Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zombies
L. Ron Hubbard is probably best known as the founder of Scientology and creator of Dianetics. These days, his name is largely connected with the antics of the some of the more "outspoken" members of the religion, overshadowing the fact that the man really knew how to tell an entertaining story. All 150 of the stories Hubbard wrote for the pulp magazines of the 1930s and...
Published on April 8, 2010 by Craig Clarke

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Gold Old Days are Back
I bought this book for my Kindle, and it's a very easy, short read. Published in the mid 30s, the book was serialized in a magazine, a new chapter coming out about each week or so. The basic premise is a stereotypical story from that era. A series of murders have caught the attention of Police-officer, Terry Lane. The murders appear to have been committed by someone...
Published on July 24, 2011 by Sand under foot


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zombies, April 8, 2010
L. Ron Hubbard is probably best known as the founder of Scientology and creator of Dianetics. These days, his name is largely connected with the antics of the some of the more "outspoken" members of the religion, overshadowing the fact that the man really knew how to tell an entertaining story. All 150 of the stories Hubbard wrote for the pulp magazines of the 1930s and '40s are being rereleased in paperback and audio under the evocative title Stories from the Golden Age.

The recordings I've tried so far are just terrific. They are a professionally produced combination of traditional narrated audiobooks (with narration deftly handled by R.F. Daley) and old-time radio, with skilled actors playing the characters (often multiple roles) and genre-specific music and sound effects rounding out the experience.

"I have come to kill you, Gordon."

So says a voice reminiscent of the grave, as its fingers wrap around Gordon's throat and slowly take his life. Detective Sergeant Terry Lane arrives on the scene and notes the similarity with another recent murder. All the evidence points to a no-longer-assailant, and Lane's fears are confirmed when he uncovers the suspect's empty coffin and has to fight off a trio of expressionless figures with only his fists.

For a while, Lane has only questions, like how do a letter from "Loup-Garou," a Haitian pharmacy bill, and the mysterious Dr. Leroux tie in to the murders? The primary targets seem to be rich and influential businessmen, but if Lane doesn't find out who's responsible and stop the culprit, the next zombie will be him.

Matt Scott turns in a solid performance as the ultranoble Lane, and John Mariano plays the mad scientist with relish (complete with a selection of diabolical laughs). But the real star of the Dead Men Kill audiobook is narrator R.F. Daley.

Author L. Ron Hubbard's prose is heavy on description, and Daley is more than up to the task. His voice is perfect for pulp fiction, and he adds just the right touch of emphasis (along with the occasional wink where appropriate) without drawing attention away from the story.

Dead Men Kill is the only zombie horror story Hubbard wrote, and the author succeeds by presenting this questionable subject in a realistic manner. He doesn't try to overexplain, but simply focuses on keeping up the story's quick pace (so we don't think about it too much). Its focus on the Haitian voodoo aspects should appeal to fans of more recent takes on the same subject, such as Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child's novel Cemetery Dance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Gold Old Days are Back, July 24, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this book for my Kindle, and it's a very easy, short read. Published in the mid 30s, the book was serialized in a magazine, a new chapter coming out about each week or so. The basic premise is a stereotypical story from that era. A series of murders have caught the attention of Police-officer, Terry Lane. The murders appear to have been committed by someone well-acquainted with the victim, but who has died recently! Lane begins to uncover the plot of one Dr. Leroux, recently back from Haiti where he has discovered the potion which can turn men into zombies.

L. Ron Hubbard's novella is pure fun - nothing is taken seriously here, and one has to view it that way when you're reading the book. The book is an interesting little horror story, but will delight mystery fans with its twist ending. "Dead Men Kill" is a fun book to read on whelm is you enjoyable books written during the golden age. My only complaint is the fact that the story is rather predictable, and just a bit too 'out there.' But if your interested in reading a fun horror/mystery then I suggest "Dead Men Kill."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zombies, March 15, 2011
This review is from: Dead Men Kill (Stories from the Golden Age) (Kindle Edition)
First this is an excellent kindle edition as it is true to the original and contains no scanning errors also it contains copies of the original artwork which can be zoomed to view in addition there is a glossary which is linked to underlined items which are generally words or phrases not in common use now but were widely used in the 1930/40s. Also included in the book complete with photographs is a comprehensive biography of L Ron Hubbard.
The actual story is typical of the type written at the time when authors had to bash out stories in minimal time to meet editor's time scales and often paid by the word. However it is still a good story that does not seem, apart from the language to have dated. Without giving away much of the plot it is soon discovered, first few pages, that there are murders being carried out by people that are known to be dead. From this start the story progresses with a number of murders with the detective just too late until the final climax where there is a bit of a twist. Good reading if only to get a flavour of this type of book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great zombie crime tale!, April 11, 2010
By 
This 1934 story appeared early in Hubbard's remarkable career. Part zombie story, part crime story, Hubbard successfully fused genres long before such devices were commonplace. Told in ten brisk chapters, the story is a prime example of Hubbard's trademark pacing, strong characters, and flair for suspense. The protagonist, Detective-Sergeant Terry Lane is a quintessential Hubbard hero - intelligent, savvy, and quick to act. Fans of the Golden Age are sure to enjoy this ghoulish delight from America's Master Storyteller. For those that prefer audio books you'll not be disappointed. Each audio book features a multicast performance with music and sound effects reminiscent of radio's golden age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The book is a quick read but not the most suspenseful novel, November 5, 2013
By 
The book is a quick read but not the most suspenseful novel. If you're into this era of science fiction you may enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Not Too Dark Zombie Murder Mystery, April 7, 2012
What I liked about this story, besides the excellent production and talent, was the way a murder mystery with zombies could keep me interested without being too dark and depressing. I think it was the pace of it and maybe the tone set by the opening line: "I have come to kill you, Gordon." It didn't waste any time with deep reflections. I found it enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Performance!, March 19, 2012
L. Ron Hubbard has written some of my favorite books, but that completely aside, the performance on the audio book version is simply amazing! I have never heard audio books like the Stories from the Golden Age collection. They have a full cast of voice actors, sound effects, and ambient sound, and it is unbelievably engrossing. I hope other audio books take this method to heart because the quality here blows away everything else I have ever heard!

Galaxy Press also puts on live performances, and these are really fun, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun zombie whodunit story, March 11, 2012
Before George Romero's Night of the Living Dead there was Dead Men Kill--a detective story set in the 1930s. Detective-Sergeant Lane has his hands full when he has to solve two murders and discovers that the killers are already dead. Haitian voodoo, a crazy doctor and a mysterious nightclub singer all make for a terrifyingly fun romp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome zombie suspense!, March 10, 2012
I absolutely LOVED this story! I love mystery and suspense, and this book was definitely full of that. This is a very well-written tale of dead men coming back to life to commit more murders...or are they? The main character (Terry Lane) is determined to find out what is actually happening. Soon a mysterious and attractive women becomes involved, and Lane has to realize all is not necessarily as it seems. It's so well done that I got the creeps several times while moving through the tale.

I listened to the audiobook version, and I literally got chills and even turned around at one point to make sure no one was sneaking up behind me. Something about the line, "I have come to kill you, Gordon," and I personally would want to run screaming! Anyway, a GREAT mystery/suspense/horror story that has lasted through the ages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost Real, March 6, 2012
I liked Dead Men Kill. It's a fun story, kind of scary, but what's fun about that story is that if you research it on-line, you'll find that what happens in that story with "dead" people coming back doing dirty-work for others, actually happens, like in Haiti. Just that alone intrigued me. L. Ron Hubbard is a fantastic writer. It's a fun, fast and easy read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.