Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Billy Halop leads the pack with little tough guys.
It began with Dead End (1937), The boys came from the Broadway play and landed their first starring role togther. After Dead End (1937), First National Pictures picked them up for Crime School [VHS] (1938) and they made many more films for over 20 years until 1958. In 1938, Billy Halop brought along Huntz Hall, Gabriel Dell and Bernard Punsly in Little Tough Guy (1938)...
Published on February 19, 2004 by James McDonald

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good film----inferior print
This review is for the Alpha Video print of "Little Tough Guy." I've been a fan of the Dead End Kids since I was a kid. After their debut in 1937's "Dead End" for Sam Goldwyn they were signed to Warner Brothers where they made their best films like "Angels with Dirty Faces," " They Made Me a Criminal," and "Hell's Kitchen." "Little Tough Guy" marked the beginning of a...
Published on April 4, 2011 by Jersey Devil


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Billy Halop leads the pack with little tough guys., February 19, 2004
This review is from: Dead End Kids: Little Tough Guy (DVD)
It began with Dead End (1937), The boys came from the Broadway play and landed their first starring role togther. After Dead End (1937), First National Pictures picked them up for Crime School [VHS] (1938) and they made many more films for over 20 years until 1958. In 1938, Billy Halop brought along Huntz Hall, Gabriel Dell and Bernard Punsly in Little Tough Guy (1938). This spun off into another film series with a total of nine films for Universal from 1938-1943. They also made film serials for the new Universal: Junior G-Men - Volumes 1 & 2 (Complete Serial) (2-DVD) (1940), Sea Raiders - Volumes 1 & 2 (Complete Serial) (2-DVD) (1941) and Junior G-Men of The Air - Volumes 1 & 2 (Complete Serial) (2-DVD) (1942).
In 1940, Leo Gorcey and Bobby Jordan became The East Side Kids for Monogram Pictures Corp. for 22 films from 1940-1945. Huntz Hall and Gabriel Dell would later join the new gang.
Then in 1946, The East Side Kids became The Bowery Boys and made 48 more films from 1946-1958.
Now back to Billy Halop and Bernard Punsly. They continued with The Dead End Kids with The Little Tough Guys film series until they both said goodbye in MUG TOWN (1943).
Billy Halop continued a film and television career, but getting parts was hard. In between acting jobs, Halop was a chef, electric dryer salesman and in his final years as a male nurse. He would sometime make an appearance as "Bert Munson" in the CBS tv series, "All in the Family" beginning in 1972. His last appearance was broadcast after his death in 1977. In 1976, Billy Halop had a heart attack and passed away ending a 50-year career in show biz that started with radio in the 1920's.
Bernard Punsly's last film ever was MUG TOWN (1943). He became a gynecologist M.D. in Torrence ,California and passed away on January 20, 2004 as the last surviving Dead End Kid. Huntz Hall died January 30, 1999. Marjorie Main, who was in DEAD END (1937), plays the role as Halop's mother in this film. She went on to do THE EGG AND I (1947) as "Ma Kettle" (which spawned into a new film series "Ma & Pa Kettle"). This film, Little Tough Guy is also David Gorcey's (Leo's younger brother) film debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LITTLE TOUGH KIDS!!!!!, May 7, 2009
By 
This review is from: Dead End Kids: Little Tough Guy (DVD)
The Universal Dead End Kids/Little Tough Guys features are great little films. It's unfortunate that the first film, Little Tough Guys, is the only one readily available. It's the typical story, but I never tire of it. The Alpha DVD print is one their better ones with no splices. The film is complete except that the Universal logo is missing. It would be fantastic if Universal would just put these out in a set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good film----inferior print, April 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead End Kids: Little Tough Guy (DVD)
This review is for the Alpha Video print of "Little Tough Guy." I've been a fan of the Dead End Kids since I was a kid. After their debut in 1937's "Dead End" for Sam Goldwyn they were signed to Warner Brothers where they made their best films like "Angels with Dirty Faces," " They Made Me a Criminal," and "Hell's Kitchen." "Little Tough Guy" marked the beginning of a series of films they made at Universal, with only Billy Halop, Huntz Hall and Bernard Punsley of the original gang making the cut. The film is a good crime drama with the Kids going from street toughs to suited thieves. There is some comedic elements but they are overshadowed by the dramaand dark ending. There are several prints of this film available but none are really good. This one in particular suffers from soundtrack noise and a poor transfer. The right side of the picture is actually clipped off. Hopefully we will someday have a very good print of this fine film but for now I recommend trying a different version than Alpha's inferior print. Film: 4 stars. Print: 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Silly but a fun watch, April 26, 2014
Its hard to believe there were times like these. Our lives certainly have changed and not necessarily for the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More great classic TV watching, March 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead End Kids: Little Tough Guy (DVD)
As a fan of the dead end kids and the bowery boys (the same group), watching these brought back some
cool memories of my youth sitting and watching these and the bowery boys with my brothers and sisters.
These are much better visually of course and no commercials. If you can, check out the movie "dead end"
with bogart and the dead end kids, plus angels with dirty faces, another pat obrian james cagney, dead end kids
classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The boys, March 4, 2013
By 
Kenneth Hoglund (Clemmons, NC, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead End Kids: Little Tough Guy (DVD)
There are two types of people- those that like the East Side/Dead End/Bowery Boys movies and those that don't.
If you fall into the former, then the question becomes - how bad is the print? These are not bad prints, not great, but until somebody ponies up the money to do a professional remaster, it is the best we can get.
If you are a fan, enjoy- if not- save your money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Never too much of the Dead End Kids, February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead End Kids: Little Tough Guy (DVD)
Have always enjoyed everything from the Dead End Kids with this being no exception. Like the way these young actors play off each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Movie, November 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Little Tough Guy (DVD)
The Dead End Kids never fail to make an unforgettable movie. Have always been a fan and always will be of this group of young toughs who always leave an impression on everybody who watches their films and this one is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Huntz Hall is a "tough guy" & gang leader in this one !, February 23, 2011
This review is from: Dead End Kids: Little Tough Guy (DVD)
This is the first entry for the Dead End Kids & Little Tough Guys series for Universal from 1938. Made between "Crime School" & "Angels With Dirty Faces", this series also overlapped the popular East Side Kids series. Their last entry for Universal was "Keep Em Slugging" in 1943 with Bobby Jordan replacing Billy Halop as the gang leader, Halop had enlisted in the service. I really liked "Little Tough Guy" mainly for the novelty & interest in seeing Huntz Hall play a real tough guy & gang leader instead of playing his usual "dumb bell" clown role. I just wish he would've done it more often because he was good at it. Although he was quite dramatic & serious in the 3 serials.

I have the entire Universal Little Tough Guys box set & I'm still going thru it & I've seen "Call A Messenger" (1939) to "Hit The Road" (1941) & there's still a half a dozen more to watch. If you want this series you can order it by emailing <eggcream@earthlink.net>. So far I like these films & it's probably the most rarest & least remembered series but it's still good & entertaining. Some of the films feature all the original Dead End Kids, all except Leo Gorcey. It's too bad Leo Gorcey wasn't in any of these films because I think it would've worked even better than it did. In the original Dead End Kids I enjoyed the confrontations between Leo Gorcey & Billy Halop. It's too bad they couldn't work together anymore after Warner Bros dropped them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dead End Kids: Little Tough Guy
Dead End Kids: Little Tough Guy by Harold Young (DVD - 2003)
$5.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.