Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed to the max and a must have companion
I have no clue why anyone would say that this book is not fully detailed or hard to follow concerning maps but regardless do not listen.. Here is the gist on the first reviewers issue on the treasure maps which is that there are maps but the in game map they give you for treasures is a scrap with landscapes on them, in order for you to find them you have to use your...
Published on February 20, 2012 by JJ

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of general information, but not that in-depth
The guide comes in a nice hardbound cover which I wasn't expecting. There is a decent amount of general information that will help with the 100% completion of the game. Unfortunately, most of the quests are given nothing more than a general overview. Nothing really in the guide to show you which missions to do in a certain order or detailed maps about where to find...
Published on October 23, 2011 by Chris H


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed to the max and a must have companion, February 20, 2012
By 
JJ (South Bend IN.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption Game of the Year Limited Edition (Hardcover)
I have no clue why anyone would say that this book is not fully detailed or hard to follow concerning maps but regardless do not listen.. Here is the gist on the first reviewers issue on the treasure maps which is that there are maps but the in game map they give you for treasures is a scrap with landscapes on them, in order for you to find them you have to use your head.. On the in game map legend, the map that comes with your game, you know the huge one that folds out that you should get with the game and is also in the book.. You must look at your scraps of treasure maps that will show you a tree with some terrain on it, or a rock formation, maybe a river and at that point you have to identify that terrain on your map, once you locate the terrain on your paper map then waypoint it on the in game map legend(easy as can be)

I mean I'm not tryin to be rude but this is a strategy guide not a cheat book, you still have to think and you cant just rely on the book to do everything..Whats the fun in that..Waypoints are going to be one of your best friends in finding all the extras, you can use the nice track feature to lead you to outfit objectives

This book has the full details you will need to complete all missions, all side quests, treasure finds and anything else you will need that I didn't mention..You should have no problem with this book, it's an easy step by step book categorized in sections, I would never have found out about half of the different quests on this game without it..Particularly the treasure maps and also the flowers and hunting achievements which were all really cool to do I might add, not to mention the DLC information that is only available in book form in this game of the year edition..Hey, it's even a hardcover..Cant beat that(There is a map in the book that will tell you exactly where the treasures, outfits, certain animals and also stranger mission locations that way you may waypoint them on your in game legend...You WILL have to look for the treasure visually once you get there but it is not difficult with the scrap and also the description...Once level 10 is completed it will give you a satchel that allows you to carry more consumable items

I would have to suggest getting this book with the game as it is endless in the amount of things to do. In some cases, the maps and tidbits will be of utmost importance to achieve 100 percent completion. Achieving 100 percent completion will give you a pinkerton outfit, which allows you to have the authority of being the highest law enforcement agent in the game. This allowing you to have free will, to do what you please, almost anywhere with no consequences. The game of the year edition companion book has a decently thorough review by me also

UPDATE: Undead nightmare is even better than I thought ;)...Also see below for a detailed description of benefits and challenges

Another Important aspect of the game is the ambient challenges, treasures and outfit objectives. You may consider doing these all first and the Reason I say that is because certain outfits will help you immensely. The deadly assassin outfit for instance, will refill your dead eye twice as fast..When fighting constantly it will make a big difference.

Master Hunter: When you unlock the Master hunter outfit. It will reward you with you twice the pelts, meat and other items when hunting(While wearing it)..Achieving master hunter will give you viddles to refill health out of your hunted prey, or achieving level 5 gives you the buffalo rifle.

Survivalist: This is tedious, rather they all are in each their own way but purchase a survivalist map to use at the general store, use it once in the area of which your map states that herb or flower will be in. Once at level 5 these maps last longer, then at level 10 you have the ability to harvest plants to make a consumable items to refill your deadeye.

Sharpshooter: At level 5 mastery you will have more ammo within the chests/drawers in your save area, or waking at your campsite. At level 10 mastery you are rewarded with dead eye that replenishes while shooting targets.

These are the most tedious things to do in the game, they take the longest, and some cannot be done till certain areas are unlocked. Though once your whole map is unlocked, like mexico and tall trees then get these done as they will make the game more fun to play through, with the special abilities. If you wait to get them, you will have to go through all this after story mode which may deter you from 100% completion. After the story missions are done, there are no more, so better to use the special things during story mode(It makes it more fun)

One personal piece of important hinting from me(out of experience in the game) is that hunting will allow you to reap the most money benefits in the game. Hunt as much big game as possible, "I spend days just hunting grizzly in tall trees"(tall trees is the most abundant and dangerous hunting ground). "I hunt till I literally have 50-100 grizzly, big cat, boar(Boar will be available to you sooner than grizzly as tall trees is locked at first) pelts. After, I travel to mexico and sell them. The Reasons for this are, they pay the most because they are the farthest from tall trees. Once you sell them, you will have a seemingly inexhaustible supply of money for consumables, guns and ammo..The Lemat revolver and buffalo rifle are themselves hundreds of dollars! In my biggest trip I raked in 13,000 dollars from pelts,meat, and also other sellable parts from the carcass, so it is worth it..Be careful as hunting is as dangerous as it is profitable, more than once I was attacked by two to four grizzlys or 5 wolves. As A matter of fact it will happen often..After such money gains it is just easier not having to worry about grabbing ammo from the dead, or when you save, either way it wont be that much..This also will give you the ability to buy consumables as you please, like moonshine (refills deadeye) or medicine(IMPORTANT! will heal you in the middle of a fight) or horse pills/apples (Also very important as when you need to get somewhere by horse fast or are being chased it refills stamina so your horse doesn't throw you as he will tire easily) very important in the U.S Marshall outfit challenge! SAVE SAVE SAVE! When you have enough pelts while hunting, or Items that you do NOT want to lose if you die, then I suggest you save as much as possible using your campsite because when you die ANYTHING unsaved will be gone! It is really annoying, I forget sometimes...

All above are the hardest thing to do in the game as they also take the most time. When possible, make your game experience more rewarding, it is better to do them early. They may be the most difficult to understand within the book which is why I'm going into such detail, these are the things I wished I knew before starting also
Certain things I have found out like anything that has to do with a poker game challenge in-game it will tell you that you have to beat everyone at a table in a game of poker, well my personal tip is use the elegant suit which allows you to cheat at cards then get caught cheating?! Why? lol well when they challenge you to a shootout in the street, DISARM them, walk back in and keep doing until you have only one guy left to play..Just easier that way, takes less time, make sure you don't kill them though or else you wont be able to play again for a while..

Another thing is when doing bounties, get the outfits first if you can(You will have to do at least a few without the outfit) because when you have a bollard twin outfit and you go after a bollard twin bounty you may ride up unnoticed as an enemy right to your bounty target..Much easier!

This book has the full details you will need to complete all missions, all side quests, treasure finds and anything else you will need that I didn't mention..You should have no problem with this book, it's an easy step by step book categorized in sections, I would never have found out about half of the different quests on this game without it..Particularly the treasure maps and also the flowers and hunting achievements which were all really cool to do I might add, not to mention the DLC information that is only available in book form in this game of the year edition..Hey, it's even a hardcover..Cant beat that

I hope this helps and thanks for reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of general information, but not that in-depth, October 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption Game of the Year Limited Edition (Hardcover)
The guide comes in a nice hardbound cover which I wasn't expecting. There is a decent amount of general information that will help with the 100% completion of the game. Unfortunately, most of the quests are given nothing more than a general overview. Nothing really in the guide to show you which missions to do in a certain order or detailed maps about where to find treasures. I also found that the online wiki gives better information on how to win at the mini-games or how to beat certain missions. Unless you are a collector of strategy guides, the online resources are much more helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for RDR fans, November 3, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption Game of the Year Limited Edition (Hardcover)
This is a great hard cover book that is worth the money if you have spent any time exploring the RDR world. This book throughly covers the complete story and contains information that is not present in the previously published guide book. For example, the book has complete coverage of the Undead Nightmare which is not in the original guide and that I have not see published any where else. The book is worth the price just for the Undead information but it is much more than that because it is presents the whole story in a book that you can put on your coffee table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Addition, January 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption Game of the Year Limited Edition (Hardcover)
RDR is a massive game and this book helps you keep track of where you've gone, what you've done, and little things you may have missed. Since it is the Game of the Year edition it also includes the Undead expansion. I think it is well worth the money for the tips and tricks it offers through out the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must buy, January 26, 2014
By 
C. Wheat (Edinburg, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption Game of the Year Limited Edition (Hardcover)
For any player of these massive work multi side quest GOY games. Helps to find secretes, and hidden side quests that you may miss even after multiple play throughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Would Be Lost With Out It !!!!!, January 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption Game of the Year Limited Edition (Hardcover)
I brought this game and I knew it would be long with all the DLC and the Zombie part of the game. I needed some help with it, Awwsome guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hardcover is the way to go, January 16, 2013
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption Game of the Year Limited Edition (Hardcover)
Red Dead Redemption is a great game with alot of content, and gamers may need help in some way, shape, or form. That's the reason why a strategy guide is needed. This is the guide you should buy. Not only does it cover the main game, but this is the GOTY Limited Edition. It covers the games that were releases later in the series as well. You get it all plus some in this guide. And if your a collector, then the Hardcover version of a Strategy Guide is what you need to buy. It gives you better protection for your guide, and it looks much better on you bookshelf.

Once again Hardcover is the way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book has everything in it., January 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption Game of the Year Limited Edition (Hardcover)
Great book! Has everything you need to complete everything in the game, story, online play, And all DLC. Glad I bought this book, I will be use the heck out of it. It was a little pricey but a great looking hardcover book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RED DEAD REDEMPTION, June 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption Game of the Year Limited Edition (Hardcover)
This book is a must for playing the game. My game play was a much better experience with the book to guide me through. I recommend you wait to play until you read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweeeet, April 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption Game of the Year Limited Edition (Hardcover)
I was extremely happy with the shipping, it took them 2 days to send it :)
Its very nice, i was impressed by the way it looks. I can't wait to go threw it and post-it on the important things, such as challenges lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Red Dead Redemption Game of the Year Limited Edition
Used & New from: $59.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.