Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for physician
This was my preferred physical exam test. Use Bates as a quick intro, then use DeGowin to understand the physiology and learn the eponyms. If you read this, you can definately impress on internal medicine rounds. Classic classic classic. The next book to get would be Sapira's. After you read that, you'll be the "Classic" physician with superb diagnostic skills...
Published on September 25, 2006 by Flying Saucer

versus
5 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Riddled with mistakes!
I was surprised at the number of mistakes in the book. For example, the wrist diagram (and text) mislabeled the scaphoid bone as the navicular bone. Now this may seem like a little mistake, but the scaphoid is the bone most often fractured in the wrist. Just try telling your attending that you patient fractured their navicular bone... he or she will laugh at you! Any...
Published on March 18, 2007 by Sonia Sharma


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for physician, September 25, 2006
This review is from: DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination (Paperback)
This was my preferred physical exam test. Use Bates as a quick intro, then use DeGowin to understand the physiology and learn the eponyms. If you read this, you can definately impress on internal medicine rounds. Classic classic classic. The next book to get would be Sapira's. After you read that, you'll be the "Classic" physician with superb diagnostic skills.

DeGowin isn't for everyone though, so remember....When Degowin gets tough, the tough master Bate's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carpal Navicular = Scaphoid, July 11, 2007
This review is from: DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination (Paperback)
I can understand why Sonia said what she did, as I have seen "scaphoid" used more often. However, "navicular" is not wrong. Per Gray's Anatomy etc., this most commonly fractured wrist bone is indeed sometimes referred to as "navicular" or "carpal navicular" in the literature. I do not understand why she feels the book is "riddled with errors". If so, I'd like them pointed out or be referred to errata for it. It's a thorough, highly educational but portable resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "Must Have", September 30, 2006
By 
Mary Surman (Baton Rouge, Louisiana United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination (Paperback)
This is a great reference book to have in your library. I use it almost every day. Very well organized and complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource!, October 28, 2007
By 
This review is from: DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination (Paperback)
This is a great book for learning more about the physical exam. In addition to the basic exam, there are all kinds of special signs and tests. The author explains the pathophysiology and differential diagnosis for all of these. Overall, very helpful as a reference or to read straight through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book... would like more pictures, September 2, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination (Paperback)
I guess you can never have it both ways... comprehensive and full of pictures... anyways, I love the book so far, only flaw is I wish they had key lab values to go along with certain diseases so you could correlate your exam with a cellular disease mechanism... but I guess thats what med school is for... overall great book... A perfect addition to bates... I have only just purchased it so I do not know how many inaccuracies, but from the format I assume the authors are thoughtful and dedicated and errors will be far and few between. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination, February 16, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination (Paperback)
This book is a good resource. It was recommended to me by NP.

thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination (Paperback)
detailed info!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Riddled with mistakes!, March 18, 2007
This review is from: DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination (Paperback)
I was surprised at the number of mistakes in the book. For example, the wrist diagram (and text) mislabeled the scaphoid bone as the navicular bone. Now this may seem like a little mistake, but the scaphoid is the bone most often fractured in the wrist. Just try telling your attending that you patient fractured their navicular bone... he or she will laugh at you! Any undergrad human anatomy student should catch this mistake! I was hoping the physical exams were more complete. Some common exams were left out of the book. I concur with the reviewer that Bates or Mosby should be used first. This way, you won't look stupid in front of an attending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination by Donald Brown (Paperback - March 26, 2004)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.