Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrifyingly good!
"The usual principles of combat seemed useless when fighting an impervious enemy, an enemy that didn't need sleep and that functioned on the compulsion to kill, and she knew if they were to get out alive she had to adapt." - Amber Redgrave

If someone had told weapons specialist and ex-military member Amber "Big Red" Redgrave that a security assignment gone bad...
Published on May 24, 2010 by Elizabeth A. White

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The book of the film?
Things were going well for this book, I liked Amber Redgrave, she seemed like she might develop into a character we could really root for. Instead we ended up with this irritating sub-plot of Lofty and his equally gormless girlfriend Jill. By the time the twist (more of a kink) in the story became apparent it started to float belly up.

I felt the zombies had...
Published on November 10, 2011 by Brokensea


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrifyingly good!, May 24, 2010
This review is from: Deadfall (Paperback)
"The usual principles of combat seemed useless when fighting an impervious enemy, an enemy that didn't need sleep and that functioned on the compulsion to kill, and she knew if they were to get out alive she had to adapt." - Amber Redgrave

If someone had told weapons specialist and ex-military member Amber "Big Red" Redgrave that a security assignment gone bad resulting in two deaths was going to be the best part of her day, she'd probably have stayed in bed. Fortunately for readers of author Shaun Jeffrey's newest book, Deadfall, she didn't.

Following the ill-fated security assignment that starts Deadfall off with a bang, Amber returns to the office for debriefing by agency owner and ex-SAS man, John Richmond. Though a lucrative and time sensitive matter has arisen, given the morning's events he doesn't want Amber involved and insists that she take some time to decompress.

Amber, however, wants to get right back into things, so when she takes a call from the client indicating that they need an additional team member she talks herself onto the mission team... without Richmond's knowledge. Understandably, he is not pleased to see Amber later that day at the mission rendezvous point. It being too late to replace her, he begrudgingly accepts her presence.

The eight man team is informed that their mission is to rescue the client's two children, who have been kidnapped. Though the wealthy client is willing to pay the ransom, he's not convinced the kidnappers will actually release the kids even if he does. Therefore, having learned that the kidnappers are hiding out in a remote, abandoned mining village he wants the team to go in and get the kids back before the 24 hour ransom deadline expires. A classic insertion and rescue mission, right?

Not quite. Instead of finding the kidnappers and missing kids in the village, they find it eerily quiet and seemingly quite empty. That is until hundreds of people start pouring out of the abandoned mine shaft and begin attacking the team. As they try to repel the assault they notice that the people are not slowing down, let alone dying, despite being shot... unless it's a head shot. Impossible as it seems, the team quickly realizes that they aren't dealing with living people, but with the undead. And we're not talking Night of the Living Dead shuffling, slow moving zombies. No, these are the 28 Days Later chase you down speedy kind of zombies, and the resulting fight by the team to stay alive and get back to civilization is a white-knuckled ride with gore aplenty.

But there's more going on in Deadfall than just a good zombie romp. In addition to having to deal with scores of the undead, there's the question of exactly who their client really is and why they were set up, as well as the realization that not all the team members are who they seem to be. Further, Jeffrey has given a unique twist to the origin of the zombies in Deadfall, one that is both believable and allows for an ending that manages to simultaneously wrap things up and leave them open, in equally satisfying measures.

First with The Kult and now with Deadfall, Shaun Jeffrey is quickly establishing himself as the `go to' guy for high-intensity action. Having already demonstrated that he can write both traditional crime fiction and horror with equal skill, I can't wait to see what Jeffrey serves up next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The book of the film?, November 10, 2011
By 
Brokensea (Wellington, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deadfall (Kindle Edition)
Things were going well for this book, I liked Amber Redgrave, she seemed like she might develop into a character we could really root for. Instead we ended up with this irritating sub-plot of Lofty and his equally gormless girlfriend Jill. By the time the twist (more of a kink) in the story became apparent it started to float belly up.

I felt the zombies had been given more plot development than the soldiers once they shared the stage. Tehcnically it has a few typos, but what book doesn't? Sentences were well constructed and Shaun knows how to tell a story in a way that is readable. For that he gets 3 stars. For Lofty, Jill and the alternative (crappier) ending, the lack of character development, the lack of plot development and making me wait to finish this so I could read something better - he loses two stars.

It did feel like the novelisation of a bad zombie movie. In a film we get the visuals - so we don't need the depth of character - we can see how people react. In this book however, no one developed beyond the 2nd dimension and the plot was lacking the same depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well written but overall disappointing, July 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deadfall (Paperback)
The author is a talented writer but that is not enough to warrant a positive recommendation for this book. The plot basically is that a group of eight mercenaries are tricked into believing that they are rescuing two kidnapped children when in reality they are being used to test the effectiveness of zombies developed by a mysterious corporation. Unfortunately the action really is not that good. Even when the mercenaries become aware that they are fighting zombies and they can only kill them with a shot to the head they still keep burning up all their ammunition firing blindly on full automatic (actually the mercenaries really don't seem very good at their jobs.) These zombies also seem extra strong (particularly for dead things) since every time one of the mercenaries grapples with one they are generally overpowered. A subplot concerning a PETA-type couple is somewhat silly and contrived. It is a shame that an obviously talented writer could not put together a more enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!!, July 30, 2010
This review is from: Deadfall (Paperback)
If you like zombies this is a great, more original twist on them. They move more like vampires than traditional zombies!! Very exciting and so ripe for a sequel!! I highly recommend this novel as well as his other two, "Evilution" and "The Kult".

Sincerely,
J.G. Franklin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHAUN JEFFREY'S "DEADFALL" (A REVIEW), April 30, 2011
This review is from: Deadfall (Paperback)
What a story! I have wanted to find a good Zombie horror and I have to say that I have found it in Shaun Jeffrey's, "Deadfall." This story really threw me for a loop in a good way! There was action from the very first page and the entire ride had me on the edge of my seat. Usually I find it hard to imagine some of the creatures in the stories I read but not this one. Shaun Jeffrey's imaginative descriptions were so real it leaves you no choice but to be pulled unmercifully into his world.

The plot was well thought out and you find yourself cheering for some of the main characters while hoping the zombies win out over the others. The greatest part is the twist close to the end that you never see coming, you're so far off you simply can't believe it. With my copy there was an alternate ending which was pretty good, but I must say this to Mr. Jeffrey, Don't Change It! I loved the first ending the best! There are not many authors out there that take chances with their characters, chances of which could cause a reader to either love you or hate you. But you did that and I love you for it! I fully intend to read more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love zombie books, March 25, 2014
By 
A. Murphy "mrsgodiva" (Northern California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deadfall (Kindle Edition)
And this one didn't disappoint. I loved Amber and rooted for her the whole way. Dragged right into the story by the nefarious act of saying the group needed to save poor kidnapped kids. Only caveat was that I didn't need to read the alternate ending, the one the story actually has is so much better. Overall, definitely a five star read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Paced Zombie Action!!!, March 20, 2012
By 
This review is from: Deadfall (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed Deadfall by Mr. Jeffrey's. The book starts out introducing you to Amber, aka "Big Red." She ends up by chance joining a team of mercenaries that are being sent to a location, to rescue two kidnapped children. Once Amber and her team arrive they find a deserted town, and soon realize that their mission is not what was described. It's a life or death mission, for them.

These zombies are not typical. They're strong and move very fast. Can eight people take on an army of the zombies?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie Awesomeness !, October 4, 2011
This review is from: Deadfall (Kindle Edition)
Writing the review as thoughts are still fresh in my mind. Just finished the book. Wowzers.

Just from seeing the cover, I just knew this was a book for me. It just freaks me out. Yet I was still curious, bit like when you're watching a horror movie and you've got your hands in front of your eyes but you're still peeping between your fingers, that kind of feeling. So that's why I decided this book would be next in line after reading The Kult and acquiring all of Shaun's other Ebooks.

This is definitely one of those "can't put it down" books. I just had to know what was happening next.
The plot is extremely fast-paced. The whole story covers just over 24 hours, and is packed with action and suspense. There isn't a single "dead moment", and the reader gets drawn into the story right from the start. But what I thought made this book totally awesome, is how it was a totally different experience to watching zombie movies (zombie book virgin I was until I read this one). It's a complete experience for the reader. One that involves all the senses. Sight and hearing obviously. But also touch, taste, smell, through the cleverly written descriptions. The reader is a witness to the scenes, but also feels like the characters. Nothing is left to imagination, every single detail is included. Well apart from what actually rotting zombie flesh smells like, but still, I just guess it's pretty close to chicken that's gone off if not worse.

As usual, you can expect the unexpected twist when you expect it the least. And expect to not have any idea about the end. Because it won't end the way you're thinking it will. Or maybe it will, but that's after you've thought about every single exit scenario. Gosh Shaun's books totally mess up with your brain...

A smashing read. Loved it. Gore galore, a plot that is not actually that far-fetched for a zombie story, and manages to distance itself from the usual "experiment gone wrong" kind of story, and twists that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Warning: not to be read at bedtime !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "She felt the serrations of the blade saw against his eye socket, his eyelid splitting in two as she levered the blade down.", August 10, 2010
This review is from: Deadfall (Paperback)
Flaming redhead Amber Redgrave (?) is having a bad day. Contacted by her ex-boss, ex-lover, and sometimes handler John Richman she is given a should-be easy job. She's to bodyguard the possibly dotty, but likable, old Ms. Hawkins who is under the belief that her life is in danger. Despite Amber and John's doubts about this, she and Amber are publically ambushed, resulting in the death of Ms. Hawkins and the shooter, and Amber having to skedaddle post haste.

As she expresses her frustrations to John he receives a phone call and leaves the room. Then his office gets another phone call, and trying to be helpful, Amber decides to take it for him. On the phone is John's present employer Christopher Finch, and he tells Amber that one of John's present black bag members has dropped out of the present operation, and he needs a replacement or the job is off. Amber quickly decides that she will help John, and redeem herself at the same time, by filling the empty slot on the team.

When she arrives at the meeting place, she meets the rest of the crew, including the tiresome obligatory a-hole (Crazy Eddie). Finch is there, and he briefs everybody as to why they are there. His employer has had his children kidnapped by a ruthless gang of villains, and this gang has done this before, and they have murdered the children after they have gotten the ransom. So, they have their orders, go to the gang's hideout in the abandoned village of Kilnhill, rescue the children, kill the kidnappers, and then they can collect their million pound bounty. Both Crazy Eddie and John (who arrives late) are shocked to find out that Amber is awarded team leader status by Finch.

The story goes as expected. They arrive, but the village is empty, and then hell breaks loose as the zombies boil out of an abandoned mine shaft and decide to chow down on some free range mercenaries. As the mercenaries have split up to search the village, there is mass confusion as they attempt to survive, and to regroup. Now it may seem that I'm giving a lot away, but all of this is from the first thirty or forty pages, or can be gleaned from the book's back cover. And we will still have over two hundred pages to go.

However on page fifty-three, the story shifts to Samuel ("Lofty") Green and his girlfriend Jill Peters, a couple of earnest, naïve, but not-to-bright animal rights greenies. Green & Peters are living on the outskirts of what seems to be an animal experimenting laboratory, and coincidently decide on the same day (!) as Amber's operation to break into the lab and see what is really going on inside. They will find that there is way more there than animal experiments. From here on in, the story will now seesaw back and forth between Amber's group, and Lofty and Jill's escapades.

The problem with this novel however is twofold. The first is the story. What you see is what you get. Sure there is the odd little twist here and there, like there being a traitorous mole amongst the group, but really, there just aren't any real surprises here. It's obvious the whole thing was just a set-up and the mercs are expendable. Then there is the crappy ending, it's exactly the type of ending that one would get from a bad direct-to-DVD zombie movie. It has the effect that of rendering what has happened previously a waste of our time.

The second problem is the novel's characterization. Nobody ever gets past the two dimensional stage. Crazy Eddie, f'r instance, is still the same obnoxious git at the end of the book and he was in its beginning. The same is basically true for team leader Amber, despite it being obvious that she is clearly out of her depth, and who constantly frets over failing her group.

Essentially, the first half of this novel pretty much rocks, but, as the novel drags on, it becomes obvious that "Deadfall" is just formula and routine stuff, with too many plot-holes and clichés. "Deadfall" doesn't really rise above the stuff that is often seen on the Scy-Fy channel. Three stars for the first half of the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, great read!, December 14, 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (WOODBRIDGE, VA, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deadfall (Kindle Edition)
Shaun Jeffrey has created a real winner in my book. Believeable characters and alot of good solid action. It was a well written and easy to read zombiefest that any fan of the genre should pick up in a heartbeat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Deadfall
Deadfall by Shaun Jeffrey (Paperback - March 25, 2010)
Used & New from: $3.27
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.