Start reading Dead Links: (An Amanda Katt Thriller) on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
OR
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

Dead Links: (An Amanda Katt Thriller) [Kindle Edition]

Nigel G. Mitchell
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (11 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $3.99
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for free and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More

  • Length: 386 pages (estimated)
  • Prime members can borrow this book and read it on their devices with Kindle Owners Lending Library.
Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Book Description

What if the Internet could control you?

African American investigative journalist Amanda Katt's engagement takes a strange turn when her fiancee becomes obsessed with Araknee, one of the most popular websites ever made. As she investigates, Katt discovers others have fallen under the spell of the website, and the owners of rival websites are dying under mysterious circumstances. When Amanda tries to uncover the secret of Araknee, she finds herself drawn into a conspiracy that could threaten the world.

Fans of William Gibson and Michael Crichton will appreciate this exciting thriller.

"Bold heroine choice and palpable sense of place" - James Blakley

"I really enjoyed it, could hardly put it down" - cog11

"The action fairly good, realistic and coherent" - SGL

"An exciting and engaging thriller that hooked me from beginning to end." - BJ Fraser

Length: 134,000 words


Editorial Reviews

Review

"The pace is fast and Amanda Katt is a real kick-butt character." - Patrick Dilloway, Goodreads.com

"Bold heroine choice and palpable sense of place" - James Blakley

"I really enjoyed it, could hardly put it down" - cog11 

"The action fairly good, realistic and coherent" - SGL 

"An exciting and engaging thriller that hooked me from beginning to end." - BJ Fraser 

From the Author

Have you ever caught yourself spending more time on the Internet than you planned? Did you ever have a favorite website that kept you busy for hours? I have, and it didn't take much to imagine that experience getting out of control. Internet addiction is a real phenomenon, but "Dead Links" takes it to its most terrifying extreme. The heroine Amanda Katt's dialogue was intentionally heavy on Ebonics to try to challenge the idea that use of slang means the user is stupid. However, some readers found it too distracting. Based on feedback, I've removed most of the Ebonics as of 12/10/2014. Thanks for reading! I hope you enjoy it.

Product Details

  • File Size: 1667 KB
  • Print Length: 386 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B009VPRCI8
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,035,355 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad Grammar but a interesting story August 27, 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I would have given this book more stars except the heroine, who is supposed to be a journalist, and her parents are educated people, has the grammar of I don't know maybe a grade school student. The book is filled with "ain't, gotta, whatcha, double negatives etc. I enjoyed the story line but, the heroine's speech didn't fit her and I found it annoying. I guess, I come from an era where proper grammar and diction were stressed......and I am glad for it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun read August 22, 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This was a fun read, following the nearly impossible exploits of Amanda Katt kept me entertained from start to finish. The computer addiction and mind control reminded me of some of my friends and their facebook obsessions, which certainly does add some credibility to the premise behind this. At times it seemed like a zombie story, but maybe that's what the world is becoming. Hats off to Mr. Mitchell for writing this.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1.0 out of 5 stars Ain't Necessary August 15, 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
I can't understand why the author found it necessary to have an educated, black women have such poor command of the english language. I'm barely through the book, but I'm turned off by the many times Amanda use ain't in her conversations. It's not necessary and it's a turn off for me as a reader. I don't know anyone who talks like that, educated or not!! I doubt if I would read another Amanda Katt book.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
With a bloody computer cable cover and "dead" in the title, it should be clear that Dead Links centers on the perils of online addiction and manipulation. If that doesn't seal the deal, then the name of the novel's immensely popular website Araknee should. "Araknee is evil..,It's dangerous...,It traps us like flies in a web, and the more we struggle, the tighter it gets," warns one character. And early on, the intentions of the white-clad, seemingly psychic villain (appropriately named Jonathan Seer) are made as crystal clear as his cold, corporate climate: He wants world domination via The World Wide Web and the psychological controls of Araknee. And no one it seems (from an enthralled infant to a powerful politician) is immune. Except, of course, the proceedings' crusading protagonist.

With so many potboiler plot roadsigns posted, Dead Links might initially seem like it leads to a dead read, right? While the body count is high, the story has several strong, redeeming qualities that make it a good read. The biggest asset is that author Nigel Mitchell boldly breaks the often male-dominated techno thriller mold and allow a different type of hero to helm the adventure: That being an African American female.

Amanda Katt is a smart, rough-and-tumble journalist who freelances for several Phoenix-based publications. But, she senses a big story with New York-based Araknee, and tussles with Seer and his henchpeople--led by unseen, online femme fatale "Jane Doe"--early and often. But, in a nice twist on the guy-gets-the-girl-and saves-the-day theme, Mitchell instead allows Katt the honor: As she constantly risks her life to save her hapless fiancee (who's addicted to Araknee).
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A very good read although the author seems to want you to remember Katt is a black lady by the siilly language that she uses. She is an intelligent woman with a great career and is a College eduacated woman who was raised by intelligent parents. Why would he have her talk like she just came from the ghetto?
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars July 8, 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Could not put it down
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

Nigel G. Mitchell (1972) was born in Brooklyn, New York. He earned a Bachelor's in English at Arizona State University in 1999. He's a writer for the popular sci-fi blog, The Geek Twins, where his work has been featured regularly in Slashfilm, Blastr, io9, and Screenrant. His short stories have been published in Lost Worlds, 365 Tomorrows, and Black Hole Magazine. His latest novel is "Operation: Masquerade."

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category