Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job for small rooms
Picked this up a few weeks ago when it first showed up because my old space heater had a VERY noisy fan, and no thermostat for auto-shutoff.

It saw its first use over the last few days when I intentionally kept the thermostat for the home's heating a bit low, and turned this on in the specific room that was occupied. Not bad - warms up quickly, oscillates...
Published on October 16, 2006 by Ashu M

versus
46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Extremely stupid control logic
This heater works reasonably well, it's not too noisy on the LOW setting, but it's electronic control is designed extremely bad. First of all it has three operational modes: LOW, HIGH and AUTO. Low uses half of its heating power and runs the fan on a slower and quieter speed. High - uses full power and is the noisiest. Thermostat setting/operation is not available nether...
Published on November 11, 2006 by Jake


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Extremely stupid control logic, November 11, 2006
By 
Jake "jake" (SF Bay Area, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DeLonghi TCH6590ER Ceramic Tower Heater (Kitchen)
This heater works reasonably well, it's not too noisy on the LOW setting, but it's electronic control is designed extremely bad. First of all it has three operational modes: LOW, HIGH and AUTO. Low uses half of its heating power and runs the fan on a slower and quieter speed. High - uses full power and is the noisiest. Thermostat setting/operation is not available nether under low nor under high mode.

On Auto mode you can set the desired temperature and the heater will do a reasonably good job of maintaining the set temperature, but - when it's on Auto mode the heater runs on it's full power and becomes noisy.

There is no way to make use of the thermostat with the low heating power.

I think that most people would actually want to use Auto mode with the low power, especially if they use the heater in a bedroom, but some genius at DeLonghi decided to save a few cents by not providing this option.

The heater also 'forgets' your last Auto temperature setting after you switch it off and defaults to 75, so every time you switch it on again you have to adjust temperature - pretty annoying IMO. In spite of the fact that I got it pretty cheap (under 40), it's going back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job for small rooms, October 16, 2006
This review is from: DeLonghi TCH6590ER Ceramic Tower Heater (Kitchen)
Picked this up a few weeks ago when it first showed up because my old space heater had a VERY noisy fan, and no thermostat for auto-shutoff.

It saw its first use over the last few days when I intentionally kept the thermostat for the home's heating a bit low, and turned this on in the specific room that was occupied. Not bad - warms up quickly, oscillates smoothly, accurate sensor (double checked against Oregon Sci. homewide system) and changes temperature in a medium-sized room reasonably quickly. Also very quick to turn off when it reaches the right temperature (in its proximity at least, doesn't guarantee it has heated the entire room to the set temp, of course - compensate by setting it another degree or two higher). By forcing it to make up for around a 2-3 degree delta below my comfort zone (homewide setting kept 2-3 lower than I'd like), this stayed on for barely 20-25% of the time and kept me comfortable in a 12x18ish room with medium-high (10 foot) ceilings. Fan noise somewhat noticeable ... since this room was my (above ground) basement level and serves as my home theatre/office ... but it isn't too loud for ME to fall asleep. YMMV!

For the price I got it (under 40), not bad! At the current price, it's a wash, and noise sensitive folks may want to consider the oil-filled radiator style heaters instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gets the job done, but is a little noisey and lacks some functionality, April 30, 2007
By 
D. Wichmann (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DeLonghi TCH6590ER Ceramic Tower Heater (Kitchen)
I purchased this heater because our house has wall heaters out in the hallway and in the living room, but none in the bedroom. So on cold nights we'd have to leave the bedroom door open and use the hallway heater to heat the hallway, and in turn the rest of the house - not very economical.

The good:

** Remote control is handy

** Puts out plenty of heat to heat a medium sized bedroom

** Noise level is okay on the low heat setting

** Lighted lcd makes reading the settings easy at night, but turns off after a few seconds so it doesn't light up the room

The bad:

** As others have reviewed, the thermostat feature is great but the heater only operates in high heat mode when you have the thermostat feature enabled; in which the fan speed is high, and if you are a light sleeper like me it's enough to wake you (my wife slept right through it).

** It has no memory, so when you power it off, and back on, it forgets what mode it was in and what temperature it was set on; not a big deal though because you can turn it on and set the mode/temp in a snap w/ the remote.

** When in thermostat mode the temperature seems to vary a bit. The manual claims it will heat to 2 degrees above your setting, then turn off until it gets to 2 degrees below your setting. So basically +/- 2 degrees, but it feels like more than that.

Bottom line: If you don't care about a little noise and temperature variance, it has lots of other great features and gets the job done. However, I did end up returning this and got the silent Honeywell wall heater which I'm very happy with, mainly due to the silence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality Ceramic Heater With Comforting Safety Features, January 9, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DeLonghi TCH6590ER Ceramic Tower Heater (Kitchen)
Many people have complained about the temperature control of this heater. It is true that the unit runs at high heat/speed when the auto temperature control mode is selected, but that doesn't bother me whatsoever. My wife and I use this heater in a downstairs master bedroom; just to take the chill out of the air in the early morning or late evening hours. The unit heats up our 16'x14' room very quickly and produces very little noise. The remote control is an awesome inclusion, and the oscillating feature is very useful as well.

Pros
****
- High and Low temperature settings (with associated high and low fan speeds)
- Fully automatic temperature control mode
- Tower oscillates on base to spread the heat throughout the room
- Full-featured remote control included (batteries for remote also included)
- Backlit LCD display shows current temperature, selected temperature, mode of operation, and timer setting (when in use)
- Overtemp protection shuts off heater automatically if it gets too hot!
- Tip-over protection shuts off heater if unit is tipped even slightly
- Handy timer control lets you select how long you wish for the heater to operate
- Front of heater remains cool enough to prevent burns if accidentally touched
- Quiet operation should prevent disruption of sleep for all but the lightest sleepers
- Built-in handle makes it easy to move from room to room
- Small footprint takes up very little space (tucks nicely into a corner)

Cons
****
- Tip-over protection is very touchy; shuts off heater if the unit is barely bumped
- Backlighting for LCD only remains lit for a few seconds, making it very hard to read the dark display
- Large red LED light indicates unit is plugged in rather that showing if unit is actually on
- Tower base is not weighted nearly enough to prevent unit from easily tipping

I guess the fact that the auto temperature control can only be used in high mode can be considered a con, but it really isn't a bother for my wife and I. The low setting produces far less heat and would require the heater to run much longer anyway, so it only makes sense to have the unit running in high heat mode to raise the room temperature as quickly as possible. Also, the actual environment temperature is measured at the top of the heater itself, which of course is going to register warmer than most of the rest of the room it is heating. Therefore the heater tends to shut off (when in full-auto mode) before the room has reached the desired temperature, as the area close to the unit warms up enough to satisfy the thermostat quite quickly. The front of the unit does get fairly hot, and I would not recommend touching the metal grille while the unit is running, but it doesn't get hot enough to burn you if you accidently touch it briefly. The front grille cools down very quickly after the unit is shut off, so it is perfectly safe to touch just seconds after it powers down.

Overall this DeLonghi Ceramic Tower Heater is a good buy. It has the important safety features that cautious consumers desire, and the included remote control and oscillating feature make this heater efficient and very easy to use and control. I also find this heater quite stylish and high tech looking. It warms the surrounding air quickly and the fan is fairly quiet. I think most people would be very pleased with this heater.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great heat, November 27, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DeLonghi TCH6590ER Ceramic Tower Heater (Kitchen)
I couldn't believe the earlier reviews. This is a very quiet item, and puts out great heat. The remote is great. I have this in my bedroom, which is quite large, and it will heat it up completely in about 20 minutes. If I need heat when I am in bed, I just use the remote until it warms up.
I have always been satisfied with Delonghi products and would recommend this one to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Outstanding Heater, November 14, 2007
By 
Herman King (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DeLonghi TCH6590ER Ceramic Tower Heater (Kitchen)
I've owned quite a few electric heaters in my time but this one is by far THE BEST of any heater I've ever owned. You can set the heater to turn own when the temperature drops below a certain point. Say you set it for 70 degrees, anytime the room you've left it in falls below that temperature the heat automatically turns it's self on, & then off again once it's reached that temperature. No more worrying about the heater being left on while you're at work because it also has a overheat protection feature as well as a tip over feature. For the money this heater is absolutely great, but don't take my word for it buy one for yourself & you'll see what I'm talking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works well for a medium room, November 28, 2006
This review is from: DeLonghi TCH6590ER Ceramic Tower Heater (Kitchen)
I use it in my 14x12 room and it works reasonably well. Thermostat

measures temp. around unit so it is not very accurate, better to set

it a bit higher or use the timed mode. The dry heat it produces is

annoying and I need to use a humidifier also but that's not a problem

specifically with this heater, most heaters are that way.

The heat is dissipated via an internal fan, this is not obvious from

the description on the packaging.

Got it at Costco for $38, why pay more? Good bang for the buck. I have

used it for just two weeks, don't know about reliability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very intelligent control design!, December 17, 2009
This review is from: DeLonghi TCH6590ER Ceramic Tower Heater (Kitchen)
Well first off, you can't beat the price.
Something that really attracted my to purchase the heater was the automatic controls. However, they are not designed / thought out very well. The biggest letdown is that every time you turn the power off, the set temperature and mode are forgotten and reset (at next power on) to 75 degrees & high power mode! so that you have to mess around each time you turn it on to set the right temperature. Switching power on and off should not effect the mode or temp. settings. There is a large red pilot light that stays on ALL THE TIME, (as long as the unit is plugged in) this seems rather stupid to me, I would much rather have an indication of power (On/Off) state of the unit so that I know that it will come on in auto mode when necessary. For some reason the controls are designed so that the LCD back light goes off after a delay without pressing buttons, so that's not an indicator of power on state ether and leaving it on would make reading the LCD much easier. (It's not like you need to save battery power or anything) A little creativity in the engineering department would have gone a long way!
All that said, the heater does heat the room well. and make the electric meter go-round. If the control functionality (or lack of) doesn't bother you, I would recommend this otherwise good product. If things like the control operation might annoy you, be careful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Little Heater, February 15, 2007
By 
This review is from: DeLonghi TCH6590ER Ceramic Tower Heater (Kitchen)
This item was a good investment. Works very well in a bedroom...but not that good in a room as large as a living room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have 3 of these!, October 12, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DeLonghi TCH6590ER Ceramic Tower Heater (Kitchen)
I have purchaed threee of these heaters and I love them. I have a 2 year old and the key is safety. This heater is super efficient, yet completely safe with kids. They can't get burned by touching it. The design is fantastic and clean. The remote is great. Great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

DeLonghi TCH6590ER Ceramic Tower Heater
Used & New from: $39.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.