Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down
I was lucky enough to pick this up just days after I'd read Glass Houses and had cooled off from facing the unwelcome cliffhanger that topped off what was otherwise a terrific book. As the other reviewers say, this picks up moments later and the action is non-stop until the end -- where we get another cliffhanger, though not QUITE as traumatic. I mean, this one you have...
Published on June 15, 2007 by Carol A. Strickland

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Huge Turn for the Worse
I bought the first 3 books in this series on a friends on suggestion. I was happy I did because the first book ends in a cliffhanger and the second book picks right up. In the first book, I thought the series was off to a great start but this book takes a turn for the worse.

First the good - the continued development of Michael, Eve, and the vampire Amelee...
Published on January 16, 2011 by R. T. Wilcoxon


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, June 15, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dead Girls' Dance (Morganville Vampires, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
I was lucky enough to pick this up just days after I'd read Glass Houses and had cooled off from facing the unwelcome cliffhanger that topped off what was otherwise a terrific book. As the other reviewers say, this picks up moments later and the action is non-stop until the end -- where we get another cliffhanger, though not QUITE as traumatic. I mean, this one you have to think about for the full scope of the potential trauma to set in.

The characters are getting more dimensional and interesting and the worldbuilding shows how intricate it is, hiding so many mysteries that we want to investigate. I don't usually like vampire novels, but this series has lots of original ideas in it -- and its characters carry them to even higher levels. The cliffhangers are frustrating, but I'm currently writing a series that has its own set so I guess I should welcome this as setting a precedent. Be assured that the basic plot of the book is complete within it; you won't be dissatisfied.

You'll also get some really good scares. Have fun reading it! (And Rachel Caine: WRITE FASTER!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paranormal "teen" romance? This series needs a broader market, May 12, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dead Girls' Dance (Morganville Vampires, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
I won't summarize. But I would like to say that I am 34 and a big Rachel Caine fan. I believe nothing has been lost in Caine's style or depth of plot development by building a world around a smart teenage girl who happens to live a Texas town controlled by vampires. While the author sticks with most rules of vamp lore (rising at night, age brings control of the thirst, changing a human into vampire is a willful act), she develops a heirarchy and political system that seems to coexist with its environment. Of course, the novel would lose its thrill a minute tension if the co-existance was peaceful. I like the themes that Ms Caine builds into the fabric of the plot- veiled,but not indecipherable. For example, she challenges the notion of survival of the fittest. In Morganville, vamps are at the top of the food chain, but custom dictates they operate as benefactors to the townspeople- they hunt only people (students) they don't know. There are codes and systems and protection that is offered. And of course, there is always a chance to gain audience with the queen if you are brave and clever enough to recognize and hold onto a trump card. There is a timely message about power and the perspective of the underdog- one we don't often hear regarding our foreign policy. Perhaps the teen label is based on the fact that there is very little sexual content, which is not to say there isn't sexual tension. MAN. Rachel Caine does not dumb "it" down for a teen audience- she is true to her voice. You have to admire that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars. Leaves a lot of threads dangling., May 21, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dead Girls' Dance (Morganville Vampires, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
Claire Danvers is a genius. She thinks studying and learning are fun. Since she is only sixteen, her parents will not allow her to attend college far away. They want to be able to drive up anytime they believe Claire needs them. Therefore, Claire attends Texas Prairie University (TPU). Due to problems with the previous dorm's popular girl, Monica Morrell, trying to kill her, Claire lives off campus at Glass House with three other house mates.

Claire is only now getting used to knowing that vampires rule the town and the local humans are pledged to certain vampires as life-long servants and blood donors. Anyone without a bracelet showing that he has Protection is nothing more than meat if he roams the streets after dark. It is a little more tolerable, thanks to her roommates. Eve has become Claire's best friend. Shane has become Claire's boyfriend. David is still strange, even though Claire now understands why David is never seen during the day. No, David is not a vampire, but that would be a blessing compared to what he is now.

Now a fraternity is throwing its annual Dead Girls' Dance. Amazingly, Claire and Eve have been invited. They have no idea WHY they were issued the invitation though. Since Claire is so young, she would have declined, except that Shane's father, along with a gang of bikers, are on a vendetta to kill all vampires. If humans get in the way, that's just too bad.

***** This book picks up EXACTLY where the first left off. If you have not read book one (Glass Houses), then you will find yourself lost a few times. Thankfully, this time the story does not end in the middle of something horrible, like a murder. It does, however, leave many threads dangling. I am still confused on when Claire's two days dead line got extended by her parents. Did the author forget about it? Loop hole? Who knows? Hopefully, the dead line will be explained in the third novel (Midnight Alley), due for release October 2007. Teens and Young Adults will not be the only ones to be enthralled by this series. If you like vampires, this is for you! *****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Flirty With a Bite, June 17, 2009
This review is from: The Dead Girls' Dance (Morganville Vampires, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
The second book in the Morganville Vampires series picks up almost immediately where the first book left off (and that's a very good thing, as the first closed on a major cliffhanger!). The four roommates find themselves at the mercy of Shane's crazed vampire-hunting father and his gang, and the focus is on Michael, whom Shane's dad has rightly determined isn't alive. But the conclusion is actually wrong, in that Michael is a ghost, not a vampire, and before the other three roomies can intervene, Shane's dad does the unthinkable and offs Michael. From that grim beginning, The Dead Girls' Dance takes off with more drama and danger in the town of Morganville.

There are lots of dangerous situations in Book Two, and a major race against time to save Shane, wrongly accused of killing a vampire and sentenced to death. The reappearance of Amelie gives another dimension to the vampires in that while she's not exactly warm, she's at least a little accessible and helpful. The best addition is Sam, a solitary vampire with ties to Michael; his appearance gives hope that possibly the vampires and the humans of Morganville may eventually be able to live together with a little more trust.

I'm not really sure why this novel is titled The Dead Girls' Dance in that the actual dance is a very, very small portion of the book, and not all that central to the action. That aside, it would be nice to see a book where Claire doesn't spend so much time getting beaten up in some way, and with maybe a bit of personality redemption for Monica. I love how Eve and Claire take charge of the situation and do all they can for their roomie, even putting themselves in grave danger. These novels are very action packed and often a situation will seem to have no positive resolution, keeping me on the edge of my seat and racing through the pages. I like the love stories going on in the background as well, but would hate to see everyone tied up in relationships too quickly.

Book Two is a wild ride that kept me up past my bedtime to finish. I'm excited that I have the next two books in the series here to get to this summer. This is a good, intriguing vampire series that will keep you entertained fully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morganville Vamps - Book II, January 31, 2009
This review is from: The Dead Girls' Dance (Morganville Vampires, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
Picking right up where its cliffhanger predecessor left off, the second book in the Morganville Vampires sequence is a thrill-ride from beginning to end. Held captive in their own, "haunted" house, college girls in vampire-dominated town-from-hell Claire and Eve fight to protect themselves from their friend Shane's terrifying father. But even when they gain freedom, it turns out to be only temporary, as a vampire turns up dead and Shane is held responsible. The rest of the novel comes fast and furious as the crew of comrades battle both to save Shane and retain their few vampiric allies - and stay alive in the process

Rachel Caine's novels are everything good young-adult fiction should be - fast-paced, well-developed, with great setting-description and a dash of romance. Not too angsty, with plot behind the angst, The Morgantown Vampires series is intricate and well-written enough to keep the attention of all paranormal readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun read..., January 24, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Dead Girls' Dance (Morganville Vampires, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the second entry into the Morganville Vampires series and was an entertaining book. In many ways, there were improvements in the story and characterizations. But, I can't help but feel as if, overall, the first was a better and more well-rounded book (minus the cliff-hanger ending of course). I don't always understand Claire's reasons for doing things and how she goes about them are completely dumb. I can get over that because even though she has a high IQ, she's still only sixteen. Not to mention, many geniuses don't have common sense, or much of it at the very least. However, nitpicking aside, I look forward to reading future books in the series.

3.75 stars

Note: The title and description are misleading; the fraternity or dance don't have much to do with the whole basic plot. In fact, I don't really get the title at all. They should have saved that for a future book and thought out a new one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to the series, January 1, 2009
This review is from: The Dead Girls' Dance (Morganville Vampires, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
I avidly anticipated this book after devouring Glass Houses, the first book in the Morganville Vampires series centering around a town that is run by the undead. While it didn't hook me in as much as the first one had, it is still a thrilling read.

Buffy's Sunnydale definitely has a run for its money when it comes to Morganville--the vampires are much more threatening, devious, and collected, plus there isn't even a Buffy around to protect the humans from being dinner. (Unless a vengeful pack of biker guys counts, that is.) The stakes (no pun intended) are raised higher in this book, Claire and her friends stuck dealing with how to get rid of the said biker guys without getting burned by the vamps--which, for some, can be interpreted quite literally. The story felt stretched out a little bit, but the emotional journey the characters go through makes it well worth reading. My biggest complaint would have to be Monica's character, because even though she's supposed to be Claire's college nemesis, there were a few times where it would have felt more natural to have her display some shades of gray. The series is still thoroughly addicting, this book beginning right where the first left off without any confusion and ending with another cliffhanger that, while not as heart-stopping as the first, still makes you impatient for the next one to see what will happen next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep them coming!, August 21, 2008
This review is from: The Dead Girls' Dance (Morganville Vampires, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
I love this series. It is such a breath of fresh air, in a genre that seems to keep repeating itself as far as plots and character development. In Rachel Caine's vampire world, Morganville, the vamps are pretty scary guys and they have convienant ways of 'hiding' people who go missing. And a lot of people DO go missing in Morganville. An extra curve is thrown to the story line when we realize that the crazy band of vampire hunters, led by Shane's father, are scary and bad too. They don't care who gets killed in their quest to rid Morganville of its vampires. Shane gets swept along in his father's plans and gets captured and its up to Claire and her ghostly friend Michael and his goth girlfriend Eve, to save Shane. Will Claire stop at nothing to save Shane? Michael seems to be making some unholy deals of his own. I encourage everyone to read this series. It has only gotten better since its amazing debut "Glass Houses". There is no lack of action or suspense. The relationships are cute and realistic and as an adult I can easily overlook that this is meant to be a Young Adult novel. I also must reiterate that this book stands out from the Twilight series and in a positive way. There is more action, more plot, and the characters are strong people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting Review: The Dead Girls' Dance, August 14, 2008
This review is from: The Dead Girls' Dance (Morganville Vampires, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
THE DEAD GIRLS DANCE {Morganville Vampires Book 2}
RACHEL CAINE
Paranormal YA

Rating: 5 Enchantments

Claire is a brilliant college student stuck in Morganville. With possibly no way out...ever. Living with Shane, Michael and new best friend Eve, she is trying to attend college and live a halfway normal life. With vampires running the town, she gets driven to school and tries to lay low at night. Claire is a personable girl with a catty wit that will make you laugh out loud.

In book two of the series, Claire and her friends are all involved with new problems. Branching out from where GLASS HOUSES ended, Shane's dad is in for a visit after Shane called him. His dad is after blood, and it's not the human kind. With a mad man on the loose and killing vampires, everyone is pointing fingers at Claire, Michael, Eve and Shane. Oliver, the vampire manager of Common Grounds, is plotting revenge and is getting help from an unlikely source. Eve also starts a new job at a coffee shop on Claire's college campus. While indulging in coffee and talking to Eve, a college guy named Ian invites the girls to EEK frat houses' Dead Girls Dance. Michael, still not able to leave the house, makes a choice that will not be easily forgotten and will shock all of his friends in the house. When Shane gets into some trouble, because of dear ole dad, Claire and Eve decide to go to the frat party, with a seat-gripping chain of events all the way to the end.

THE DEAD GIRLS DANCE gripped me from page one, just as much, if not more, than the first book in the series. Ms. Caine knows how to get readers interested and keep them hanging on. From the antics of the spoiled-brat Monica to the ending at the frat party, this book is non-stop fun. It flows smoothly and is very hard to predict what's going to happen next. All the characters are well-developed; you can feel their emotions of having to live in this town that's overrun by vampires. THE DEAD GIRLS DANCE is one of the best vampire stories that I have read so far.

Ms. Caine is the author of another series called `The Weather Warden' and some other stand-alone titles. She continues to write books for the `Morganville Vampire' series. Her website, [...] has loads of information on her and her books. She also has a myspace page that includes some wallpaper from the books and a mailing list you can sign up for with the latest information on contests and new releases.

Holly
ENCHANTING REVIEWS
June 2008
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Huge Turn for the Worse, January 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dead Girls' Dance (Morganville Vampires, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
I bought the first 3 books in this series on a friends on suggestion. I was happy I did because the first book ends in a cliffhanger and the second book picks right up. In the first book, I thought the series was off to a great start but this book takes a turn for the worse.

First the good - the continued development of Michael, Eve, and the vampire Amelee were all good. The introduction of new characters like Sam, Gramma, and the "neutral cops" added some interest. I wanted to learn more about what made the "trap door vampire" so different and hope we get to meet and learn more in future books. The book is action packed and fast moving. And that is about all the praise I can give.

Now for the bad - the story is full of contradictions and plot holes. Not small plot holes but those big enough to drive a truck through. The development of both Shane and Claire is almost non-existent and when it is there, it is horrible. And while not an issue for me, I would warn that this book has detailed account of sexual molestation and attempted gang rape...definitely not appropriate for younger teens.

I sure you want some specifics so this is my SPOILER warning:
- Shane has been plotting with his father to take out vampires so when in trouble in the first book he calls for re-enforcements. His father shows up with 2 other guys but through out the book there are atleast 7 other bikers. If Shane called for help, why would his father hide or leave over half the help?
- Michael has powers and through those powers, he and Shane easil threw a vampire and countless police officers out of the house in the first book. Shane's dad shows up with two bikers and in the first few pages beat Shane and kill Michael without even breaking a sweat.
- Michael can't leave the confines of the house because of the power of the house (the same powers that keeps vampires out without being invited in - they just bounce off the threshold) but when he is killed his body is carried outside for further disfiguring. Seems strange but then when he re-appears in the house it makes no sense since he would be outside of the house's power.
- Mayor Morrell was included on a trial jury against Shane - he is human but they claim that all trials are held by the victims (in this case a vampire) peers
- If the mayor was just a witness, how can he make a deal to release Shane in exchange for them saving Monica?
- In the beginning of the book, a biker locks himself in a room with Eve and Claire to rape them. Shane goes to get his dad but his dad needed to keep the biker's happy and did nothing. Later when the bikers kidnap Monica. He stops one of the bikers from touching Monica. Now Claire and Eve did nothing to him or his bikers but Monica burned down his house killing his daughter which led to the death of his wife. Why would he intervene with Monica but not Claire?
- Shane has been in town 6 months looking for hiding spots and tunnels. In that time, he was able to find a hideout where Amelee's people couldn't find him and tunnels that would allow Shane, his dad, and the bikers to escape from a building surrounded by vampires, who are hundreds of years old, designed the entire town, and yet they didn't know about the tunnels
- Claire is under the protection from the oldest vampire (meaning the leader of the vampires), one of the neutral cops even says that attacking her means death, but Oliver attacks Claire in broad daylight in front of many other vampires, cops, and humans to try to force her pledge allegiance to him and nothing happens to him
- Where was Amelee and her vampires when the vampires are circling the hospital to catch vampire killers? It makes no sense that she wouldn't be there or send her people to help
- If Amelee's current protection is worthless - which was proven by Oliver's attack and Amelee's own letter at the end of the book; why in the world would signing a contract to be a slave to her mean more protection for her?

I am sure there are many more examples but I wanted to get to my two biggest issues with the book:
- Monica kidnaps Claire (again) and is physically torturing her when the bikers carjack the vehicle kidnapping Claire and Monica. They tell Claire they will take a blowtorch to Monica if the mayor doesn't release Shane. Now just to recap, so far Monica has threatened Claire nearly daily, beat her multiple times, threw her down the stairs, burned down Shane's house killing his siter, cut Eve, set her house on fire, was going to burn Claire alive, set her house on fire, kidnapped her three times, tortured her, tried to get her gang raped, etc. Yet Claire never even considered not trying to help Monica. This doesn't further develop Claire. Real development would have an internal struggle with the decision but ultimately decide no one deserves that (like Eve did). This just make Claire look pathetic like she deserves this abuse and is under the mindset that somehow they can all be friends.
- Second horrible move in the book revolved around Ian. Now Ian could have been an interesting character. It doesn't feel realistic that no one on campus is on Claire's side...Maybe a crush that could develop a love triangle and an ally even if he is behind the scenes out of fear would have been interesting but the author went another direction which I can respect. He is a bad guy. He drugs her drink and leads her to a room where he and 3 friends are preparing to gang rape her. After Sam saves her, the bikers attack the party and Claire, Eve, and the 4 gang rapists hide in a closet. While they are scared, Claire holds Ian's hand out of fear. I am not kidding. The author decides that just a few minutes after being nearly gang raped it would be a good idea to have Claire holding hands with one of her attackers! When the coast is clear and they all exit the closet, a guy who groped both Eve and Claire before asks if they are going to report them, Claire again decides not to. This isn't taking the high road. The high road is making sure people are accountable for their actions. This strips Claire of being a human being who might actually be upset by the idea she was nearly gang raped and tries to make her an all forgiving Christ-like character. Just as the author tries to make Claire all forgiving for Monica's brutality.

I might even be able to overlook the plot holes in the blockbuster action movie kind of way that as long as it entertains, who cares? But I can't overlook the horrible character development of Claire and the author's lack of sensitivity and understanding of what a tramatic experience rape, even attempted rape, can be. Sugar coating it does no one any good. Bad book, horrible character development, poor understanding of real world problems by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0a83bf4)

This product

The Dead Girls' Dance (Morganville Vampires, Book 2)
The Dead Girls' Dance (Morganville Vampires, Book 2) by Rachel Caine (Mass Market Paperback - April 3, 2007)
$6.99 $6.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.