Customer Reviews


1,338 Reviews
5 star:
 (674)
4 star:
 (328)
3 star:
 (164)
2 star:
 (94)
1 star:
 (78)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


431 of 461 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one grabs you by the throat...
sorry, that was bad! I am a big Charlaine Harris fan and only mildly interested in vampires. But the combination of a an uncontrollably mind-reading heroine, newly legal vampires, a serial killer, a shape-shifter -- how could I resist? I find I don't want to say much at all about the plot, as it's too easy to give away some really exciting twists. It's fair to say...
Published on July 29, 2001 by Susan Shedd

versus
165 of 197 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not even worth finishing...
First of all, apologies to all of you who are huge fans of this series of books. I'm sure you'll hate this review, but remember, this is just one person's opinion.

I was drawn to this series due to all of the press it's been receiving lately, and also because I'm up for a good, escapist vampire novel now and then. I actually bought the whole box set when it...
Published on December 6, 2008 by A. CLARK


‹ Previous | 1 2134 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

431 of 461 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one grabs you by the throat..., July 29, 2001
By 
Susan Shedd (South Woodbury, VT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood, Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
sorry, that was bad! I am a big Charlaine Harris fan and only mildly interested in vampires. But the combination of a an uncontrollably mind-reading heroine, newly legal vampires, a serial killer, a shape-shifter -- how could I resist? I find I don't want to say much at all about the plot, as it's too easy to give away some really exciting twists. It's fair to say that the story postulates vampires as a newly-emerged legal minority (word is they've been victimized by superstition, when really the poor people have been subjected to a terrible virus) with attendant vampire-philics and phobics roiling the waters of cultural change. Vampires can now subsist on artificial blood, so they don't have to be a danger to anyone. Harris has thought through vampire culture and the interaction of that culture with "normal" society to great effect -- the book would be fun to read just for that .
I have to admit, though, that nothing about the vampires interested me as much as the main character, Sookie. If you think you want to be able to know what other people are thinking, the limitations of Sookie's life will make you think again. She's brave, brilliant and decent and watching her (and her sex life) develop is a true joy.
Meanwhile, the book is tightly and extravagantly plotted and the psychological effects are fascinating and disturbing, absolutely gripping. Read it over a weekend or on vacation so you won't have to put it down -- you'll just have to know what happens next!
Harris has set this up to continue as a series, and if she can continue this level of quality, people will be lining up for each new book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


172 of 187 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A much better than average vampire mystery novel, May 22, 2001
By 
This review is from: Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood, Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
Sookie Stackhouse lives in a world like ours - except for one difference, 4 years ago Vampires "came out of the coffin" and are now a legal part of USA society. In this way it's somewhat like the situation in the Anita Blake (author Laurel Hamilton) novels, but in someways I think better written in this book.
Sookie herself is unusual with a disability that makes dating a virtual impossiblity until a vampire comes to town and she discovers he's her (almost) perfect man. Unfortunatley, at the same time people start getting killed, which most of the locals see as an unlikely co-incidence, and in a small town that can almost be deadly itself.
The author has written a very readable book here. I'm not sure if it's the start of a series or not - if it's not - then it's still an enjoyable stand alone novel. Her characters are believable and likeable, and I don't remember any slow patches that make your attention wander. In fact, I read this in a day - the sign of a very good book for me.
For those people who like fiction that covers, vampires, PSI, alternative realities or mystery fiction, this book pretty well covers all those areas. Enjoy:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Intriguing Blend of Horror and Mystery!, September 26, 2003
This review is from: Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood, Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
Sookie Stackhouse has what she calls a "disability." She's a telepath. Now reading minds sounds like it might be a good thing, but as she points out it sort of gets in the way of relationships, sexual relationships in particularly. It's hard for her to have sex and enjoy it when she knows the man she's with thinks her breasts are too small or maybe he's thinking of someone else. Besides, other people's thoughts bombarding her all day drive her crazy. She works as a waitress in a bar and comes in contact with many people on a daily basis. So for her own sanity, and because she thinks it rude to listen in, she's learn to block out the noise from the minds of others. Then Bill comes into her life. He's the perfect boyfriend because she can't read his thoughts at all. That's because he has a disability of his own. He's dead. He's a vampire. Vampires have recently come out of the closet so to speak and exposed their existence to the world. All of this came about because of the creation of synthetic blood, making it possible for them to exist without preying on unwilling humans. They are the new minority and now wish to coexist with humans. Of course, the vampires-like any minority-have those who hate them. But they also have those who admire and adore them as well. These people are called fang-bangers. Three female fang-bangers suddenly turn up dead, murdered, and the vampires are quickly blamed. Fear fuels the fires of hatred and violence erupts between the humans and the undead. This puts Bill at risk. Also, Sookie fears that she's next on the murderer's list since she has a vampire boyfriend. So, with Bill's help, she uses her "disability" to solve the mystery, and in the process she puts her own life on the line.
This is an extraordinary and original book; full of charm and wit, capturing small-town America to a T. Harris blends together several genres-horror, mystery, and a bit of Gothic romance-with ease and aplomb. She has a straight forward, just between you and me kind of style that's fun and easy to read. One minute she's making you laugh, the next she's sending chills along your spine, and the next she's got you wondering who done it. This book will entertain and keep you guessing until the very end. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cross between Janet Evanovich and Laurell K. Hamilton., May 28, 2002
This review is from: Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood, Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
Charlaine Harris offers up an original and fun vampire novel with 'Dead Until Dark'.
Sookie Stackhouse, a waitress in a small contemporary Louisiana town, has led her life trying to protect herself from "her disability"-- a telepathic skill so acute she finds it difficult to block out the thoughts of those around her.
One night when a vampire named Bill enters the bar Sookie is immediately drawn him. He's set apart from people just like she is and she's delighted to discover she can't overhear his thoughts at all. He likewise is surprised he cannot hypnotize her with his power. They find themselves in the awkward position of meeting on almost equal ground. When citizens of the town start showing up murdered, Sookie enlists Bill's help.
The style of 'Dead Until Dark' really reminds me of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series. 'Dead Until Dark' is a first person narrative and takes place in an area where everybody knows each other. Sookie also has a grandma who's a character. Sookie is, well, kind of goofy. Her talent for hiding her telepathy is about as great as Evanovich's Stephanie Plum's skill as a bounty hunter.
Bill is rather a "thinking" comtemplative vampire, similar to Anne Rice's Louis, except he accepts himself for what he is. He doesn't reveal much of his past which, no doubt, will unwrap in later installments.
Charlaine Harris portrays the vampire world to be as violent as that portrayed by Laurell K. Hamilton. However, Sookie Stackhouse is no Anita Blake. The novel does slow somewhat in the middle and wraps up rather peremptorily. However, 'Dead Until Dark' is an engaging take on 'life with vampires' and has consistent style. And Sookie is a fun character.
I look forward to Sookie & Bill developing more as characters in future installments and seeing their relationship grow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Fun I've had reading in a LONG Time!, August 7, 2001
By 
Kathryn J. Lizee (Berea, KY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood, Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
I ordered "Dead Until Dark" [....] I got my books in today and because of the very well done jacket cover, found myself pulling it from the pile first. The premise sounded very interesting and atypical of vampire fiction.
I was hooked from the first page and read this book in one sitting. I devoured it (tongue in cheek!)
The 411: Sookie is this waitress in some small town near N'awlins. In this world, which appears to be in the present tense, or not so distant and not too futuristic time, vampires have "come out of the coffin." They're protected legally, though, still treated by many/most as monsters, predators, fiends. Some of the vampires live up to this rep. There are some characters in this book that will make your skin shiver. Others, like the vampire Bill (I'm still laughing at his name. Even Sookie comments on its incongruousness with the glamour associated with vampirism.) ..like Bill, are merely trying to "mainstream" ....live in a human world, at least, after dark.
Sookie is a bit different herself. She has major telepathic abilities. She can hear what folks think. This has been a major deterrant for her meeting and maintaining relationships with guys. Till she meets Bill. For some reason, with Bill, she can't hear his thoughts.
How does she meet Bill? Well, apparently, in this society, there is a black market for vampire blood. Vampires are caught and "drained." Vampire blood is reported to make folks heal miracurously, and/or increase sexual power. Sort of Viagra and the founting of Youth and an All cure rolled into one.
For some, though, drinking vampire blood makes them crazy.
However, this was not a focal point of this book. I thought it might be but it just served as an interesting bit of plot. That's the thing I enjoyed about this book. The author took great care in giving us reasons for everything. In a world that is hard to imagine, she made it easier by bringing its reality to terms we could understand/relate to.
Anyway, Sookie meets Bill by saving his life from two "drainers." When the drainers come to retaliate and nearly kill Sookie, Bill saves her. (Bill..I love it!) Thus begins their relationship. It's rocky, and very disturbing in some points, not easy and certainly questionable. There is also this matter of these murders that keep popping up all over town. Who did it~ is the question on everyone's mind, and Sookie will help...
There are SOOOOOOOOO many wonderful secondary characters. Sam, for instance, Sookie's boss. And Eric, the oldest vampire that Bill knows, who sends sookie flowers that look like vaginas. I got the feeling that there will be another book in this series, because the stories to tell here.
There is humor..lots of it. I was laughing out loud. There was violence, so strong I physically cringed. The sensuality level is pretty intense too, as is the awful humanity in this book as well. We all are, in some ways, monsters.
Anyway, there is so much to say here. I can't say enough great things about this book. I am not someone who reads alot of vampiric fiction, but I drank this one in with relish (and a side of toast!) It's really good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


165 of 197 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not even worth finishing..., December 6, 2008
By 
A. CLARK (Midwest, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First of all, apologies to all of you who are huge fans of this series of books. I'm sure you'll hate this review, but remember, this is just one person's opinion.

I was drawn to this series due to all of the press it's been receiving lately, and also because I'm up for a good, escapist vampire novel now and then. I actually bought the whole box set when it came out recently, but am putting my review here (instead of with the boxed set) because I didn't even get past this first book.

The book did not hold my interest at all, and believe me, I tried to like it. I've been attempting to figure out what the problem is. It's not the setting; I was born in Louisiana, so the setting was one of the attractions of the book. It's not the overall, view-from-30,000-feet story; that was fine. So what was it?

I'd have to say it was more structural than anything else, for lack of a better word. I found Ms. Harris' writing to be on par with what an average ninth grader might produce. The characters, even the main ones, were a bit on the superficial side and weren't really fully developed. The plot details were quite boring, not engaging at all. The love scenes were a bit cringe-worthy, reminiscent of scenes from poorly executed smut novels (i.e. just as with smut novels, these parts struck me as nothing more than a fantasy on the part of the author).

Overall, the simple fact that I found the book disappointing *IS* the most disappointing part. That is, if I hadn't had such high hopes, it wouldn't be such a let down. The story and characters had oodles of potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Introduction, April 5, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood, Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book has been popping up in my recommended for you list, forever. I read some reviews and the plot summary and thought it sounded good; but not good enough to make me want to buy it immediately. I added it to my wish list where it got ignored for a long time. Every once in awhile it would pop back up in my recommendation list and I would think about ordering it soon. Then another reviewer, Tom Knapp/Rambles (.net), recommended it to me, so I finally decided to see what this book was all about. I can't believe I waited so long to read this book, I absolutely loved it.

Sookie Stackhouse looks like a normal, pretty woman. However, she's a beauty with a special gift that allows her to hear other's thoughts. Because of this gift, she is looked upon by others with wonder or as some sort of freak. Sookie works as a waitress in the local bar, for a boss who, for some reason, she has trouble reading his thoughts. She doesn't date, has a Small circle of friends and still lives at home with her Grandma. Then one night she saves the new local vampire from some undesirables and her life changes. Then there are murders happening in this small town; Sookie tries to listen to thoughts to see who the killer is.

The difference between this book and other vampire books I have read is that the vampires are not in hiding. Everyone knows there are vampires and restaurants are even serving synthetic blood to their local vampires. I thought it was a unique approach, it gave the story a lot more character and depth, and it leaves the possibilities endless. In this small town people are fascinated with the vampire, are afraid of them and some people just see them as another type of person. It was exciting to watch the vampires integrate with 'normal' society.

Sookie and her vampire, Bill, turn out to be a charming couple. In a lot of ways he is the stereotypical vampire; he is blood thirsty, really pale, cold and extremely strong. Then the writer creates an atypical side to this vampire, he longs to be part of a town and home and he is surprisingly tender and loving with Sookie, her friends and family.

The supporting characters are just as captivating as Sookie and Bill. One of the more surprising and clever parts of the story is the identity of a vampire bodyguard that is hired by Bill to watch over Sookie. I can't say anymore as I don't want to ruin the surprise, but I laughed and laughed, and I am not quite certain if it isn't true! If this was a brand new book, there would be no doubt that a sequel was coming. The author leaves us looking forward to hearing more about Sookie, Bill and the rest of the crew. I can't think of any part of the story that didn't work or flow for me. It was an enjoyable and entertaining read and I am getting the rest of the books in the series, ASAP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A vampire novel with fang-in-cheek humor, May 11, 2001
This review is from: Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood, Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
Charlaine Harris writes a remarkably entertaining mystery that shows Louisiana as a hot bed of people with "gifts" of many sorts. Sookie the telepathic cocktail-waitress; her boyfriend Bill the Vampire; and Sookie's boss Sam who has quite a surprise of his own!
When a young woman turns up strangled, and fang marks shows that she had been fed upon in the not so distant pass, suspicions abound in the tiny town of Bon Temps. And when another victim is found murdered with a similar MO, the long arm of the law starts to rech out towards Sookie's brother who apparently has been having "relations" with both.
Plot twists abound, and the characterizations are wonderful. A fun read that I can highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 58 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bummer!!, March 25, 2009
Let me first say I love good, light reading. I don't need classical writing or serious topics...I love a good girly book. I even devoured the Twilight series which many feel was poorly written. However, I could hardly get through this book. The character development was lacking as I never felt like I knew any of the characters thoroughly. In addition, I just never connected with Sookie as she seems to be emotionally scatterbrained. She likes Sam, then she likes Bill, then she likes neither, then she likes Bill, then Sam, rinse, repeat. Fickleness is fine in concept, but her feelings are never really explained so you have almost no idea where she's coming from. The plot line jumped around quite a bit as well, and in and in the end I felt this was a bit like reading something written by a 10th grade English student. Not that I could do better, mind you, but I'm not a published author.

I really wanted to like this book, truly I did. I even took it with me for a cross-Atlantic flight, excited to indulge in hours of uninterrupted reading. Unfortunately, this book make me longingly look at the Sky Mall magazine and wonder if it wouldn't be more interesting. Was that a Snuggie I saw? :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, not great, September 26, 2008
By 
Dead Until Dark is a book I've walked by dozens of times. I'd stop, pick it up, look at it, think about it and ultimately put it back. You see, I've been burned before. Series like Laurel K. Hamilton's Anita Blake books started out good until I realized what they were: Harlequin Romance novels that featured the supernatural. And I was afraid that that's what I'd be getting with Charlaine Harris' Sookie Stackhouse series. And it is...to a point.

Due to the show on HBO, I decided to try the books and see just how faithful the TV series was. Surprisingly, I discovered that, for the most part, True Blood features a lot of Dead Until Dark's storyline. Sookie is a waitress at a Southern bar in fictional town Bon Temps. She has the distinction of being able to read minds, a "disability" she has to work hard to control. In this world, vampires are not only real but semi-accepted into society due to a synthetic blood. One day, a vampire by the name of Bill walks into Sookie's part of the world and she's immediately attracted to him. Then people start dying.

Alright, so I came into this series with a couple assumptions based around things I've read and seen which have biased my opinions. After Alan Ball said some very nice things about the story and its intent (with the sociological aspects of vampires dealing with normalcy), I kind of expected more from Dead Until Dark than I received. At the half-way mark, the novel showed its true intent: a romance novel, with just a slight tinge of mystery. The mystery really starts to take the back-burner to Sookie and Bill's on-and-off-again relationship to the point that the final reveal seemed an after thought.

So, here's the thing. Some readers will be completely content with a grown up Twilight or a funnier (and better written) Anita Blake series. For those readers, you can probably add another star or so to my review. Some readers, like me, were expecting something a bit more and will be at my score or lower, depending on their proclivity towards romance, and might want to stick with the show. A fun read, but nothing too great, Dead Until Dark had enough to make me pick up the second book but not enough that I'm holding my breath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2134 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dead Until Dark  (Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood, Book 1)
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood, Book 1) by Charlaine Harris (Mass Market Paperback - May 1, 2001)
$7.99 $7.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.