Customer Reviews


970 Reviews
5 star:
 (831)
4 star:
 (103)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly the same as those costing "Monstrously" more money!!
Used these connectors to convert my system from older binding post connectors, and as other reviewers have noted, it takes about 30 seconds per terminal to install these connectors and let me assure you, the "Deadbolt" name really sums it up. Tighten these once and the're done. These connectors appear to be exactly the same and the "Monster" brand connectors with the...
Published on May 3, 2012 by Bill

versus
27 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BUYER BEWARE
I purchased these thinking that they are the best thing out there according to the favorable reviews. First of all, if you look carefully at the pictures, you will notice that the tip is made in two parts: the solid center shaft on the base of which the wire is pressed, and the spring type tip made to fit snugly into the speaker or receiver binding post. The spring type...
Published 14 months ago by Benoit


‹ Previous | 1 297 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly the same as those costing "Monstrously" more money!!, May 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deadbolt Banana Plugs, 12-pair, By Sewell Direct (Electronics)
Used these connectors to convert my system from older binding post connectors, and as other reviewers have noted, it takes about 30 seconds per terminal to install these connectors and let me assure you, the "Deadbolt" name really sums it up. Tighten these once and the're done. These connectors appear to be exactly the same and the "Monster" brand connectors with the exception of the name band that says "Sewell". IMHO if you are looking for a easy to install, high performance connector, you've found it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Know your needs / wants, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deadbolt Banana Plugs, 12-pair, By Sewell Direct (Electronics)
Sewell offers 3 types of Banana Plugs all at the same price point with quality / ease of use being the difference.

As Follows: Great Quality Connection / Easiest Set Up "Sewell Deadbolt Banana Plugs with Fast-Lock Technology"
Better Quality Connection / Harder Set Up "Sewell Pro Maestro Banana Plugs w/Gold Connectors"
Best Quality Connection / Hardest Set Up "Sewell Silverback Banana Plugs Dual Screw Lock"

Understand the difference/benefit that each offers in each category is very minimal, For example Silverback offers the closest to a soldered connection as possible but you would be hard pressed to hear the difference from the other two.

Deadbolt's "Fast Lock Technology" will save you time connecting the wires (1 minute at most) to (5-15 minutes if someones misplaced your screwdriver)

I picked ease of connection over quality knowing I'll never hear the difference anyways, Also I prefer the shorter base of the "Deadbolt" design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product!!!!, February 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deadbolt Banana Plugs, 12-pair, By Sewell Direct (Electronics)
Just what I was looking for. I had a set of rocketfish plugs from bestbuy at 20 bucks for 4 of them. Although they are good plugs, these are much easier to install. These took me around 30 seconds per wire to install. The connection with the speaker wire is very strong and sturdy. Also, the connection between the plug and the speakers binding posts is very secure. If you are on a budget, and dont want to pay for monster or rocketfish plugs, this is the way to go. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, May 23, 2012
By 
David W. Huff (29 Palms, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deadbolt Banana Plugs, 12-pair, By Sewell Direct (Electronics)
These are exactly the same (or better) quality as the higher priced ones from the expensive cable and wire manufacturer. Heavy and easy to assemble. They fit 10 gauge wire perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, February 1, 2013
By 
Larry (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deadbolt Banana Plugs, 12-pair, By Sewell Direct (Electronics)
I really like how these banana plugs are designed; it makes it very easy to connect a speaker wire. It seems to work great with thinner and thicker wires (AVG 18 and AVG 14 in my case). For comparison, I used double banana plugs from RadioShack, and while they worked, they kept unscrewing all the time, and the connection did not look so clean.

I used these banana plugs with a few receivers (Marantz and Denon) and speakers (JBL Studio 1 and Wharfedale), they worked perfectly fine in all cases.

For thinner wires you can either split the wire itself in two parts, or even simply bend it to one side and then screw the top on (this will probably make better sense once you start connecting the wires).

Great product, highly recommended. As a matter of fact, I bought a second pack as 12 pairs were not enough for my few HT systems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the price, August 11, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deadbolt Banana Plugs, 12-pair, By Sewell Direct (Electronics)
These are quite impressive.. Sewell makes another set a bit larger than these that look very nice, but they're a bit longer than these too. I like these for the fact that they are super easy to use, just strip the wire, insert the bottom part over the wire, bend the wire a little bit over the bottom part teeth, screw on the top piece, and you're done. Their small size and ease of use makes them really fast to put on while making it easy to use the banana plugs on receivers or speakers.

I found a similar set at a few different stores, and they were quite a lot pricier than these for less. I don't think any of the top name brands will deliver any better audio quality.. as long as the wire is on the metal contact of any plug tightly, it should result in great audio.

I ordered 2 sets, just ordered a 3rd (two receivers, one is 5.1, another is 7.1). I think I'll have enough, a few extra if I am lucky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, April 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deadbolt Banana Plugs, 12-pair, By Sewell Direct (Electronics)
I really love the way these install. A very strong connection with amazing wire contact when tightened. Not flimsy at all, feels like a very solid well made part.

Both the gold plating and the black finish on these a very high quality and don't look or feel like there is the slightest chance of peeling off.

Very positive lock when inserted into connections.

I went ahead and changed out every connection to these and I'm going to keep a bunch of these around just for spares.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome plugs!, June 14, 2012
By 
Zac Morris (DURHAM, NC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deadbolt Banana Plugs, 12-pair, By Sewell Direct (Electronics)
Looking at the photos I couldn't tell if these plugs would really hold without stripping off. I'm very pleasantly surprised with the results. SUPER easy to install the wire into these, and the connection is very very strong! Only advice is not to strip to much of the wire bare as it only needs to be enough to bend over the inner ring. The clips also seal with a nice rubber o-ring which helps maintain enough tension to keep them tight and keeps them from vibrating loose. All and all very happy with the results!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and easy joints, May 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deadbolt Banana Plugs, 12-pair, By Sewell Direct (Electronics)
I purchased these banana plugs along with some 12 AWG speaker wire and put together some excellent looking cables to go from my wall plugs to the receiver. With the use of some shrink wrap, these cables look every bit as nice as cables costing 2-3 times as much. Thes plugs are very simple to install and the connections are tight and solid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Easy to Terminate and Great Quality, October 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deadbolt Banana Plugs, 12-pair, By Sewell Direct (Electronics)
These are high quality banana plugs that any idiot with a pair of wire strippers can terminate. As an idiot with a pair of wire strippers myself, I found them very easy to use. I was worried that stray wire strands would ground out and cause static but they're designed to capture all the strands of wire. The plugs fit tight into the jacks in my receiver and everything sounds great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 297 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Deadbolt Banana Plugs, 12-pair, By Sewell Direct
$59.99 $26.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.