Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Cyber Monday Deals Week Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer mithc mithc mithc  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage R6 Siege Shop Now bgg

Format: Video GameChange
Price:$23.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
on July 4, 2013
Now let me start out by saying that this Game is only 6 hours long and has recycled villains and some repetitious gameplay, but its not a Bad Game. They nailed Deadpool so well and you will laugh your head off with the Humor in this game.

Give the game a chance... trust me you wont regret it.

My Score for Deadpool is a 7/10

Here is my Pros & Cons List:

1.Got Deadpool Right
2.Story is funny
3.Price is fair
4.You get to bitch slap wolverine

1.Repitious Gameplay
2.Recycled Villains
3.No bonuses or collectables
4.Only 6 Hours Long
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
59 of 66 people found the following review helpful
on June 25, 2013
This game will never be considered great or come close to going down as a classic, but it's fun as hell! Yes, it has its problems and seems rushed at points during the gameplay, but if you just sit back and accept it for what it is, it's quite enjoyable. It's everything that Deadpool is; crude, immature, and completely off its rocker. It's a relatively short game and suffers at times of repetitiveness, but its vulgarity and total insanity is right up my alley. Its a traditional beat 'em up, with aspects of shooters and rpg thrown in for good measure. You'll enjoy the game as long as you don't go at it with really high expectations and a desire to hold to comparison of something greater. Crash in a comfortable chair, open a cold beverage, and slash and shoot your way through it one weekend.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on July 30, 2013
I heard this game was funny and blast to play so I ponied up the cash and took a chance and man am I glad I did! I have never smiled and laughed more at a video game in my life. I can honestly say I had alot fun playing this game and that's the most important thing about video games right.....FUN?

I have heard of Deadpool(The Merc with a mouth) and I am somewhat familiar with the character even though I haven't read any of his comics. After playing this game I will be definitely buying his comics to see what adventures I have missed.

The graphics aren't too bad. The gameplay can get abit repetitive and I beat the game on normal in about 7 1/2 - 8 hours. There are challenge maps to be played, but it doesn't tack on a lot of life for this game. I wish it could have been a little bit longer. So far there is only 1 piece of DLC for this game, "Merc with a Map Pack". It includes a couple challenge levels and additional costumes for Deadpool. I don't know if there will be more future DLC for this game since Activision laid-off most of High Moon Studios shortly after the game was out of development.

I am definitely hanging on to this gem and will be replaying it again. Ask yourself these 3 questions...

1. Do you like Hack n Slash/Shooting/Platforming/Action games?
2. Do you like to laugh?
3. Are you a fan of Deadpool, X-Force, or the X-men?

If you answered yes to at least 2 of these questions then do yourself a favor and buy this game!

BTW this game has adult humor, situations, and swearing, IT IS NOT MEANT FOR KIDS! Hence the "M" rating!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on October 31, 2013
In the Marvel universe there are many iconic characters that you can associate with the brand. Wolverine, Captain America, Iron Man and the Hulk to name a few but none of these can compare to the mercenary with a mouth. I am talking about the red and black fool that is known as Deadpool with his over the top antics and insane combat skills. Now Activision is making a game based on his exploits but is this one ride you will want to take or should you just sit this one out?

The plot of the game is that you are hired to assassinate a corrupt media mogul by the name of Chance White. Mr. White has made such reprehensible shows such as Jump the Shark in which contestants have to jump over a pool of great white sharks. Without giving much away there are more Marvel characters in this game than I have seen in many others with appearances being made by Wolverine, Cable, Mr. Sinister and Psylocke to name a few.

The game is a third person shooter which you will be able to use not only deadpool's iconic blades and guns but various other weapons that are scattered throughout the levels. These range from lasers , giant hammers and even weapons like sai can be found and used on various opponents. Deadpool also has a short range teleportation move which can be useful in getting up close and personal with the enemy. He also has a healing factor but if he's getting shot up too much you can scavenge for body parts and attach them to him or just wait for the body parts to regrow.

While playing this game deadpool will shout out his usual one liners and quips such as "You're going to want to have a doctor look at that" to a dismembered corpse or "roll for melee damage" as you inflict pain with a giant hammer. This game also breaks the fourth wall as deadpool will look out at the player either to praise him or to berate him for "dropping the camera". There is plenty of humor in this game and it balances it out well with the action.

If you are a fan of shoot `em up games or Deadpool in general you should give this game a look as it is filled with action, weapons and enough one liners to make you laugh hard.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
30 of 39 people found the following review helpful
on June 25, 2013
Dead pool could have been a really decent title with a bit more time spent in development. As it stands, the game has some fun moments, mainly in the combat, but even that is a bit flawed at times. The graphics are bland(game level), the enemies are dumb,and the game is also short. But again, there are some fun moments.

Still, if you are a huge fan of Dead pool, the game at least won't make you angry.It won't exactly blow you away, but overall an fun game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on August 12, 2014
Deadpool the Videogame is a very funny over the top game. The jokes are very funny and the character is true to the comics in every way. The story starts with Deadpool rewriting the script for his own game, Deadpool being what he is ends up forgetting his own edits and then the adventure begins. The humor is tongue and cheek and the fourth wall is constantly being broken as is expected with Deadpool. The problem with the game is once your done there is no replay value what so ever. The combat is also boring with the game being too easy even on the hardest setting. I would recommend buying it on sale or renting it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on June 29, 2013
I might not be the biggest Deadpool fan, but I have enjoyed his comics from time to time. The thing that made him a cool character was his fourth-wall-breaking, psychotic and crazy routine along with his sarcastic and perverse humor. However, you never had to actually hear him (or the voices in his head) talk, just read the talk bubbles. In the game you don't have to just deal with a bad game in many areas, but you have to deal with him coming off as an ADHD ten-year-old child. He has his moments, but after a short time, it all gets stale.

High Moon Studios' Deadpool is the merc with a mouth in his first ever video game and while he continuously breaks the fourth wall, he will never let you forget you are playing a video game, as if everything about the games mechanics doesn't do that already. Deadpool as a game comes off as kind of a parody of action games, which works for the character being Deadpool, but it constantly being thrown in your face gets annoying and old. Even when they use it to break up the game play, such as in one short part you are playing top down in 8-bit graphics like in the original Zelda game. Also he is constantly commenting on various video game tropes, the script for the game and now and then complaining about you the player.

Being that I am not the biggest fan and don't have anything to do with Deadpool regularly, this is my first time dealing with him as an animated character with a voice, so maybe it is something I am not used to. However, some of the comics I have read have him dialed back a little compared to others and unfortunately High Moon has him cranked up to an eleven in this game. I am sure to those that absolutely love everything about him will see this as great stuff, but for the rest of us it doesn't work as well.

It seems that High Moon used Deadpool to do crazy things with everything about the game and even maybe use the whole fourth wall stuff to hide technical problems with the game, such as loading screens that are put in place in areas where he runs into the game being unfinished. However, there is a few times that while running around a corner the game will freeze for a few seconds with a regular loading screen. It seems abrupt, so it is hard to say if the game all of a sudden needed to load in strange place or that part of the game was trying to be goofy. There are instances of technical problems that are clearly spotty work on the game, like constant texture pop-in issues. Almost every scene seems to take a few seconds before everything becomes clear. Also Deadpool likes to stick to things it seems. If he runs up against any kind of wall or other structure in an area, he will stick to it. This seems to happen mostly in combat situations or at least that is the most notable because you are trying to get away so his healing factor will kick in. The combat gets intense at times, so running into something and have it be a stumbling block gets very aggravating quickly. There is the teleport ability, but it is nothing grand at all. If you are up against a wall and teleport, you might just end up in the middle of all the baddies and take even more damage. You can only teleport a few steps at most and it rarely gets you out of trouble.

What makes the sticking to walls and such even more annoying is the game play itself. The aiming feels off. There is a lock on, but if you so much as tap the right analog stick it stops being locked on to an enemy. This is alright, but when you are used to using both stick a lot to move around and kill it can be tough to keep it in mind not to touch that right stick at all. There is also the issue with the camera, you control it thankfully, but it still seems to box you in at times if you are not in a very open area. This is more harmful when as stated before, up against a wall that won't let you go and it means you are constantly being hit by something off screen. On top of the controls being clunky, the killing and murdering that makes Deadpool so cool is completely unsatisfying. All the enemies are fodder, with a few more challenging enemies here and there, but even those are unimpressive and never really giving you any feeling of dread. Most enemies you cut to pieces and the others you have to work a little harder or maybe have to use the lock on aim exclusively. It all makes all the action boring and repetitive.

As Deadpool kills he gets DP points, why is it DP points? Because Deadpool. I do not understand why it isn't just money. Everything else in this game is pulled out of Deadpool's ass, so why not make money just appear as well? Makes sense to me. The DP not being money is nitpicking sure, but that is because everything else has problems. It is easy to nitpick something when everything else seems to be in bad shame. You use these DP points to unlock new weapons. You starts out with his trusty swords and pistols and you can upgrade those with DP points. You can also use these points to unlock new weapons like Sais, machine guns and bear traps. None of which helps the game from feeling repetitive and are just as average as the weapons you start out with, although the Sais so help build up your combo, which can help get you more DP points. So using the Sais seems like the best bet. You can also upgrade Deadpool as well with these points to have his healing factor kick in fast and some other abilities, but again, nothing great.

High Moon trying to make Deadpool seem like a bad game as a joke comes out making the fact that it is a bad game that much worse. Maybe they will tell us "hey, it was all just a big joke" and play it off that way to try to make it seem very Meta, but I wouldn't believe them. The chugging issues, weird loading in the middle of running down a hallway, the boring game play, the annoyance of Deadpool, bad game mechanics and on and on makes this game not worth playing unless you are a die-hard fan or love trophies/achievements. This game gives those out like candy and most of them are for the joke of doing it, which is fine. It gives at least some value to the Deadpool game.
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on July 4, 2013
I just got my platinum trophy in this game so I've played it through and though. I am a fan of deadpool but I'm going to give an honest non bias review (see below).

The "honest" truth: If you are expecting a blockbuster 9/10 game like the Arkham Series for Batman then you are in the WRONG place. Everyone should have known from the beginning that this was going to be a mediocre hack and slash game with crude humor (I mean it's a Deadpool game lol) If you are not a fan of hack and slash games but like Deadpool then rent this game or avoid it all together and just watch the cutscenes on Youtube. It's good for about one play through then you will likely put it down for awhile. For me it's mindless fun, for you it could be repetitive/boring. Not to mention the game is rather short.

Now that's outta of the way I can explain things in more detail for anyone who is interested.

Combat: You get 3 melee weapons (katanas, sais and hammers) and 4 guns (Handguns, Shotguns, SMGs and the futuristic "pew pew" gun lol). You can either cut enemies down, fill them with lead or both. There is a little variation here. You will fight waves of enemies in close quarters combat then another in ranged combat. Occasionally you will fight a "giant" miniboss type enemy whose weapon you can use after killing them. Then of course the enemy that buffs the defense/attack of their allies. You teleport to evade and you can counter enemy attacks. You get momentum attacks which are like you "super room clearing attacks" and you can unlock finishing moves

Stealth sections: There are a few points in the game where you can stealth kill your enemies instead of fighting them head on. The animations for these kills are well done and range from slicing an enemy to pieces, stabbing them multiple times or just blowing their brains out.

*There are some sections of the game (I won't disclose fully due to possible spoilers for those who haven't played the game) that break up the "normal" combat and will have you doing something really silly things*

Now for the main event. The real reason why this game is awesome.

Story: Now if you are thinking about buying this game just because you are a fan of Deadpool you won't be disappointed. Daniel Way does an amazing job with the story. The voice acting is amazing and done quite well. Hearing the banter between Deadpool and the voices in his head is entertaining. In all honesty it felt just like reading the comics, expecting really being a part of them. The jokes are hilarious (If you like Deadpool's sense of humor) The pacing for the story is good and nothing seemed to drag on. There are 8 missions total for the campaign (Also 8 challenge missions to unlock 8 different costumes some with wands/rubber chickens for katanas or a feather dusters for your sai) Don't get me wrong I hate the game was short however I'm glad for the quality of what you got to play through. You are pretty much in an interactive Deadpool comic where Wade makes fun of everyone (including you). The story and how well they captured Deadpool is this game's greatest strength and best quality. You might be sitting through a hack and slash game for the 100th time but the jokes are...awesome.

In short this game is like an appetizer. It's fun for what it is and doesn't take itself too seriously. If you are looking for an entree then go play Last of Us or whatever game is revolutionizing the video game industry at the time you are reading this lol
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on July 7, 2013
If you have been watching two characters have been getting a lot of hype lately - Deathstroke of the DC universe and Deadpool. Now the Merc with a mouth has his own slash and shoot game in which you are along for the ride as Mr Sinister has an evil plan and it is up to (of all people) Deadpool to save the world (yes hide under your beds now). Go through many well known Marvel Universe locations and cameos from favorite characters as you hack, slash shoot and say spunky one liners in his effort to bring out the greatest game in history and maybe he might even land the hot girl.

Honestly I was very surprised about this. While not expecting an epic game like Skyrim, Last of Us or Fire Emblem , this game plays a bit like god of war in the over the top killing and destruction and actually pretty good length in game time. While the game is simple, they really brought Wade to life with his fourth wall antics and letting his two other personalities shine. Enjoyable moments like slapping Wolverine silly and grabbing Cable's chest are funny and over the top. Now this is a m game as Wade also does not have the most "pure" of mouths and minds, not to mention when he dies the damage can get a bit graphic. But still a good game to borrow or rent.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on April 2, 2014
mindless action, potty humor, fun. what more could you ask for in a deadpool game? i bought it when it was $50 and still don't have buyer's remorse.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions

Customers who viewed this also viewed

Deadpool PS3
Deadpool PS3 by Activision Blizzard Inc (PlayStation 3)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.