Customer Reviews


469 Reviews
5 star:
 (143)
4 star:
 (164)
3 star:
 (90)
2 star:
 (45)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TWISTED CONUNDRUMS -- & ONE MESSED UP THANKSGIVING
4 1/2 STARS FOR A FANTASTIC THRILLER WITH REALISTIC ACTION AND BROKEN PEOPLE. Few characters in this movie are perfect, if any.

I was really impressed by this gem of a movie and had a hunch it was done on a limited budget, despite the quality and effort clearly put into it. So I did some research. It was shot on $12M. That seemed like a fair sum to me at...
Published 22 months ago by MyD -- The Viewpoint

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching
Lots of dramatic tension, suspense, shocks and excellent performances. Entertaining and interesting from the perspective of how the human mind can justify anything - apparently.
Published 22 months ago by 1farstar


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TWISTED CONUNDRUMS -- & ONE MESSED UP THANKSGIVING, February 17, 2013
This review is from: Deadfall [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
4 1/2 STARS FOR A FANTASTIC THRILLER WITH REALISTIC ACTION AND BROKEN PEOPLE. Few characters in this movie are perfect, if any.

I was really impressed by this gem of a movie and had a hunch it was done on a limited budget, despite the quality and effort clearly put into it. So I did some research. It was shot on $12M. That seemed like a fair sum to me at first (though not huge obviously) so I was a little surprised. Then I thought again - Many stars in this film have probably commanded $12M on their own for just one picture. Clearly this was a labor of love by people who thought it should be made.

Seriously- Olivia Wilde - Kate Mara - Eric Bana - Sissy Spacek - Kris Kristofferson and others.

PLOT: A brother and sister (from a broken home in the south we learn) have just robbed an Indian Casino not far from the Canadian border. The movie opens after the event of the robbery as the fugitives travel down an icy rural highway in the dead of winter. They are trying to evade the law. Their car skids and crashes and their plight becomes a matter of survival, both for them and the people they encounter (the brother is a cold blooded killer). But that's just the beginning. It becomes apparent that something is seriously off with these two who are a little more than just brother and sister. Yeah, it's twisted. Several other families will become ensnared their troubles including a disgraced boxer and a local police cheif who's daughter struggles for his approval. For an action thriller, there are ALL KINDS of relationship dysfunction and depth of character. In lesser hands, this movie is the kind of thing that results in a complete cinematic disaster. However, terrific acting, direction and writing bring what would seem an unlikely series of events into a completely plausible and deftly executed wonder of a movie.

THE ACTION in this movie is really quite impressive - especially for a small budget. There is a snowmobile chase that is practically a dog fight - yet completely realistic and well orchestrated. No ridiculous stunts here, yet I honestly found my heart pounding just a little. Gun play is also very well done with enough bang, but no unrealistic shots to make one smirk. All the fights are gritty and well choreographed, including a knife fight that no one is coming out of without some blood loss.

Performances: Eric Bana leads the cast with a bearing of southern manners that allows for some comedic juxtaposition against the horror of the situation. It's done with a completely straight face and brilliant delivery that will make you laugh even though the situation is not cartoonish in any way. Very skillful device including the Thanksgiving dinner event. Make no mistake, Addison (Bana's character) is a remorseless killer. This doesn't mean he isn't capable of compassion or civility in his own broken way. Olivia Wilde can make you believe even her brother would desire her (as he does in this movie). Kate Mara has been around a while for a young actress, but really deserves all the top billing and success life can throw at her. Here she is perfect as the adorable little daddy's girl who can also perceive and control a situation when other's try to dismiss her. She is a policeman on her father's force looking for the killers.

I am not going to tell you this is the most perfect movie of all time. However, what they accomplished with so little is very unusual for an American movie. If the premise is interesting to you at all, do not miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Everything.. Don't miss this one!, November 19, 2012
By 
julie geiger (Gold Canyon, Az United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deadfall (Amazon Instant Video)
Hardcore movie fan, especially Thriller/Mystery/Suspense/Horror-> I really enjoyed this movie. Unique story line that all weaves together in the end. Some amazing Graphics Scenes. The actor's chosen were great for their roles. Some gore...more shocking not scary. Definitely not a watch with children..intense sex scenes and believable "shocker scenes" (don't want to spoil it) I rated this 5 stars and would watch again. Don't miss if you want to watch something with great acting, unique twists, suspense, and just enough romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feels Like a Film Noir, November 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deadfall (Amazon Instant Video)
This film has action, violence, sex, and not a few stories about dysfunctional families. The script writing is fine, the actors are terrific and I loved seeing some old timers like Sissy Spacek and Kris Kristofferson. I think the cold desolate Canadian filming locations certainly add to the overall feel of the film and definitely play background to the cold hearted killer's mentality. I could have done without the sex scenes, (we certainly didn't need them back in the day when Noir was gorgeously done.)and the love story was weak, but the overall subject of the film - don't treat your kids bad or they may turn out twisted - does work. There is a wonderful climactic ending - for once (in awhile) Hollywood gets it right. In a weird aside, I wonder what the film would have been like if Bana and Hunnam had reversed their roles AND if the film was shot in black and white. BTW, Bana was very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Ensemble Cast, January 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deadfall (DVD)
Deadfall was a film that I thought I might enjoy but instead fell in love with.
The ensemble cast is the main attraction along with the acting and chemistry between all of the main characters plus it is beautifully shot and thought out.it has it all. Love,action, blood,tested loyalties and much more.

I will be buying this because I will most certainly watch it again and again.There are so many moments that resonated joy and pain for me ,it humanizes the villain played to perfection by Eric Bana by showing that he has a heart when he wants to but on the other hand is sociopathic if anyone gets in the way of what he needs at the moment.

Charlie Hunnam is amazing as the ex con who also won a silver medal in Boxing at the Beijing Olympics. He and Olivia Wilde have hot chemistry together and this is part of why the film works so well.The love scenes are tastefully done but really hot.There are several relationships such as Father /Daughter.Father/Son.Brother/Sister and a Man and a Woman being explored during the film and some irony that goes along with it at the end.

I can't say enough good things about this film except in closing I would mention Sissy Spacek who is always a wonderful Academy Award winning actress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE HULK MEETS CARRIE IN A WINTER WONDERLAND, February 9, 2013
By 
This review is from: Deadfall (DVD)
A strong cast elevates DEADFALL, a crafty film-noirish tale of greed and familial dysfunction. An often contrived plot involves fugitives running from a botched casino heist; an ex-boxer released from prison after serving time for throwing a fight; and a female deputy who suffers constant belittlement from her sheriff father. It takes time to discern how these stories will intertwine and result in a tragic confrontation.
The blizzard backdrop heightens the movie's chill factor, but it's the actors who provide the film's foundation. Eric Bana gives a chilling portrayal as the cold-blooded killer who still manages to elicit a guarded level of empathy. Talented Olivia Wilde is both seductive and fragile as Liza, Bana's victimized sister. SONS OF ANARCHY's Charlie Hunnam is the boxer Jay and gives a solid performance. The roles of the parents are filled by veteran actors Sissy Spacek (who is wonderful), Kris Kristofferson and Treat Williams.
Despite its flaws, I recommend DEADFALL especially for viewers who like their thrillers with a little complexity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, November 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deadfall (Amazon Instant Video)
This show was really good. Everyone did a great job on it and as you can only imagine Charlie did a great job playing the long lost (or imprisoned) son in this movie. I was curious what he would be like apart from sons of anarchy but I was definitely not disappointed. In addition I can not remember the actors name but he plays the criminal in this flick and he also did an incredible job. I would definitely say that it was well worth watching. In fact I will probably watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deadfall (Amazon Instant Video)
Lots of dramatic tension, suspense, shocks and excellent performances. Entertaining and interesting from the perspective of how the human mind can justify anything - apparently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Okay Film, March 2, 2013
This review is from: Deadfall (DVD)
"Deadfall" is an enjoyable thriller to watch with a dark noir plot. The story starts with a brother, Addison, and his sister, Liza, (Eric Bana and Olivia Wilde, respectively) on the run from a heist, and their luck ran out when they got into a car accident in a blizzard. They soon split at one point to meet again at the later time (with Liza meeting Jay (played by Charlie Hunnam) who just been released from prison; Addison on the run from the police). They all soon meet at Jay's parents' house during the Thanksgiving for a final encore.

What's really noticeable was the family dynamic (brother-sister; father-son; daughter-father) and their own personal issues that I found interesting to watch. Addison's not letting go of his sister, Chet's silence treatment and unforgiving of his son, and Becker's mistreatment (or "overprotective") of his daughter. These aspects of the film that I thought was pretty good, but the rest seemed to be okay in terms of action/sex/chill scenes.

Overall, it's a good film to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow burn, serious performances from great cast, December 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Rented because of cast and trailer looked intriguing. We are big Sons of Anarchy fans so Charlie Hunnam caught our eye. Add Olivia Wilde, Eric Bana, Kris Kristofferson, Sissy Spacek and Treat Williams? Definitely wins award for eclectic cast of the year. Be warned this movie is not the typical action movie it takes its time. Overall I liked it despite some flaws. Treat Williams is someone I normally like but they gave him the role of sheriff with his daughter as a deputy. They have him play an overly misogynist pig and the other deputies are clowns. They are hheeeee type of two-dimensional irritating cop characters I hate in films because it's a cheap way to write so that you have less sympathy for them and villains seem more attractive and you want the cops to get messed up. Ootherwise it's got some great performances (though I love Hunnam, this role has a lot of similarity to SOA in how he carries his himself, ex-con with dad issues). Not perfect but great effort, visually interesting, diverse cast mostly fully invested in their roles and trying to do something different. Rent but not a theater trip and probably not a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CALL ME PATRICIA, February 17, 2013
This review is from: Deadfall (Amazon Instant Video)
After an Indian Casino robbery, the crooks find themselves stranded in a winter snow storm after a deer takes out their vehicle. Addison (Eric Bana) and Liza (Olivia Wilde) are siblings who split up. Addison trudges his way through the woods, acting like Eric Roberts. Meanwhile Jay (Charlie Hunnam) a boxer recently released from prison and in trouble again, picks up Liza along the road- her make-up is perfect and her skin isn't even red from the cold snowy air. They hit it off.

Also in area live Jay's parents (Kris Kristofferson and Sissy Spacek). There is also a local female policewoman (Kate Mara), a friend of the family who has daddy issues. Guess where this leads?

The film follows pretty much your basic formula. The acting was so-so for a script that lacked clever lines. If you liked the stale films done by Eric Roberts, this one follows the course. Olivia Wilde once again plays mindless sex pot, perhaps the only real reason to watch the film.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, sex, brief nudity (Olivia Wilde, Charlie Hunnam- rear)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Deadfall Combo Pack [DVD + Blu-ray]
Deadfall Combo Pack [DVD + Blu-ray] by Stefan Ruzowitzky (Blu-ray - 2013)
$19.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.