Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah Dzizz, who works in coal...
"Ah Pook the Destroyer," with its gravelly pronunciation of the names of a Mayan pantheon intoned over the most sugary strings, is almost as funny as Oscar Brand's "We Set Sail." Too much. We listen to the sardonic "Thanksgiving Prayer" in lieu of saying grace every year before Thanksgiving dinner. The younguns are embarrased to a one as we...
Published on August 2, 1999

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Burroughs was better singing with T. Waits!
Published 4 months ago by John I. Hart


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah Dzizz, who works in coal..., August 2, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead City Radio (Audio CD)
"Ah Pook the Destroyer," with its gravelly pronunciation of the names of a Mayan pantheon intoned over the most sugary strings, is almost as funny as Oscar Brand's "We Set Sail." Too much. We listen to the sardonic "Thanksgiving Prayer" in lieu of saying grace every year before Thanksgiving dinner. The younguns are embarrased to a one as we recite along with WSB ("mean, bitter, evil, church-goin' women"). They think we are insane and might be right. But the wife and I are still very much in love after all these years, a blessing the credit for which we tend to give to our never having joined the PTA and to this CD. Spices up the old Johnson, no less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ode to apocalypse- the monsters behind the machine...., March 8, 2004
By 
OAKSHAMAN "oakshaman" (Algoma, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dead City Radio (Audio CD)
If you've never read Burroughs, or if it has been awhile and you would like to refresh your acquaintance, then this recording is what you are looking for. The old magician gives readings from a variety of sources including _Naked Lunch_, _Interzone_, and _The Western Lands_. He invokes his vision in the name of Pan, god of panic; Ah Pook, the destroyer; and even Jesu the Christ. "Invoke" is the proper word, for this is a work of magic. Burroughs is weaving a vision. He wants us to peek through the chinks and see the monsters that lie behind the machine- behind the great shining lies. His objective is no less than a basic disruption of reality itself. This is art as magic, artist as magician.
Remember: 1)Control is controlled by the need to control- just like a junky on junk, 2)Everything is permitted BECAUSE nothing is true, and It's the little touches that make a future solid enough to destroy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for...this cd, and I'm not being sarcastic, May 2, 2002
This review is from: Dead City Radio (Audio CD)
A somnambulant, mood-swifting mindtrip into the world of William S. Burroughs...and what better than to hear arrousing and exciting tales of moral decadence, science fiction atroscities, the convictions of racism and prejudice, flowing dream imagery, political ideas & warnings, and frequent contradictions resulting in poetic tales that defy explanation and expand yr. conciousness. After being told in his deadpan spooky and signature voice to tape, they are adapted to an eclectic arrangement of classical orchestra, John Cale's keyboard weirdness, Sonic Youth's cataclysimc subway noise, and various other contributions that work well with the stories...
Some of the best are hard to pick out, but there are highlights: the reading of a particularly hanuting excerpt from Naked Lunch involving The Black Market Cafe done to shadowy chamber music will send chills down yr. spine, the short story Where He WAs Going which flows along at a snail's pace pulling you into the mind of a worried bank robber knowing death is creeping around the corner (and this one has great ending, plus organ music, and the overall effect will leave a mark on yr. mind), the readings of the Bible are amusing and not meant to be taken seriously, but the best prize here is his nearly 10 minute telling of the Apocalypse done to some sweeping mixes...basically sums up all his post apocalyptic desires in one amazing track.
The rest are just as interesting, his political theories are expressed in "No More Stalins, No More Hitlers" and the classic sardonic peice "A THanksgiving Prayer" which since Burroughs is neither a Christian or celebrates that holiday you can guess the idea. "Bryon Gysin's All-Purpose Bedtime Story" includes some great short philosophies: "Control is controlled by it's need to control." and the idea that this universe is a glob of spit on it's way to the floor...SPLAT! "Love Your Enemies" will send jollies down yr. loins and laughing devices if nothing else...when he says love your enemies, he means it in a different light. "Kill THe Badger" is just plain sad, "A New way To Measure..." is unsettling somewhat, and that German song he sings at the end is simply odd.
Basically, this is Burroughs' mind done to music. It's tour de force...whiter and redder than life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Recording, April 14, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead City Radio (Audio CD)
I really love this cd. William Burroughs is one of my favorite writers of the beat movement. Not only is his strange, monotone voice recorded very well on this cd, there's a great soundtrack to accompany him. He reads selections from the Naked Lunch and many of his other works, with background effects and music that is dark and twisted enough to match his strange awesome writings. Each track is interesting, from his surreal 'cut-up' style to dialogues on dictators and poems about the apocalypse. This whole cd is just great. I recommend this to any fan of Burroughs, or someone who just wants a really strange cd to put on when under the influence of certain plants and chemicals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Are You Here?, June 10, 2000
This review is from: Dead City Radio (Audio CD)
This is what Burroughs asks in his opening statement. Do we really know why we're here? This recording of Burroughs narrating his own work is truly monumental. He adds new life to his Naked Lunch exerpts. He adds an extra element of sobriety to the Sermons on The Mount and The Lord's Prayer. Music is added into the background to add an extra sinister element, and amplify the dark overtones. This is an excellent buy for any fan of counterculture literature, especially the work of William S. Burroughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a man of our everything, March 4, 2001
By 
Fran Franville (Philadelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead City Radio (Audio CD)
Some elderly people can't be thought to have a past as a teenage hood or anything. William S. Burroughs isn't like that. He has seen it all as a real person, not another "old person". His words change anyone. This cd lets you hear the words of the genius himself. It is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars genius man on wonderful recording, September 22, 2002
This review is from: Dead City Radio (Audio CD)
I love Burroughs. he is and always has been my favorite author. I really love this album. It is just so eerie and powerful to hear this ex-junkie read these cryptic poems, messages, invitations, chapters, and songs. They just push the borders of recording genius. This man is the master of the English language!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "We're all here to go...!", July 6, 2004
By 
W. Beck "Wil B." (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead City Radio (Audio CD)
One of my favorite albums and I own thousands. Possibly the best setting of Burrough's words to music. Love the vintage TV orchestral cuts. Caution: I have bought this album for several friends who have never said a word about it! "What are we here for?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slyly Done, October 24, 2001
By 
Brian (California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead City Radio (Audio CD)
Its great to lay down and listin to this CD at night and just listin to the ramblings of an old man. Dead Radio City is hard to put into a certain category because it touches them all. Burroughs goes from disturbing revelations to dark comedies to simple life findings. The music backing his voice in this album is pretty good even though it sometimes eclipses his voice at times. Burroughs has a great monotonic voice on this album which creates a great atmosphere and really drills home his jaded,disgruntled, and sarcastic message. All in All every song on here is not a winner but most of the album is pure nirvana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly appealing, March 28, 2001
By 
stabz (Oakland, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead City Radio (Audio CD)
I came across this with the introduction from my roommate in my freshman year of college. The thanksgiving prayer is probably one of the most cynical and humorous tracks I've listened to in a long time. The music that goes with it adds to its sarcasm. Then there's Ah Pook the Destroyer; Everyone has to hear this once, it's going to change your day. All in all, this CD opened my life to Burroughs's poetry and beat poetry in general. Quite an inspiring CD that you can listen to whenever need inspiration to write. Also a fun thing to play when you're in need of a couple of bitter-sweet chuckles. The Apocalypse, the track before the last, still trips me out today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dead City Radio
Dead City Radio by William S. Burroughs (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.