Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Deadbolt Banana Plugs, 12-pair, By Sewell Direct
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Length: 12 Pairs|Change
Price:$19.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 15, 2016
Total crap. Loose connections.The problem is, there was no spring in the expanders. When you insert them, they just bend in and don't hold. Leaves you with a loose connection. If you don't want your speakers to short buy a better quality plug. Not even worth the effort to return. stereo 101... The most important thing is not the gauge or type of speaker wire you use but how good the connections you have on the receiver, amp and speakers.
44 comments| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
Looks nice but it isn't very well-made. Sounds great but not too happy with the build. Wish I could get it exchanged.

Plug tips have poor tension when plugged in. When you remove them the tips become flat instead of curved making them loose to re-insert.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2015
I really wanted to like these because they look great and are low profile, but these didn't fit well into the binding posts of my Adcom GFA-555. Further like other have said the retention springs on the plugs get crushed on first insertion and don't spring back. I returned these and got the GLS locking plugs which I like much better.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2015
I used these with 12 gauge wire. The wire fastened into the plug as described with no problem. The problem is, there was no spring in the expanders. When you insert them, they just bend in and don't hold. Leaves you with a loose connection. 5 stars to Amazon, they took them back!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2015
The Sewell banana plugs work as described, though the Created section which sinks into the speaker seem very delicate. After inserting a couple of times, the banana plugs seem to fit looser and don't seem to have the same strong contact with the speakers as when they were new. Sound doesn't seem to be compromised though, just my observation.
review image
22 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2015
All the black connectors have fit problems ( the little tension spring just hangs loose ) the fit is extremely loose on all my equipment . Bad quality control !
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2015
Great quality, half the (base) size of others. Thanks!

UPDATE: After going through the entire container, at least half of the banana plug springs are bent in. This might be a shipping issue, but the package didn't show any type of damage. Out of 12 pairs, only a couple plugged in snugly to any of my speakers (I have 2 surround systems and a mix-match of speakers/5-way posts). Most of these don't have any grip whatsoever, and out of those, I was only able to bend a few of them back and insert/remove a few times. The rest would plug in once, but lose any spring compression afterwards. Not reusable, which is the entire point of banana plugs...
11 comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2015
One Time use. Not made out springloaded alloy. Once unplugged, they do not tighten back up when plugged back in tightly. Intsead the prongs that are suppose to clip in tightly stay straight and do not pop out again to expand around the hole to hold the wires in tightly.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2016
Based on all the positive reviews I figured these would be the best choice. I was disappointed to find the first plug I put in wouldn't stay. I thought it might be the post on my AVR. After looking closer I realized the post was smashed down. I posted a picture of the worst vs the standard post for a comparison. It seems like there is a lack of QC. I figured it could be a fluke but a couple other posts were smashed down, just not as bad so they were usable but not snug like they should be. I've been trying to use a knife to fix these, but since they rotate it's not really easy to do.
review image
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2014
These work, but the connection "prongs" do not extend out far enough for many speakers (BIC Acoustech and Kliptch in particular) and are extremely thin and thus delicate (i.e., trying to extend them out further usually results in breaking them).

Pro: Quick hookup to wiring
Con: Tendency to have loose to extremely loose fitment when connected (i.e., not good conductive contact and even slight pressure will cause the connector to come loose)
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 98 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.