this is a perfect introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but don't love it, April 17, 2013
By 
Jeff Landauer (Santa Clara, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ticket To Ride (Toy)
The game itself is OK. It's simple and easy to explain, and there are some interesting interactions. I do enjoy the geography aspect of it.

My first complaint is the game play seems a little too slow. In our games, we probably all spend around 10 - 15 turns at the beginning just taking cards, building up massive hands that are difficult to hold and sort. Taking train cards 2 at a time, with 8 different colors, it just takes such a long time to get the 5 cards of one color you want to start laying track. It seems like the 5 face up cards quickly get to being 5 cards that no one wants, so they just sit there unused for the most part. People build up massive hands because they are hesitant to reveal where they are going until they can build multiple routes at once, for fear of starting, then getting blocked.

My second complaint is that the plastic train pieces are cheap and too light. Because they are so small and light, they are a little difficult for an adult to manipulate. I would have much preferred painted wooden pieces like the roads in Settlers or the pieces in Agricola. These plastic train pieces just give an overall below average tactile experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal combination of strategy and luck, April 17, 2006
By 
R. Spaulding (Providence, RI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Like most of the "classic" games (Risk, Monopoly, etc.), this game is relatively easy to learn and has that elusive perfect combination of strategy and luck that makes it so much fun to play. There are also several different legitimate strategies you can use, which always makes for a more interesting game. Unlike Risk and Monopoly, though, it doesn't take a week to play -- more like an hour. This game works well with lots of different ages and groups and is almost as much fun to play with two players as it is with four or five. This is my new favorite game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, January 18, 2008
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Played this game first with our daughter and son-in-law. Good way to spend a cold Sunday afternoon. However, they had the Europe version, we ordered the US. The Europe version was a little more challenging, more interesting. (Tunnels and ferries.) If playing with younger children, the U.S. version would be great. We preferred the Europe version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ticket To Ride is clever while being fun, December 1, 2004
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Ticket to ride can be played from 3 players on up and has quite a bit of strategy needed to win. However if you are young, you can still play by tying to create just the trips you get. The game will start slow, but the choice of one of three actions you can do can make turns happen quickly once everyone understands the basic rules.

As you get better at the game you find that there several different methods you can use to win, such as picking up extra trips, having the longest continuous train(or route). Hiding where you want to go, or trying to create the longing train from several directions at once.

With all the pieces in the game (each player starts with 45 train pieces) there is the possibility that you may loose some of the them. Its all ok as long as everyone starts with the same number of train elements. You can modify the game to make it go faster by having less pieces be used and can even do a team type game where you split a color between two team mates.

The counter board for the score that goes around the table is clever and works very well. It makes keeping track of the score counting easier..

Its a very good game to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome!, October 20, 2006
A Kid's Review
This is my favorite game of all time. This is the kind of game my family and i love to play at our beach house every morning. It's a great family game. Really for no one over mabye seven. I recomend this to any family who loves a great game to play with the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb game, February 2, 2005
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
I can't say enough good things about this game. The rules are simple & quality of the game pieces is very high.

Despite its recommendation of 8 yrs+, my 6-yr (train buff) son loves it. If you are trying to decide: The child needs limited reading skills, i.e., to read a city name on a card and associate with the name on the map (you can help them and the game still can be fun).

This is the first adult-type game I can play with my son. The 1st few games we played with open cards and I had to help him, but he soon learned enough to make his own decisions. Game play is fast and we often play 2 games in a row.

Although simple to play, there is much strategy to the game. My son & I continue to hone our skills (this keeps the game interesting, even for me). The game actually has an element of excitement when your near the end and wonder whether you'll be able to complete all your routes. We sometimes play day after day w/o getting bored.

As a parent, another nice thing about the game is you can unobtrusively let your child win without them knowing you did so (it's not like most kid's games that are purely based on chance and are therefore are "hard to lose.")

The main educational element is that game play requires thinking about the future and visualizing how to route your trains (how many games that a 6 yr old can play require such thinking?). It also teaches basic US/Southern Canada geography. The only downside is that game requires much card shuffling. Despite that the cards are laminated, we play so much we may wear them out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to learn, fun to master, February 24, 2005
By 
Birdies Mama (Milwaukee, WI, USA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This is a "Best Game" winner for a reason. It plays equally well with two to four players. You can play five, but the gameplay gets a little long, and your desired paths are more easily clogged up.

We LOVE this game! It's well made, with an oversize game board map of U.S. and Canada. You get plastic trains in five colors, wagon cards (used to claim your routes), and secret destination tickets which score you bonus points.

The game has subtle intricacies, and you'll have fun developing your own strategies. You get points by claiming routes between cities. Points are somewhat exponential--a two-wagon route is worth two points while a six-wagon route lands you 15 points.

You also score with destination tickets. Complete your destinations and earn the points (ranging from four points to 21 for a cross-country route). But, if you don't connect the two cities on your destination ticket, those points are DEDUCTED from your score! Players reveal their destination tickets at the end of the game. You can also try to foil your opponents by claiming routes that interfere with where you think they are trying to go.

The game maker, Days of Wonder, provides a lively online gaming community. You get an online code with your purchase, so you can play this fun game (and other Days games) online whenever you want. This is an awesome feature we use almost daily. The game is quite popular in Europe. I once played an online game (I am in U.S.) with a French person, German, Australian, and Pakistani. What fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Game Experience, November 23, 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Incredible game for almost any age group. This board game has everything going for it. It is a great deal of fun, as each new game requires a different strategy from the last. The overall strategy tendencies are difficult to master, and after having played this game 50 times or more, I am still trying to decide the best strategic approach. It is very easy to learn, and after one play through you will never need to look at the rules again. The game is expertly constructed using materials that will not break or wear at any time in the near future. I plan to realistically have played this game thousands of times before any pieces need fixed/replaced. A group of my friends have a movie/game night once every week, and this seems to be the one game that everyone is always in the mood for.

Overall, a great value for the price. Great gameplay, and loads of fun! Fun for gamers and non-gamers, as I have not found anyone that dislikes this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Game, Can't Go Wrong With This!!, June 2, 2005
By 
Christine Biancheria (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This is an absolutely wonderful game. I own about 300 games, and would easily put this up in the top ten of them. It's great for kids and adults, it's easy to learn and explain, it looks great, it doesn't take too long, it's a great combination of luck and strategy, it plays great with 2 through 5 people .... I could go on and on. But why take up your time when you could be BUYING THIS GAME!! Congratulations to Amazon and Toys R Us for noticing this gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ticket To Ride
Ticket To Ride by Days of Wonder
$49.99 $32.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.