Best Books of the Month Shop Costumes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Janet Jackson All-New Fire TV Stick with Voice Remote Grocery Introducing Handmade New Kitchen Scale from AmazonBasics Amazon Gift Card Offer redoaks redoaks redoaks  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Nintendo Digital Games Shop Now STEM Toys & Games

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $7.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Dead Things Kindle Edition

97 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
"Please retry"

Length: 305 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

From Your Bookshelf to the Big Screen: The Martian
Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars. Now, he's sure he'll be the first person to die there. Read the best-selling novel from Andy Weir before you see the major motion picture. Learn more

Editorial Reviews


"Blackmoore employs Chandleresque prose to smoothly incorporate a hard-boiled sense of urban despair into a paranormal plot.... Urban fantasy readers will appreciate the polished, assured writing and hope for a bevy of sequels." — Publishers Weekly

"For a book all about dead things, this novel is alive with great characters and a twisty, scary-funny story that teaches you not to tango with too much necromancy. My favorite book this year, bar none." — Chuck Wendig, author of BLACKBIRDS and MOCKINGBIRD

"A head-shakingly perfect blend of zombie schlock, deadpan wit, startling profanity, desperate improvisation and inventive brilliance." — Kirkus (starred review for CITY OF THE LOST)

"The funhouse reflection of L.A. Blackmoore conjures is at once vibrant, seedy, and mysterious - streets so mean, they feel as though plucked straight from Chandler's DT nightmares. CITY OF THE LOST effortlessly blends the grit with the fantastical, and paints a world in which magic is to be feared - but not nearly so much as the people behind it." — Chris F. Holm, author of DEAD HARVEST

"The gritty streets of CITY OF THE LOST are filled with snappy dialog, and fascinating characters, as well as a rollercoaster of a plot that doesn't slow down from beginning to end. This is the zombie crime novel we didn't know we were all waiting for." — Seanan McGuire, author of DISCOUNT ARMAGEDDON

About the Author

Stephen Blackmoore is an author and a blogger. His first novel is City of the Lost, a paranormal noir with zombies, demons, witches, and a lot of action. He can be found at and on Twitter @sblackmoore.

Product Details

  • File Size: 1304 KB
  • Print Length: 305 pages
  • Publisher: DAW (February 5, 2013)
  • Publication Date: February 5, 2013
  • Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
  • Language: English
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #77,651 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?

More About the Author

Stephen Blackmoore is a pulp writer of little to no renown who once thought lighting things on fire was one of the best things a kid could do with his time. Until he discovered that eyebrows don't grow back very quickly.

He is the author of the urban fantasy novels CITY OF THE LOST, DEAD THINGS and the upcoming BROKEN SOULS.

His short stories and poetry have appeared in Plots With Guns, Needle, Spinetingler, Thrilling Detective, Shots, Demolition, Clean Sheets , Flashing In The Gutters and a couple of anthologies with authors far better than he is.

He is represented by Allan Guthrie at Jenny Brown Associates

You can even stalk him on Twitter (@sblackmoore) or check out his website at .

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful By Kindle-aholic on June 17, 2013
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I knew after reading the first chapter that it was time to strap myself in and enjoy the ride. Excellent world and magic system, tortured lead character, lots of danger and action - hells yes.

First off, the setting: Los Angeles. LA has always been hellish for me, so a story set there with a rampaging, ravenous ghost, the personification of Death, gangsters, a magical hitman, it all worked.

Eric is our hitman. His magical talent is control of the dead. He left LA after avenging the death of his parents, but his sister's murder brings him back. He is looking for payback and finds way more than he was expecting.

I am a sucker for any story where Death is a character. I love it, and I always want to see where the author will go with it. Here we get Death across different belief systems, in particular the Loa and Santa Muerte. Santa Muerte is so creepy.

The magic system worked for me. I got plenty of show versus tell and it made sense. I liked Eric's attitude to his power. Control over the dead is one that would make most squeamish.

This isn't a book with romance. There are lots of relationship issues. Eric spent years trying to keep a distance from anyone who mattered to him. He also left without a goodbye. I liked his interactions with Alex, his childhood friend, and Vivian, his ex. There is so much give and take, issues of trust and anger on all sides.

A fast-paced, action-packed read that solved our main issue but left room for more, I will be eagerly awaiting the next Eric Carter adventure.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful By Tina06ND on April 2, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I'll admit it. I'm a shallow book-lover. You know that adage, "Don't judge a book by its cover?" Well, I do, I did, and I'm glad for it.

Surely, the cover of this book - reminiscent of my other literary loves of Harry Dresden and Cal Leandros, to name a few - initially piqued my curiosity. Mysterious, attractive looking gentlemen who teeters on the darkside of life and may or may not have wizard powers? SIGN. ME. UP.

Then, I read the book description.

Then, the first chapter.

Then, the next.

And the next.

Before I know it, a few hours pass and I realize that sleep will not come until I figure out what happens next in this gripping piece of urban fantasy set in a noir landscape.

The good?

1. A strong male character that apologizes neither for his actions nor the mess he leaves in his wake. Eric Carter is the lovable, terrifying, foul-mouthed hero in a lovable, terrifying, and foul world. Blackmoore's lead is quick-thinking and - dare I say it? - MacGuyver-like in his spell wielding. That is, he can create a lot of explosive magic out of just a few, everyday objects, and that is FUN.

2. A world that sucks you in. Blackmoore has painted a world, just behind the veil of reality, that is steeped in the mythos of our own nightmares. Tangible ghosts. Petty ancient gods. Some monstrous...thing...with really sharp teeth and claws.

3. The potential for more. MUCH more. Without giving too much away, Blackmoore has written this first novel in a way that hints at much greater things, not only for Eric, but for many of his characters. The problems seem only to have just begun, which is why I pray for a litany of follow-ups.

The bad?

1. It ended.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Max Cage on May 13, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Urban fantasy, when done well, is excellent. However, it's hard as hell to find that mythic beast that is well done urban fantasy. The genre is dominated by weird cross pollinations of Harlequin Romance novels and Penthouse Forum letters - done with vampires.

Even if this weren't the case, I think Stephen Blackmoore's DEATH THINGS would stand out. This is an example of that rare thing, the fantastic Urban Fantasy. It's sharp, clever, tough and unrelentingly noir. It wears its influences proudly on its sleeve (HELLBLAZER, anyone?) while being far from a knock off.

Excellent read! A no-brainer for fans of Richard Kadrey's SANDMAN SLIM books, Mike Carey's Felix Castor novels and Chris Holm's Collector series.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Mr. Blackmoore can definitely write but his delivery to me was just off.

In the beginning the main character is going to cash in on a bad guy and says (Paraphrased) You make gods angry and they may not want to deal with you, so they send something worse, me!.... I read that and thought, oh wow, this is going to be good but when he shows up to fight, and he starts saying that he may have bit off more than he can chew. It just seemed weird to me. There were more than several instances of this all throughout the book, he kept referring to the people chasing him as amateurs but he always ended up pretty much on the losing end and just narrowly escaping, or tied to a chair with a missing tooth, broken ribs and his eyes swelled shut.
All of that wouldn't be a problem at all, I definitely don't mind the main character being shown to not be invincible but when you build him up with catch phrases before he enters a room of bad guys, such as: I knew before I even walked in that I was going to kill everyone...... Then he makes it through the door frame and gets a tazer to the neck and wakes up again tied to a chair.

Throughout the book demigods keep saying that he is way more powerful than he knows and nothing ever comes of it.. Then at the very end the goddess of death lends him her power and the most spectacular thing he does with it is goes to a cemetery and makes a corpse fall out of a casket.

I'll buy the second one because on top of all I said, Mr. Blackmoore does write a good story. I'd just rather the description of how much of a badass the guy is really matches up with what he actually throws down.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in