Customer Reviews


574 Reviews
5 star:
 (397)
4 star:
 (114)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


217 of 230 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "And what will your verse be in the poem of life?"
"I learned this, at least, by my experiment; that if one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life which he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours." (Henry David Thoreau, "Walden.")

Hands up folks, how many of us discovered Thoreau after having watched this movie? *Really* discovered I...
Published on September 3, 2001 by Themis-Athena

versus
35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a Brilliant Movie! What an Apalling Video!!
There are three versions of this movie that I am aware of. The first is the theatrical release, the telvision version that has 13 extra minutes added on, and last the travesty that Touchstone has released. Why DPS has been hacked up in this way is puzzling to say the least. In some parts, the plot suffers greatly because key scenes have been cut out. For example, when...
Published on May 18, 1999


‹ Previous | 137 38 3958 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Always Interesting, November 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Poets Society (DVD)
This video is a classic and the message is timeless too. The teacher portrayed in the story is an inspiration for teachers. He reminded me of an American History teacher I had as a teenager many years ago. He made history live just as th teacher in the video did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful movie, November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Poets Society (DVD)
This is one of the greatest movies of all time. To anyone who loves poetry, or who loves a good story about learning who you are, this is for you. I am so happy to have the dvd finally, after only having it on vhs for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, November 21, 2012
By 
Paul Kinna "Paul" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
robin williams at his best this is a classic film. one of my favorite williams movies, good quality color and sound PAUL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First time, November 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First time I've ever watched it. Greatly enjoyed it. It made me miss my writer's group form back in the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars joshuatree77, November 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Poets Society (DVD)
A timeless inspiration for teachers who want to "color outside the lines," to engage and interest their students in their material. Spot-on, sensitive and funny story-telling by Robin Williams again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent inspiration for education advancement, October 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Length:: 1:50 Mins

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dead Poet's Society, October 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a thought provoking movie with a few sad moments. Definitely not a waste of time. I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dead Poet's Society, September 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Poets Society (DVD)
The movie arrived as stated and I was happy with how quickly it arrived at my house. Made a great birthday present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best..., September 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm a little biased because this was one of the defining movies of my high school generation. I watched it recently, and it stands up really well... Kurtwood Smith and Robert Sean Leonard shine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, September 19, 2012
This review is from: Dead Poets Society (Special Edition) (DVD)
This is one of my favourite films, I've seen it over and over again and consider it a must seen in every school, unfortunately for me I've met a teacher like this only one time in my school life and for only a year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 137 38 3958 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dead Poets Society (Special Edition)
Dead Poets Society (Special Edition) by Peter Weir (DVD - 2006)
$15.99 $11.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.