Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not A Great Read but Loaded With Information
I am always excited when another book by the Saban Center is produced so when Deadly Connections was released I had to get my hands on it. The book, while dry, is loaded with facts and diagrams on top terror supporting nations. If you aren't interested in Middle Eastern affairs or terrorism than this won't be worth your money.

The author does a supreme job with...
Published on November 12, 2005 by P. Smyth

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mr Byman forgot.....
OOOPS!
I know i will get a lot of flack from this, but if any of you will be honest in your research you will acknowledge that Mr Byman omitted Mossad and the CIA as terrorist organizations.
No 2 countries at the present time pose as much danger to the world as the United States and Israel. Am I lying?
Published 24 months ago by charlie uniquely me


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not A Great Read but Loaded With Information, November 12, 2005
I am always excited when another book by the Saban Center is produced so when Deadly Connections was released I had to get my hands on it. The book, while dry, is loaded with facts and diagrams on top terror supporting nations. If you aren't interested in Middle Eastern affairs or terrorism than this won't be worth your money.

The author does a supreme job with describing state connections to terrorist groups across the globe, from Syria sponsoring groups like the PFLP-GC to Iran giving aid to Islamists and Hizbullah. The graphs and diagrams presented also give the facts more credibility in addition to making it easier for some to understand. For most people studying Middle East history or writting a paper on Middle Eastern nations connections to terrorist activity I would highly recommend this book. For the average person just wanting to have basic knowledge on terrorism, this may not be for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lest we forget about British terrorism, May 25, 2011
By 
Elma ross "Today" (Pretoria, South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deadly Connections: States that Sponsor Terrorism (Paperback)
The book is certainly well-written, and informative. At the same time, one should never forget that Britain officially terrorised Boer civilians in the Anglo Boer War. It is easy to hammer about the Middle East, but no-one from the Middle-East has done anything worse than Britain has, in terms of terrorising civilians. Before anyone in the Middle-East is being judged, it is time for the West to re-consider itself and its own history. To my knowledge no terrorist group from the erea in question has ever tranvelled abroad, took an army of 2 1/2 times the population of an entire region, and starved the civilians in concentration camps.

Nevertheless, this is a book that libraries should buy, as it is a good reference.

British terrorism against Boer civilians
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful conceptualization of state sponsored terrorism, May 20, 2008
This review is from: Deadly Connections: States that Sponsor Terrorism (Paperback)
Well known Daniel Byman offers very interesting book about a topic which was so far not thoroughly conceptualized - terrorism sponsored by states. Author basically provides useful typology of sponsorship, matrix of four categories:

1)State capable of acting, supporting terrorism
2)State incapable of acting, supporting terrorism
3)State capable of acting, opposing terrorism
4)State incapable of acting, opposing terrorism

He emphasize the role of passive supporters, some times neglected in the analysis of this phenomenon and calls for distinguishing unwilling host of terrorism.

Byman provides more than that - he presents comprehensive typology of character of support and more interestingly state's incentives for support of terrorism. This framework is very handy for anyone who thinks about writing a case study of state support of terrorism.

Byman than illustrates his framework on case studies of Iran and Hizbu'llah, Taliban and al-Qa'ida and Syria and Palestinians groups. In the end presents some ideas about stopping state sponsored terrorism. I have just two reservation towards his work:

- when dealing with Hizbu'llah he does not take in account the relationship between Party of God and Syria (see Palmer-Harik)

- Byman focus only on state sponsored terrorism, neglecting rising self sufficiency of terrorist organizations thanks to illegal global economy (see Napoleoni). It can create uncomplete image, but probably is not the intention of Byman to argue that self sufficiency does not exist, just prefers to deal with different topic.

Byman's work is original, academically sound and very useful, even more for students or academics who could use it's framework, for them definitely 5 stars, for other readers 4 stars.

Petr Zelinka,
Journal of Security Issues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars State Sponsors of Terrorism, October 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deadly Connections: States that Sponsor Terrorism (Paperback)
This book discusses terrorist groups and the states that sponsor them. The book also covers why states sponsor terrorists to carry out terrorist attacks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mr Byman forgot....., July 28, 2012
This review is from: Deadly Connections: States that Sponsor Terrorism (Paperback)
OOOPS!
I know i will get a lot of flack from this, but if any of you will be honest in your research you will acknowledge that Mr Byman omitted Mossad and the CIA as terrorist organizations.
No 2 countries at the present time pose as much danger to the world as the United States and Israel. Am I lying?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Deadly Connections: States that Sponsor Terrorism
Deadly Connections: States that Sponsor Terrorism by Daniel Byman (Paperback - January 8, 2007)
$27.99 $25.86
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.