Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 74 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated Movie
This halloween, I've been waxing nostalgic by collecting by collecting a lot of old, little-known horror movies that scared me as a kid. Back in the late 70's/early 80's there really wasn't much out there so viewers who allow a little leeway for the time it was released will find a lot to appreciate in this movie.
Dead and Buried stars James Farentino as Sheriff Dan...
Published on October 26, 2002 by Derek G

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very watchable horror film
I did like this film and I just watched it for the second time. I give it a very solid 3 stars. But I'm puzzled by the other reviews. I would give Alien 4 stars and Aliens 5 stars. This film does not reach those lofty heights. Even though it's encoded for 7.1 sound, I didn't hear much coming from the surrounds. And while it may be in high-def, it is rather grainy...
Published on January 3, 2010 by Paul Hite


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 74 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated Movie, October 26, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead and Buried [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This halloween, I've been waxing nostalgic by collecting by collecting a lot of old, little-known horror movies that scared me as a kid. Back in the late 70's/early 80's there really wasn't much out there so viewers who allow a little leeway for the time it was released will find a lot to appreciate in this movie.
Dead and Buried stars James Farentino as Sheriff Dan Gillis who becomes bewildered by a series of bizarre and brutal murders happening to visitors of his small, seaside town. The plot thickens due to the quick dismissal of the murders by Gillis' wife (played by Melody Anderson - anyone remember Flash Gordon?) and soon the sheriff starts to wonder if she is involved somehow. To make matters worse, townspeople start reporting sightings of the murdered long after they've been "dead and buried."
The story is adequate with a number of twists thrown in. Skilled horror buffs may feel let down with the ending, but I think it's due to the fact many other movies have ripped off this plot line since the movie was released. What really separates this movie from the rest is the disturbing methods these people are murdered, with frequent cuts to dozens of people surrounding and photographing the helpless victims. The murders look especially realistic for the time (although, granted a little dated now) due to makeup effects of Stan Winston who has since worked on other "little-known" releases like Predator, Edward Scissorhands, the Jurassic Park series, and the Terminator series.
You'll be lucky to run across a copy of this movie in a video store. Should you buy it? If you're a fan of the genre and movies made in this time period, such as The Funhouse, My Bloody Valentine, or Halloween, then I'd say yes.
Hope the review helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo Blue Underground!, February 6, 2009
By 
Timothy Ramzyk (Milwaukee, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead & Buried [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
In the sea of forgettable FRIDAY THE 13th sequels and clones came this little creative and disturbing gem from the early 80's wave of gruesome horror.

Several people passing through the quaint and picturesque town of Potter's Bluff die terrible, violent deaths only to turn up as upstanding members of the community days later. What's going on? Well, I wouldn't dream of telling, but you'll have a lot of fun finding out.

Blue Underground bravely chose to bring DEAD AND BURIED to blu-ray in spite of it's low-budget and humble production values. Visually, the result may not be on a par with some glossy production shot yesterday, but it nonetheless faithfully reproduces the imagery of this film as it originally appeared, and this is the best you are ever likely to see DEAD AND BURIED look. I had the deluxe DVD treatment, and this Blu-ray is IMO a worthy upgrade of a great little shocker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead and Buried - Blu-ray Info, February 15, 2009
This review is from: Dead & Buried [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Version: U.S.A / Blue Underground / Region A, B, C
Aspect ratio: 1.85:1
VC-1 BD-50 / AACS / Advanced Profile 3
Running time: 1:33:59
Feature size: 29,73 GB
Disc size: 33,48 GB
Total bit rate: 42.18 Mbps
Average video bit rate: 32.22 Mbps

DTS-HD Master Audio English 2497 kbps 7.1 / 48 kHz / 2497 kbps / 16-bit (DTS Core: 5.1 / 48 kHz / 1509 kbps / 16-bit)
Dolby TrueHD Audio English 2664 kbps 7.1 / 48 kHz / 2664 kbps / 16-bit (AC3 Core: 5.1-EX / 48 kHz / 448 kbps)
Dolby Digital EX Audio English 448 kbps 5.1-EX / 48 kHz / 448 kbps
Dolby Digital Audio English 192 kbps 2.0 / 48 kHz / 192 kbps
Dolby Digital Audio English 192 kbps 2.0 / 48 kHz / 192 kbps
Dolby Digital Audio English 192 kbps 2.0 / 48 kHz / 192 kbps

Subtitles: English SDH, French, and Spanish
Number of chapters: 24

#Audio Commentaries
#Stan Winston's Dead and Buried EFX (17 min)
#Robert Englund: An Early Work of Horror (12 min)
#Dan O'Bannon: Creating Fear (14 min)
#Trailers (5 min)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SAY CHEESE!, December 26, 2007
By 
This review is from: Dead and Buried (DVD)
WOW! What a great birthday present I bought myself. It was
my B-Day yesterday and I wanted to (trick or)treat myself
to the best gift I could think of...A HORROR MOVIE! But what
to buy??? I do see they have the ULITIMATE EDIT. of EVIL DEAD
and now they release a two disc. of HELLRAISER. But I own
both those classics on single disc. I want something new
and GREAT I had not seen in HORROR! Well as I scanned the
D-Section in HORROR my finger hit DEAD & BURIED! hmmmmmm.
I remember seeing this on SHOWTIME a loooong time ago and
really not liking it. I felt I should give it another shot
(I LOVE TYPING THAT...ANOTHER SHOT,OH! SORRY)anyway to
give it another try so on a whim I bought it. First off
the music in this is great!!!! HUGE plus in Clint's book
also the directing and acting are great. It starts off
with a man taking pic. of the beach when a woman appears
out of nowhere and heavily flirts with him. All the sudden while
he gets ready to kiss her a group of people come and beat the man
to a pulp. They then throw over him a fishing net and light him
on fire all the while there taking pic.of him. This really sucks
you in the first 5 min. of the movie for some of the towns people
who are participating in this murder have the faces you'd trust
watching your children. later in the movie the man they murdered
turns up A O.K.??? Is he a GHOST is it WITCHCRAFT is he a ZOMBIE
WHAT??? I am not telling for you really need to watch this movie.
All I can say is what a B-Day treat to not only watch a HORROR
movie I had not seen but one that is great! I proudly have
DEAD AND BURIED in my 1981 coll. with THE BEYOND-THE BURNING
PROWLER-ANTHROPOPAGUS-THE LIVING DEAD GIRL and TENEBRAE
Buy this movie for it is BURY good(sic)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars welcome to potter's bluff,we want you to stay...............forever!!!, May 20, 2006
i first saw this grim little shocker on cable in the 80's and thought it was great. this 2 disc set is very much worth the price and has a wealth of extras.

potter's bluff is a small town with a problem,people keep getting killed in very bad ways,only later to show up as townfolk.sheriff dan gillis is at a lose to explain this and the more he digs the less he likes this little problem.

the transfer is great and this little shocker will keep you guessing til the very end(and what an end)!! so if you like your horror movies that are a little out of the normal you'll like this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An underrated classic!, January 31, 2004
By 
John Lindsey "John" (Socorro, New Mexico USA.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Set in the town of Potter's Bluff where it seems like a nice little town to stay, mysterious murders and graverobbings have occured. A baffled Sherrif with the help of a local Mortician ( Jack Albertson) investigate these bizarre cases, but they figured out that it's caused by corpses that have been brought back to life by voodoo reanimation.
A brilliant, original and startling shocker from Dan O'Bannon ( Writer of "Heavy Metal", "Alien" and " Total Recall"), the gore effects with zombie effects by Stan Winston are quite good especially the infamous needle through the eyeball scene which rivals the splinter scene in "Zombie", good acting, creepy atmosphere, cool zombies, Robert Englund ( a.k.a. Freddy Krueger) and Barry Corbin from Critters 2 co-stars, and a shocking twist in the end.
The DVD is quite excellent in sound quality and picture, the film is fully uncut and uncensored and the extras are out of this world. I recommend this movie to fans of horror and zombie flicks but not for the faint hearted.
Also recommended: Burial Ground, Resident Evil, Dead Heat, From Dusk Till Dawn, Phantasm, Suspiria, Total Recall, Return of the Living Dead, The Serpent and The Rainbow, Re-Animator, City of the Living Dead, Nightmare City, Return of the Living Dead 3, Invasion of the Body Snatchers, The Stuff, Lifeforce, Dawn of the Dead, Day of the Dead, Let Sleeping Corpses Lie, Zombie, House by the Cemetery, and The Beyond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent horror movie goes blu ray., May 10, 2009
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead & Buried [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
"Dead and buried" was a hit book before it was made into movie and released in 1980. The book wasn't even that old when the flick came out. And the movie was successful because it was well done and very effective in following the books story. It wasn't a drive in b movie cheapie in it's day either it was put out to compete with other higher budget studio efforts and did a good job because it's a great story. The blu ray version only improves the viewing pleasure of this movie. And the ending is still shocking today if you haven't seen the movie before. All the actors are first class and are way above the b movie level (which has it's own level of ratings and charm) that most horror films were at. James Farentino and Jack Albertson really do a excellent job in this movie and the supporting cast shines as well. The effects are from the early 1980's era but still effective and complement the story very well. Blu ray is the only way to go on this movie even though the standard version is excellent as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very watchable horror film, January 3, 2010
By 
Paul Hite (Ashburn, Va USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead & Buried [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I did like this film and I just watched it for the second time. I give it a very solid 3 stars. But I'm puzzled by the other reviews. I would give Alien 4 stars and Aliens 5 stars. This film does not reach those lofty heights. Even though it's encoded for 7.1 sound, I didn't hear much coming from the surrounds. And while it may be in high-def, it is rather grainy. This is not real surprising with a film this old. But advertising it as high-def with 7.1 sound creates expectations which are not met. The film billed itself as being made by the folks who made Alien. Again, it is raising expectations needlessly. People are going to expect a film equal to Alien in gorgeous hi-def with stunning 7.1 surround sound. This film can't deliver that. But it is a very good grade B horror film and it is worth watching several times.

The cast is very strong. It is cool to see a young Robert Englund. And Jack Albertson's performance as the undertaker is worth an Academy Award. James Farentino never wins any awards but he never delivers a bad performance either. It was good to see him again. Also the film is now a period piece due to its age. It was fun watching the sheriff (or his aide) use a telex to investigate. And we have great fx for a low budget pre-cgi film. The story made no sense, but that is often the case with horror.

So yes, it's a nice 3 star horror film, not another Alien.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow....another old-time horror gem, September 21, 2006
By 
Laz (Vegas, NV) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead and Buried (DVD)
Very pleasantly surprised with this gem. Kind of reminds me of a cross between "The Fog" and other movies whereby a group or town is like a cult pursuing their own little game.....well acted...well paced....great scenery...excellent screenplay...great topic...well cast...very little to complain about...the only problem I found with it at all, and it is so minor, and it's only this one thing, is how fake the doctor's head looked when he snorted acid...lol....other than that the movie is an A+ all the way through.....keeps you surprised throughout...never predictable....very original and a brand new take on zombies, which are an evil group I never much cared for to begin with. No longer the slow methodical harmless type zombies of the past. What makes these so deadly is that they never appear to be zombies at all. Also look for small bit parts from Robert Englund and Michael Pataki and a great performance from Jack Albertson in his last role. Great job by the people in charge. Well done! Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cult Film gets nice treatment!, September 27, 2003
By A Customer
I watched this on cable in the 80's and the ending really did surprise me. Local Small town Sheriff has bodies turning up all around him, he fears his wife may be involved somehow, and the local Coroner is a complete Loon. The atmospere in Potter's Bluff is creepy, and there are some very shocking moments to say the least. Overall a highly entertaining movie, especially if you are a fan of low budget 80's horror films - this one is a must see. The 2 disc DVD is nothing but Superb, from the nice Packaging to the Commentaries!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dead & Buried [Blu-ray]
Dead & Buried [Blu-ray] by Gary A. Sherman (Blu-ray - 2009)
$19.98 $10.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.