Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Dead Six has been added to your Cart
Used: Acceptable | Details
Sold by FPQ Books
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: The cover shows heavy wear. Pages have age spots and/or yellow discoloration/stains. This is an ex library book, stickers and markings accordingly. Item ships secure with Fulfillment By Amazon, Prime customers get 2nd day at no charge!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Dead Six Mass Market Paperback – September 27, 2011

4.5 out of 5 stars 108 customer reviews
Book 1 of 2 in the Dead Six Series

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$7.99
$4.26 $2.02

Youngblood: A Novel by Matt Gallagher
"Youngblood" by Matt Gallagher
A brilliant first novel about a young American soldier finding his purpose during the final, murky days of the war in Iraq, from US army veteran and Columbia MFA grad Matt Gallagher. Learn more | See related books
$7.99 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Dead Six
  • +
  • Swords of Exodus
  • +
  • Warbound (Grimnoir Chronicles)
Total price: $23.97
Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Larry Correia is the New York Times best-selling creator of the Monster Hunter contemporary fantasy noir series, as well as breakout urban fantasy series the Grimnoir Chronicles.  Correia is an award-winning competitive shooter, a movie-prop-gun master and an accountant by day – but an urban noir adventure master by night.  He is very bald and lives in Utah.

An Explosive Ordnance Disposal Technician in the US Air Force, Mike Kupari also served six years in the Army National Guard. He grew up in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula and enlisted at the age of seventeen. He has worked as a security contractor with several firms, did a tour in Southwest Asia with a private military company, and is an NRA certified firearms instructor. Mike currently resides in Utah with his iguana.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Product Details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 725 pages
  • Publisher: Baen; Original edition (September 27, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1451637586
  • ISBN-13: 978-1451637588
  • Product Dimensions: 4.2 x 1.4 x 6.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 5.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (108 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #199,477 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Mass Market Paperback
I was blown away by this book. First off, it's not set in "our world." It's a world just off set of ours. The world's a bit rougher and more cut throat. Most thrillers I've read have been technically accurate but boring or with completely lame characters. Others had great action, but completely unbelievable. This has great characters, great action and very technically competent. Really, the characters are going to make this book. The action alone would make this book a 5 star, but when you actually care about the characters the tension is even more powerful: and let me tell you about the tension. Tense doesn't begin to describe it. These characters are really in peril. As a combat veteran, I appreciated the accuracy of the arms and the use of them. They didn't make the combat unbelievable with jumping sideways with two pistols, but they made it more like the literary equivalent of a Micheal Mann film. (Heat, Collateral, etc Realistic but still amazingly entertaining. Also, the villains are just as hatable as the heroes are likable. Big Eddie is surprisingly threatening and creepy and the government guy (forgot his name) is like that boss that thinks he knows everything and owns you. We've all had one of those. If you don't mind a completely awesome book with amazing characters and brilliant action, then this book is for you!
Comment 37 of 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
In 1994 the movie Speed came out with Keanu Reeves and Sandra Bullock. I remember it well and I loved it. I remember a review that said it had enough things going on for three movies. That 1994 review could fit Dead Six by Larry Correia and Mike Kupari.

Dead Six reads like two books, by two authors one writing each book, and the two are melted into one book. There is the "killer's" book and there is the "thief's book" both of which are happening at the same time and at the same place. Each character keeps getting in the way of the other and this is a pleasure for the reader. Each character is trying to solve a problem, one is overthrowing a government and the other is trying to steal a .... oh I don't know what it was he was trying to steal. Both story lines cross each other and are erily simular in characters in each book and in action.

As for the reader, while this sounds confusing, this is all easy to follow and really keeps you guessing as to what will happen next. The main characters meet and try to kill each other or rather carve each other up. The two "goals" progress and digress and twist and keep you wondering what is going on and who is the "villian?"

There are beheadings, women gutted like a fish, shootings, beatings, revolutions, cons, bombs, tanks, ships, fanatics even show up for a minute or two, and a whole lot of killing. The book is straight forward and the authors play fair by not introducing at the last moment new twists or "out of the blue" shanagicans. As a matter of fact the last 150 pages or so are very satifing for the reader and the "twist" is an "oh yeah" moment.

Correia and Kupari are dead on with their guns and tactics. The battle scenes are believable and at times moving.
Read more ›
2 Comments 12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
Dead Six is a collaborative action-thriller by Monster Hunter writing guru Larry Correia and his Army EOD buddy, Mike Kupari. Larry Correia is currently my favorite author, as well as the leading edge of the urban fantasy market. Any time a Larry Correia book comes out you can sure bet that I will have two copies on order, a signed edition from Uncle Hugo's bookseller for the collection and another from Amazon so that I get to read it the day of release. Dead Six is a first for Larry, in two ways: a first collaboration as well as a first military techno-thriller. The book, while not perfect, was a gripping read that has hooked my interest for later entries in the series.

First things first. Larry and Mike know their stuff. When it comes to shooting these guys know the in's and out's of proper firearm use. I believe both authors shoot competitively. Then throw in Larry's experience as the owner of a gun store, and Mike's army training. So while some of the action sequences may be incredible the action always reads as believable if not entirely realistic. The story itself is broken up into two perspectives. One perspective is told from the ex-mercenary Constantine Michael Valentine, a somewhat jaded young man trying to lead a normal life despite his deadly skill set. The other perspective is that of thief and assassin extraordinaire Lorenzo. Both find themselves neck deep in trouble in the fictional Middle Eastern country of Zubara. For Valentine trouble is the elite black ops counter terrorist group Dead Six. For Lorenzo trouble is infiltrating a terrorist organization for the ultimate heist. Both characters find themselves with opposing objectives and end up clashing, each characters actions having direct or indirect consequences for the other.
Read more ›
Comment 14 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
Every page of this book oozes realism. The authors really know their stuff. Larry has been a competitive shooter and owned a machine gun store. Mike Kupari is, at the time of writing this review, serving in Afghanistan as Air Force EOD tech which automatically makes him a badass. The combat/gun handling scenes are great.

The story switches between two point of view characters with the threads of the story getting pulled tighter and tighter and as the plot tapestry emerges. It ends with a bit of a cliffhanger ending - I hope we get the next book soon! The book is a great thriller with a small dash of alternative history and a pinch supernatural thriller thrown in.

Highly recommended for fans of Brad Thor, Vince Flynn, Matthew Reilly or James Rollins.
Comment 4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Dead Six
This item: Dead Six
Price: $7.99
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: military war dead